$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

4 stars
69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
501 reviews
Hotel was great

The hotel experience was great, friendly staffs and very clean room. Unfortunately, my booking... See full review

  • andyandy777
  • Jul 14, 2014
great vacation

Everything went well. Employees very friendly and helpful. See full review

  • jeff taka
  • Jul 7, 2014
Beachfront Waikoloa resort next door to two upscale shopping centers

On an island with relatively few beaches, the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa in Waikoloa charms with a location on lovely Anaehoomalu Bay, with a sand beach, safe swimming and ancient Hawaiian fishponds. Guests enjoy spacious and contemporary accommodations that include a private balcony and the notable Marriott Revive bed. On the property, an infinity swimming pool, full-service spa and fitness center complete bliss.

Highlights
  • Enjoy an oceanfront location on Anaehoomalu Bay, with one of the region's best beaches and swimming bays
  • Visit two shopping centers just next door, with stores from local favorite Cinnamon Girl to Louis Vuitton
  • Spend the day unwinding at Waikoloa Beach Marriott's full-service Mandara Spa
Location

The 15-acre beachfront Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa is less than an hour north of Kailua-Kona, in the exclusive South Kohala community of Waikoloa. The resort sits on beautiful Anaehoomalu Bay, with a sandy beach, safe swimming and ancient fishponds. Two excellent shopping centers are just next door.

Rooms

The six-story Waikoloa Beach Marriott features more than 530 guest rooms and one-bedroom suites with elegantly contemporary Polynesian and Asian décor, and views ranging from pool to garden/mountain and ocean. Each includes a private balcony, the Marriott Revive bed with designer duvet and extra fluffy pillows, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), air conditioning, Kona coffee and tea service and flat-screen cable/satellite TV.

Dining

Waikoloa Beach Marriott features Hawaii Calls Restaurant & Lounge, popular for its breakfast buffet and American/Pacific Rim-style dinner service. The Marriott also offers the Sunset Luau experience. Next to the resort, try Merriman's Market Café; Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill; Sansei Seafood, Steak & Sushi Bar; or Romano's Macaroni Grill.

Recreation

Guests at Waikoloa Beach Marriott unwind at the full-service Mandara Spa or at in the heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Kids have their own children's pool, while a fitness center and nearby golf courses complete the diversions. The hotel also hosts cultural activities to educate guests about local traditions.

Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (18.5 mi/29.8 km)
Attractions
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (fronting resort)
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (1 block)
  • Hapuna Beach (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (21.2 mi/34.1 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (25 mi/40.3 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (44.7 mi/72 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (103 mi/166 km)
Policies and fees
The property charges $25 USD resort fee plus tax per day, inclusive of the following:
  • Unlimited in-room Internet access
  • Daily self-parking
  • Unlimited US domestic, long distance and local phone calls
  • Waikoloa Golf Driving Range use - complimentary use, regularly $15 hr
  • Luau for two people - 20% discount off regular price $97
  • Hertz car rental - 15% daily rental
  • Ocean sports - 10% select beach rentals

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa Rooms

Garden Mountain View
Enjoy tropical surroundings or view distant mountains from the balcony of the garden/mountain room, 1 king or 2 double.
Pool View
Overlook stunning pools amidst a serene tropical setting from the pool view room with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.
Ocean View
Surround yourself with views of the pacific ocean and tropical landscapes, ocean view with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.
Oceanfront
Enjoy breathtaking views of the pacific ocean and sunset, ocean front view room with balcony, 1 king or 2 double.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.9224 -155.8713
Area served
The Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa is beachfront along the sun splashed Kohala Coast within the world class Waikoloa Beach Resort across from over 60 boutique shops and 15 restaurants at the Waikoloa Kings' Shops and Queens' Marketplace.
Nearby airports
KOA-Kona International Airport.
Area description
Amidst the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii's Big Island lies the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, a luxurious beachfront resort that reflects the tranquility and soul of its unique setting at 'Anaeho'omalu Bay. Beautifully landscaped walking paths, the gleaming golden sand, and ancient Hawaiian fishponds fringed with swaying palms make the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa a paradise like no other. Waikoloa also provides a variety of recreational activities for adventurers and leisure travelers alike. Guests can walk to the beach for ocean activities including scuba diving, snorkeling and catamaran rides. Plus, 36 holes of championship golf at two renowned courses; Waikoloa Beach Course and Kings' Course. Guests can also take a stroll across the street for world-class shopping at the Waikoloa Kings' Shops and Queens' Marketplace, which includes a 3,000 seat outdoor amphitheatre featuring concerts and festivals.

