The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
207 reviews
Love the Westin!

I've stayed at the Westin in Princeville twice now. For a long stay in Hawaii, having the kitchen... See full review

  • Anne Zzz
  • Jun 9, 2014
Can't imagine a more satisfying experience

Stayed here on our honeymoon - it was everything you could dream of for a honeymoon getaway and... See full review

  • Honeymoonersss
  • Mar 27, 2014
North-shore villa resort offers room to move and sweeping vistas
Perched on a cliff, the 346-room Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas lies between the verdant green of the north shore's natural landscape and startling blue of the Pacific. The look and feel is upscale and modern with a nod to island style. Outside, neat lawns and expansive pool areas give way to vast, panoramic vistas of the pleated cliffs and mountains of Kauai. Spacious villas offer luxury, and nice touches include private lanais and Westin's notable Heavenly Bed. An on-site restaurant, markets and a casual poolside bar add convenience.
Highlights
  • Four pools, including one for children
  • Year-round Westin Kids Club for ages 5-12
  • Complimentary shuttle to Makai/Prince golf courses
  • Dine at Sheraton Kauai Resort in Poipu, charge back to your Westin Princeville villa
Location
Princeville is a 500-acre planned development on Kauai's north shore, between the towns of Hanalei and Kilauea, with resorts, vacation homes, dramatic cliffs, and several protected beaches. Once a coffee plantation, it's now one of Hawaii's top golf destinations, as Golf Digest named Prince Golf Course Hawaii's No. 1 course and Golf Week put it among America's Top 100 Modern Courses.
Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas range from 512-square-foot studios to 1,311-square-foot two-bedroom units. Interior decor includes Hawaiian artwork on the walls and an appealing mix of rich woods and a sunny palette. Each two-bedroom lock-off villa not only has two bedrooms but two kitchens and two living and dining areas as well.
Features
Four heated pools are at the heart of on-site activities at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. One pool is for children, complete with child-size slide. While many guests come for the north shore's superb golf, the resort also has a relationship with Princeville Tennis Club a mile away. Fitness buffs can work out 24/7 at the compact gym. Parking is available for an additional cost. Westin guests receive discounted fees at Prince and Makai courses.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (26 mi/41.8 km)
Attractions
  • Hanalei Valley Lookout (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Princeville Ranch Adventures (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Historic Hanalei Pier (4.1 mi/7.8 km)
  • Kilauea Lighthouse and National Wildlife Refuge (7.2 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wired and wireless Internet
  • 24/7 business center with complimentary boarding-pass printout
  • Outdoor function space
Policies and fees
Valet or self-parking is $13 USD/night (taxes not inclusive).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Rooms

1 Bedroom Villa
The spacious one-bedroom premium villa is the perfect place to nourish your spirit as you bask in the rejuvenating essence of the resort. An array of unique amenities and customized services will further enhance your experience in this relaxing Hawaiian retreat, which comfortably sleeps up to four adults. Every villa has a king-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed, Westin Heavenly Bath, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, a queen-size sofa bed, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.
Studio Villa
Rest your body and renew your spirit amid Hawaiian-style decor and fine furnishings inspired by the stunning natural beauty of Kaua'i. Each studio premium villa comfortably accommodates up to four guests and offers a refreshing respite after an invigorating day of island activity. Every villa has our queen-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed and Westin Heavenly Bath, a full-size sofa bed, a fully-equipped kitchenette, washer/dryer, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

22.2216 -159.4686
Area served
Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport (LIH)
Area description
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas rests on a cliff on Kauai's breathtakingly beautiful North Shore. Suspended high above the crystal clear waters of the Pacific, the resort is set against the majestic mountains of Namolokama and Makana, and is just a few miles from Hanalei Bay and the world-famous Napali Coast. Escape to this tranquil Hawaiian hideaway to renew your mind, body and spirit amid the stunning natural beauty of Kauai.

