$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
207 reviews
Love the Westin!

I've stayed at the Westin in Princeville twice now. For a long stay in Hawaii, having the kitchen... See full review

  • Anne Zzz
  • Jun 9, 2014
Can't imagine a more satisfying experience

Stayed here on our honeymoon - it was everything you could dream of for a honeymoon getaway and... See full review

  • Honeymoonersss
  • Mar 27, 2014
North-shore villa resort offers room to move and sweeping vistas
Perched on a cliff, the 346-room Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas lies between the verdant green of the north shore's natural landscape and startling blue of the Pacific. The look and feel is upscale and modern with a nod to island style. Outside, neat lawns and expansive pool areas give way to vast, panoramic vistas of the pleated cliffs and mountains of Kauai. Spacious villas offer luxury, and nice touches include private lanais and Westin's notable Heavenly Bed. An on-site restaurant, markets and a casual poolside bar add convenience.
Highlights
  • Four pools, including one for children
  • Year-round Westin Kids Club for ages 5-12
  • Complimentary shuttle to Makai/Prince golf courses
  • Dine at Sheraton Kauai Resort in Poipu, charge back to your Westin Princeville villa
Location
Princeville is a 500-acre planned development on Kauai's north shore, between the towns of Hanalei and Kilauea, with resorts, vacation homes, dramatic cliffs, and several protected beaches. Once a coffee plantation, it's now one of Hawaii's top golf destinations, as Golf Digest named Prince Golf Course Hawaii's No. 1 course and Golf Week put it among America's Top 100 Modern Courses.
Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas range from 512-square-foot studios to 1,311-square-foot two-bedroom units. Interior decor includes Hawaiian artwork on the walls and an appealing mix of rich woods and a sunny palette. Each two-bedroom lock-off villa not only has two bedrooms but two kitchens and two living and dining areas as well.
Features
Four heated pools are at the heart of on-site activities at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. One pool is for children, complete with child-size slide. While many guests come for the north shore's superb golf, the resort also has a relationship with Princeville Tennis Club a mile away. Fitness buffs can work out 24/7 at the compact gym. Parking is available for an additional cost. Westin guests receive discounted fees at Prince and Makai courses.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (26 mi/41.8 km)
Attractions
  • Hanalei Valley Lookout (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Princeville Ranch Adventures (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Historic Hanalei Pier (4.1 mi/7.8 km)
  • Kilauea Lighthouse and National Wildlife Refuge (7.2 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wired and wireless Internet
  • 24/7 business center with complimentary boarding-pass printout
  • Outdoor function space
Policies and fees
Valet or self-parking is $13 USD/night (taxes not inclusive).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Rooms

1 Bedroom Villa
The spacious one-bedroom premium villa is the perfect place to nourish your spirit as you bask in the rejuvenating essence of the resort. An array of unique amenities and customized services will further enhance your experience in this relaxing Hawaiian retreat, which comfortably sleeps up to four adults. Every villa has a king-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed, Westin Heavenly Bath, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, a queen-size sofa bed, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.
Studio Villa
Rest your body and renew your spirit amid Hawaiian-style decor and fine furnishings inspired by the stunning natural beauty of Kaua'i. Each studio premium villa comfortably accommodates up to four guests and offers a refreshing respite after an invigorating day of island activity. Every villa has our queen-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed and Westin Heavenly Bath, a full-size sofa bed, a fully-equipped kitchenette, washer/dryer, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Princeville Market
Visit the Princeville Market to find an impressive array of grocery items as well as baked goods, deli sandwiches, salads and side dishes. In addition to groceries, the Princeville Market features a selection of fresh island fish and marinated meats so you can cook in the comfort of your villa or enjoy a relaxing evening at one of the 20 complimentary poolside grills. Specialty items like homemade pizzas and paninis are also available and can be carried out or delivered to your villa. Cuisine : American Atmosphere : Market/Delicatessen Setting : Quick Meals & Groceries Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 6AM - 8PM
Wailele Bar
Located adjacent to the main swimming pool, the Wailele Bar (or Waterfall Bar) features an array of refreshing beverages and delectable poolside dining. As you savor a delightful meal or snack, fruit smoothie or sip on a tropical drink, you will be able to enjoy the spectacular waterfalls that are often seen cascading down the majestic mountain peaks of Namolokama, Hihimanu and Mamalahoa. Cuisine : Cocktails & Snacks Atmosphere : Outdoor Setting : Poolside Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 11AM - 6PM (Please note: Hours of operation are subject to change based on season.)
Nanea Restaurant & Bar
Located on the first floor of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Clubhouse, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers an array of casual dining options for lunch and dinner, as well as a delectable Sunday Brunch. Whether you wish to enhance your dining experience with intimate indoor seating or enjoy your meal outdoors as you gaze upon distant views of the sparkling Pacific Ocean, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers menu items that are sure to please everyone's palate. A la carte options inspired by the island's fresh ingredients are available for lunch and dinner, and Sunday Brunch highlights the bounty of the islands. Tropical cocktails and an array of delectable pupus, or appetizers, are also available. Cuisine: Island Inspired Cuisine Atmosphere: Casual Indoor/Outdoor Smoking Permitted: No Hours: Lunch: 11AM - 2:30PM Dinner: 5:30PM - 9:30PM Sunday Brunch: 8:30AM - 12:30PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JSLC
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Oct 26, 2013

