$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

4 stars
69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
376 reviews
Hotel was great

The hotel experience was great, friendly staffs and very clean room. Unfortunately, my booking... See full review

  • andyandy777
  • Jul 14, 2014
great vacation

Everything went well. Employees very friendly and helpful. See full review

  • jeff taka
  • Jul 7, 2014
Beachfront Waikoloa resort next door to two upscale shopping centers

On an island with relatively few beaches, the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa in Waikoloa charms with a location on lovely Anaehoomalu Bay, with a sand beach, safe swimming and ancient Hawaiian fishponds. Guests enjoy spacious and contemporary accommodations that include a private balcony and the notable Marriott Revive bed. On the property, an infinity swimming pool, full-service spa and fitness center complete bliss.

Highlights
  • Enjoy an oceanfront location on Anaehoomalu Bay, with one of the region's best beaches and swimming bays
  • Visit two shopping centers just next door, with stores from local favorite Cinnamon Girl to Louis Vuitton
  • Spend the day unwinding at Waikoloa Beach Marriott's full-service Mandara Spa
Location

The 15-acre beachfront Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the exclusive South Kohala community of Waikoloa. The resort sits on beautiful Anaehoomalu Bay, with a sandy beach, safe swimming and ancient fishponds. Two excellent shopping centers are just next door.

Rooms

The six-story Waikoloa Beach Marriott features more than 530 guest rooms and one-bedroom suites with elegantly contemporary Polynesian and Asian décor, and views ranging from pool to garden/mountain and ocean. Each includes a private balcony, the Marriott Revive bed with designer duvet and extra fluffy pillows, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), air conditioning, Kona coffee and tea service and flat-screen cable/satellite TV.

Dining

Waikoloa Beach Marriott features Hawaii Calls Restaurant & Lounge, popular for its breakfast buffet and American/Pacific Rim-style dinner service. The Marriott also offers the Sunset Luau experience. Next to the resort, try Merriman's Market Café; Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill; Sansei Seafood, Steak & Sushi Bar; or Romano's Macaroni Grill.

Recreation

Guests at Waikoloa Beach Marriott unwind at the full-service Mandara Spa or at in the heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Kids have their own children's pool, while a fitness center and nearby golf courses complete the diversions. The hotel also hosts cultural activities to educate guests about local traditions.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (18.5 mi/29.8 km)
Attractions
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (fronting resort)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (1 block)
  • Hapuna Beach (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (21.2 mi/34.1 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (25 mi/40.3 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (44.7 mi/72 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (103 mi/166 km)
Policies and fees
The property charges $25 USD resort fee plus tax per day, inclusive of the following:
  • Unlimited in-room Internet access
  • Daily self-parking
  • Unlimited US domestic, long distance and local phone calls
  • Waikoloa Golf Driving Range use - complimentary use, regularly $15 hr
  • Luau for two people - 20% discount off regular price $97
  • Hertz car rental - 15% daily rental
  • Ocean sports - 10% select beach rentals

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9224 -155.8713
Area served
The Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa is beachfront along the sun splashed Kohala Coast within the world class Waikoloa Beach Resort across from over 60 boutique shops and 15 restaurants at the Waikoloa Kings' Shops and Queens' Marketplace.
Nearby airports
KOA-Kona International Airport.
Area description
Amidst the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii's Big Island lies the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, a luxurious beachfront resort that reflects the tranquility and soul of its unique setting at 'Anaeho'omalu Bay. Beautifully landscaped walking paths, the gleaming golden sand, and ancient Hawaiian fishponds fringed with swaying palms make the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa a paradise like no other. Waikoloa also provides a variety of recreational activities for adventurers and leisure travelers alike. Guests can walk to the beach for ocean activities including scuba diving, snorkeling and catamaran rides. Plus, 36 holes of championship golf at two renowned courses; Waikoloa Beach Course and Kings' Course. Guests can also take a stroll across the street for world-class shopping at the Waikoloa Kings' Shops and Queens' Marketplace, which includes a 3,000 seat outdoor amphitheatre featuring concerts and festivals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden Mountain View
Enjoy tropical surroundings or view distant mountains from the balcony of the garden/mountain room, 1 king or 2 double.
Pool View
Overlook stunning pools amidst a serene tropical setting from the pool view room with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.
Ocean View
Surround yourself with views of the pacific ocean and tropical landscapes, ocean view with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.
Oceanfront
Enjoy breathtaking views of the pacific ocean and sunset, ocean front view room with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Several meeting and conference facilities to choose from including Ali'i Ballroom, Paniolo Ballroom, Paniolo Ocean Terrace, Coconut Grove, Lehua Ballroom, Kamehameha Boardroom, and the Volcano Grounds.