Dining

Princeville Market
Visit the Princeville Market to find an impressive array of grocery items as well as baked goods, deli sandwiches, salads and side dishes. In addition to groceries, the Princeville Market features a selection of fresh island fish and marinated meats so you can cook in the comfort of your villa or enjoy a relaxing evening at one of the 20 complimentary poolside grills. Specialty items like homemade pizzas and paninis are also available and can be carried out or delivered to your villa. Cuisine : American Atmosphere : Market/Delicatessen Setting : Quick Meals & Groceries Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 6AM - 8PM
Wailele Bar
Located adjacent to the main swimming pool, the Wailele Bar (or Waterfall Bar) features an array of refreshing beverages and delectable poolside dining. As you savor a delightful meal or snack, fruit smoothie or sip on a tropical drink, you will be able to enjoy the spectacular waterfalls that are often seen cascading down the majestic mountain peaks of Namolokama, Hihimanu and Mamalahoa. Cuisine : Cocktails & Snacks Atmosphere : Outdoor Setting : Poolside Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 11AM - 6PM (Please note: Hours of operation are subject to change based on season.)
Nanea Restaurant & Bar
Located on the first floor of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Clubhouse, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers an array of casual dining options for lunch and dinner, as well as a delectable Sunday Brunch. Whether you wish to enhance your dining experience with intimate indoor seating or enjoy your meal outdoors as you gaze upon distant views of the sparkling Pacific Ocean, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers menu items that are sure to please everyone's palate. A la carte options inspired by the island's fresh ingredients are available for lunch and dinner, and Sunday Brunch highlights the bounty of the islands. Tropical cocktails and an array of delectable pupus, or appetizers, are also available. Cuisine: Island Inspired Cuisine Atmosphere: Casual Indoor/Outdoor Smoking Permitted: No Hours: Lunch: 11AM - 2:30PM Dinner: 5:30PM - 9:30PM Sunday Brunch: 8:30AM - 12:30PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 2, 2009

Family friendly but still disorganized

Nice hotel with good facilities - especially for families. Lots of gas BBQ's to cook your own meals (if that is what you want to do on vacation). Beautiful setting. Only 1 real place to eat & I would have expected it to have worked out the kinks with restaraunt reservations by now. They couldn't get us out of there fast enough at check out time and were rude about it. At these prices and in this economy I expect better service. Like most of the island, there are wild chickens & roosters everywhere and they crow at all hours of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 1, 2009

Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

I loved the ambiance of the hotel . . a feeling of spaciousness and relaxation. I loved the 1 bedroom villa which was beautifully decorated because it was fairly new. It was so clean, and the Heavenly bed with the white duvet covering a quilt was wonderful. We didn't have much privacy because of the location of our room - cars were parked out front and people could walk too close to our room. However, if we had paid more for a room, I'm sure that we could have gotten a better view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silicon Valley, CA
Jun 30, 2009

should be a lot better than it really is

Princeville is a resort town with no charm at all. The Westin Princeville is completely fitting with its surroundings. Like the rest of Princeville, it just feels fake. The room was spacious and useful. I especially liked having a kitchenette with a full-size fridge in the room. Other than the kitchenette and in-room laundry (obviously for the timeshare crowd), it was remarkably like every other Westin I've ever stayed in. The on-site restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. The Sunday brunch is gross and overpriced ($40/person). The food served in the restaurant the rest of the week is poorly prepared, and the service is lacking. The poolside bar has one cocktail special daily, so you can get liquored up on mai tais relatively cheaply. The cleanliness of the hotel also leaves a lot to be desired. My bathroom smelled strongly of mildew all week. When housekeeping cleans the rooms, they leave plastic bags of trash and dirty linens in the hallway. These bags aren't picked up until late afternoon. It's pretty gross to have to walk past trash and dirty laundry all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you're a foodie, leave your expectations behind when visiting Kauai. There isn't a great restaurant anywhere on the island. There are a few that are okay, but nothing great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego
Jun 24, 2009

Westin

everything was excellent - especially the service. it was hard to sleep at night with the sounds of the air conditioner (very loud!) and the icemaker in the fride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Todd the honeymooner
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 21, 2009

