$323 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shapiro123
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 14, 2012

Westin Princeville

We had a fabulous time at this resort. It was expensive, but the quality and customer service were exemplary. We felt welcomed and special. Everyone was friendly and went out of their way to make sure our vacation was the best. The grounds were beautiful and we loved spending time in the infinity pools, even as delicate rains fell. The food at the restaurant was delicious, especially the risotto appetizer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 26, 2011

Comfortable, Beautiful Hotel

Beautiful brand new hotel located on a bluff above the ocean in Princeville. Rooms are very spacious and include a kitchen and washers/dryers. Dining options are limited on the resort, but there is a full service grocery store in Princeville 2 minutes away and plenty of restaurants in Hanalei. This hotel does not have a beach. Beach access is shared with the St. Regis about 2 miles down the road. The pools are beautiful which is where we did most of our R and R. The only reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars was due to the location of our room. The hotel has multiple building with ocean views and privacy on the lanai. Unfortunately, our room was near a busy walkway near the entrance of the hotel with very little privacy. If possible, request buildings 3, 6 or 7 for nicer views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 22, 2011

Not perfect but pretty darn great!

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel during our belated honeymoon. The location is fantastic, right where we wanted to be on the North side of the island. The pools are nice as are the grill areas to save some money by eating in. The rooms are clean and nice although the kitchenette in the studio is a bit small. We never cooked in except for breakfast. One night we made an entire meal on the grill watching the sunset. When we first checked in, we were given a 1st fl room in building 7. The chickens and birds definitely come scurrying and we were right in a major foot traffic area where everyone could look in so we requested a new room (avail starting our 2nd night). We got a 2nd floor room in bldg 3 which was perfect. In the mornings, the balcony was in the shade - best morning iced latte (Starbucks from the market in the main bldg)! There was no beach and you could not hat the ocean waves but everything else makes up for it's minor shortcomings. The staff was very friendly & helpful. We would stay here again and recommend it to others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJS
Business
Los angeles
May 17, 2011

Nice resort and hbtel - family oriented

The suites are awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the St Regis (sister hotel) for drinks/dinner

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 17, 2011

Terrific studio apartment

We felt right at home in a studio apartment-like villa. It was complete with a small kitchen, washer and dryer and a large bathroom with shower and jacuzzi tub. The property's grounds are large, with three separate pools, two of them nicely secluded. The North Shore rains a lot, but we used the well equiped gym until the weather cleared. It was close to Hanalei Bay and convenient for our boat trip to the Napali Coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Not much nightlife on Kauai, so plan your trip around getting up early and doing things at the beginning of the day. The weather was better for us in the morning most days.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bullett76
Business
New York
May 16, 2011

nothing wrong

You can't go wrong with this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kauia is the laid back Island if you like to just drive and find a beach and pull off onto a dirt road this is the place for you. Tons of exploring to do as well

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
May 12, 2011

Kauai, HI 2011

Hotel was great. We stayed in a Studio and it was just perfect. The jacuzzi bath tub had a window that opened up to the bedroom/living room which also looked out to the balcony. There was a full size fridge and a small stove top.. Just convenient and perfect for a long stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

St. Regis has a great bar that has a beautiful sunset view. Their restaurant Kauai Grill was delicious!

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EBooyah
Business
Seattle
May 12, 2011

The Westin was Perfect!

The Westin was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better experience at a hotel. They had a full kitchen with every utensil you could imagine. The concierge had great ideas for activities we could go do. The best part about our room was it was on the first floor and we could walk directly outside into our pool and hot tub. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went ziplining which was only a short distance from the Westin Priceville at Princeville Ranch Adventures. It made our whole trip.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMD
Business
Seattle, WA
May 10, 2011

Quality Hotel at Affordable Price!

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Princeville for our "babymoon" and all things considered, we found this resort to be a great fit for what we were looking for. Our studio room was super clean, and the kitchen came fully equipped with a full size fridge, mini dishwasher, stovetop (but no oven) coffeemaker, and dishes, pots, pans, utensils, etc. There were also various grill/ barbeque areas located throughout the property. Cooking was a great way to save money! The room felt more like a small apartment than a hotel. A couple of notes if you plan on staying at this resort: 1) If you plan to do a lot of traveling around the island, this may not be the place for you! You can only access the south/ west shores of Kaua'i by driving on the eastern side - no major road/ freeway appeared to provide direct access. We did go to Waimea Canyon one day, but it did take about 1 hr 45 minutes to get there. That said, there are some amazing beaches on the northern shores (Tunnels, Hideaways, Secret) - and we definitely took advantage! 2) No direct beach access at the Westin. The shuttle to the St. Regis beach was fine, but we actually preferred some of the other beaches we found in the area. 3) If you want to check out the island, I would highly recommend renting a car! I am not sure what we would have done without one! Please note there is an additional daily parking fee (I think $9/ day). 4) Princeville did not feel much like a town - more like the juxtaposition of several resorts/ condos/ golf courses. We did check out Hanalie and Kapaa, which both seemed to have more going on. 5) If you plan to get groceries, we found the Safeway in Kapaa (about 30 minutes south) to be somewhat reasonably priced. Be warned that the Princeville Market (in the hotel) was a complete ripoff! There is a "Foodland" in Princeville, but we did not end up checking it out at all. We had a fantastic time, and I would certainly recommend this hotel. The room/ hotel service exceeded our expectations. Since we were willing to drive around/ explore, it worked out well - however, if you do NOT want to have to drive for activities and do NOT like sitting by a pool, this may not be for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
May 8, 2011

Westin princeville ocean view villas

Excellent relaxing vacation. It is a beautiful spot the food in the area wasn't the best but everything else was amazing. We are planning on coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the wake up cafe in hanalei, excellent macadamia cinnamon rolls

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 6, 2011

The Simple Life

The staff was amazingly helpful. When we first arrived, we were assigned a room next to a very noisy family with screaming kids. We asked [...] at the front desk if she could reassign us, which she did. Although we couldn't get a free upgrade, she gave us a much quieter room with a better bathroom. [...] at the concierge desk also helped us book a helicopter tour with Sunshine Helicopters, which was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If booking a helicopter tour, ask for the early bird special - it's nearly a half off the original price! You have to leave from Lihue (near the airport) to depart, but it's worth it. The staff at Sunshine Helicopters was engaging, friendly and funny!

Back to menu Return to top