$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 14, 2015

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
208 reviews
Holiday Vacation

We had a great stay at the Westin Resort. The room, resort grounds, and pool area were fantastic.... See full review

  • dog vacation
  • Jan 15, 2015
Love the Westin!

I've stayed at the Westin in Princeville twice now. For a long stay in Hawaii, having the kitchen... See full review

  • Anne Zzz
  • Jun 9, 2014
North-shore villa resort offers room to move and sweeping vistas
Perched on a cliff, the 346-room Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas lies between the verdant green of the north shore's natural landscape and startling blue of the Pacific. The look and feel is upscale and modern with a nod to island style. Outside, neat lawns and expansive pool areas give way to vast, panoramic vistas of the pleated cliffs and mountains of Kauai. Spacious villas offer luxury, and nice touches include private lanais and Westin's notable Heavenly Bed. An on-site restaurant, markets and a casual poolside bar add convenience.
Highlights
  • Four pools, including one for children
  • Year-round Westin Kids Club for ages 5-12
  • Complimentary shuttle to Makai/Prince golf courses
  • Dine at Sheraton Kauai Resort in Poipu, charge back to your Westin Princeville villa
Location
Princeville is a 500-acre planned development on Kauai's north shore, between the towns of Hanalei and Kilauea, with resorts, vacation homes, dramatic cliffs, and several protected beaches. Once a coffee plantation, it's now one of Hawaii's top golf destinations, as Golf Digest named Prince Golf Course Hawaii's No. 1 course and Golf Week put it among America's Top 100 Modern Courses.
Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas range from 512-square-foot studios to 1,311-square-foot two-bedroom units. Interior decor includes Hawaiian artwork on the walls and an appealing mix of rich woods and a sunny palette. Each two-bedroom lock-off villa not only has two bedrooms but two kitchens and two living and dining areas as well.
Features
Four heated pools are at the heart of on-site activities at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. One pool is for children, complete with child-size slide. While many guests come for the north shore's superb golf, the resort also has a relationship with Princeville Tennis Club a mile away. Fitness buffs can work out 24/7 at the compact gym. Parking is available for an additional cost. Westin guests receive discounted fees at Prince and Makai courses.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (26 mi/41.8 km)
Attractions
  • Hanalei Valley Lookout (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Princeville Ranch Adventures (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Historic Hanalei Pier (4.1 mi/7.8 km)
  • Kilauea Lighthouse and National Wildlife Refuge (7.2 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wired and wireless Internet
  • 24/7 business center with complimentary boarding-pass printout
  • Outdoor function space
Policies and fees
Valet or self-parking is $13 USD/night (taxes not inclusive).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Rooms

1 Bedroom Villa
The spacious one-bedroom premium villa is the perfect place to nourish your spirit as you bask in the rejuvenating essence of the resort. An array of unique amenities and customized services will further enhance your experience in this relaxing Hawaiian retreat, which comfortably sleeps up to four adults. Every villa has a king-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed, Westin Heavenly Bath, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, a queen-size sofa bed, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.
Studio Villa
Rest your body and renew your spirit amid Hawaiian-style decor and fine furnishings inspired by the stunning natural beauty of Kaua'i. Each studio premium villa comfortably accommodates up to four guests and offers a refreshing respite after an invigorating day of island activity. Every villa has our queen-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed and Westin Heavenly Bath, a full-size sofa bed, a fully-equipped kitchenette, washer/dryer, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Princeville Market
Visit the Princeville Market to find an impressive array of grocery items as well as baked goods, deli sandwiches, salads and side dishes. In addition to groceries, the Princeville Market features a selection of fresh island fish and marinated meats so you can cook in the comfort of your villa or enjoy a relaxing evening at one of the 20 complimentary poolside grills. Specialty items like homemade pizzas and paninis are also available and can be carried out or delivered to your villa. Cuisine : American Atmosphere : Market/Delicatessen Setting : Quick Meals & Groceries Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 6AM - 8PM
Wailele Bar
Located adjacent to the main swimming pool, the Wailele Bar (or Waterfall Bar) features an array of refreshing beverages and delectable poolside dining. As you savor a delightful meal or snack, fruit smoothie or sip on a tropical drink, you will be able to enjoy the spectacular waterfalls that are often seen cascading down the majestic mountain peaks of Namolokama, Hihimanu and Mamalahoa. Cuisine : Cocktails & Snacks Atmosphere : Outdoor Setting : Poolside Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 11AM - 6PM (Please note: Hours of operation are subject to change based on season.)
Nanea Restaurant & Bar
Located on the first floor of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Clubhouse, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers an array of casual dining options for lunch and dinner, as well as a delectable Sunday Brunch. Whether you wish to enhance your dining experience with intimate indoor seating or enjoy your meal outdoors as you gaze upon distant views of the sparkling Pacific Ocean, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers menu items that are sure to please everyone's palate. A la carte options inspired by the island's fresh ingredients are available for lunch and dinner, and Sunday Brunch highlights the bounty of the islands. Tropical cocktails and an array of delectable pupus, or appetizers, are also available. Cuisine: Island Inspired Cuisine Atmosphere: Casual Indoor/Outdoor Smoking Permitted: No Hours: Lunch: 11AM - 2:30PM Dinner: 5:30PM - 9:30PM Sunday Brunch: 8:30AM - 12:30PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
runawaaaay
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 21, 2011

