$288 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 27, 2010

Outstanding Get Away

A little about us to help you determine how to use our review. We're a professional couple in our 30's. We've traveled the world for work and pleasure, staying in everything from bug-infested hostels, B&B's, business and five star hotels.This place was truly remarkable. They have studios, one bedroom and two-bedroom apartment like units. We arranged a studio. Loved it - like a hotel room, but with a kitchenette. Spotlessly clean. Huge bathroom with a large whirlpool tub. The first night, our next door neighbors were fighting terribly and we had to call security twice. The next day, management moved us to a one bedroom unit right on the tranquility pool that was fantastic. The kitchen had granite counter tops, again, massive bathroom with dual sinks, dual shower heads and glass enclosure. Their Heavenly bed was just that - down feather bed, nice linens, and a down comforter had us cranking the A/C just so we could wrap up at night.Rooms come with free wi-fi internet as well as CAT-5 cables for the wired types. The patio was very large with very comfortable and like-new furniture. There was a Bose Wave Radio with CD player as well as a DVD player hooked up to the living room LCD TV. The LCD in the bedroom "only" had cable.There is a gas station, grocery store and multiple restaurants in the nearby shopping center. More restaurants a 10 minute drive away in Hanalei.It was a quiet crowd and all guests (aside from our next door neighbors the first night) were very friendly. Generally, Princeville is an upscale community that seems to have a more mature demographic. Not great if you want a wild nightlife -- fantastic if you want a serene place to unwind. It was like staying in a fantastic condo, but with excellent staff service. Staff were ALWAYS friendly and extraordinarily helpful -- from printing our boarding passes, to following up with us to make sure we liked our new accommodation, to calling us family. We asked them what it was that made every staff member so friendly and each answered that they loved working there. There were several staff that we only introduced ourselves to once, that would call us by name during the rest of our stay. Not stuffy, not too casual...just perfectly pleasurable.The onsite restaurant had delicious food, excellent service and the poolside ambiance made for a very romantic dinner. There is no beach access immediately from the hotel, but they provide a shuttle to the beach at the St. Regis two miles away. Very nice itself, it was actually the worst beach we went to...there are so many great beaches on the north shore, we just searched our empty stretches to have paradise to ourselves.Again, the accommodation was superb, but the best part was the hospitality of the staff. Definitely a winner in our book

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Want a great food experience? Scrap the tourist restaurants at the resorts. Go online to Kauai's newspaper, The Garden Island and look up their latest annual Best of Kauai - 2010 should be coming out soon, we used 2009 at http://advault.kauaiworld.com/SS/Page.aspx?secid=70717. Try the fresh malasadas from the lady outside Kmart in Kukui Grove. Get a plate lunch from Pono Market. Stop by the Menehune Market in Lawai for the island's best manju. Get the local's favorite loco moco bowl from the snack stand outside Sueoka market in Koloa. Scott's BBQ was surprisingly good, and the tropical stack at Ono Family Restaurant was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wacko
Business
Long Beach, CA
Sep 14, 2010

Nice for families

Lots to do in the surrounding area. Hotel is nice and the one bedroom unit we had was spacious, but I thought it was a little too busy for my taste. I prefer small, quiet hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fabali
Business
San Diego, ca
Sep 12, 2010

great hotel

great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui fan forever.
Business
San Rafael, Ca.
Jul 24, 2010

Mixed blessings, or location is crucial!

I had no idea that access to the beach is only by driving or taking a jitney to the Saint Regis. At check-in I had reserved two "garden view" suites. I was assigned rooms at street level at the parking lot. Noise from the garbage center, jitney parking, service kitchen, and anyone parking looking directly at my bed were the sad reality. I was so exhausted and stunned that I could not even get up for a full day. I have been blissfully happy every other time I have been to Hawaii, usually to Maui; I love the Sheraton Maui, the Grand Wailea. We did not pay for the cheapest rooms for this trip but the rooms assigned were indeed the cheapest and least appealing at the resort. I was sobbing and weak when I begged to change our rooms. The front desk then arranged to move everything for us and put us on a second floor set of connecting rooms. Viva la differance! Building ONE is in no way a vacation choice unless one is given a free room during a work-study program. The food at the only restaurant is very poor, the Westin in Maui is wonderful, so this was a shock. There is no entertainment for adults, and I longed for the ease of walking along from hotel bar to hotel bar that one has in Maui. My two grandsons loved the kiddie pool, safe and well designed. The happy hour and bar food at the pool are the way to eat here. One must have water shoes to swim at almost any beach on Kauai, don't leave home without them. During our stay the waves were strong and warning flags are out at every beach. Check at the lifeguard station on the tide and really watch yourself in the water. I was born in Boston, swam all my life, but this is the Pacific and one adult to each child at the ocean has to be your rule. At the Saint Regis the waiters were on the ball, helpful, and the duck spring rolls are very good. Eat at the Saint Regis if you are over age eight; not at the Westin. The heavenly bed stuff was lovely for me, housekeeping very good. For a family the washers and dryers mean you can pack light; the fridge means you can grab food for the kids at the store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to put on your water shoes so I'd bring two pair. The coral and rocks are close to shore. The K Mart is packed so bring water shoes and very good sun screen from home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg and Kim
Business
Cleveland, Oh
Jul 16, 2010

Amazing Resort

Amazing place that we spent for our fifth wedding aniversary. Relaxed and enjoyed the views, pools, and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hanalei Bay is a great place to relax and take in a beautiful sunset. Calm crystal clear water with a great beach to spend the day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 15, 2010

Tropical yet semi-rustic Honeymoon

It was wonderful. We would stay there again in a heartbeat if we ever ended up in Kauai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaches, Hikes, Mountains and waterfalls are at your finger tips!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston, tx
Jul 8, 2010

Westin

The hotel does not have a breakfast buffet. They have a convenience store with some breakfast items for sale. Our safe box malfunctioned with all our valuables inside and could not get to them for a while. The staff drilled into it to break it open - took about 2.5 hours. Other than that, our standard room had a small stove, standard fridge, and was plenty big for 2 people. The location in Princeville is good. The town nearby is easily accessible (a few mintues).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnieMae
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 8, 2010

great location, lovely place

Lovely place on the beautiful North Shore. Great snorkeling at different beaches every day. Enjoyed going to the elegant St Regis for a special dinner, and relaxing on the St Regis beach. Studio room was fine. Great to have the kitchen, and enjoyed the large tub and separate shower of the bathroom. Easy to use outdoor grills for grilling fresh fish. Lovely pool. Overall - loved the place, and could come back every year like the timeshare owners do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buda, Texas
Jun 25, 2010

exceeded our expectations!

My wife and I found the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort to truly be the best stay that we have had in 37 years of marriage. The rooms left nothing to ask for, they had everything that could be expected, and more. We will be returning and will be looking forward to booking the Westin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The little town of Hanalei has several nice places to eat. The food is good, the prices are resonable, and the dress is casual.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Ramon, CA
Jun 19, 2010

Like a nice apartment complex

Not like the Westin on Maui. This is a time share place with kitchens and thin walls so you can hear neighbors banging pots and pans and slamming cabinets. Room service only included a few items from 11am-8pm with a one hour delivery. Not a luxury resort. More like camping in a nice tent. Rooms were well appointed with jacuzzi tub. Staff ran the gamut from very friendly to unfriendly and unhelpful. Would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

No casual dining at the Westin. Closest is Hanalei about 15 minutes. So,when you land in Lihue, stop at the Safeway in Kapaa and load up on food. The restaurant at the Westin is very expensive. The little food store at the Westin has limited inventory.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top