$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
436 out of 436
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles,ca
Oct 1, 2011

RESORT ACITIVITY CHARGES

It was a surprise charge upon checking in,when the front desk staff handed me a card that states that there is a 25.00 dollar charge per day for internet access,wether i use it or not.I felt like backing out of my reservation but i thought where will i stay? I paid it anyway,but what a surprise!!Is there anyway around this charge?Are there options?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Know the area so well,then travel to the place of interest vs paying a tour guide for hundreds of dollar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ronine
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 29, 2011

It isn't what it use to be

Have stayed at this hotel when it was a Sheraton and then an Outrigger (both were outstanding). The change in decor and ambiance are no where near what it was. The carpeting is outdated, reminds me of hotels back in the 60'ies. The lobby use to be a "WOW' entrance. Now it is very sterile.The pool area with its $50.rental tents/day and only a few umbrellas is lacking. Should have more umbrellas and no rental tents. The grounds are still beautiful. Still an excellent hotel, but in many aspects, it lost its "WOW".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danny J
Business
Kirkland, WA
Sep 23, 2011

Waikola Marriot - the good and the bad

The grounds are nice and the pools are great. They had great tasting pineapple in the lobby for free which was nice. the beach was somewhat rocky but there is a nice swimming beach 7 miles north of the hotel. You can also walk north along the beach to the Hilton grounds, which I recommend. The weather was better in this area than any other area on the mid to north end of the island. The buffet is not a good deal, way too expensive for what you get. Also, the staff never restocked anything in the room without asking for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can afford it, you should eat at Roy's. It cost us about $60.00 per person but everything was great. Eddie Aikea's was also good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kgnwang
Business
Grand Terrace, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Second Honeymoon

We loved the Big Island! Plenty of things to offer, such as activities. The hotel we stayed in was very clean and staff were very attentive, beautiful landscaped grounds, so relaxing! Many swimming options and water activities. The housekeeper for the most part was very helpful in cleaning our room and did a good job. The area of improvement: the lack of Wi-Fi in the privacy of your room and the $25.00 charge per day for use of the internet in the lobby area, which I may add was so slow you had to constantly reload the page (advertised as very fast connection), or the use of the Ethernet in the rooms not allowing you a way to use the internet via iPad, or smart phone in the rooms. I went and bought my own WiFi then connected it to the ethernet, but soon became crowded for I had no way of password protecting it for I did not have a laptop. It was for the most part very peaceful, but 2 nights they had loud people who thought they could make all the noise they wanted at 0200 in the AM without regard to others wanting to sleep. Another area of improvement would have been a microwave in the room, for those late night snacks you may have wanted to heat up. Over all we enjoyed the Hotel and the location,an easy walk could get you enjoyment of shopping for souvenirs and dining out, good food! We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask the locals were the best places to eat, do activities, and good coffee to buy. Buy doing this we were able to find GREAT! food, and many other wonderful discoveries not advertised. The people are very helpful and willing to help.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley R
Business
Bolivar, OH 44612, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Great Resort in Perfect Location

We have stayed here twice now and both times was great. Nice clean rooms and the hotel is in a great location to shopping and restaurants. The beach is also just steps away (FYI this is not a white sand beach it is salt and pepper and rocky). Its also convienient to town with Kona only 20 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Every evening Sat-Thursday the hotel restaurant does buy one dinner get one free from 5-6

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Shaka
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

OK place

the hotel was comfortable, the staff very helpful. the beach is very rocky, not safe to swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mauna kea, Hapuna and Kekaha Kai Beaches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3rd trip to Hawaii
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Vacation for 2

We stayed for 10 nights in August 2011. The hotel facilites (grounds, pool, beach, etc.) were very good and the location was extremely convenient as we were able to walk to shopping and dining outside the hotel. However, the interiors and rooms were worn and need to be updated. It was nice to have the pool available 24 hours a day. The beach was clean, but the chairs were also worn. There were several turtles on the beach's shore line. Snorkling was good. We would stay here again and recommend especially if the hotel updates its rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely check out the restaurants in King's and Queen's shopping centers. Merriman's Cafe is very good and provides a buy 9 get 1 free dining card. Eddie Aikau's restaurant has a nice happy hour with inexpensive food specials and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GinaP
Business
Bay Area
Sep 9, 2011

Great place

The Marriott was a great place to stay! Having the King and Queens shops within walking distance was so nice because you didn't have to always eat at the hotel. The pools were fantastic. It would have been nice if they had more umbrella's poolside and allowed you more than 1 towel. The bed was really comfy. The gas fireplaces with the comfy chairs and couches were a great, romantic place to lounge in the evening. Attentive staff: went to the Hilton for dinner and the valet attendant requested a complimentay shuttle from the Hilton to pick us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Highly recommend the Teppanyaki restaurant called Imari at the Hilton. YUMMY!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good friend
Business
Fremont, CA, USA
Aug 28, 2011

good but could be improved

Wi fi is not available in the hotel rooms ..who nowadays uses wired connection ? Conceiarge services have to be improved ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

kona is best for food option which is 20 min drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oscarcat
Business
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas, CA 92007, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Good balance of amenities and price

We have stayed at other hotels on the Big Island but the Waikoloa Marriott is the one we return to. For kids, the Hilton has more to offer, their grounds are huge. The Marriott is more sophisticated, the guests have better manners and the halls are generally quiet. The salt water pool is always inviting and A Bay is just a short stroll and always in sight. Best beach on the Kohala coast. Food prices have increased dramatically this year [2011] so look for the specials posted in the elevator and usually on the table with menus. The bar is small and intimate; Peter has been bar tending 29 years and Chad has been there 19 years. Most nights there is live music, a mix of Hawaiian and pop standards. It is located 16 miles north of the KOA airport and 22 miles north of downtown Kona. Great for couples and mature children, if your children require constant activity book at the Hilton about 1/2 mile away. Daily resort fee includes self-parking, Internet, Wifi in the lobby, well equipped gym, beach towels. It's impressive how many people hang out in the open-air lobby in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For the coldest Kona Brewing Co. beer, drive south towards town to the marina. Great hamburgers too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top