$250 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
202 reviews
Can't imagine a more satisfying experience

Stayed here on our honeymoon - it was everything you could dream of for a honeymoon getaway and... See full review

  • Honeymoonersss
  • Mar 27, 2014
Mom and Dad loved it

Sent my Mom and Dad here for their 50th wedding anniversary and they can't stop raving about it.... See full review

  • R Tyler Jones
  • Mar 11, 2014
North-shore villa resort offers room to move and sweeping vistas
Perched on a cliff, the 346-room Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas lies between the verdant green of the north shore's natural landscape and startling blue of the Pacific. The look and feel is upscale and modern with a nod to island style. Outside, neat lawns and expansive pool areas give way to vast, panoramic vistas of the pleated cliffs and mountains of Kauai. Spacious villas offer luxury, and nice touches include private lanais and Westin's notable Heavenly Bed. An on-site restaurant, markets and a casual poolside bar add convenience.
Highlights
  • Four pools, including one for children
  • Year-round Westin Kids Club for ages 5-12
  • Complimentary shuttle to Makai/Prince golf courses
  • Dine at Sheraton Kauai Resort in Poipu, charge back to your Westin Princeville villa
Location
Princeville is a 500-acre planned development on Kauai's north shore, between the towns of Hanalei and Kilauea, with resorts, vacation homes, dramatic cliffs, and several protected beaches. Once a coffee plantation, it's now one of Hawaii's top golf destinations, as Golf Digest named Prince Golf Course Hawaii's No. 1 course and Golf Week put it among America's Top 100 Modern Courses.
Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas range from 512-square-foot studios to 1,311-square-foot two-bedroom units. Interior decor includes Hawaiian artwork on the walls and an appealing mix of rich woods and a sunny palette. Each two-bedroom lock-off villa not only has two bedrooms but two kitchens and two living and dining areas as well.
Features
Four heated pools are at the heart of on-site activities at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. One pool is for children, complete with child-size slide. While many guests come for the north shore's superb golf, the resort also has a relationship with Princeville Tennis Club a mile away. Fitness buffs can work out 24/7 at the compact gym. Parking is available for an additional cost. Westin guests receive discounted fees at Prince and Makai courses.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (26 mi/41.8 km)
Attractions
  • Hanalei Valley Lookout (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Princeville Ranch Adventures (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Historic Hanalei Pier (4.1 mi/7.8 km)
  • Kilauea Lighthouse and National Wildlife Refuge (7.2 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wired and wireless Internet
  • 24/7 business center with complimentary boarding-pass printout
  • Outdoor function space
Policies and fees
Valet or self-parking is $13 USD/night (taxes not inclusive).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Rooms

1 Bedroom Villa
The spacious one-bedroom premium villa is the perfect place to nourish your spirit as you bask in the rejuvenating essence of the resort. An array of unique amenities and customized services will further enhance your experience in this relaxing Hawaiian retreat, which comfortably sleeps up to four adults. Every villa has a king-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed, Westin Heavenly Bath, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, a queen-size sofa bed, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.
Studio Villa
Rest your body and renew your spirit amid Hawaiian-style decor and fine furnishings inspired by the stunning natural beauty of Kaua'i. Each studio premium villa comfortably accommodates up to four guests and offers a refreshing respite after an invigorating day of island activity. Every villa has our queen-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed and Westin Heavenly Bath, a full-size sofa bed, a fully-equipped kitchenette, washer/dryer, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.2216 -159.4686
Area served
Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport (LIH)
Area description
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas rests on a cliff on Kauai's breathtakingly beautiful North Shore. Suspended high above the crystal clear waters of the Pacific, the resort is set against the majestic mountains of Namolokama and Makana, and is just a few miles from Hanalei Bay and the world-famous Napali Coast. Escape to this tranquil Hawaiian hideaway to renew your mind, body and spirit amid the stunning natural beauty of Kauai.