Dining

Merriman's Market Caf
Merriman's uses the freshest ingredients from local Big Island farmers to bring you the unique flavors of Hawaii in Italian and Mediterranean style cuisine served in an outdoor cafe. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Contemporary sushi and new wave Asian inspired dishes served in a lively setting is what makes Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar a critic's favorite. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Queens' Marketplace.
Starbucks Coffee
Serving breakfast, coffee and light meals. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.
Room Service
Serving an extensive breakfast and dinner menu, from 6am - 11am and 6pm to 10pm.
Hawaii Calls Restaurant & Lounge
Providing panoramic ocean views and outdoor seating on our newly expanded lanai, our signature restaurant offers Pacific-Asian cuisine. Featuring an elaborate daily breakfast buffet & ala care menu. Salads, sandwiches and tropical drinks available for lunch served in our seated dining area or poolside. Dinner features fresh Big Island produce and local seafood. The lounge also offers cocktails and a light bistro/pupu (appetizers) menu for late-night dining.
Kona Coffee Shoppe
Offering convenient light breakfast to-go including homemade pastries, muffins, breads and fresh fruit. Plus local Kona coffee blends and other "eye-opener" beverages.
Sunset Luau
Gather as the sun sets over 'Anaeho'omalu Bay for some classic Polynesian entertainment including music, traditional dances of the South Pacific and a delectable selection of Hawaiian food.
Roy's Waikoloa Bar & Grill
Roy's features the finest Hawaiian seafood, with a focus on delicacies from the oceans surrounding Hawaii. You will discover a fusion of the world's finest flavors, deliciously wrapped in the Hawaiian state of mind. Located within walking distance in the Waikoloa Kings' Shops.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Several meeting and conference facilities to choose from including Ali'i Ballroom, Paniolo Ballroom, Paniolo Ocean Terrace, Coconut Grove, Lehua Ballroom, Kamehameha Boardroom, and the Volcano Grounds.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (501)

Ratings and reviews for Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
501 out of 501
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stivystivy
hawaii
Jul 27, 2014

Enjoyed Stay

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. My children loved it, and my wife and I found it relaxing. Overall, beautiful properties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
andyandy777
California
Jul 14, 2014

Hotel was great

The hotel experience was great, friendly staffs and very clean room. Unfortunately, my booking information to this hotel was the received and wasted a good 2 hours standing in the front desk as the staffs scramble to find me a room. Because of the great staff they were able to get me a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LDSmissionarymama
Kaneohe, HI
Jul 14, 2014

Quality time with family

There was a slight glitch to the reservation, (problem was not with the hotel and I guess I can't post it here), but after that was resolved, we were ready to enjoy our time together. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are amazing. They treat tourists and locals with much aloha and respect and grateful that we are visiting their property. I was able to commend a bunch of staff members for keeping the property so nice for us to enjoy. We enjoyed the prime rib dinner buffet while eating near the pool. Since the pool is open 24 hours, after a few hours of resting after that buffet meal, we were able to enjoy time in the infinity pool. The summer evening was nice and cool. We enjoyed it so much, we went to the pool for the next 2 nights too. Waikoloa Beach Marriott, thank you for your hospitality, this was a deal we couldn't pass up, keep bringing the world more great deals!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a store in the Queen's Marketplace that is huge and has a deli, with sandwiches and salads and some fried chicken. In case you don't want hotel food and you don't want to drive 20 mins. into Kona, buy food from there and reasonable. Sorry I don't know the name of the store, but you can't miss it!

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angelkawai
Hawaii
Jul 9, 2014

Great Place to relax

This hotel is a great place to relax. Rooms are average, nothing very fancy. Beds are extremely comfortable. It was a great get away. Would stay at location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great prime rib & crab leg buffet at the Hawaii Calls Restaurant located at the hotel.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeff taka
hi
Jul 7, 2014

great vacation

Everything went well. Employees very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Not much going on. Just a great relaxing time. No need to go anywhere but golf, shopping, food and others just a walk away.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheryl from VT
Brandon, Vermont
Jun 26, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

As with this hotel brand, this hotel holds the same standards: great location, excellent staff, and wonderful location. We got a great rate for our week on the Big Island. For the volcano tours and falls, it was on the other side of the island, which was a 2 hour hike.....but, we were on vacation and in Hawaii !! If I go back to the Big Island again, I would definitely considering booking here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin Journeys was a wonderful excursion. We swam with massive groups of wild dolphins off the coast. It was only a 30 minute drive from the hotel in the Honokohau Marina. Website is www.dolphinjourneys.com and Justin, our guide, was wonderful. Cathy was our boat captain and made sure we saw the dolphins multiple times, along with some Manta Rays !!

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Watson Traveler
Des Moines, IA
Jun 9, 2014

Great place for a relaxing beach vacation

Hotel was great with knowledgeable and kind staff. If you are interested in anything other than the pool and beach make sure you rent a car to get around. We were in a garden view room which was still gorgeous and only a 3 minute walk to the pool or 5 minutes to the beach. On our last night we went to the Luau which was incredibly entertaining with a great host.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car - you will be stuck in Waikoloa and miss all of the great aspects of Hawai'i if you don't rent a car.

Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve34
Scottsdale, AZ
Jun 1, 2014

Great Location

Great location to the beach. Pools were clean and modern. Nice to be able to walk to the grocery store, out for dinner and drinks and all within 5-10 minutes. Sounds petty but wish they had an air pump outside by the pool for any pool rafts, floats, toys that were brought for the kids. It would save a lot of time and effort. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suefrom CA
Burlingame, CA
May 30, 2014

Excellent Resort

One of the few resorts to have actual beach access. Checked in early and only a 1st floor garden room was available- that was fine with us. Enjoyed a few dinners at Hawaii Calls restaurant. Every nite is a special offer- like 2 nites were 50% off entrees. Room was a decent size but only one comfy chair. Hubby said the bed was too soft for him. Nice coffee bar with many tables "outdoors". They had a luau 2 nites, but we chose not to attend. Very close to the Kings and Queens malls which gave a few shopping and dining options. The $18/nite parking fee is a bit steep. Only 18 miles from Kona airport and there is a gas station in the King's mall, which is convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dolphy
Canberra Australia
Apr 29, 2014

Nice facilities

I wouldn't wanna go out of the resort, everything I needed is in it. The only downside is the resort charges resort fee of $25 per day for parking, wifi and domestic telephone calls, which I was giving an impression that included in the hotel booking from booking site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top