$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

4 stars
69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
500 reviews
Hotel was great

The hotel experience was great, friendly staffs and very clean room. Unfortunately, my booking... See full review

  • andyandy777
  • Jul 14, 2014
great vacation

Everything went well. Employees very friendly and helpful. See full review

  • jeff taka
  • Jul 7, 2014
Beachfront Waikoloa resort next door to two upscale shopping centers

On an island with relatively few beaches, the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa in Waikoloa charms with a location on lovely Anaehoomalu Bay, with a sand beach, safe swimming and ancient Hawaiian fishponds. Guests enjoy spacious and contemporary accommodations that include a private balcony and the notable Marriott Revive bed. On the property, an infinity swimming pool, full-service spa and fitness center complete bliss.

Highlights
  • Enjoy an oceanfront location on Anaehoomalu Bay, with one of the region's best beaches and swimming bays
  • Visit two shopping centers just next door, with stores from local favorite Cinnamon Girl to Louis Vuitton
  • Spend the day unwinding at Waikoloa Beach Marriott's full-service Mandara Spa
Location

The 15-acre beachfront Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the exclusive South Kohala community of Waikoloa. The resort sits on beautiful Anaehoomalu Bay, with a sandy beach, safe swimming and ancient fishponds. Two excellent shopping centers are just next door.

Rooms

The six-story Waikoloa Beach Marriott features more than 530 guest rooms and one-bedroom suites with elegantly contemporary Polynesian and Asian décor, and views ranging from pool to garden/mountain and ocean. Each includes a private balcony, the Marriott Revive bed with designer duvet and extra fluffy pillows, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), air conditioning, Kona coffee and tea service and flat-screen cable/satellite TV.

Dining

Waikoloa Beach Marriott features Hawaii Calls Restaurant & Lounge, popular for its breakfast buffet and American/Pacific Rim-style dinner service. The Marriott also offers the Sunset Luau experience. Next to the resort, try Merriman's Market Café; Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill; Sansei Seafood, Steak & Sushi Bar; or Romano's Macaroni Grill.

Recreation

Guests at Waikoloa Beach Marriott unwind at the full-service Mandara Spa or at in the heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Kids have their own children's pool, while a fitness center and nearby golf courses complete the diversions. The hotel also hosts cultural activities to educate guests about local traditions.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (18.5 mi/29.8 km)
Attractions
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (fronting resort)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (1 block)
  • Hapuna Beach (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (21.2 mi/34.1 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (25 mi/40.3 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (44.7 mi/72 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (103 mi/166 km)
Policies and fees
The property charges $25 USD resort fee plus tax per day, inclusive of the following:
  • Unlimited in-room Internet access
  • Daily self-parking
  • Unlimited US domestic, long distance and local phone calls
  • Waikoloa Golf Driving Range use - complimentary use, regularly $15 hr
  • Luau for two people - 20% discount off regular price $97
  • Hertz car rental - 15% daily rental
  • Ocean sports - 10% select beach rentals

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9224 -155.8713
Area served
The Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa is beachfront along the sun splashed Kohala Coast within the world class Waikoloa Beach Resort across from over 60 boutique shops and 15 restaurants at the Waikoloa Kings' Shops and Queens' Marketplace.
Nearby airports
KOA-Kona International Airport.
Area description
Amidst the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii's Big Island lies the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, a luxurious beachfront resort that reflects the tranquility and soul of its unique setting at 'Anaeho'omalu Bay. Beautifully landscaped walking paths, the gleaming golden sand, and ancient Hawaiian fishponds fringed with swaying palms make the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa a paradise like no other. Waikoloa also provides a variety of recreational activities for adventurers and leisure travelers alike. Guests can walk to the beach for ocean activities including scuba diving, snorkeling and catamaran rides. Plus, 36 holes of championship golf at two renowned courses; Waikoloa Beach Course and Kings' Course. Guests can also take a stroll across the street for world-class shopping at the Waikoloa Kings' Shops and Queens' Marketplace, which includes a 3,000 seat outdoor amphitheatre featuring concerts and festivals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden Mountain View
Enjoy tropical surroundings or view distant mountains from the balcony of the garden/mountain room, 1 king or 2 double.
Pool View
Overlook stunning pools amidst a serene tropical setting from the pool view room with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.
Ocean View
Surround yourself with views of the pacific ocean and tropical landscapes, ocean view with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.
Oceanfront
Enjoy breathtaking views of the pacific ocean and sunset, ocean front view room with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Merriman's Market Caf
Merriman's uses the freshest ingredients from local Big Island farmers to bring you the unique flavors of Hawaii in Italian and Mediterranean style cuisine served in an outdoor cafe. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Contemporary sushi and new wave Asian inspired dishes served in a lively setting is what makes Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar a critic's favorite. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Queens' Marketplace.
Starbucks Coffee
Serving breakfast, coffee and light meals. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.
Room Service
Serving an extensive breakfast and dinner menu, from 6am - 11am and 6pm to 10pm.
Hawaii Calls Restaurant & Lounge
Providing panoramic ocean views and outdoor seating on our newly expanded lanai, our signature restaurant offers Pacific-Asian cuisine. Featuring an elaborate daily breakfast buffet & ala care menu. Salads, sandwiches and tropical drinks available for lunch served in our seated dining area or poolside. Dinner features fresh Big Island produce and local seafood. The lounge also offers cocktails and a light bistro/pupu (appetizers) menu for late-night dining.
Kona Coffee Shoppe
Offering convenient light breakfast to-go including homemade pastries, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. Plus local Kona coffee blends and other "eye-opener" beverages.
Sunset Luau
Gather as the sun sets over 'Anaeho'omalu Bay for some classic Polynesian entertainment including music, traditional dances of the South Pacific and a delectable selection of Hawaiian food.
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's features the finest Hawaiian seafood, with a focus on delicacies from the oceans surrounding Hawaii. You will discover a fusion of the world's finest flavors, deliciously wrapped in the Hawaiian state of mind. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Several meeting and conference facilities to choose from including Ali'i Ballroom, Paniolo Ballroom, Paniolo Ocean Terrace, Coconut Grove, Lehua Ballroom, Kamehameha Boardroom, and the Volcano Grounds.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (500)

