$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

4 stars
69-1029 Nawahine Place, Waikoloa, HI 96738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
38 reviews
Perfect family place

We had unit 21D, furthest from pool. The very new apartment was decorated in tasteful island style... See full review

  • LaChris
  • Sep 8, 2013
Braved the storm

Stayed at this property as the hurricane hit the big island. No power outages and no damage. Very... See full review

  • Golf guy 1969
  • Aug 10, 2014
Fully equipped oceanfront Waikoloa villas on a luxury-resort property
Experience oceanfront living at Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa in a deluxe villa with mountain, golf course or ocean views and upscale, contemporary décor. Located on the expansive Waikoloa Beach Resort in South Kohala, guests enjoy easy access to the resort's golf courses, shopping and dining. Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa offers an oceanfront swimming pool, children's pool, tennis courts, fitness center and restaurant. Parking and high-speed Internet access are complimentary.
Highlights
  • Swimming beach and exceptional shopping and dining within a few minutes' drive
  • Marvel at the Big Island's magnificently rugged black-rock coastline, created by ancient volcanic lava flows
  • Oceanfront pool, children's pool
Location
Located in the community of Waikoloa on the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Resort property, Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa a short drive north from Kailua-Kona. The hotel offers easy access to a sandy beach at Anaehoomalu Bay, Hawaiian historical sites, and excellent shopping and dining.
Features

Recreation

Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa offers excellent recreational facilities, including a swimming pool and children's pool, whirlpool, fitness center, tennis courts and basketball courts.
Dining
All Halii Kai At Waikoloa villas feature a full kitchen for home-cooked meals. The Ocean Club Bar and Grill at Halii Kai serves dishes made from chef-grown herbs and vegetables, plus fresh seafood and local beef. Additional restaurants and cafés are nearby.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (19.1 mi/30.8 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (25.6 mi/41.3 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (45.4 mi/73 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (103 mi/166 km)
Policies and fees
  • For check in procedures, guest must contact the property direct at 808-886-4307 daily to 8 p.m. local time.
  • Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.
  • A resort fee of $10.00 plus tax (per day, per room) will be charged upon check-in. The resort fee will include parking permit and entry gate electronic keycard.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.9256 -155.8816
Area served
Waikoloa. Closest Major City: Kailua-Kona.
Nearby airports
International Airport: Kona-KOA International Airport 18 miles. Domestic Airport: Kona International Airport -KOA
Area description
Halii Kai at Waikoloa is located oceanfront in the famed Waikoloa Beach Resort, along the Kohala Coast on the Big Island of Hawaii. The Waikoloa Beach Resort is just 18 miles north of the Kona International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa Rooms

2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Garden View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One King bed and either two twins or one full bed available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Premium Garden View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king bed and two full beds available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Ocean View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king bed and either two twins or one full bed available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Premium Ocean View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king bed and two full beds available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Oceanfront Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One King bed and either two twins or one full bed available.
3-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Garden View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king, one full and two twin beds available.
3-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Ocean View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king, one full and two twin beds available.
1-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One King bed available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Ocean Club Bar and Grill
Dining at the Ocean Club Bar and Grill at Halii Kai is unforgettable. Our chef prepares menu items using local fresh ingredients such as famous Waimea produce and Big Island Beef, our own chef-grown herbs and vegetables, and fresh-caught seafood Monday through Sunday. The Ocean Club Grill serves up delicious island-inspired lunches and pupus (appetizers) are served from 11:30 am - 6:30 pm; last call for food is 6:15 pm. The bar closes at 7:00 pm and last call for cocktails and beverages is 6:45 pm. The ocean-front setting is priceless; you may find that you lose all track of time in this beautiful outdoor restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Ca
Jul 18, 2011

Halii for families

Nice condo. Pool not for teenagers as small with no thrills. No beach. Hilton ten minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merrimans cafe excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Danville, CA
May 23, 2011

Good place to stay for a family

Our family of 4 stayed in Kalii Kai for 7 days 6 nights. We arrived early & was able to checked in. Overall: Very happy with the place/location. Will come back to Kalli Kai. Condo: Spacious clean 2br/2ba (approx 1200 sqft) Beds: 1 king (comfortable), 2 twins (bit firm) Appliance: modern/functional dryer/washer, dish washer, micro wave & a gas BBQ. Decor: nice. Grounds: well kept, Tennis/BBall court Gym. room: treadmills/cycling/univ. weight stn with a beautiful view of the ocean. pool: Not kid friendly, dark rock barrier inside dark pool water! Services: No cleaning service unless staying for 7 nights or more. Brought out trash to nearby dumpster & use washer/dryer to clean towels. Access: 25 min from airport. 10 miles from Hapuna beach (nice sand) 1 mile to beach near Hilton (good snorkel) 1 mile to Queen's market/king's shops Misc.: Owner provided beach chairs/cooler/sand toys/body surf boards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Hawaii Travelers
Missouri
May 21, 2011

Beautiful grounds, wonderful location!!

