$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96738

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
426 reviews
Fantastic Location

The second you arrive, you feel relaxed. The rooms are clean and the hotel is in an excellent... See full review

  • Blonder Ambitions
  • Feb 13, 2015
awwsome

Great place to stay, would do it again. Awesome staff and good food, no comoplaints See full review

  • Josif B.
  • Feb 13, 2015
Beachfront Waikoloa resort next door to two upscale shopping centers

On an island with relatively few beaches, the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa in Waikoloa charms with a location on lovely Anaehoomalu Bay, with a sand beach, safe swimming and ancient Hawaiian fishponds. Guests enjoy spacious and contemporary accommodations that include a private balcony and the notable Marriott Revive bed. On the property, an infinity swimming pool, full-service spa and fitness center complete bliss.

Highlights
  • Enjoy an oceanfront location on Anaehoomalu Bay, with one of the region's best beaches and swimming bays
  • Visit two shopping centers just next door, with stores from local favorite Cinnamon Girl to Louis Vuitton
  • Spend the day unwinding at Waikoloa Beach Marriott's full-service Mandara Spa
Location

The 15-acre beachfront Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the exclusive South Kohala community of Waikoloa. The resort sits on beautiful Anaehoomalu Bay, with a sandy beach, safe swimming and ancient fishponds. Two excellent shopping centers are just next door.

Rooms

The six-story Waikoloa Beach Marriott features more than 530 guest rooms and one-bedroom suites with elegantly contemporary Polynesian and Asian décor, and views ranging from pool to garden/mountain and ocean. Each includes a private balcony, the Marriott Revive bed with designer duvet and extra fluffy pillows, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), air conditioning, Kona coffee and tea service and flat-screen cable/satellite TV.

Dining

Waikoloa Beach Marriott features Hawaii Calls Restaurant & Lounge, popular for its breakfast buffet and American/Pacific Rim-style dinner service. The Marriott also offers the Sunset Luau experience. Next to the resort, try Merriman's Market Café; Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill; Sansei Seafood, Steak & Sushi Bar; or Romano's Macaroni Grill.

Recreation

Guests at Waikoloa Beach Marriott unwind at the full-service Mandara Spa or at in the heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Kids have their own children's pool, while a fitness center and nearby golf courses complete the diversions. The hotel also hosts cultural activities to educate guests about local traditions.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (18.5 mi/29.8 km)
Attractions
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (fronting resort)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (1 block)
  • Hapuna Beach (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (21.2 mi/34.1 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (25 mi/40.3 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (44.7 mi/72 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (103 mi/166 km)
Policies and fees
The property charges $25 USD resort fee plus tax per day, inclusive of the following:
  • Unlimited in-room Internet access
  • Daily self-parking
  • Unlimited US domestic, long distance and local phone calls
  • Waikoloa Golf Driving Range use - complimentary use, regularly $15 hr
  • Luau for two people - 20% discount off regular price $97
  • Hertz car rental - 15% daily rental
  • Ocean sports - 10% select beach rentals

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden Mountain View
Enjoy tropical surroundings or view distant mountains from the balcony of the garden/mountain room, 1 king or 2 double.
Pool View
Overlook stunning pools amidst a serene tropical setting from the pool view room with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.
Ocean View
Surround yourself with views of the pacific ocean and tropical landscapes, ocean view with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.
Oceanfront
Enjoy breathtaking views of the pacific ocean and sunset, ocean front view room with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Several meeting and conference facilities to choose from including Ali'i Ballroom, Paniolo Ballroom, Paniolo Ocean Terrace, Coconut Grove, Lehua Ballroom, Kamehameha Boardroom, and the Volcano Grounds.

Dining

Merriman's Market Caf
Merriman's uses the freshest ingredients from local Big Island farmers to bring you the unique flavors of Hawaii in Italian and Mediterranean style cuisine served in an outdoor cafe. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Contemporary sushi and new wave Asian inspired dishes served in a lively setting is what makes Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar a critic's favorite. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Queens' Marketplace.
Starbucks Coffee
Serving breakfast, coffee and light meals. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.
Room Service
Serving an extensive breakfast and dinner menu, from 6am - 11am and 6pm to 10pm.
Hawaii Calls Restaurant & Lounge
Providing panoramic ocean views and outdoor seating on our newly expanded lanai, our signature restaurant offers Pacific-Asian cuisine. Featuring an elaborate daily breakfast buffet & ala care menu. Salads, sandwiches and tropical drinks available for lunch served in our seated dining area or poolside. Dinner features fresh Big Island produce and local seafood. The lounge also offers cocktails and a light bistro/pupu (appetizers) menu for late-night dining.
Kona Coffee Shoppe
Offering convenient light breakfast to-go including homemade pastries, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. Plus local Kona coffee blends and other "eye-opener" beverages.
Sunset Luau
Gather as the sun sets over 'Anaeho'omalu Bay for some classic Polynesian entertainment including music, traditional dances of the South Pacific and a delectable selection of Hawaiian food.
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's features the finest Hawaiian seafood, with a focus on delicacies from the oceans surrounding Hawaii. You will discover a fusion of the world's finest flavors, deliciously wrapped in the Hawaiian state of mind. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (426)

Ratings and reviews for Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
426 out of 426
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mendo 1
San Jose
Apr 20, 2013

Great stay!!

