$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
414 out of 414
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KLeFierce
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 12, 2014

Great staff and nice hotel and location

We arrived late at night the staff was very friendly from the bell staff to the registration. They checked us in quickly and Clinton mentioned to us that there was a 50% discount at the restaurant, which was a great deal and we took them up on it. Food was wonderful and reasonable at 50% off, but regular price would be too much for the quantity of the food. There was an issue with our room when we got back and they quickly resolved that. One thing I would like is if they could have a casual dining option like most hotels in this class. I really don't want to spend $100 a meal every meal. The breakfast buffet was good, but there were limited choices. They do have shops nearby, but the food choices there were just okay. Staff was very nice and helpful. One thing The hotel management should think about was the landscaping for hours on Tuesdays. They really need to figure out something because it was awful to dine and loung by the pool to sounds of the lawn mowers and weed wackers which they did for at least 4 hours. They should do a little everyday for less then nan hour so people can enjoy the ambiance of the hotel and surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

kind of a drive but Bite Me in the harbor has great local fish that they catch and cook for you. Prices are reasonable too.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twoody
Business
Ontario Canada
Oct 7, 2014

Well Kept

Clean, nice location, far from town so, if no rental car, you are confined to the immediate, standard overpriced amenities of a hotel villa. Pools are A+, grounds very well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

At the mile 68 marker on the highway, a lava tube, no admission, no tour guide, its just sitting next to the highway.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unko Hambone
Business
Puna, Hawaii
Oct 6, 2014

Awesome Pool and Pupus

Great facility, clean room with comfortable beds. Lanai view was great from the garden. Pool is incredible!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Pool

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loves the Tropics
Business
California
Oct 6, 2014

Great beach

The beach by the hotel is great for water sports like swimming, kayaking, and snorkeling. The hotel itself is pretty good, but the beach activities were the highlight of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located within walking distance of two large shopping centers.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SUPER UTE FAN
Business
Washinton, Utah
Oct 3, 2014

Awesome anniversary getaway

This was our second stay at this hotel. We enjoyed it every bit as much as we did 5 years ago. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are very comfortable. We loved the location on the beach and spent most of our days enjoying the beach and beautiful pools. The sunsets are just spectacular! We are already planning our next vacation there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet is great! Make sure you take advantage of it being so close and delicious. Dinner at the hotel restaurant during the sunset is spectacular!

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rberrelleza
Business
San Francisco
Oct 2, 2014

Fantastic getaway

The Marriott beach resort was fantastic. It's located in the sunniest part of the Island, and it's relatively close to the Kailua-Kona area. The beach is pristine, and the hotel is very relaxed. We had a 'garden view' room, which wasn't the best view. I do recommend getting an upgrade to a beach view, or at least to not be on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a car for your stay. The hotel is about 20 minutes away from the airport, and just the shuttle cost is more than a week rentals.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3 boys and a little lady
Business
Seattle
Sep 29, 2014

Great stay

Wonderful hotel and friendly staff. It was a lovely and peaceful stay. Great views and a great beach. The only thing that disappointed me was the high prices at the hotel restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bromeliad hybridizer
Business
Greenville, SC
Sep 22, 2014

Great location on leeward side of Hawai'i

Staff were pleasant and prompt with responses to questions. Liked the location and grounds were beautifully kept. Very good stay and would book there again on next Hawai'i trip. Very convenient for trip to summit of Mauna Kea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't drive to the top of Mauna Kea. Book with a tour company ahead of time - way ahead of time.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCarter
Business
Meeker, OK
Sep 15, 2014

Higher $$ of the island

Hotel was very nice. However, we were not prepared for the area around the hotel. Food Accomodations were very high. If you wanted a more conservative meal, you had to do drive into Kona, which was probably a 20 minute drive. If you wanted to spend less on groceries, you had to drive to Kona, most of your excursions were based out of Kona. We enjoyed the Big Island, and was aware of the prices, but this time, it seemed much higher than past visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alohawoha
Business
usa mainland
Sep 9, 2014

Nice Place, Great Location

Check in was smooth and easy. Had a choice of rooms upon check in, the first one on the ground floor had roaches outside the door and a couple in the room (building is open to outside, tropical) so I moved to a 6th floor room. Room was a good size, kind of tired and ready for a refresh though. Last refresh was likely a few years ago, bathroom was tired especially the bath/shower. Linens were good and crisp white, bed was comfy, and hotel was quiet. Overall room could have been cleaner, needed some detailing, it seems like a "quick clean" only. View is fantastic, beach is nice and a good location to explore the coast and other parts of the island from via car. Breakfast buffet was nice although quality of the fruit, especially the pineapple needs to improve. Coffee was weak. Parking was frustrating as it filled up every night, however they waived valet charge so just cost extra in tipping. Overall an acceptable hotel, only come for the room, do not expect a true four star carefree Resort experience, more like a three star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

find a taco truck, ask locals where they eat to save some $$$ and eat better than at the resorts

Back to menu Return to top