$337 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
339 reviews
Love the Westin!

I've stayed at the Westin in Princeville twice now. For a long stay in Hawaii, having the kitchen... See full review

  • Anne Zzz
  • Jun 9, 2014
Can't imagine a more satisfying experience

Stayed here on our honeymoon - it was everything you could dream of for a honeymoon getaway and... See full review

  • Honeymoonersss
  • Mar 27, 2014
North-shore villa resort offers room to move and sweeping vistas
Perched on a cliff, the 346-room Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas lies between the verdant green of the north shore's natural landscape and startling blue of the Pacific. The look and feel is upscale and modern with a nod to island style. Outside, neat lawns and expansive pool areas give way to vast, panoramic vistas of the pleated cliffs and mountains of Kauai. Spacious villas offer luxury, and nice touches include private lanais and Westin's notable Heavenly Bed. An on-site restaurant, markets and a casual poolside bar add convenience.
Highlights
  • Four pools, including one for children
  • Year-round Westin Kids Club for ages 5-12
  • Complimentary shuttle to Makai/Prince golf courses
  • Dine at Sheraton Kauai Resort in Poipu, charge back to your Westin Princeville villa
Location
Princeville is a 500-acre planned development on Kauai's north shore, between the towns of Hanalei and Kilauea, with resorts, vacation homes, dramatic cliffs, and several protected beaches. Once a coffee plantation, it's now one of Hawaii's top golf destinations, as Golf Digest named Prince Golf Course Hawaii's No. 1 course and Golf Week put it among America's Top 100 Modern Courses.
Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas range from 512-square-foot studios to 1,311-square-foot two-bedroom units. Interior decor includes Hawaiian artwork on the walls and an appealing mix of rich woods and a sunny palette. Each two-bedroom lock-off villa not only has two bedrooms but two kitchens and two living and dining areas as well.
Features
Four heated pools are at the heart of on-site activities at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. One pool is for children, complete with child-size slide. While many guests come for the north shore's superb golf, the resort also has a relationship with Princeville Tennis Club a mile away. Fitness buffs can work out 24/7 at the compact gym. Parking is available for an additional cost. Westin guests receive discounted fees at Prince and Makai courses.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (26 mi/41.8 km)
Attractions
  • Hanalei Valley Lookout (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Princeville Ranch Adventures (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Historic Hanalei Pier (4.1 mi/7.8 km)
  • Kilauea Lighthouse and National Wildlife Refuge (7.2 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wired and wireless Internet
  • 24/7 business center with complimentary boarding-pass printout
  • Outdoor function space
Policies and fees
Valet or self-parking is $13 USD/night (taxes not inclusive).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Rooms

1 Bedroom Villa
The spacious one-bedroom premium villa is the perfect place to nourish your spirit as you bask in the rejuvenating essence of the resort. An array of unique amenities and customized services will further enhance your experience in this relaxing Hawaiian retreat, which comfortably sleeps up to four adults. Every villa has a king-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed, Westin Heavenly Bath, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, a queen-size sofa bed, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.
Studio Villa
Rest your body and renew your spirit amid Hawaiian-style decor and fine furnishings inspired by the stunning natural beauty of Kaua'i. Each studio premium villa comfortably accommodates up to four guests and offers a refreshing respite after an invigorating day of island activity. Every villa has our queen-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed and Westin Heavenly Bath, a full-size sofa bed, a fully-equipped kitchenette, washer/dryer, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

22.2216 -159.4686
Area served
Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport (LIH)
Area description
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas rests on a cliff on Kauai's breathtakingly beautiful North Shore. Suspended high above the crystal clear waters of the Pacific, the resort is set against the majestic mountains of Namolokama and Makana, and is just a few miles from Hanalei Bay and the world-famous Napali Coast. Escape to this tranquil Hawaiian hideaway to renew your mind, body and spirit amid the stunning natural beauty of Kauai.