The hotel is north of the airport about 20 minuntes. when my wife and myself walked through the front door we both said," WOW" the view looked straight through to the ocean. Almost every night we either had a drink looking out or dined in the open restaurant over looking the pool and ocean. Restaruant was overpriced, 18 dollar burger...but that had half off dinners twice during the week and drink specials during happy hour. Great staff. My wife loved the infinity pool, I preferred the 3 hot tubs. Easy walks along beautiful beaches, saw turtles every day and snorkled with them once :) If you want to get away from the crowds, this is the place to be!! We headed down to the Kona/Kailua area one day...reminded me of Waikiki on Oahu.. so many shops and people..Did lots of sightseeing. from South Point to the Volcano, Botanical gardens were beautiful, Akaka falls, loved Hapuna Beach and the beach at the North end of the Island. We can't wait to get back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David L.
Business
N/A
Feb 28, 2015

Beautiful beach location

What a beautiful experience. Amazing beach complete with sea turtles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica S.
Business
N/A
Feb 22, 2015

Great place for a relaxing getaway!

The room was clean. The restaurant in the hotel could have been much better with a wider variety. The pool was great and staff was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aidin
Business
san diego
Feb 22, 2015

adventure

very good hotel to stay at Kona side of the island

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blonder Ambitions
Business
N/A
Feb 13, 2015

Fantastic Location

The second you arrive, you feel relaxed. The rooms are clean and the hotel is in an excellent location. Exactly how a Hawaiian vacation should feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josif B.
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 13, 2015

awwsome

Great place to stay, would do it again. Awesome staff and good food, no comoplaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sapphire1019
Business
N/A
Feb 11, 2015

Wintry Escape

The Marriott Waikoloa had beautiful grounds and we found the location great, away from the busy area of Kailua but close enough to drive to when desired. The hotel is in the Waikoloa beach area which is essentially an entire resort area with the Hilton nearby as well as numerous developments with timeshares, villas, etc. As a result, if you enjoy walking, there is ample sidewalks and paths to walk daily/ The rooms are on the small side but adequate and the hotel is very well maintained. The salt water hot tub was great and much appreciated after spending our days hiking and exploring. The layout of the hotel is a bit odd and we found ourselves walking around inside the hotel to access our room which was adjacent to a stairwell that didn't connect to our floor. One big drawback for us was the unexpected "resort fee" of $25.00 daily which we didn't see any real benefit for as all the activities have fees as well. It did cover the $18.00 a day parking fee and got us each one free cup of coffee, which was not great. Overall, it is a very nice property but as we tend to be active and there is so much to see and do on the Big Island that, unless you just want to relax and spend a lot of time on grounds, the expense of the hotel is not really worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ben S
Business
Zionsville
Feb 10, 2015

Relaxing and convenient

Hotel was located in Waikoloa village and there were lots of things to do within walking distance of hotel. The property itself was excellently maintained, very large and right on the ocean with a private beach. To get anywhere outside the Waikoloa area requires a care because it is 15 miles from town, but the drive is easy and scenic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IN KUAN S.
Business
honolulu
Feb 9, 2015

business stay

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. I would definitely come here again for my business trip. The only thing that had me in awed was that after I checked in at the front desk, I proceeded to my room. Upon arriving, the door to my room was open and their was a hotel worker, probably a bellboy, loading up luggage inside the room. I was a little shocked because I was ready to catch some zzz after a long day. He asked if I was staying in the room and I responded yes. He told me everything was good to go but I didnt feel comfotable like somebody had just checked out of the room. I returned to the front desk puzzled, requesting for a new room. The staff apologized because they didnt have any more rooms with a single bed. I was then placed into another room with a double set of twin beds but was very uncomfortable as I didnt enjoy being next to an empty bed. At the end of the day, I sucked up my courage and went to sleep anyways. I was just really disappointed at how the hotel could not accomodate the one request I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sonalc
Business
bellevue
Jan 27, 2015

Great trip

It was a very nice locations right next to shopping and food. close to beach although beach wasn't great for snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sasamin
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Great hotel, great location, always please with our stay

We've stayed here three times and each time was wonderful. The staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, and the location of the hotel is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the short hike down the beach on A-bay to a more secluded and quiet spot. You'll see a lot of turtles and you'll usually have the beach to yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top