$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Winemaker Paul
Business
San Francisco
Feb 22, 2013

Nice place

Beautiful setting. Nice rooms Dinner could be better for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fny fm SD
Business
San Diego, CA
May 15, 2013

Fnys Kauai visit

Outstanding! Was pleasantly surprised that our reservation package included a $100 dining credit and free made-to-order breakfast. We would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get a package that includes dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JSLC
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Oct 26, 2013

Great; just a few things would have made it perfect.

The Westin is undeniably a gorgeous resort. The grounds are pretty incredible and I took a lot of amazing pictures just standing on our balcony, which looked in towards the restaurant lanai and pool area. Our room (a one-bedroom) was very nice. We upgraded to a king bed and it was well worth the small fee. The kitchen and bathroom were fairly spacious and modern. There were some smaller things that bugged us, but the only issues really worth mentioning were: 1) Lumpy mattress -- there were two big divots on each side of the bed and that's pretty much where you stayed. 2) It's $13 per day for parking, and they don't tell you this. They just give you a parking pass on day 1 and then present you with a $100+ invoice on day 7. 3) A lot of our dishes smelled bad, and some of the towels had a strong chemical smell. (They may also be in contention for Scratchiest Hotel Towels on the Planet). Overall though, we really enjoyed it and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy some fresh fish and maybe a marinade at the Foodland and grill it on the Westin grounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billzx7
Business
Seattle, WA
May 28, 2014

It was good and not

The little villa was well appointed with a well equipped mico-kitchen. The location is one that I would not choose again unless you are planning to take the 11 mile hike that is really close. It is a remote area but on an island that takes 1 1/2 hours to navigate is was not too far out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This place is pretty remote though there is a quaint little town and the best hiking in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lawyer in the Dena
Business
Pasadena, CA
May 31, 2010

Great hotel!

Overall, the Westin Princeville was great! The hospitality is excellent. There is a shuttle that goes to the St. Regis every hour. I missed the shuttle by 3 minutes, and the shuttle made a special trip just for me! Great pools. Loved the spa services under the cabana. The only a few minor things I wasn't thrilled with: (1) I put the "do not disturb" sign in the key slot so that I wouldn't be awakened too early. At around 8:30am, I left my room, and a note was left that because I had the do not disturb sign up, housekeeping did not clean my room. I did not realize that this meant they would not return to clean my room ALL DAY. Housekeeping carts were in the hallways throughout the day. (2) Room service hours are very limited. No breakfast at all. (3) The fitness center shower had no shampoo and no soap (and nowhere to get these items unless you happened to bring your own).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Feb 13, 2011

Super!

Very relaxing and enjoyable. Would stay again. PROS: Quiet with condo amenities such as washer/dryer, full fridge, and barbecue grills. CONS: No beach. Area dining options are limited if staying more than 1 week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use beach in Hanalei or Haena instead of at St. Regis. All beaches in Kauai are public even those on the resorts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zooker
Business
Packer Land
Feb 26, 2011

Be Careful

Hotel was super clean and nice. Mountain views were only seen from outside the door. Booked the smallest villa - at time of check-in was asked if I wanted to upgrade to a larger room for $100 per night which I denied. Amazingly, all small villas were booked and I was then upgraded to larger room for no fee. (nice try on their part to see if i would upgrade prior to them mentioning the over booking -like they didnt know that at time of check in). At time of departure I was charged $9.37 for parking per day and charged $1.50 per phone call even though I used a calling card. Being on my honeymooon we were on a tight budget and didnt anticipate these extra charges. No where on their website or hotel grounds did it mention that they charge for parking and a sticker on the phone mentioned that all local calls were $1.50. Manager claimed that the parking charges, although were not free amenities, could be confusing as the website didnt mention a fee for this and he then mentioned the free upgrade. Like it was my fault they overbooked the smaller rooms. Manager said that even though it was an 800 toll free call, they considered it a local call. Manager was nice enough to cut parking fee and calls in half - but still a cost I hadnt anticipated. So I sit here and wonder, will I be charged for using the hot-tub and pool as they are listed amenitites as well? Also, they could have used more outdoor grilling areas. Lastly, 3 teaspoons of potatoes was a joke at the Nanea on ground restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Scottys restaurant was delicious. Pizzetta pizza was horrible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pasco, wa
Jul 5, 2011

beautiful

Friendly, beautiful, comfortable, but needs more parking! Loved the quiet pools, service was great and loved the green option discounts. Would definately return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 3, 2009

Fancy place

Great place to relax and enjoy peace and quiet. 3 pools to relax at. You could never leave the hotel if you wanted to as there is a restaurant, store/market, and bar on site, but all are expensive. Wish there would have been a beach closer by. The hotel is up on a cliff and the beach is a bit of a hike to get to or a drive, depending where you want to go. Great trip overall. Exactly what we were looking for, quiet, peaceful, and restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the great hike near Ke'e beach at the end of the road that goes through Hanalei.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 2, 2009

Family friendly but still disorganized

Nice hotel with good facilities - especially for families. Lots of gas BBQ's to cook your own meals (if that is what you want to do on vacation). Beautiful setting. Only 1 real place to eat & I would have expected it to have worked out the kinks with restaraunt reservations by now. They couldn't get us out of there fast enough at check out time and were rude about it. At these prices and in this economy I expect better service. Like most of the island, there are wild chickens & roosters everywhere and they crow at all hours of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top