The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
202 reviews
Can't imagine a more satisfying experience

Stayed here on our honeymoon - it was everything you could dream of for a honeymoon getaway and... See full review

  • Honeymoonersss
  • Mar 27, 2014
Mom and Dad loved it

Sent my Mom and Dad here for their 50th wedding anniversary and they can't stop raving about it.... See full review

  • R Tyler Jones
  • Mar 11, 2014
North-shore villa resort offers room to move and sweeping vistas
Perched on a cliff, the 346-room Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas lies between the verdant green of the north shore's natural landscape and startling blue of the Pacific. The look and feel is upscale and modern with a nod to island style. Outside, neat lawns and expansive pool areas give way to vast, panoramic vistas of the pleated cliffs and mountains of Kauai. Spacious villas offer luxury, and nice touches include private lanais and Westin's notable Heavenly Bed. An on-site restaurant, markets and a casual poolside bar add convenience.
Highlights
  • Four pools, including one for children
  • Year-round Westin Kids Club for ages 5-12
  • Complimentary shuttle to Makai/Prince golf courses
  • Dine at Sheraton Kauai Resort in Poipu, charge back to your Westin Princeville villa
Location
Princeville is a 500-acre planned development on Kauai's north shore, between the towns of Hanalei and Kilauea, with resorts, vacation homes, dramatic cliffs, and several protected beaches. Once a coffee plantation, it's now one of Hawaii's top golf destinations, as Golf Digest named Prince Golf Course Hawaii's No. 1 course and Golf Week put it among America's Top 100 Modern Courses.
Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas range from 512-square-foot studios to 1,311-square-foot two-bedroom units. Interior decor includes Hawaiian artwork on the walls and an appealing mix of rich woods and a sunny palette. Each two-bedroom lock-off villa not only has two bedrooms but two kitchens and two living and dining areas as well.
Features
Four heated pools are at the heart of on-site activities at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. One pool is for children, complete with child-size slide. While many guests come for the north shore's superb golf, the resort also has a relationship with Princeville Tennis Club a mile away. Fitness buffs can work out 24/7 at the compact gym. Parking is available for an additional cost. Westin guests receive discounted fees at Prince and Makai courses.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (26 mi/41.8 km)
Attractions
  • Hanalei Valley Lookout (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Princeville Ranch Adventures (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Historic Hanalei Pier (4.1 mi/7.8 km)
  • Kilauea Lighthouse and National Wildlife Refuge (7.2 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wired and wireless Internet
  • 24/7 business center with complimentary boarding-pass printout
  • Outdoor function space
Policies and fees
Valet or self-parking is $13 USD/night (taxes not inclusive).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Rooms

1 Bedroom Villa
The spacious one-bedroom premium villa is the perfect place to nourish your spirit as you bask in the rejuvenating essence of the resort. An array of unique amenities and customized services will further enhance your experience in this relaxing Hawaiian retreat, which comfortably sleeps up to four adults. Every villa has a king-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed, Westin Heavenly Bath, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, a queen-size sofa bed, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.
Studio Villa
Rest your body and renew your spirit amid Hawaiian-style decor and fine furnishings inspired by the stunning natural beauty of Kaua'i. Each studio premium villa comfortably accommodates up to four guests and offers a refreshing respite after an invigorating day of island activity. Every villa has our queen-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed and Westin Heavenly Bath, a full-size sofa bed, a fully-equipped kitchenette, washer/dryer, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

22.2216 -159.4686
Area served
Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport (LIH)
Area description
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas rests on a cliff on Kauai's breathtakingly beautiful North Shore. Suspended high above the crystal clear waters of the Pacific, the resort is set against the majestic mountains of Namolokama and Makana, and is just a few miles from Hanalei Bay and the world-famous Napali Coast. Escape to this tranquil Hawaiian hideaway to renew your mind, body and spirit amid the stunning natural beauty of Kauai.

Dining

Princeville Market
Visit the Princeville Market to find an impressive array of grocery items as well as baked goods, deli sandwiches, salads and side dishes. In addition to groceries, the Princeville Market features a selection of fresh island fish and marinated meats so you can cook in the comfort of your villa or enjoy a relaxing evening at one of the 20 complimentary poolside grills. Specialty items like homemade pizzas and paninis are also available and can be carried out or delivered to your villa. Cuisine : American Atmosphere : Market/Delicatessen Setting : Quick Meals & Groceries Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 6AM - 8PM
Wailele Bar
Located adjacent to the main swimming pool, the Wailele Bar (or Waterfall Bar) features an array of refreshing beverages and delectable poolside dining. As you savor a delightful meal or snack, fruit smoothie or sip on a tropical drink, you will be able to enjoy the spectacular waterfalls that are often seen cascading down the majestic mountain peaks of Namolokama, Hihimanu and Mamalahoa. Cuisine : Cocktails & Snacks Atmosphere : Outdoor Setting : Poolside Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 11AM - 6PM (Please note: Hours of operation are subject to change based on season.)
Nanea Restaurant & Bar
Located on the first floor of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Clubhouse, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers an array of casual dining options for lunch and dinner, as well as a delectable Sunday Brunch. Whether you wish to enhance your dining experience with intimate indoor seating or enjoy your meal outdoors as you gaze upon distant views of the sparkling Pacific Ocean, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers menu items that are sure to please everyone's palate. A la carte options inspired by the island's fresh ingredients are available for lunch and dinner, and Sunday Brunch highlights the bounty of the islands. Tropical cocktails and an array of delectable pupus, or appetizers, are also available. Cuisine: Island Inspired Cuisine Atmosphere: Casual Indoor/Outdoor Smoking Permitted: No Hours: Lunch: 11AM - 2:30PM Dinner: 5:30PM - 9:30PM Sunday Brunch: 8:30AM - 12:30PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (202)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
202 out of 202
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
Super Dad to Be
San Francisco, CA
May 3, 2012

