$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EBooyah
Business
Seattle
May 12, 2011

The Westin was Perfect!

The Westin was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better experience at a hotel. They had a full kitchen with every utensil you could imagine. The concierge had great ideas for activities we could go do. The best part about our room was it was on the first floor and we could walk directly outside into our pool and hot tub. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went ziplining which was only a short distance from the Westin Priceville at Princeville Ranch Adventures. It made our whole trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
May 12, 2011

Kauai, HI 2011

Hotel was great. We stayed in a Studio and it was just perfect. The jacuzzi bath tub had a window that opened up to the bedroom/living room which also looked out to the balcony. There was a full size fridge and a small stove top.. Just convenient and perfect for a long stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

St. Regis has a great bar that has a beautiful sunset view. Their restaurant Kauai Grill was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMD
Business
Seattle, WA
May 10, 2011

Quality Hotel at Affordable Price!

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Princeville for our "babymoon" and all things considered, we found this resort to be a great fit for what we were looking for. Our studio room was super clean, and the kitchen came fully equipped with a full size fridge, mini dishwasher, stovetop (but no oven) coffeemaker, and dishes, pots, pans, utensils, etc. There were also various grill/ barbeque areas located throughout the property. Cooking was a great way to save money! The room felt more like a small apartment than a hotel. A couple of notes if you plan on staying at this resort: 1) If you plan to do a lot of traveling around the island, this may not be the place for you! You can only access the south/ west shores of Kaua'i by driving on the eastern side - no major road/ freeway appeared to provide direct access. We did go to Waimea Canyon one day, but it did take about 1 hr 45 minutes to get there. That said, there are some amazing beaches on the northern shores (Tunnels, Hideaways, Secret) - and we definitely took advantage! 2) No direct beach access at the Westin. The shuttle to the St. Regis beach was fine, but we actually preferred some of the other beaches we found in the area. 3) If you want to check out the island, I would highly recommend renting a car! I am not sure what we would have done without one! Please note there is an additional daily parking fee (I think $9/ day). 4) Princeville did not feel much like a town - more like the juxtaposition of several resorts/ condos/ golf courses. We did check out Hanalie and Kapaa, which both seemed to have more going on. 5) If you plan to get groceries, we found the Safeway in Kapaa (about 30 minutes south) to be somewhat reasonably priced. Be warned that the Princeville Market (in the hotel) was a complete ripoff! There is a "Foodland" in Princeville, but we did not end up checking it out at all. We had a fantastic time, and I would certainly recommend this hotel. The room/ hotel service exceeded our expectations. Since we were willing to drive around/ explore, it worked out well - however, if you do NOT want to have to drive for activities and do NOT like sitting by a pool, this may not be for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
May 8, 2011

Westin princeville ocean view villas

Excellent relaxing vacation. It is a beautiful spot the food in the area wasn't the best but everything else was amazing. We are planning on coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the wake up cafe in hanalei, excellent macadamia cinnamon rolls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 6, 2011

The Simple Life

The staff was amazingly helpful. When we first arrived, we were assigned a room next to a very noisy family with screaming kids. We asked [...] at the front desk if she could reassign us, which she did. Although we couldn't get a free upgrade, she gave us a much quieter room with a better bathroom. [...] at the concierge desk also helped us book a helicopter tour with Sunshine Helicopters, which was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If booking a helicopter tour, ask for the early bird special - it's nearly a half off the original price! You have to leave from Lihue (near the airport) to depart, but it's worth it. The staff at Sunshine Helicopters was engaging, friendly and funny!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 4, 2011

Very nice!

Very nice place. The cleaning service wasn't always consistent (i.e. sometimes coffee tea was replaced, sometimes not; cleaning times varied greatly), but it was always sufficient. The property is wonderful and the rooms are very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kilauea Fish Market is the best fresh fish meal at the best price. Just next door is the Kilauea Video and Ice Cream with the best ice cream you will ever eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 26, 2011

Quiet Vacation

Hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful. They were accommodating to my handicapped Parents giving us a first floor room easily accessible from the parking lot. I visited the St. Regis spa while there and my only disappointment was that the van from the Westin did not arrive to pick me up. This did give me a reason for a beautiful two mile walk on the paved trail in Princeville. Local shopping isn't great, food was fine and the local market was great for grocery shopping. Very easy access to Princeville Ranch - a great spot for adventures like zip lines and kayaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Local grocery store in Prunceville great for cutting costs on food - eat in! The fried chicken in the deli was fantastic! And be sure to join frequent shopping club for significant savings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 17, 2011

Great hotel

This was a wonderful hotel and we loved our stay here very much. We initially were upgraded to a one bedroom unit, but it was a 1st floor room that looked right into the parking lot. Fortunately, the staff was very accommodating and moved us to a studio that looked out to the golf course. We were very happy at that location. We loved being in building 6 because we had great access to the hot tub and pool that looked out onto the ocean. The double shower head was also amazing and the whirlpool tub was nice. The gas grills are high end, always clean and almost always available. They maintain the property extremely well and the staff is very friendly. This was an awesome place and the only reason for not rating it a 5 is that some of the small details tend to get missed. For example, the housekeeping crew came a bit early and if we were still in the room it was up to us to reschedule. Also, the parking fee is a rip off and as others point out, why not just include it in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michbehaven
Business
Chicago
Apr 10, 2011

Very impressive facility, great location

Fantastic views, ample pool/hot tubs, very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable staff. Great access to nearby towns, hiking, kayaking/canoeing, nice beaches. Nicely appointed (new) rooms. Great BBQ facilities, they didn't miss a beat other than it would be nice to have an on-site spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Any of the restaurants and cafes in Hanalie, especially "The Dolphin" for great sushi!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camas, WA
Apr 9, 2011

AMAZING!!

This was our first trip to Hawaii and the Westin in Princeville. We couldn't have been more pleased with the experience, accommodations, location...everything was perfect! I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for first class service, beautiful scenery and a family friendly place to stay. We had reserved the studio but were upgraded to the one bedroom suite with golf course and ocean views FOR FREE! Needless to say, what a pleasant surprise. The unit was fully furnished which allowed us to eat in most of the time which was a HUGE savings. It was beautifully decorated and hardly looked used. Awesome bathroom with a big tile shower (including a dual shower head) and a separate jacuzzi tub. HDTV's in both the LR and bdrm, granite counters, W/D...the works. In short, we will without a doubt stay here on our next trip. Princeville is quiet, relaxing and stress-free. It did rain a few times but mostly overnight and was sunny/warm the rest of the day. If you're afraid of being rained on too much, just drive south and until you drive out of it. Easy. Looking forward to our next trip and wish there were some way we could move there. What a life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Poipu beach! This place had awesome snorkeling, surfing and boogie-boarding. Due to the 'island speed' the drive will take about 45mins but it's so pretty, who cares.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top