$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nebraska
Sep 20, 2009

Westin Princeville

Would definitely recommend for the price. The north shore is beautiful and relaxing. If you did not want to you would never have to leave the north shore as there are plenty of activities and eating options available. For the money the Westin was an extremely nice hotel and fit the needs of my new wife and I great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chevron gas station in Princeville has a grill inside that serves burgers from the princeville ranch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockwall, Tx
Mar 26, 2011

Princeville - Paradise!

Staying in Princeville at the Westin Resort was a great experience. We enjoyed the beautiful beaches with the great snorkeling that was close by. Hanalei, which is also near by is a good place to shop and enjoy shaved ice and Lappert's ice cream. Ziplining with Kauai Outfitters, kayaking with Wailua Kayaking and hiking in Waimea Canyon were a few of the highlights of our trip. The Westin is a beautiful resort with an exceptionally friendly staff. Our only complaint is that they did not offer complimentary coffee to drink out by the pool every morning. Seems like such a cheap thing for them to offer that would have been very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 26, 2011

Comfortable, Beautiful Hotel

Beautiful brand new hotel located on a bluff above the ocean in Princeville. Rooms are very spacious and include a kitchen and washers/dryers. Dining options are limited on the resort, but there is a full service grocery store in Princeville 2 minutes away and plenty of restaurants in Hanalei. This hotel does not have a beach. Beach access is shared with the St. Regis about 2 miles down the road. The pools are beautiful which is where we did most of our R and R. The only reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars was due to the location of our room. The hotel has multiple building with ocean views and privacy on the lanai. Unfortunately, our room was near a busy walkway near the entrance of the hotel with very little privacy. If possible, request buildings 3, 6 or 7 for nicer views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMD
Business
Seattle, WA
May 10, 2011

Quality Hotel at Affordable Price!

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Princeville for our "babymoon" and all things considered, we found this resort to be a great fit for what we were looking for. Our studio room was super clean, and the kitchen came fully equipped with a full size fridge, mini dishwasher, stovetop (but no oven) coffeemaker, and dishes, pots, pans, utensils, etc. There were also various grill/ barbeque areas located throughout the property. Cooking was a great way to save money! The room felt more like a small apartment than a hotel. A couple of notes if you plan on staying at this resort: 1) If you plan to do a lot of traveling around the island, this may not be the place for you! You can only access the south/ west shores of Kaua'i by driving on the eastern side - no major road/ freeway appeared to provide direct access. We did go to Waimea Canyon one day, but it did take about 1 hr 45 minutes to get there. That said, there are some amazing beaches on the northern shores (Tunnels, Hideaways, Secret) - and we definitely took advantage! 2) No direct beach access at the Westin. The shuttle to the St. Regis beach was fine, but we actually preferred some of the other beaches we found in the area. 3) If you want to check out the island, I would highly recommend renting a car! I am not sure what we would have done without one! Please note there is an additional daily parking fee (I think $9/ day). 4) Princeville did not feel much like a town - more like the juxtaposition of several resorts/ condos/ golf courses. We did check out Hanalie and Kapaa, which both seemed to have more going on. 5) If you plan to get groceries, we found the Safeway in Kapaa (about 30 minutes south) to be somewhat reasonably priced. Be warned that the Princeville Market (in the hotel) was a complete ripoff! There is a "Foodland" in Princeville, but we did not end up checking it out at all. We had a fantastic time, and I would certainly recommend this hotel. The room/ hotel service exceeded our expectations. Since we were willing to drive around/ explore, it worked out well - however, if you do NOT want to have to drive for activities and do NOT like sitting by a pool, this may not be for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ave
Business
CA
Mar 6, 2011

relaxing atmosphere

The westin villas were truly amazing. The outdoor grills were fantastic. We had a truly relaxing time during our stay here. Only gripe is that the rooms do not have any condiments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hanalei Pizza in Chin Young Village would blow you away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Jun 18, 2011

nice vacation spot

The hotel was very nice. The only real issue we had was that the sheets were extremely uncomfortable. We basically did not have a comfy night...not one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Mar 15, 2011

Scenic, friendly and comfortable.

We arrived at mid-day during the week and were immediately able to get into our room. The decor in the deluxe double was stylish, contemporary, and the view of the golf course, mountains and the ocean was relaxing. The unit was not large compared to other resorts but was nevertheless comfortable with a huge master bath. The grounds complement the beauty of the natural setting with wide lawns, tropical plants and nightime torches. At the restaurant we did experience an excessively long wait and a soggy pizza. The waitress ought to have suggested we change the order when it was apparent that the oven was not ready to serve the pizza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue, Wa
Feb 6, 2011

Great location, beautifully maintained

When I think of Westin hotels I think quality and the Princeville Villas live up to the high expectations I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Powered Hang gliding. It was a blast and it was nice to have a great resort like the Westin to relax in after flying like a bird.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui fan forever.
Business
San Rafael, Ca.
Jul 24, 2010

Mixed blessings, or location is crucial!

I had no idea that access to the beach is only by driving or taking a jitney to the Saint Regis. At check-in I had reserved two "garden view" suites. I was assigned rooms at street level at the parking lot. Noise from the garbage center, jitney parking, service kitchen, and anyone parking looking directly at my bed were the sad reality. I was so exhausted and stunned that I could not even get up for a full day. I have been blissfully happy every other time I have been to Hawaii, usually to Maui; I love the Sheraton Maui, the Grand Wailea. We did not pay for the cheapest rooms for this trip but the rooms assigned were indeed the cheapest and least appealing at the resort. I was sobbing and weak when I begged to change our rooms. The front desk then arranged to move everything for us and put us on a second floor set of connecting rooms. Viva la differance! Building ONE is in no way a vacation choice unless one is given a free room during a work-study program. The food at the only restaurant is very poor, the Westin in Maui is wonderful, so this was a shock. There is no entertainment for adults, and I longed for the ease of walking along from hotel bar to hotel bar that one has in Maui. My two grandsons loved the kiddie pool, safe and well designed. The happy hour and bar food at the pool are the way to eat here. One must have water shoes to swim at almost any beach on Kauai, don't leave home without them. During our stay the waves were strong and warning flags are out at every beach. Check at the lifeguard station on the tide and really watch yourself in the water. I was born in Boston, swam all my life, but this is the Pacific and one adult to each child at the ocean has to be your rule. At the Saint Regis the waiters were on the ball, helpful, and the duck spring rolls are very good. Eat at the Saint Regis if you are over age eight; not at the Westin. The heavenly bed stuff was lovely for me, housekeeping very good. For a family the washers and dryers mean you can pack light; the fridge means you can grab food for the kids at the store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to put on your water shoes so I'd bring two pair. The coral and rocks are close to shore. The K Mart is packed so bring water shoes and very good sun screen from home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 15, 2010

Tropical yet semi-rustic Honeymoon

It was wonderful. We would stay there again in a heartbeat if we ever ended up in Kauai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaches, Hikes, Mountains and waterfalls are at your finger tips!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top