Babymoon

Great hotel. A lot of do it yourself, but totally worth it for a large family and if you like to do everything yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are bbqs within walking distance that you can grill your own food on. Also, some rooms provide you everything to cook with but an oven

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
Jobu
Evergreen, CO
May 3, 2012

The Staff is the strong point

We really enjoyed the Westin at Princeville, especially considering the rate with our last minute booking through Cheap Tickets. We even had mutpile Ocean views and not looking over a parking lot - really a great room. We were very impressed with the Staff from check in to check out and everything in-between. Great hotel, location, amenities, etc. We thought the food and drinks would be very expensive, but very reasonable considering it is on Kauai. Overall - would go again without a second thought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
LC93
Sacramento, CA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Great hotel, great staff

Great staff, very nice amentities, really liked the options to cook for yourself on the grills. Would come back definitely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hike down the trail to a quiet secluded beach. Not published since the trail access to the beach is not owned by the hotel, but it's an easy 5-10 minute hike. Can be slippery / muddy at times, but great little beach at the bottom of the trail right next to hotel.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
Jana
Bay Area
Apr 15, 2012

Beautiful

We were thrilled with this hotel. The grounds are beautiful, our room was extremely spacious and comfortable, and the location is amazing. We went without our kids and it is wonderful for a couple, but it is also very family friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
AlexZ
Hong Kong
Apr 11, 2012

Nice hotel in a beautiful spot

Pros: Lovely hotel, comfortable, good swimming pools, an OK gym and BBQ pits so that you can cook yourself. There is a food shop in the hotel which is cool and something different. No need to eat at the restaurant. Cons: Only one restaurant available although it's pretty decent. Staff are pretty slow. Check-in took nearly 30mins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to St. Regis hotel for a buffet breakfast and a lovely view.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
Hawaiian Monk Seal
Surrey, BC, Canada
Apr 9, 2012

Princeville at its best!

This is mostly popular with families - and I can see why! Travelling by myself - this was the perfect place to come back to, after a long day out on one of the many beaches, or hiking trails. The restaurant offers one of the best menus on the island - and a great bar (most delicious and creative martinis!). My room was one of the studios (queen bed with sofa bed) - equipped with all the amenities one would expect in a residential studio (fully equipped kitchenette and washer/dryer stacker). The views from this resort are as you would expect in Princeville: dramatic Kauai landscapes, from a high plateau on the edge of the see. I can recommend this place to families, couples, and people travelling solo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you have an iPhone - download the Kauai app from the App Store or Hawaii Gaga online. extremely useful, and informative - best traveling guide!

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
TNRN
Wausaukee, WI, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Kauai March 14-23

Great hotel and location on north shore. This was our second trip to Kauai (may not be the most convenient place to stay if it's your first time unless you are prepared to drive a bit to see south shore and canyon). Friendly staff, great room and beautiful grounds. Be prepared to pay for some extras...parking and internet service is free until the day you leave. One downfall...most of the outdoor grills where not working so had to wait for one to open up but not a huge deal. Overall great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
Wine Nerd
Modesto, CA, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Great place to really get away from it all and relax

After spending a week in a Condo on Kauai, we decided to treat ourselves to 3 days at the Westin. We couldn't have been happier. This is a beautiful property, and since we had been driving all over the island for a week, it was the perfect place to just sit around and relax. We were upgraded to a 1-bedroom suite, which was amazing. It had a FULL kitchen, as well as a beautiful sitting area, large bedroom/bathroom suite, a jetted tub, and a very comfortable lanai. The resort's many pools are beautiful. Each has its own distinct personality. The pool chaises were very nice and very comfortable. There were food and beverages available, but the staff never bothered you while you were relaxing. We splurged a bit by eating at the restaurant in the resort (Nanea) each evening. The food was excellent, the wines were fairly priced, and the waitstaff were outstanding. There is no beach access, but if you want to spend time at the beach, there is an hourly shuttle to their "Sister" property, the St. Regis, where Westin guests have privileges. The beach at the St. Regis is very nice, but you can't use the pool there...which is fine, the Westin's pool is WAY nicer! They also have gas grills all over the property where you can barbeque. You can even buy steaks/kabobs/etc. at the fresh market on the property. Note that this is a timeshare property. We were asked about attending a "presentation", but didn't ever feel pressured. Also, although we weren't members, we were treated just the same, unlike some resorts we have stayed in. Professional all the way. The Westin is beautiful, but a bit pricey. If we hadn't gotten a 'package' deal, we might not have stayed here. Thanks! We would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
Alileilani
Honolulu, HI, USA
Mar 19, 2012

The best place I've stayed on Kauai

I live on Oahu and visit Kauai often. With each visit, I stay in a new place feeling that I wouldn't stay in the place again. With so many condos, it's a 50-50 chance of getting something well-tended or outdated and unkept. This was the best of condo with all amenities and luxury hotel. My 18 month old was in heaven here and all was provided for him during our stay. The whole thing was perfect and I wished we could have stayed for a few more days. I would absolutely stay here again. The beach at St. Regis was also a big bonus, and perfect for my son.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get groceries at Walmart and gas at Costco, to save some money.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
bella1215
toronto
Feb 29, 2012

honeymoon

We loved our suite at westin princeville! The value for the suite and overall property is amazing. We had a kitchen, washer & dryer amazing bed and huge bathroom. And we were able to BBQ a dinner that helped save on costs. I would highly recommend this property especially since you get beach access to the St Regis hotel. Try the breakfast buffet at the St Regis for the view and food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top