Dining

Princeville Market
Visit the Princeville Market to find an impressive array of grocery items as well as baked goods, deli sandwiches, salads and side dishes. In addition to groceries, the Princeville Market features a selection of fresh island fish and marinated meats so you can cook in the comfort of your villa or enjoy a relaxing evening at one of the 20 complimentary poolside grills. Specialty items like homemade pizzas and paninis are also available and can be carried out or delivered to your villa. Cuisine : American Atmosphere : Market/Delicatessen Setting : Quick Meals & Groceries Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 6AM - 8PM
Wailele Bar
Located adjacent to the main swimming pool, the Wailele Bar (or Waterfall Bar) features an array of refreshing beverages and delectable poolside dining. As you savor a delightful meal or snack, fruit smoothie or sip on a tropical drink, you will be able to enjoy the spectacular waterfalls that are often seen cascading down the majestic mountain peaks of Namolokama, Hihimanu and Mamalahoa. Cuisine : Cocktails & Snacks Atmosphere : Outdoor Setting : Poolside Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 11AM - 6PM (Please note: Hours of operation are subject to change based on season.)
Nanea Restaurant & Bar
Located on the first floor of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Clubhouse, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers an array of casual dining options for lunch and dinner, as well as a delectable Sunday Brunch. Whether you wish to enhance your dining experience with intimate indoor seating or enjoy your meal outdoors as you gaze upon distant views of the sparkling Pacific Ocean, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers menu items that are sure to please everyone's palate. A la carte options inspired by the island's fresh ingredients are available for lunch and dinner, and Sunday Brunch highlights the bounty of the islands. Tropical cocktails and an array of delectable pupus, or appetizers, are also available. Cuisine: Island Inspired Cuisine Atmosphere: Casual Indoor/Outdoor Smoking Permitted: No Hours: Lunch: 11AM - 2:30PM Dinner: 5:30PM - 9:30PM Sunday Brunch: 8:30AM - 12:30PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (339)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJS
Los angeles
May 17, 2011

Nice resort and hbtel - family oriented

The suites are awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the St Regis (sister hotel) for drinks/dinner

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui fan forever.
San Rafael, Ca.
Jul 24, 2010

Mixed blessings, or location is crucial!

I had no idea that access to the beach is only by driving or taking a jitney to the Saint Regis. At check-in I had reserved two "garden view" suites. I was assigned rooms at street level at the parking lot. Noise from the garbage center, jitney parking, service kitchen, and anyone parking looking directly at my bed were the sad reality. I was so exhausted and stunned that I could not even get up for a full day. I have been blissfully happy every other time I have been to Hawaii, usually to Maui; I love the Sheraton Maui, the Grand Wailea. We did not pay for the cheapest rooms for this trip but the rooms assigned were indeed the cheapest and least appealing at the resort. I was sobbing and weak when I begged to change our rooms. The front desk then arranged to move everything for us and put us on a second floor set of connecting rooms. Viva la differance! Building ONE is in no way a vacation choice unless one is given a free room during a work-study program. The food at the only restaurant is very poor, the Westin in Maui is wonderful, so this was a shock. There is no entertainment for adults, and I longed for the ease of walking along from hotel bar to hotel bar that one has in Maui. My two grandsons loved the kiddie pool, safe and well designed. The happy hour and bar food at the pool are the way to eat here. One must have water shoes to swim at almost any beach on Kauai, don't leave home without them. During our stay the waves were strong and warning flags are out at every beach. Check at the lifeguard station on the tide and really watch yourself in the water. I was born in Boston, swam all my life, but this is the Pacific and one adult to each child at the ocean has to be your rule. At the Saint Regis the waiters were on the ball, helpful, and the duck spring rolls are very good. Eat at the Saint Regis if you are over age eight; not at the Westin. The heavenly bed stuff was lovely for me, housekeeping very good. For a family the washers and dryers mean you can pack light; the fridge means you can grab food for the kids at the store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to put on your water shoes so I'd bring two pair. The coral and rocks are close to shore. The K Mart is packed so bring water shoes and very good sun screen from home.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMD
Seattle, WA
May 10, 2011

Quality Hotel at Affordable Price!

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Princeville for our "babymoon" and all things considered, we found this resort to be a great fit for what we were looking for. Our studio room was super clean, and the kitchen came fully equipped with a full size fridge, mini dishwasher, stovetop (but no oven) coffeemaker, and dishes, pots, pans, utensils, etc. There were also various grill/ barbeque areas located throughout the property. Cooking was a great way to save money! The room felt more like a small apartment than a hotel. A couple of notes if you plan on staying at this resort: 1) If you plan to do a lot of traveling around the island, this may not be the place for you! You can only access the south/ west shores of Kaua'i by driving on the eastern side - no major road/ freeway appeared to provide direct access. We did go to Waimea Canyon one day, but it did take about 1 hr 45 minutes to get there. That said, there are some amazing beaches on the northern shores (Tunnels, Hideaways, Secret) - and we definitely took advantage! 2) No direct beach access at the Westin. The shuttle to the St. Regis beach was fine, but we actually preferred some of the other beaches we found in the area. 3) If you want to check out the island, I would highly recommend renting a car! I am not sure what we would have done without one! Please note there is an additional daily parking fee (I think $9/ day). 4) Princeville did not feel much like a town - more like the juxtaposition of several resorts/ condos/ golf courses. We did check out Hanalie and Kapaa, which both seemed to have more going on. 5) If you plan to get groceries, we found the Safeway in Kapaa (about 30 minutes south) to be somewhat reasonably priced. Be warned that the Princeville Market (in the hotel) was a complete ripoff! There is a "Foodland" in Princeville, but we did not end up checking it out at all. We had a fantastic time, and I would certainly recommend this hotel. The room/ hotel service exceeded our expectations. Since we were willing to drive around/ explore, it worked out well - however, if you do NOT want to have to drive for activities and do NOT like sitting by a pool, this may not be for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wacko
Long Beach, CA
Sep 14, 2010