Dining

Princeville Market
Visit the Princeville Market to find an impressive array of grocery items as well as baked goods, deli sandwiches, salads and side dishes. In addition to groceries, the Princeville Market features a selection of fresh island fish and marinated meats so you can cook in the comfort of your villa or enjoy a relaxing evening at one of the 20 complimentary poolside grills. Specialty items like homemade pizzas and paninis are also available and can be carried out or delivered to your villa. Cuisine : American Atmosphere : Market/Delicatessen Setting : Quick Meals & Groceries Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 6AM - 8PM
Wailele Bar
Located adjacent to the main swimming pool, the Wailele Bar (or Waterfall Bar) features an array of refreshing beverages and delectable poolside dining. As you savor a delightful meal or snack, fruit smoothie or sip on a tropical drink, you will be able to enjoy the spectacular waterfalls that are often seen cascading down the majestic mountain peaks of Namolokama, Hihimanu and Mamalahoa. Cuisine : Cocktails & Snacks Atmosphere : Outdoor Setting : Poolside Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 11AM - 6PM (Please note: Hours of operation are subject to change based on season.)
Nanea Restaurant & Bar
Located on the first floor of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Clubhouse, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers an array of casual dining options for lunch and dinner, as well as a delectable Sunday Brunch. Whether you wish to enhance your dining experience with intimate indoor seating or enjoy your meal outdoors as you gaze upon distant views of the sparkling Pacific Ocean, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers menu items that are sure to please everyone's palate. A la carte options inspired by the island's fresh ingredients are available for lunch and dinner, and Sunday Brunch highlights the bounty of the islands. Tropical cocktails and an array of delectable pupus, or appetizers, are also available. Cuisine: Island Inspired Cuisine Atmosphere: Casual Indoor/Outdoor Smoking Permitted: No Hours: Lunch: 11AM - 2:30PM Dinner: 5:30PM - 9:30PM Sunday Brunch: 8:30AM - 12:30PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
202 out of 202
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
Chimoy
San Francisco
Mar 4, 2014

Basic hotel

It was very clean and a nice spot. Family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
MCadio
Oregon
Jun 24, 2013

Nice hotel

Staff was very friendly. Would have like 2 sinks in the bathroom and a beach, oh and no Roosters!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin Fish Market

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Silicon Valley, CA
Jun 30, 2009

should be a lot better than it really is

Princeville is a resort town with no charm at all. The Westin Princeville is completely fitting with its surroundings. Like the rest of Princeville, it just feels fake. The room was spacious and useful. I especially liked having a kitchenette with a full-size fridge in the room. Other than the kitchenette and in-room laundry (obviously for the timeshare crowd), it was remarkably like every other Westin I've ever stayed in. The on-site restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. The Sunday brunch is gross and overpriced ($40/person). The food served in the restaurant the rest of the week is poorly prepared, and the service is lacking. The poolside bar has one cocktail special daily, so you can get liquored up on mai tais relatively cheaply. The cleanliness of the hotel also leaves a lot to be desired. My bathroom smelled strongly of mildew all week. When housekeeping cleans the rooms, they leave plastic bags of trash and dirty linens in the hallway. These bags aren't picked up until late afternoon. It's pretty gross to have to walk past trash and dirty laundry all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you're a foodie, leave your expectations behind when visiting Kauai. There isn't a great restaurant anywhere on the island. There are a few that are okay, but nothing great.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
MauiM
Lahaina, HI
Apr 4, 2014

Princeville

The staff were friendly, but not the Aloha I've experienced at other resorts. Great rooms. Hotel operator does not forward messages... i.e. call for valet to bring up vehicle. Very pricey but OK for the area. I will likely stay in a vacation condo next time. Absolutely everything closes between 8-9 pm in this area-- The affiliation with the St. Regis was the best part. A nice beach with bar service ad a nice outdoor bar by the pool. The views from the St. Regis were amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

There is place with late night food and drinks right behind the post office at Princeville Marketplace.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
San Ramon, CA
Jun 19, 2010

Like a nice apartment complex

Not like the Westin on Maui. This is a time share place with kitchens and thin walls so you can hear neighbors banging pots and pans and slamming cabinets. Room service only included a few items from 11am-8pm with a one hour delivery. Not a luxury resort. More like camping in a nice tent. Rooms were well appointed with jacuzzi tub. Staff ran the gamut from very friendly to unfriendly and unhelpful. Would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

No casual dining at the Westin. Closest is Hanalei about 15 minutes. So,when you land in Lihue, stop at the Safeway in Kapaa and load up on food. The restaurant at the Westin is very expensive. The little food store at the Westin has limited inventory.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
Ospreytoo
Springfield, OR
Feb 2, 2011

I would take a pass on this one.