Ratings and reviews for Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
500 out of 500
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mtn Buck traveler
Centennial, CO
Jan 20, 2014

Getaway

The hotel location was great. The rooms were average clean but small. The front desk staff was not very helpful or responsive to some issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bhawaii0721
Maryland
Jan 17, 2014

Great stay!

This property was great. Everyone on staff was super helpful. Great location with great pool and beach access. Will stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smore
Oregon
Jan 15, 2014

Wonderful vacation

Everything was wonderful. Will stay again. 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Snorkeling was great in the morning, sunset at 6:00 pm wonderful.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wingnut9547
Rochester, NH
Jan 14, 2014

Great getaway but pricey

The hotel and staff were outstanding. The restaurant and bar were a little expensive. However the rooms and the grounds were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Queens Market Place near by, has a few restaurants and a deli that can save you a few bucks.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tiida473
Business
Japan
Jan 13, 2014

STAY AT THE Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

We had an incredible stay from the moment we checked in until we checked out 3 days later. It is a fabulous location-- right on the beach with trees swaying. We could not ask for a better stay! The bathroom was a little dirty the first day but then was cleaned. Great location too with plenty of shops to walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christmas Newlyweds
Fairfield, California
Jan 3, 2014

Honeymooners

Me and my wife were very fortunate to book our honeymoon from 12/26/13-1/2/2014 at the Waikoloa Marriott Resort. It is located about 20 minutes south from the Kona International Airport. We absolutely LOVED this resort. The views to the beach and ocean can be seen directly as you walk into the Lobby. The rooms were very clean and housekeeping made sure to come in every day to clean the room and change the towels and sheets. The most convenient thing about this resort was having the concierge desk... They helped us book all of our activities that included horseback riding, whale watching, tour of the island and the volcanos and many more... I would highly recommend this to any new couple and to anyone who is just looking for a getaway!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sac travels
Sacramento
Dec 16, 2013

dated

The hotel is old and in need of a remodel. The staff is okay, but the service is sketchy. We stayed for 16 nights, and saw all levels of service during our stay. The refrigerator was loud, old and ineffective. The blow dryer broke as did the coffee maker. The linen service is a joke. I felt as though I was begging for towels my entire stay. Two people in a room with a pool and ocean, yet only three towels per day. If you ask for more towels they cannot give them to you off of the cart, they must be delivered to your room. I asked for four got two, asked for three got one. When they clean they do not replace a like number of twoels. Te bed is poorly made, they often just pulled the comforter and top sheet up over the wrinkled bottom sheet. After the first week I started to stockpile towels in a drawer so I would have them when I needed them. Some days housekeeping came at 9am, others as late as 1pm, once they did not come at all. I called at 9:30 at night to announce that my room had not been cleaned, they were annoyed that I still wanted someone to come clean it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just down the beach is the Lava Lava Beach Club. Wonderful food and service. All tables are an ocean view, as they are located in an open-air patio setting. Entertainment nightly.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mj birthday girl
california
Dec 12, 2013

wonderful birthday

We had a great stay! The hotel included lots of discounts and freebies. The view was spectacular! The first night we had double beds, we asked for a change and they upgraded us to a partial ocean view at no charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
retired worldtravelers
San Bruno, Ca
Dec 5, 2013

Our 15th time at this hotel

We really enjoy the quiet and beautiful location of this hotel, the room rates are fair. We usually update to a full ocean view when we get there if we can. The food is average and not cheap, but there are other restaurants and fast food close by. The weather is the best of any of the islands. The beach is close by, but a has some rocks , but the pools are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish and chips at the outdoor vendor at the King's Mall

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed.Vancouver
Vancouver, Canada
Nov 25, 2013

I am very satisfied.

The location of the hotel is one of the best. It's very close to the plaza with all the shopping and restaurants. The beach is large and comfortable. The only thing to improve is: to put something to create the shade. Services are good, food is delicious, staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza is just 5 minutes walk.

Back to menu Return to top