Wonderful, peaceful location. A few too many restrictions in their "policies", but would return again, nonetheless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful views at oceanside dining restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver, BC Canada
Apr 29, 2011

Nice accomodations

We had a great time and found the accommodations to be well appointed. We especially found the kitchens to be well equipped and as such we cooked more meals at the condo than we had originally expected to. One word of caution; not all of the condo's have wireless internet access. So if you need wireless, let the hotel staff know beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many great beaches within 15 miles north and south of this location. I highly recommend that you visit as many as you can as they are all unbelievably unique and gorgeous. Don't let others tell you that the big island does not have any good beaches as we found many!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeabassMom
PA
Apr 26, 2011

Paradise

We stayed in unit 11A, a second floor unit with fantastic sunset views and great sunrise views. This is an end unit condo and we could not hear anyone else the entire time we were in the building. Very peaceful and quiet. The decor is very classy - not over the top 'island' decor like some hotels. The only drawback for us was the 'too soft' beds- but that's just a personal preference. This IS a second floor unit and there are no elevators, be prepared to carry your suitcases up two flights of stairs. Also, the office is quite hidden. This was a little tricky since we arrived after sunset. Take a hard left AS SOON as you go in the gate. The swimming pool area was a big hit with our son. The views from the pool area are breathtaking. There are no crowds to deal with. Take a walk out of this area to the lava path that goes around the golf course to the Buddha at the Hilton. The online photos do not exaggerate the beauty of this area of Halii Kai. The staff at the office and the pool/breakfast area were very courteous and friendly. The breakfast was free and I would say that's about the right price for it. It consisted of juice, coffee, hard boiled eggs, boxed cereals and a few pastries/bagels. Adequate but not vacation worthy. There are shops/restaurants just up the road in the Waikaloa Beach Resort. Queens and Kings Shops. Pricey, but everything you need is here. You can drive into Waikaloa (town) or toward Kona for Walmart,Target, Costco etc. for cheaper food to take back to the condo. We ate out in Kona a few times - Fishhoppers was very good for breakfast and lunch. We found Merrimans Market Cafe was our favorite spot in the Waikaloa Resort. There are several nice beaches close by and the condo had a body board and beach toys in the closet. A Bay is at the Waikaloa Marriott (within the resort). Calm waters and great sand. Our favorite was Hapuna Beach just a few minutes north of the resort. Like a giant wave pool. Saw sea turtles there every day. Lots of fun and plenty of room so it didn't feel crowded even though it was popular with a lot of people. We drove around a lot of the island and recommend taking any shoreline access road you see. Most have amazing views and we weren't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Free live entertainment in the common area at the Queens Shops several nights a week (I'm not sure which nites). Hawaiian music and hula dancers. We skipped the luaus because we saw this. Merrrimans Market Cafe in the Kings Shops had great food and service (they have a punch card and gave us an almost full one so I got a FREE filet mignon our next visit) Great ice cream place in the Queens Shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cottonwood az.
Mar 25, 2011

an all around pleasent stay

everyone was very nice an helpful the home was awsome and the grounds were beautiful .i would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meow, the cat
Cupertino, CA
Dec 29, 2010

Comfortable and relaxed vacation spots

My son really loved the Club house. It offered a swimming pool with lawn chairs to lay back and relax. There is a Jacuzzy pool to warm up after cold water experience and Exercise room facing the Ocean. I spotted Whales in the distance while walking on the machine. Club house dining is also better than average. Besides complementary breakfast offered, we also ate a few meals there. The near by Queen's Market Place is a good place to shop and eat. Sansei restuarant is very expensive but it's worth the delicious Sushi and Poke delight!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sansei restaurant in Queen's Market Place. If you love Japanese Cuisine, this place is definitely for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii's finest
Honolulu, HI
Nov 11, 2010

Wonderful get away

Hali'i Kai was a great way to get away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu. We had no plans and just wanted to relax and enjoy another island and its people. We did visit with family and friends and felt so comfortable in our unit. There was nothing more we could of needed except for more days...This was the best place that I've stayed at in Waikoloa. We are planning a return trip and will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

kona

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
a1priority1
Cullowhee, NC
Oct 20, 2010

Better than Hilton/Fairmont/Marriott

Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa is a condo complex. It is a beautiful location and well maintained. Our unit, 9-D, had a great view of the ocean, the Hilton golf course, and the evening sunset. (Units 7 or higher should have equally desirable views.) It's just like home away from home--nice dishes, silver/glassware, attractive furniture, comfortable beds, a full covered patio, a Weber grill, dishwasher, full refrigerator, and a washer and dryer (which we even used!). Additionally, two large flat screen TVs with cable are included. With some plans, breakfast is inluded--it's modest, but it's good food and the view is gorgeous. Exercise equipment and swimming pools are located in this same area with similar outstanding views of the Pacific. Yes, food at the major restaurants is expensive (as in $40 or more without wine). However, there are Wal-Mart, Target, Cosco, K-Mart, and Safeway stores 7 miles South of the airport so you can do your own thing for a lot less by shopping there and enjoying the fresh foods in your own condo or on its patio. Natives will tell you that Merriman's Restaurant offers good food selections at more resonable prices. During our four days on the Island, we drove nearly 500 miles; most of our driving occurred on the North side of the Island, including the tropical rain forest/gardens, and going to Hilo. If you are allergic to plants avoid the rain forest/gardens! Most beautiful golf course we saw: Fairmont's. Of course, you'll take your camera--there are pictures to be taken you'll definitely want to keep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Best restaurant for the price in this area: Merriman's, located in the Kings' Shops of Waikoloa Beach Resort. If you want to save money for some meals, consider getting your food items in Kailua-Kona, which is about a 30-minute drive from Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa. Also, be aware that there's a difference between 100% Kona coffee and 10% Kona coffee (observe labels carefully!).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 24, 2010

Great place for a great stay

Very spacious condo with a great pool and very close to food, shops and two great beaches. If you are going for the Volcano Park it's a couple hrs away but its very close to Kailua which is a nice little town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's Restaurant at Kings Shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search