great

The hotel was great. It is normally a time share type place, so the rooms have kitchens, which really allowed us to save a lot of money on food. The communal grills are fun to use for dinner. Great pools, and nothing felt crowded. While there is no immediate beach at the hotel, there is public access to the beach with a few minutes walk, which was one of the best beaches we found on the island! Waay better than the neighboring St Regis. They do charge you for parking, however. Also, the chickens and geese wandering the grounds were a nice addition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oslo, Norway
Jan 17, 2011

Nice for family travel

Great pools, nice kitchen and beautiful room. Nice common BBQ facilities and good shopping facilities onsite and nearby. We had a room facing the pool. Some noise from the hotel's aircon plant facing building 5 but not extremely annoying. We upgraded to the one-bedroom since this made a great difference from the studio and made sense when staying for 8 nights (the studio is nice too, though). Staff is very nice. The 9$ daily surcharge for parking (valet and selfparking) was a bit surprising considering the overall price and the alternative ways of reaching the hotel.... :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Hanalei and other sites further west, which we found to be the nicer areas of this beautiful island. Winter brings strong wind and surf up north though, so except Anini beach the south may give safer swimming for kids in winter (the other way round in summer). Check www.kauaiexplorer.com

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bcardellini
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Enjoyed a relaxing week

We stayed in an Island View Deluxe Studio (room 6215) for one week in January.For the most part the room was really well equipped. Our few complaints include the chintsy supply of only one coffee ground pouch, one small detergent pack, and one tiny shampoo bottle for the whole week. Also, it was slightly annoying that we received two phone messages and at least four notes requesting we visit the concierge (so they could make comissions signing us up for activities, no doubt). And I did notice, too, that the terrycloth towels and robes weren't the softest. But the room included a microwave that magically cooked hot dogs crispy like they'd been grilled, a blender, plenty of cook/flat/silver/grill/stem-ware, a large (32"?) LCD tv, a bose wave radio with 3.5mm auxillary input cable, full size fridge, luxurious split-head shower, washer/dryer, jacuzzi tub, and dishwasher. The bed was super comfortable and the linens were high quality. Our balcony faced the golf course to the west and the ocean beyond the cliffs, but the view was mostly obscured by a large tree at the edge of the property.The grills on the property are plentiful, large, clean, easy to use, and include lamps for cooking at night. They're a great way to keep trip costs down. At the main pool, waitresses can get you drinks and food from the small outside bar. The drinks are good but expensive, and the hamburger I got there tasted funny. We read some bad reviews of the on-site restaurant (Nanea) but the service we received there was excellent and our ribeyes were delicious. The friendliness and helpfulness of the entire staff really impressed us and is a great feature of the Westin.We got a smokin' package deal on [...], and for what we paid we were really happy with the Westin Princeville. I'm not sure I'd pay full price for it though. For that kind of money I think I'd rather stay at an all-inclusive in Mexico. But if you need a place in Kauai and you can get a discounted rate, you'll probably be happy with the Westin. January is in the rainy season, and the north side of the island (including princeville) is supposed to be the wetter side. We lucked out having the Kona Winds instead of the Trade Winds during our stay,so the north side stayed relatively dry and at least partly sunny. Unfortunately, the Kona Winds didn't change the rougher winter waters. The conditions were great for playing in the surf, but a littletoo rough for the snorkeling to which we'd been looking forward (and we heard that there aren't many fish to see during rough waters anyway).Activities we'd recommend:Hike the Napali coast. We got a late start due to a bad weather prediction, so we only made it 2 miles in, but the views are amazing. Drive to the end of the road (going counter-clockwise) and park at Ke'e beach. The trail can get a little muddy, and you'll cross a few small streams, so river shoes are recommended.Get dinner/drinks/dessert at The Tavern. This restaurant is located in the Princeville Golf Clubhouse not far from the Westin. Their Mai Tais are made with muddled pineapple, not juice, and basil. They are crisp and refreshing and taste better than any tropical drink I've ever had. We also had the tavern "pie" for desert. It's grahamcracker crust, with local chocolate pudding, whipped cream, and salted caramel, and it's as good as it sounds. We came for drinks and dessert after eating at another restaurant, but after reading the menu I wish we'd eaten at the Tavern instead.Check out A Fein Photography Gallery in Hanalei. This guy's pictures blew me away.Visit the nearby Foodland to stock up on drinks and food. With a full-size frige and blender in your room, and great grills all over the property, there's no reason to pay the relatively expensive costs of the on-site market.Hit up Kalypso's bar & grill in Hanalei on Thursday night for half price bottles of wine.Get sunset drinks at the St.Regis. Their main lobby bar overlooks Hanalei bay and is a great p...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Grab groceries at the nearby Foodland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Basic A
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 17, 2011

