$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hooked on North Shore
Business
Rexburg, ID
Mar 11, 2011

Outstanding vacation!

This was a very nice property and truly exceeded our expectations. The suite was very nice and included a kitchen, full-size refrigerator and dishwasher as well as a washer/dryer (which was very well used washing wet swimwear and muddy clothes from hiking the Kalalu trail), we had an ocean view and golf course fairway just outside our door. The room was very private and quiet, had a flat screen t.v., dvd player and Bose radio. The only downside to the room is that it had a queen sized bed instead of a king - but I'm not complaining - and enough down comforters to keep an eskimo warm! The resort property was beautiful and very well maintained. We didn't spend much time at the resort until after dark, but the pool/hot tub areas were outstanding. The area was lighted with tiki torches and filled with "palm covered" cabana huts, waterfalls, manicured lawns and tropical plants with many professional quality outdoor grills for the guests to use (they are steam-cleaned daily, do not require reservations, and did a great job cooking - but it could use a small sink somewhwere just to keep from having cross-contamination issues, like being able to wash your hands after you put raw meat on the grill), but the ambiance was fantastic. This is a time-share type facility, but we didn't come with that purpose in mind. The concierge politely invited us to meet with him via a phone message, but we didn't respond and had no other invitations. We didn't come to Kauai for anything other than a vacation, but others we met were very happy to sit through the resort's presentation and were very happy the "deals" they were able to get. Although this is a good sized complex and is a sister to the larger St. Regis (you have access to the St. Regis resort and beach, which is also very nice), we were there for the magic, beaches, water, mountains, snorkeling, kayaking and surfing of the north shore. This place is heaven! We probably could have taken more advantage of all the resort has to offer, but we prefer beaches and mountains to golf courses and waiters. The Westin gives you the options for both. Great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We were told to stock up with food at Safeway (near the airport)before driving to the resort (25 miles away), but there is a great market in Princeville just outside the resort that had everything we could want and prices were nearly the same as Safeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Forks, ND
Jul 15, 2009

Westin-Princeville Villas - Kaua'i

It was great to have our own kitchen. We enjoyed using the nice grills to make our own meals...saved some money for other activities on the island and allowed us to have quiter, more romantic lunches/dinners together. If you're looking to relax, this is a perfect place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buda, Texas
Jun 25, 2010

exceeded our expectations!

My wife and I found the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort to truly be the best stay that we have had in 37 years of marriage. The rooms left nothing to ask for, they had everything that could be expected, and more. We will be returning and will be looking forward to booking the Westin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The little town of Hanalei has several nice places to eat. The food is good, the prices are resonable, and the dress is casual.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 28, 2009

Wonderful experience!

This was a last minute trip and I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant experience. Upon arriving the staff went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. The bellman refused a tip after walking me through the services, the concierge was more than informative and not overly pushy to get me to purchase a timeshare. Which I greatly appreciated. They provided me with a running map of the area, great local restaurants and the places for hiking/fabulous views. I wouldn't hesitate returning when I go back, at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sunset at Ke'e beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelly K
Business
McKinney, TX
Aug 14, 2011

Great Stay on the North Shore

Autumn helped us tremendously prior to arrival and set us up with great adventures. Went hiking, kayaking, horseback riding and ziplining, all within 15 minutes of the hotel. Great pool and rooms are wonderful with washer/dryer, coffee makers, fridge and basically all needed items in the kitchen to stay in if you want. Only downside...no great beach to go to at the hotel. Can use free transit over to Regis, or walk down a very steep trail outside of the hotel. Best bet is to drive into Hanalei and hang out in the bay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hanalei Bay is great for those that like local down to earth atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy local
Business
Mililani, HI
Apr 12, 2010

The Life of Luxury

Absolutely loved the room and location!! A friend recommended the hotel to us and it definitely paid off. It felt like a luxury vacation. Great location with lots of shops and beautiful scenery. It rained a bit while we were there, but we got to enjoy the room instead. It was actually hard to leave the room some days. The cable was very extensive and you watch movies with the DVD player. (They offered movies to rent in the lobby) The room looked brand new and was very spacious. The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on and the bathroom was to die for. Separate shower and Jacuzzi bathtub were very nice. The house keeping was the best! They were very efficient and even washed our dishes. Our room had a kitchen and a washer and dryer, very convenient when you are staying for a least a week. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best dining was away from the hotel. Either down at the Princeville shopping area or in Hanalei. The restaurant hotel was okay, but not the best food for the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monrovia, IN
May 16, 2010

Westin in Kauai

The room was very nice. It was the best of four hotels we stayed in on the islands. Dining choices are too limited. We ate at a shopping area west of Westin. A steak and seafood restaurant was very good at that shopping area. They also had a bar/grill restaurant at the shopping area; as well as a grocery store. We had to pay to park in a flat parking lot, which did not have much parking close to the room. We had to park at a further parking lot most of the time. We had to drive to the St. Regis hotel for beach access. It was not easy to get to the beach without someone telling us which elevators to use, etc. I felt uncomfortable walking through that hotel to do that. Parking was free there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We had a stackable washer/dryer. Doing laundry was free, except for buying detergent at the store. Hotel had detergent for one load. Room had a kitchenette, jacuzzi, nice bath facilities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jemz
Business
Aurora, CO
Nov 15, 2009

Best Place to Stay on Kaua'i

When we arrived at the Westin Princeville it took our breath away. It is such a gorgeous hotel with lush gardens and watefalls. Check-in was fast and we got to our room right away. The concierge called us upon arriving to our room to give us information about everything to do on the island, a list of restaurants, and a map. They also gave us a free bottle of champagne for being on our honeymoon. All staff were extremely personable and helpful. The hotel offers massages, pool side restaurant service, and grills all over the property. It was great to be able to grill our own feasts whenever we wanted. The massages were a little expensive, but were worth it! After exploring the whole island, we were so happy we had decided to stay on the north shore. Hanalei Bay is a great surf town only 5 minutes away. We went down to Kaua'i Back Country Adventures outside of Lihue to go tubing which was one of the funnest things we did. We also went on a dinner cruise with Holo Holo Tours which was on the southwest part of the island. There are so many great things to do that we missed like Kilauea Light House, zip lining at Princeville Ranch, and sun bathing on the South shore. When we come back the only place we'll stay will be the Westin Princeville Resort!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel restaurant (Nanea) was super expensive. We bought our own food to grill and used the oven/microwave in our suite. The hotel supplies all kitchen utensils you'll ever need! There are also several great less expensive restaurants in Hanalei.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
condo lovers
Business
california
Nov 4, 2010

Second visit

This was the second visit to kauai for my husband and I and the second time we've stayed at the Westin Princeville. Compared to 2 years ago, the resort did not change much. In our opinion, it was a 5 out of 5 stars in 2008, and it is still 5 out of 5. It is a perfect place to stay for families or for those who are looking for a home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2008

My review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

The Westin is luxury with a capitol L.. The place is luxurious and gorgeous in the extreme and the staff the friendliest of any place I have ever visited...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the shuttle to Princeville beach and have a glorious day....Bring your own snorkeling gear...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top