Dining

Merriman's Market Caf
Merriman's uses the freshest ingredients from local Big Island farmers to bring you the unique flavors of Hawaii in Italian and Mediterranean style cuisine served in an outdoor cafe. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Contemporary sushi and new wave Asian inspired dishes served in a lively setting is what makes Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar a critic's favorite. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Queens' Marketplace.
Starbucks Coffee
Serving breakfast, coffee and light meals. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.
Room Service
Serving an extensive breakfast and dinner menu, from 6am - 11am and 6pm to 10pm.
Hawaii Calls Restaurant & Lounge
Providing panoramic ocean views and outdoor seating on our newly expanded lanai, our signature restaurant offers Pacific-Asian cuisine. Featuring an elaborate daily breakfast buffet & ala care menu. Salads, sandwiches and tropical drinks available for lunch served in our seated dining area or poolside. Dinner features fresh Big Island produce and local seafood. The lounge also offers cocktails and a light bistro/pupu (appetizers) menu for late-night dining.
Kona Coffee Shoppe
Offering convenient light breakfast to-go including homemade pastries, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. Plus local Kona coffee blends and other "eye-opener" beverages.
Sunset Luau
Gather as the sun sets over 'Anaeho'omalu Bay for some classic Polynesian entertainment including music, traditional dances of the South Pacific and a delectable selection of Hawaiian food.
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's features the finest Hawaiian seafood, with a focus on delicacies from the oceans surrounding Hawaii. You will discover a fusion of the world's finest flavors, deliciously wrapped in the Hawaiian state of mind. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (376)

Ratings and reviews for Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark and Laura M
Livermore, Ca.
May 5, 2013

overall very nice

I thought the hotel was very nice with a perfect location, steps from a lovely beach. The staff was very friendly. The hotel offers many amenities and beach activities. The hotel restaurant had very good food, though a bit pricey. Overall I enjoyed everything about it. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the rooms could use a bit of updating.I liked it so much I stayed there twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a less pricey restaurant steps away from the hotel beach called the Lava Lava, also great food and entertainment.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen and Erik
Washington
May 1, 2013

Fun Time!

Good hotel with a great location. Loved staying there and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Swim with the Manta Rays it is a truly unique experience!

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve Frisco
San francisco
Apr 27, 2013

Quiet getaway

An upscale hotel that has a great beach and lovely pools to swim in nearby. The luau was great with the dancing and food. A cute shopping center is situated nearby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's is great for dinner

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sasamin
Chicago, IL
Apr 24, 2013

Great hotel stay at Waikoloa resort

My husband and I booked our hotel for 7 nights for a mid-April stay. The resort area is quite beautiful and has some amazing views, of the beach and of the volcanoes. The hotel is what you'd expect from a beach side resort, very well designed and appointed and mostly open-air in the public areas. Mid-April seems to be a quiet time at the resort so if you are looking to avoid crowds and a lot of children and noise, this is the perfect time to go and the weather was gorgeous. Our room was a poolside view on the second floor. We loved the view, which was mostly palm trees and the pool area. We didn't find that it was loud in any way and we frequently opened the door to the balcony area. Our room didn't get direct sunlight so that was a plus. We also ended up getting a room with two double beds which we actually prefer so that was not a problem for us. There is some wear and tear on the carpet and it looks like they replaced patches here and there, but that didn't bother me. The TV is a regular old big box TV but I didn't go to watch TV so that was not a big deal. The cleaning staff is very friendly and will say aloha/good morning and ask if you need your room cleaned and if you need more towels, etc. We didn't get our room cleaned often (we're very tidy) but when we did they did a great job. Other things: Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Beach area is very nice but make sure to explore north and south of the beach area as they are quite beautiful and you might see some turtles. We enjoyed the restaurant and staff and they are friendly and accommodating. We also loved the pool area, especially the infinity pool; it was very relaxing. We had no trouble getting chairs because the resort was very quiet. Overall, I was very pleasantly surprised by the resort and would definitely stay here again when I return to the Kohala area. Remember to smile and be friendly, you are in Hawaii!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
student at UHH
hilo, hawaii
Apr 22, 2013