Great room, staff, facilities

Overall, the hotel was very nice. Great rooms (the kitchenette was perfect), housekeeping did a great job, and the landscaping and pool were great. Located at the top of a cliff overlooking the ocean, so the view was nice. Short walk to secluded beach, but it's a pretty rough 10 minute hike. Close to a couple other pretty decent beaches, though. On the minus side: can't really comment on the food because we never saw the hotel restaurant open. All food was ordered via the bar menu or market, and as is customary with Hawaii, very high prices. Stay with the (alcoholic) drink of the day to keep it a little more reasonable. The roosters were a HUGE annoyance. They walked around and screamed at everything and nothing. Had to endure a couple of drunken nights from the neighbors in the adjoining room. Pretty quiet other than that. Overall, these were minor issues. We really did have a great stay, and would definitely choose the Westin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Instead of going down to the hotel market, plan out any possible breakfast, lunch, or dinner choices; make a trip down to Foodland and stock up the fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drnkonrum
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 19, 2009

Great value.

Awesome room. Comfortable beds. Close to everything on on the North Shore. The only complaint, if there is one, is that the AC unit in the room was fairly loud and the temperature in the room fluctuated quite a bit. Room was large for the price considering this is Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you book a tour to the Na'Pali coast ensure they operate from Hanelei. We booked through Orbitz and had to drive over an hour to the South Shore to meet a boat at 6:15 in the morning. There are tour companies that leave from the North Shore that are 10 minutes from this hotel. Also, keep in mind the North Shore is somewhat remote so prices in town are very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FANTASTIC HONEYMOON
Business
DENVER, CO
Jun 17, 2009

AWESOME RESORT for HONEYMOONERS!!!

We stayed at the Westin for 7 nights and it was truly FANTASTIC! My husband and I were on our honeymoon and we don't have a single complaint. I am very picky when it comes to hotels, and this resort was romantic, fun, comfortable, and everything else you can imagine. There is a Safeway in Kap'aa and we recommend buying breakfast and lunch items and eating them on your porch instead of paying to eat out. We also recommend getting directions from the hotel staff instead of following the Mapquest directions from Lihue. There isn't a clearly marked sign for the Westin from the main road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ZIPLINING at the Princeville ranch was so much fun, and the concierge at the hotel was able to book it for us to save us the hastle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Island Lover
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 17, 2009

Loved this place!!!

We showed up late to the hotel after the airline lost our bags with all of our clothes and other necessities. The front desk staff was awesome - she valeted our car for free, gave us a quick run down of the hotel grounds, and told us how to turn on the Jacuzzi tub in our room and relax. We didn't have our cell phone chargers because of the lost bags and the hotel let us borrow some to charge our phones until we got ours - very nice. The beds are very comfortable, the shower was big enough for the two of us to use, washer and drier in the room, flat screen tv w/cable. This place was great! If you like to grill there are 4-5 gas grills near each pool and hut tubs at each pool. We were really pleased with the gym and the mini convience store on the property. A local grocery store is just up the street in Princeville. We will come again and maybe even bring the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get groceries at the market in Princeville to grill at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jun 15, 2009

The Westin Princeville

This hotel was fantastic! We booked a studio, but they overbooked and we got a 1 br instead. It was huge with a great kitchen which saved us a lot of money in Hawaii. The hotel has grills so we grilled out almost every night. If you are into adventure outings, this hotel is in a perfect location on Kauai. Don't expect night life because there isn't any! However be warned of the roosters that will wake you up at dawn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Foodland and get fish to grill on the hotel grills. Surprisingly Foodland had excellent fresh fish and its just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 9, 2009

You'll love it!

The condo was very large and very clean with nice upgraded amenities. If you love the Northshore like we do it's an incredible location. If you plan to travel around the island during your trip it's at least and hour drive to the south and west but we stayed up North the majority of the time and loved it! The pool is fantastic and the restaurant was delicious. There are also grills everywhere to grill out and stay in. The food store on site had everything you needed. Plenty to do and great options if you had a family as there were daily activities planned which sounded very fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Two great restaurants we loved that were a 10 minute drive away were Postcards and The lighthouse.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top