$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crystalyn
Family
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Amazing!

Perfect trip, especially with little ones. The property was gorgeous, pristine and tranquil. Full kitchen and huge space came in handy. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surfababe
Couples
Santa Rosa, CA
Apr 6, 2014

Quiet? Really? Don't go in March and April!

Only major complaint was the room was stuffy. The fan had a hum to it, and there was a banging sound where the heater is located in the wall. The cooking supplies could have been of higher quality and more selection of supplies to cook from.The pots and pans were cheap and there could have been a supply of aluminum foil, plastic wrap.Other than that, the room, bed, balcony and area was fine. The buffet for breakfast was o.k, I found the food to be cool by the time I got to the table. It would have been nice to have more selection than eggs, bacon, sausage,potatoes, rice, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal and bread. The pineapple was the best, the melons tasted like the cutting board, and slightly moldy or sitting in the fridge too long. The quiet pools were not quiet, the children had no regard for anyone and jumped in the pool, when they were not supposed to.They screamed and carried on as if no one else was around. The staff barely did anything about it. The parents had no control over their kids. I was shocked that they allowed people to play their own sound systems at the pool. I, personally, want peace and quiet and not have to listen to other people's music. I found this to be extremely disturbing, and when I addressed this to the staff, they said I could go to the "quiet pool". Parental supervision needs to be addressed, as the parents allowed their children to just scream and run around and jump in the pools with no regard to anyone else. It was annoying and disrespectful of other guests. I heard that if you go in Sept and October, the property is quiet and has less occupancy. I went at the wrong time. Beware if you go in March/April cause of Spring Break. Other than that, the place is very nice, views are spectacular, staff helpful and service of cleaning the rooms excellent. Grounds superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hanalei restaurants are wonderful and good prices. Foodland excellent for grocery shopping.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny J
Couples
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Nov 20, 2011

Romantic escape for two

Great service, staff and facilities. You will need a car to see the island from here, and expect to be driving to chase the sun towards the south a bit. However, if you just rent a fun convertible and make it part of the experience, you'll so enjoy the quiet, adult (though family-friendly) atmosphere at the Westin. Nanea restaurant on the hotel grounds is also excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you're an avid hiker, don't miss the Kalalau trail (ie. camping on the beach overnight, 11 mile hike in and 11 miles back out). Also, the falls 4 miles hiking in from the northern end of the road are extremely worth it.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Santa Cruz Rich
Couples
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Westin Princeville resort

It is a nice place, large rooms with nice setting. There is no direct beach access. The surrounding area is beautiful and Hanalei town is only a short drive from there. Not sure if I would stay there again just because I would have liked to have been closer to the water

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont miss the Hanalei farmers market on Saturdat from 9:30-12:00 and when there you MUST try the baked goods from Island Sol

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MandyGS
Family
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Great for families and travel with babies

We have an 8 month old baby, and this was our first family vacation. Our baby's grandparents joined us, and we reserved two one-bedroom villas. The one-bedroom villas are perfect for cooking and eating family meals all week long - just a quick stop at the grocery store at the beginning of the week and we were set. They have nice grills on the property that we'd use to cook each night as well. We were very impressed with the resort's amenities for babies, as they put a nice crib, diaper genie, bottle warmer, and highchair in our room. The resort is laid back and not stuffy or too fancy where we'd feel out of place with a small baby like we may feel at the St. Regis. However the St. Regis is a sister property, and we were able to utilize their beach area and it's a great place to go to watch the sunset. At the Westin we had a ground floor unit and we LOVED the view. Instead of having a balcony with railings we could sit on our porch and look at the beautiful plants. Overall it was a great stay! The weather was not as sunny as the south side of the island, but it was really relaxed and a great place to be up north.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spur boy
Couples
San Antonio, TX, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Awesome escape

Enjoying the northshore of Kauai during December was an awesome experience and having the Westin Princeville as our homebase for 3 nights and 4 days was incredible. The hotel has plenty of aminities to keep you satisfied. We especially enjoyed the pools, and the marketplace (where we were able to buy anything from morning coffees to dinner items). Our room overlooked a golf course which was fantastic enough, but we could also see the ocean easily which just added to the neat setting. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive. I would recommend this hotel every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The drive to Hanalei is a short one (7-10 minutes)and in that little village are plenty of options for breakfast, lunch, or even dinner. One of the best breakfast options is the Wake Up Cafe (get a window seat if possible). The views of the mountains are incredible!

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mainelyvacationing
Couples
Maine
Jan 9, 2012

Gorgeous place - not so convenient if you're doing a lot of activities

This resort is gorgeous right from the entrance. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were very very clean. The pool is spectacular and there are other pools and hot tubs away from the main pool if you are looking for a quiet atmosphere. The restaurant and pool bar don't have the best food on the island and it is a little pricy as is the food in the resort market. The bar closes down really early so if your looking for an evening drink you'll have to go elsewhere. The WiFi was awful. Very low signal and only worked half the time. Even the Internet in the business center was slow and cost $5.95 for 15minutes. The place was really nice but if you are doing a lot of activities you may want to stay closer like in Kapaa otherwise it is a 40min to two hour drive to do boat tours, kayaking, some zip lining, and plane tours. However, Princeville has a nice little market where you can grocery shop, get good food, and do a little shopping and Hanalei is only 8 minutes north with great food, beautiful beaches and some kayaking and surfing activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In Hanalei go to Kalypso for an amazing breakfast and to Hanalei Pizza for some amazing pizza!

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonesmrx
Couples
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Great spot on Kauai

The hotel, location and amenities were fantastic. There were two issues though. One is the completely ridiculous lack of parking near the room. When I'm paying $13/day as a resort parking fee on top of a room parking way across the lot and a long walk from the room just isn't ok. The other issue we had was with the Westin's green policy, where they give you a $10 resort credit if you don't use the house keeping service. At check in apparently this wasn't explained anywhere near fully and it six phone calls to still not resolve the misunderstanding, with us just giving up and letting it slide. Other than that the hotel was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Great supermarket at Princeville shops for stocking up the villa kitchen. We stupidly went to Walmart, but wished we had gone to this great little shop. Lei Petite bakery makes a FANTASTIC cup of coffee.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bella1215
Couples
toronto
Feb 29, 2012

honeymoon

We loved our suite at westin princeville! The value for the suite and overall property is amazing. We had a kitchen, washer & dryer amazing bed and huge bathroom. And we were able to BBQ a dinner that helped save on costs. I would highly recommend this property especially since you get beach access to the St Regis hotel. Try the breakfast buffet at the St Regis for the view and food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexZ
Friends
Hong Kong
Apr 11, 2012

Nice hotel in a beautiful spot

Pros: Lovely hotel, comfortable, good swimming pools, an OK gym and BBQ pits so that you can cook yourself. There is a food shop in the hotel which is cool and something different. No need to eat at the restaurant. Cons: Only one restaurant available although it's pretty decent. Staff are pretty slow. Check-in took nearly 30mins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to St. Regis hotel for a buffet breakfast and a lovely view.

Back to menu Return to top