Great; just a few things would have made it perfect.

The Westin is undeniably a gorgeous resort. The grounds are pretty incredible and I took a lot of amazing pictures just standing on our balcony, which looked in towards the restaurant lanai and pool area. Our room (a one-bedroom) was very nice. We upgraded to a king bed and it was well worth the small fee. The kitchen and bathroom were fairly spacious and modern. There were some smaller things that bugged us, but the only issues really worth mentioning were: 1) Lumpy mattress -- there were two big divots on each side of the bed and that's pretty much where you stayed. 2) It's $13 per day for parking, and they don't tell you this. They just give you a parking pass on day 1 and then present you with a $100+ invoice on day 7. 3) A lot of our dishes smelled bad, and some of the towels had a strong chemical smell. (They may also be in contention for Scratchiest Hotel Towels on the Planet). Overall though, we really enjoyed it and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy some fresh fish and maybe a marinade at the Foodland and grill it on the Westin grounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surfababe
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Apr 6, 2014

Quiet? Really? Don't go in March and April!

Only major complaint was the room was stuffy. The fan had a hum to it, and there was a banging sound where the heater is located in the wall. The cooking supplies could have been of higher quality and more selection of supplies to cook from.The pots and pans were cheap and there could have been a supply of aluminum foil, plastic wrap.Other than that, the room, bed, balcony and area was fine. The buffet for breakfast was o.k, I found the food to be cool by the time I got to the table. It would have been nice to have more selection than eggs, bacon, sausage,potatoes, rice, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal and bread. The pineapple was the best, the melons tasted like the cutting board, and slightly moldy or sitting in the fridge too long. The quiet pools were not quiet, the children had no regard for anyone and jumped in the pool, when they were not supposed to.They screamed and carried on as if no one else was around. The staff barely did anything about it. The parents had no control over their kids. I was shocked that they allowed people to play their own sound systems at the pool. I, personally, want peace and quiet and not have to listen to other people's music. I found this to be extremely disturbing, and when I addressed this to the staff, they said I could go to the "quiet pool". Parental supervision needs to be addressed, as the parents allowed their children to just scream and run around and jump in the pools with no regard to anyone else. It was annoying and disrespectful of other guests. I heard that if you go in Sept and October, the property is quiet and has less occupancy. I went at the wrong time. Beware if you go in March/April cause of Spring Break. Other than that, the place is very nice, views are spectacular, staff helpful and service of cleaning the rooms excellent. Grounds superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hanalei restaurants are wonderful and good prices. Foodland excellent for grocery shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billzx7
Business
Seattle, WA
May 28, 2014

It was good and not

The little villa was well appointed with a well equipped mico-kitchen. The location is one that I would not choose again unless you are planning to take the 11 mile hike that is really close. It is a remote area but on an island that takes 1 1/2 hours to navigate is was not too far out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This place is pretty remote though there is a quaint little town and the best hiking in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STP rider
Business
Penn Valley, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Great anniversary getaway