Good place to stay in Kona

The location was good for shopping, dining, and going to the beach. The room itself was clean and nice. Overall, good place to stay if going to a trip in Kona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mendo 1
San Jose
Apr 20, 2013

Great stay!!

The hotel is north of the airport about 20 minuntes. when my wife and myself walked through the front door we both said," WOW" the view looked straight through to the ocean. Almost every night we either had a drink looking out or dined in the open restaurant over looking the pool and ocean. Restaruant was overpriced, 18 dollar burger...but that had half off dinners twice during the week and drink specials during happy hour. Great staff. My wife loved the infinity pool, I preferred the 3 hot tubs. Easy walks along beautiful beaches, saw turtles every day and snorkled with them once :) If you want to get away from the crowds, this is the place to be!! We headed down to the Kona/Kailua area one day...reminded me of Waikiki on Oahu.. so many shops and people..Did lots of sightseeing. from South Point to the Volcano, Botanical gardens were beautiful, Akaka falls, loved Hapuna Beach and the beach at the North end of the Island. We can't wait to get back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
koocnivek
Business
Hayward, CA
Apr 13, 2013

Luxury & Comfort

This was my first stay at the Waikaloa Marriot. The hotel room was fantastic, the location was great - close to shops. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dessert at Macaroni Grill

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DangerBear
San Francisco, CA
Apr 3, 2013

Fantastic value

Eighth time to Hawaii, first time to the Big Island. The Marriott is in a good location, near stores and a decent beach (for the Big Island). Very nice little rooms with modern furnishings (excepting the TV, for which I say -- Big deal, you are in Hawaii... go watch the sunset, not TV). Fun little bar with nightly drink specials. Restaurant was OK; they had half-off entree specials Mondays and Thursdays. Breakfast buffet was uneven, but all I need is a decent omelet and fresh pineapple and I am happy. The grounds are simply lovely, with a pathway through old lava and brackish pools teeming with fish -- spot the huge eel if you can. Pools were quite nice -- too many screaming kids, but that's the case with most resorts unfortunately. Staff were perfectly friendly. Best time is the evenings -- quiet music, fire pits, and amazing sunsets. Best thing about this place is the value -- for what you pay, you get a really good experience. It is not the Four Seasons, but neither is the price. I would happily go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
santos family
chico ca
Mar 27, 2013

Hawaii family vacation

Beautiful hotel. Very comfortable room and beds. We had booked a garden view room and got both a garden view with an ocean view! The room was always exquisitely clean, although not always done on a reliable time frame.. We had to leave our room twice in the late afternoon because the room was not done yet. Pools and Beaches were always clean and refreshing. Never overcrowded. Staff directed us to where and when we could find turtles. Only down side was Waikoloa is far from Kona and from good eateries, so we did a lot of driving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al super tan
Lafayette, CA
Mar 20, 2013

Much to like!

A bit tired inside but its location and outside areas are worth the stay. Great staff, good food and super pool area for adults and children. Buffett breakfast is all you could ask for and well done. Needs upgrading and I understand the resosrt has been sold and will change its name in July of this year and hopefully the TVs and the internet connection. Bathrooms have much to be desired but who goes there for this when there is so much positive stuff to find everywhere else. Great location too. Beach is not great....rough sand and no umbrellas. Go, you will like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search