Nice for families

Lots to do in the surrounding area. Hotel is nice and the one bedroom unit we had was spacious, but I thought it was a little too busy for my taste. I prefer small, quiet hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Littleton Co
Jun 8, 2011

Westin

very nice. wish it had an ocean view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Oct 12, 2009

Laid-back paradise

We stayed here for our honeymoon, not really knowing what to expect as we're not world travelers or anything, and it was great. The hotel's location on the North Shore was definitely preferable to us - we were surrounded by breathtaking views of inland mountains, cliffs dropping to the sea, and clear blue ocean as far as the eye could see. We did alot of kayaking, hiking, etc. and our location was close to numerous options for all the outdoor activities. The hotel seemed to have a mix of families, older couples, and honeymooners staying there. The amenities were great - there are 3 pool locations, so your pool experience could be as relaxing or social as you wanted it to be, and the propane grills located throughout the grounds were a great moneysaver. Instead of eating out every night, we could grill our own dinner, and eat outside overlooking the ocean. The only slight problem we had was trying to coordinate getting the room cleaned with times when we would be out - Housekeeping was not very happy when we asked them to come back later in the day. We had a great experience here though, and would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in viting Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a gorgoeus hiking trail (fairly rigorous though!) at the end of the main road that runs along the island (past Hanalei). The trail takes you into the mountains and along the cliffs at the waters edge. The most stunning views i have ever seen firsthand - absolutely amazing. The trail is about 14 miles long, and there is a waterfall at the end, but you dont have to go the whole way to get amazing views - they start right away. Gorgeous!

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 26, 2011

Comfortable, Beautiful Hotel

Beautiful brand new hotel located on a bluff above the ocean in Princeville. Rooms are very spacious and include a kitchen and washers/dryers. Dining options are limited on the resort, but there is a full service grocery store in Princeville 2 minutes away and plenty of restaurants in Hanalei. This hotel does not have a beach. Beach access is shared with the St. Regis about 2 miles down the road. The pools are beautiful which is where we did most of our R and R. The only reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars was due to the location of our room. The hotel has multiple building with ocean views and privacy on the lanai. Unfortunately, our room was near a busy walkway near the entrance of the hotel with very little privacy. If possible, request buildings 3, 6 or 7 for nicer views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockwall, Tx
Mar 26, 2011

Princeville - Paradise!

Staying in Princeville at the Westin Resort was a great experience. We enjoyed the beautiful beaches with the great snorkeling that was close by. Hanalei, which is also near by is a good place to shop and enjoy shaved ice and Lappert's ice cream. Ziplining with Kauai Outfitters, kayaking with Wailua Kayaking and hiking in Waimea Canyon were a few of the highlights of our trip. The Westin is a beautiful resort with an exceptionally friendly staff. Our only complaint is that they did not offer complimentary coffee to drink out by the pool every morning. Seems like such a cheap thing for them to offer that would have been very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jean and Allen
Los Altos, CA
Feb 26, 2010

Westin Princeville Ocean Villas

Extremely friendly, laid-back, casual but lovely environment. Great, though small, well equipped kitchen where we could eat our own breakfast and prepare sandwich for lunch. Wish there were a beach out front, but not a big minus overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many lovely restaurants in Kiluaea and Hanalei including Postcards, Lighthouse Bistro, and St. Regis and Westin dining rooms.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billzx7
Seattle, WA
May 28, 2014

It was good and not

The little villa was well appointed with a well equipped mico-kitchen. The location is one that I would not choose again unless you are planning to take the 11 mile hike that is really close. It is a remote area but on an island that takes 1 1/2 hours to navigate is was not too far out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This place is pretty remote though there is a quaint little town and the best hiking in the area.

Back to menu Return to top