While the staff at the hotel was freindly and effective, the property is a fractional ownership condo complex that is renting out unsold units somewhat like a hotel. We were offered a very small studio, ground level unit overlooking a parking area. "Garden View" was a bit of an exaggeration. There was a single restaurant on site which seemed limited for a Westin resort property. You will receive lots of encouragement to experience the sales pitch for FO of a condo during your stay! Conventional condominium rentals have offered better, more spacious value on previous trips to Hawaii. Be aware that there is no direct beach acess from the hotel...you must take a shuttle to the sister St Regis property, a mile or so away, for beach time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Infigo, a new restaurant in the Princeville area. it is located in the Pali Ke Kua condo complex(in the clubhouse). The food was the best that we had in Kauai, imaginative and well prepared. The young chef and wait staff made our evening with them a very memorable event. References to slow service in other reviews is clearly relative. We found the pace and attentiveness to be ideal.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
garland, tx
Jun 1, 2009

Beautiful resort

We encountered a very rude bartender while we were there. We will stay at another hotel on our next trip because we really don't want to be reminded of how rude he was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
Beau
San Diego, CA
May 30, 2011

Great deal and location, but a warning!

Great location, but no direct beach excess. Princeville is close to some extraordinary beaches that are just short drive away. The food and service at the restaurant and market were top notch. Housekeeping services were inadequate. We were offered a gift to attend a 90 minutes time share presentation. A warning, this presentation turned into a 3 1/2 hour aggressive high-pressure sales pitch, even after declining multiple times that left us drained and with a bad taste in our mouth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not agree to the time share presentation, it's not worth a free dinner!

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
Mr. Matt - 42
San Diego
Mar 8, 2011

Some Challenges, but an OK Stay

We arrived late one evening to check-in and apparently the front desk had NO records of our reservation. We had to get on the phone with [...]& the Westin to sort out the mess. Apparently someone goofed between the two. The Westin put us up for the night even though by midnight there was no record of us in the system. I had my print out of the complete trip itinerary, however that wasn't enough. We stayed in the 1-bedroom for the first night, however still had to put down $500+ even though our trip was pre-paid.By the second day, they figured out the mess and moved us to our Deluxe Studio room. We asked to stay in the 1 bedroom, however they claimed to be 100% full in the 1 bedrooms. Packing up again and moving was a bit of a pain in the butt.Overall, the property is nice with many amenities. I believe if we didn't have the reservation [*], I would have rated it 4 stars. The rooms are nice and are perfect for travelers looking to save some dough by cooking in the kitchen. The green option is a nice touch. They will give you a $10 voucher if you choose to pass on having the room serviced. The $10 voucher does have some limitations however, and my wife experienced a very rude cashier at the Market on site. Parking can be tough. We would often have to park far from our room if coming in anytime after 8pm.At the end of the day, we would probably explore other options to stay on the Island. Unless you plan on staying on the property 75%+ of the time, it is not worth the money. However, if you have children and enjoy the flexibility of being able to cook or store food in a full kitchen, it is definitely the right choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you're going over as a couple or just single, I highly recommend saving your money and sticking with the Deluxe Studio rooms. We stayed in both the 1 bedroom and the Studio. The studio is by far a best options for your money. It is large and come with all for the same amenities as the 1 bedroom. After all, you're on Kauai and should be spending most of your time outside.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Seattle, WA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Needs something better at this price range

The Westin Princeville is a little overpriced. It was nice to have a washer/dryer in our room and a full kitchen was nice too. The bed was very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful but this property is no where near an accessible beach. We drove most days to Hanalei Beach. We were on a breakfast package with the hotels market and tired of the food pretty quickly. It wasn't very good and the fruit selection was poor( not fresh and in season). The main pool was the only heated pool while the other two pools were very cold. The drinks at the bar were something I would expect at a cheap bar, not the westin. I would say stay somewhere else preferable in Hanalei if you can and somewhere cheaper if your going to be in Princeville. Also take a pass on December travel in Kauai, its pretty rainy and a bit on a the cold side for the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hanalei Gourmet in Hanalei bay is the best dining we found. Also very child friendly even with our loud 1 year old.

Back to menu Return to top