$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
451 out of 451
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALCH
Business
California, USA
Dec 23, 2011

Fabulous Location, Bed way too soft!!

We have stayed at this resort off and on about 6 times over the last 12 years. We went back this Dec 2011 after a 4 year hiatus. It was the same fabulous view of the ocean and beach side access to great snorkeling, and convenient access to restaurants and shops that it has always been. But the king size bed was way too soft this time.. No support so I had back, neck, head aches and side aches until they flipped the mattress to the side that is not meant to be up, and I bought 2 layers of egg crate foam and took sleeping pills and 1200 mg tylenol each night. They did not have any other alternative type of bed or foam. I have slept at many other Marriott hotels and not had this problem--I usually find the Marriot has good beds for me. If you need a firm yet comfortable sleeping surface, this is not the hotel for you. If you can manage the bed, it is an awesome place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

You can snorkel right off the beach and see sea turtles, coral and many different fish!!!! Fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The travel lover
Business
Boise, Idaho
Dec 19, 2011

It was a good place to have vacation

The hotel has lots of options for usage and in essence was good however, it needs some painting, reconstruction and better organization of the rooms. We had for example only one chair in the room and a desk, there was soemthing like a night stand between the two beds which has such construction that was partially not usable and this was all. (room 3154). Even the cheapst hotels should think for some more comfort in their rooms. The TV was a huge old fasioned one, the chairs on the balkony were comfortable but the tabe was too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shops in the King's Shoping Center and the Quins' Market Place have reasonable prices and offer good quality stuff. They are offfering the best value for the money, compared to the shoping options around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annalise
Business
Kauai, Hawaii, USA
Dec 13, 2011

R & R

Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Only thing that bugged me was the high parking fee, when there was no alternative parking. I won't return because of this. Even high end hotels charge less than $25 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim and Shirley
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Dec 6, 2011

Very nice but remote from town

The hotel room was quite large and very clean. It has a great pool area and nice beach. Shopping is just across the street. It is somewhat remote from the town area activities. We stayed here because of the good rate and the beach and shops nearby.Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shops across from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riff
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 6, 2011

Pre-honeymoon

Stayed 11 days from Nov 23-Dec 3rd. We had issues with the bed which was lumpy and sagged right down the middle. Smart/high tech air condition had sensors that would shut off the air if you were not in the room, open the front door for whatever reason and balcony door. This meant we spend several night waking up hot and coming back to a warm room throughout the day. You would have to manually reset the air when this occurs. Took us over a week to figure it out, thought it was broken the entire time. Overall the managers at the hotel were very accommodating and made up for the bed and air situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a 4WD vehicle and tour every part of the island especially all those places the car rental companies don't want you to go i.e. Saddle Road, Mona Kea, Road to the Sea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peaches O Toole
Business
Fresno Ca
Nov 30, 2011

great location

we could not have been more pleased - the location was great, staff helpful and food and beverage very very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel dining was better than the much praised Roys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tschumi's
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Nov 30, 2011

Expected more from Mariott

There were some disappointing items while our stay at Mariott Waikoloa. On our arrival day there was no water at the hotel so we could not take a shower after the long flight from Europe and even could not use the toilet. During all our 6 days the hot spa pool was provided with the notice: "the heating system is under repair". The offered towels at the pool were too small. But most disappointing was the inacceptable internet access. With response times of several minutes for one entry or (mostly) no response at all, it was simply unusable. However the hotel does charge for these "services" daily USD 25 +tax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
addy
Business
Royal Oak, MI, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Low key

Walking distance to 2 shopping centers. Has swim-able beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BC Canada
Nov 22, 2011

Relaxing down time

All was good. Hotel resturant expensive. Captive location not many choices for economical eating and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaliaB
Business
New Hampshire
Nov 21, 2011

good honeymoon spot

Aside from having daily $25 fee assessed for "activities" which we didn't use, this was a nice place for our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top