$349 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

4 stars
69-1029 Nawahine Place, Waikoloa, HI 96738
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
39 reviews
Perfect family place

We had unit 21D, furthest from pool. The very new apartment was decorated in tasteful island style... See full review

  • LaChris
  • Sep 8, 2013
Wonderful vacation

We stayed here with two other couples. We were in town for another friends wedding. It was much... See full review

  • Luke and Mya's Mom
  • Nov 7, 2014
Fully equipped oceanfront Waikoloa villas on a luxury-resort property
Experience oceanfront living at Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa in a deluxe villa with mountain, golf course or ocean views and upscale, contemporary décor. Located on the expansive Waikoloa Beach Resort in South Kohala, guests enjoy easy access to the resort's golf courses, shopping and dining. Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa offers an oceanfront swimming pool, children's pool, tennis courts, fitness center and restaurant. Parking and high-speed Internet access are complimentary.
Highlights
  • Swimming beach and exceptional shopping and dining within a few minutes' drive
  • Marvel at the Big Island's magnificently rugged black-rock coastline, created by ancient volcanic lava flows
  • Oceanfront pool, children's pool
Location
Located in the community of Waikoloa on the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Resort property, Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa a short drive north from Kailua-Kona. The hotel offers easy access to a sandy beach at Anaehoomalu Bay, Hawaiian historical sites, and excellent shopping and dining.
Features

Recreation

Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa offers excellent recreational facilities, including a swimming pool and children's pool, whirlpool, fitness center, tennis courts and basketball courts.
Dining
All Halii Kai At Waikoloa villas feature a full kitchen for home-cooked meals. The Ocean Club Bar and Grill at Halii Kai serves dishes made from chef-grown herbs and vegetables, plus fresh seafood and local beef. Additional restaurants and cafés are nearby.
Transportation
  • Kona International Airport (19.1 mi/30.8 km)
Attractions
  • Kings' Shops/Queens' MarketPlace (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Anaehoomalu Bay (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Hapuna Beach (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Lapakahi State Historical Park (21.7 mi/34.9 km)
  • Kailua-Kona (25.6 mi/41.3 km)
  • Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (45.4 mi/73 km)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (via Waimea) (103 mi/166 km)
Policies and fees
  • For check in procedures, guest must contact the property direct at 808-886-4307 daily to 8 p.m. local time.
  • Guests who are staying less than 7 days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.
  • A resort fee of $10.00 plus tax (per day, per room) will be charged upon check-in. The resort fee will include parking permit and entry gate electronic keycard.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa Rooms

2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Garden View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One King bed and either two twins or one full bed available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Premium Garden View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king bed and two full beds available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Ocean View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king bed and either two twins or one full bed available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Premium Ocean View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king bed and two full beds available.
2-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Oceanfront Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One King bed and either two twins or one full bed available.
3-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Garden View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king, one full and two twin beds available.
3-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Ocean View Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One king, one full and two twin beds available.
1-Bedroom/2-Bathroom Villa
The villa comes with a fully equipped gourmet kitchen, high-speed Internet, large screen cable TV, fully equipped laundry room with full-size washer and dryer, soap and laundry baskets; fully-stocked bathrooms with complimentary Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, hotel-quality bed and bath linens, central air-conditioning, spacious private lanai. One King bed available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Dining

Ocean Club Bar and Grill
Dining at the Ocean Club Bar and Grill at Halii Kai is unforgettable. Our chef prepares menu items using local fresh ingredients such as famous Waimea produce and Big Island Beef, our own chef-grown herbs and vegetables, and fresh-caught seafood Monday through Sunday. The Ocean Club Grill serves up delicious island-inspired lunches and pupus (appetizers) are served from 11:30 am - 6:30 pm; last call for food is 6:15 pm. The bar closes at 7:00 pm and last call for cocktails and beverages is 6:45 pm. The ocean-front setting is priceless; you may find that you lose all track of time in this beautiful outdoor restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke and Mya's Mom
Business
Portland, Oregon
Nov 7, 2014

Wonderful vacation

We stayed here with two other couples. We were in town for another friends wedding. It was much more affordable than the hotel the wedding was at. We all very much enjoyed the condo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lava lava beach club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vpatel
Business
San Francisco
Sep 7, 2014

We would not stay at this place again.