I felt like I had my own studio apartmen

I stayed in a room with a single bed. It was basically a studio apartment with a kitchenette, washer/dryer and nice jacusssi tub. There were also gas BBQ's to grill your own food. I also appreciated the free in-room wifi internet. The restaurants served decent food at rather high prices. I mostly made my own food or dined outside of the Princeville resort. The staff was very friendly and the consierges were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly recommend Kilauea Bakery & Pau Hana Pizza, a fifteen minute drive away. They have great baked goods (e.g. macadamia nut sticky buns and guava macaroons) for breakfast and wonderful pizzas for lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jan 16, 2011

Outstanding stay!

This hotel is beautiful. My girlfriend and I stayed here for a wedding that was down in Hanalei Bay. The grounds are emaculate, I challange you to find a piece of trash anywhere. There are great ocean views from all over the property, and the staff is the most attentive and helpful I've ever seen (more on that later). The rooms are great and spacious. The in-room dishwasher and washer/dryer are very helpful. A great bonus is that the the hotel will give you a $10 food credit for every day you opt out of housekeeping service. There are BBQs all over the property which is great for making your own dinner. The only thing that could improve this place is if it had better beach access. There is a trail leading down to a very small beach, but it's not really a beach you would spend the day on. There is a free shuttle to the St. Regis Hotel which has its own beach, we never tried it though. Hanalei Bay has a great beach and is only an 8 minute drive. As we were leaving for the airport on our last day, we discovered we had a flat tire in our rental car. We were in a rush as we were trying to make our flight. As I started to change the tire, a hotel worker noticed and stepped in to help, as well as calling two more maintenance workers. It was amazing how helpful they were. We had the tire changed in five minutes. Really, the nicest, most helpful staff ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a fun, casual lunch or dinner, eat at Tahiti Nui in Hanalei Bay. It's kind of a dive bar, but it's got a great menu of seafood, sandwiches, ribs, etc. at reasonable prices. We ate there on a friday night and there was great live music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midwestern dad
Business
SE MN
Jan 15, 2011

Very nice resort

It was an excellent resort in a superb location on the north part of the island. The only drawback is that many of the sites in the island are on the south and the roads can be a bit slow. Over 2 hours drive to Waimea Canyon. Excellent facilities at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jan 7, 2011

Excellent Resort!

Resort rooms, amenities and grounds were excellent and the people very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palmdale, CA
Jan 7, 2011

Peaceful, beautiful,

The hotel was nestled in a pristine location with all the amenities you could possiby need. The staff was excellent and so kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Use the $10.00 coupon hotel gives out for not using housekeeping, it helps with the priciness of food on the island. You can use it at the hotel for lunch or breakfast to keep the cost down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rambutan
Business
Honolulu
Jan 7, 2011

Kauai paradise

Awesome hotel. Clean. Staff was helpful, from the valet to room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palos Verdes, Ca
Jan 2, 2011

Great Times

Comfy, beautiful pool, great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top