My husband sailed to Hanalei Bay from California, with some friends, when he was 17 and wanted to bring me to Kauai for our 35th wedding anniversary. We relaxed & enjoyed the resort, and also enjoyed many of the sights on the island. The helicopter ride we took was breath taking. We also enjoyed riding bikes along the coast. Easy beach access would have been nice, but the resort is in a beautiful location. Jacuzzis just for adults would have been nice, too, and jacuzzi suites would be nice. We would have preferred to pay a little more and have the breakfast buffet included each day. Being able to BBQ was also a nice feature. The overall resort was very enjoyable. This was one of the best vacations we have taken. Wish we had planned to stay for 2 weeks, so we could have done more and still have time to relax and enjoy the resort more. We would consider doing this again one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Would have been nice to have more selections for hotel dining. Plan better to utilize the kitchen/BBQ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls, MN
Apr 22, 2009

The Westin Princeville Villas

We loved our time at the Westin!!! Kauai is a beautiful island. The north shore is where we would go back to again. Our only regret is that the time of year we traveled,(early March) was not the best for hiking or sailing along the north coast as we had planned. The winter months don't lend themselves to day sails and Napali Coast adventures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 12, 2009

Laid-back paradise

We stayed here for our honeymoon, not really knowing what to expect as we're not world travelers or anything, and it was great. The hotel's location on the North Shore was definitely preferable to us - we were surrounded by breathtaking views of inland mountains, cliffs dropping to the sea, and clear blue ocean as far as the eye could see. We did alot of kayaking, hiking, etc. and our location was close to numerous options for all the outdoor activities. The hotel seemed to have a mix of families, older couples, and honeymooners staying there. The amenities were great - there are 3 pool locations, so your pool experience could be as relaxing or social as you wanted it to be, and the propane grills located throughout the grounds were a great moneysaver. Instead of eating out every night, we could grill our own dinner, and eat outside overlooking the ocean. The only slight problem we had was trying to coordinate getting the room cleaned with times when we would be out - Housekeeping was not very happy when we asked them to come back later in the day. We had a great experience here though, and would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in viting Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a gorgoeus hiking trail (fairly rigorous though!) at the end of the main road that runs along the island (past Hanalei). The trail takes you into the mountains and along the cliffs at the waters edge. The most stunning views i have ever seen firsthand - absolutely amazing. The trail is about 14 miles long, and there is a waterfall at the end, but you dont have to go the whole way to get amazing views - they start right away. Gorgeous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Todd the honeymooner
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 21, 2009

Great room, staff, facilities

Overall, the hotel was very nice. Great rooms (the kitchenette was perfect), housekeeping did a great job, and the landscaping and pool were great. Located at the top of a cliff overlooking the ocean, so the view was nice. Short walk to secluded beach, but it's a pretty rough 10 minute hike. Close to a couple other pretty decent beaches, though. On the minus side: can't really comment on the food because we never saw the hotel restaurant open. All food was ordered via the bar menu or market, and as is customary with Hawaii, very high prices. Stay with the (alcoholic) drink of the day to keep it a little more reasonable. The roosters were a HUGE annoyance. They walked around and screamed at everything and nothing. Had to endure a couple of drunken nights from the neighbors in the adjoining room. Pretty quiet other than that. Overall, these were minor issues. We really did have a great stay, and would definitely choose the Westin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Instead of going down to the hotel market, plan out any possible breakfast, lunch, or dinner choices; make a trip down to Foodland and stock up the fridge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
May 4, 2011

Very nice!

Very nice place. The cleaning service wasn't always consistent (i.e. sometimes coffee tea was replaced, sometimes not; cleaning times varied greatly), but it was always sufficient. The property is wonderful and the rooms are very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kilauea Fish Market is the best fresh fish meal at the best price. Just next door is the Kilauea Video and Ice Cream with the best ice cream you will ever eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J & B
Business
Kankakee, IL
Apr 14, 2010

Great Location

The room was very clean and very comfortable. Having a stove, microwave, refrigerator, washer and dryer was an added bonus. We had a late flight out so we were able to take advantage of using the hospitality room after a day of snorkeling and hiking which was very nice. We were totally disappointed with the additional charge of $9.37 per day just to park. Parking should have been included for what we paid for theoom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 17, 2011

Terrific studio apartment

We felt right at home in a studio apartment-like villa. It was complete with a small kitchen, washer and dryer and a large bathroom with shower and jacuzzi tub. The property's grounds are large, with three separate pools, two of them nicely secluded. The North Shore rains a lot, but we used the well equiped gym until the weather cleared. It was close to Hanalei Bay and convenient for our boat trip to the Napali Coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Not much nightlife on Kauai, so plan your trip around getting up early and doing things at the beginning of the day. The weather was better for us in the morning most days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top