Hi. The location of this property is very convenient. It is easy to engage in activities and drive around the island. The property is beautifully kept only on the outside. However, I can not say the same thing about the condo we rented, 17C. We arrived their with our two kids, one toddler and one infant. This was our 3rd trip to Hawaii Islands but this was the worst place we ever stayed in and would not return here ever again. It was dirty everywhere: The pillows were so dirty that I complained to the front desk. I rarely complain about things. I had to complain about the dirty pillows 2xx before they were picked up from our room. However, during our entire stay, no one came by and gave us clean pillows. Pillow cases are easy to replace. Also, the bedroom bed-covers were so smelly that I told my toddler not to use or touch them. The kitchen was so unsanitary that my wife did not feel comfortable cooking for our kids there. The dish rack was visually dirty and we refused to touch it also. The plastic tapper ware was very dirty. The pots were all greasy...no one had clearly cleaned them properly. The stove-top was directly and I cleaned it before using it. Also, the kitchen was not properly stocked. There was no basics like pepper (we left ours their for others), there was no foil or plastic-wrap, etc. Customer service was also not the best. They never replaced the pillows. When we asked for advice on tourism, we were told to go to the Marriott Hotel (they were great). This property management should have people who can guide us a little. The pool was fun for my kids but you could not walk back to your condo with the pool towel. You had to return them before leaving the pool area. So, we had to bring our hotel towels to wrap our kids. The pool also needs some kid toys for the pool. The other guest at the condo are generally not friendly. We spent one day at the Hilton Hotel and meet two other couples unlike our 5 night stay at this property. It is an isolating affair. This is a rare environment compared to the other islands (My wife has been to Hawaii 8x now). This place does not have the Hawaii spirit. :-( Skip this place and go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golf guy 1969
Business
Miami beach
Aug 10, 2014

Braved the storm

Stayed at this property as the hurricane hit the big island. No power outages and no damage. Very nice property. Good location. Lots of restaurants and beaches in the area. Good family spot. Spacious but somewhat dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ham Fam
Business
Southern California
Jul 15, 2014

Nice and Modern

Pros: New unit, everything as described. Nice view of green lawn. Close to bbq unit which was very clean. Hammocks are a plus. Cons: Maid service fee was charged but maid only came once during 7 days to give new towels and take out trash. Maybe twice a week to vacuum would be good. Also, a good 3 minute walk from the unit to the pool. Upstairs tenants had little kids and ran around all hours of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biiy
Business
Chicago,IL
Jun 14, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

The room is Clean, comfort and it's a good value for the vocation stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yukon Family travelers
Business
Whitehorse, Yukon
Apr 29, 2014

Great family Condo

The condo is located in sunny Waikoloa in the vicinity of great beaches, trails and resorts. The condo was spacious and is highly recommended over staying at a hotel. The condo was well stocked including beach toys and chairs, but the kitchen would have benefited from having a couple staple spices. The Halii Kai is highly recommended for the traveler looking for a more homely vacation and the opportunity to cook. We are already discussing when we can go back to the big island and staying at the Halii Kai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunkariamar
Business
Chicago
Dec 5, 2013

Good place to stay

Weloved the place. THese folks thought of everything a family needs in a home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very expensive shopping center- queens market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveloso
Business
san jose CA
Dec 4, 2013

Decent Family Style Accomodation in Waikoloa

Pros: Location is in the heart of Waikoloa. Rooms are spacious and amenities inside the room are very nice. Pool is good and the view from the pool is very nice. Cons: Not Ocean front for the room we booked. the beach access is a short drive, but would have loved to walk to it. Room not serviced for 5 days, while we cleaned every day this is something i miss from a resort dearly, clean sheets and towels and room cleaned out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A bay is awesome beach for kids and adults alike .. and SUrely get an ocean facing room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LaChris
Business
LA
Sep 8, 2013

Perfect family place

We had unit 21D, furthest from pool. The very new apartment was decorated in tasteful island style (didnt think that was possible...) and had lots of space for us. The pool was perfectly located and beautifully near the ocean and felt almost private at times (was almost low season I guess), overall the place never felt busy at all (which we loved, compared to a big hotel resort!). The food at the pool is overpriced and mediocre at best but that did not matter. Overall a great place if you travel with kids and like to have a kitchen and fridge etc. Restaurants and shopping are close by but you will probably need a car at this place to get to beaches etc. Can only recommend this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed the Lava Lava Beach Club a lot, great food in a great setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Halii Kai At Waikoloa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheli SF
Business
San Francisco, California
Jul 6, 2013

Wonderful family trip!

Brought family of 6 and rented and 3bdrm, 3 bath oceanview townhouse. It was gorgeous but was not super clean when we arrived, layers of dust- not unhygienic. We were there for 10 days and although they say housecleaning on the 7th day, that is not correct. They will only bring new towels and take out the trash. That all being said, we had a wonderful time. The pool is gorgeous and better then the pictures, the staff is lovely and the grounds perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The kids enjoyed the Hilton pools.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top