$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
View map of 3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billzx7
Couples
Seattle, WA
May 28, 2014

It was good and not

The little villa was well appointed with a well equipped mico-kitchen. The location is one that I would not choose again unless you are planning to take the 11 mile hike that is really close. It is a remote area but on an island that takes 1 1/2 hours to navigate is was not too far out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This place is pretty remote though there is a quaint little town and the best hiking in the area.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lawyer in the Dena
Single
Pasadena, CA
May 31, 2010

Great hotel!

Overall, the Westin Princeville was great! The hospitality is excellent. There is a shuttle that goes to the St. Regis every hour. I missed the shuttle by 3 minutes, and the shuttle made a special trip just for me! Great pools. Loved the spa services under the cabana. The only a few minor things I wasn't thrilled with: (1) I put the "do not disturb" sign in the key slot so that I wouldn't be awakened too early. At around 8:30am, I left my room, and a note was left that because I had the do not disturb sign up, housekeeping did not clean my room. I did not realize that this meant they would not return to clean my room ALL DAY. Housekeeping carts were in the hallways throughout the day. (2) Room service hours are very limited. No breakfast at all. (3) The fitness center shower had no shampoo and no soap (and nowhere to get these items unless you happened to bring your own).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St Louis, MO
Feb 13, 2011

Super!

Very relaxing and enjoyable. Would stay again. PROS: Quiet with condo amenities such as washer/dryer, full fridge, and barbecue grills. CONS: No beach. Area dining options are limited if staying more than 1 week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use beach in Hanalei or Haena instead of at St. Regis. All beaches in Kauai are public even those on the resorts.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zooker
Couples
Packer Land
Feb 26, 2011

Be Careful

Hotel was super clean and nice. Mountain views were only seen from outside the door. Booked the smallest villa - at time of check-in was asked if I wanted to upgrade to a larger room for $100 per night which I denied. Amazingly, all small villas were booked and I was then upgraded to larger room for no fee. (nice try on their part to see if i would upgrade prior to them mentioning the over booking -like they didnt know that at time of check in). At time of departure I was charged $9.37 for parking per day and charged $1.50 per phone call even though I used a calling card. Being on my honeymooon we were on a tight budget and didnt anticipate these extra charges. No where on their website or hotel grounds did it mention that they charge for parking and a sticker on the phone mentioned that all local calls were $1.50. Manager claimed that the parking charges, although were not free amenities, could be confusing as the website didnt mention a fee for this and he then mentioned the free upgrade. Like it was my fault they overbooked the smaller rooms. Manager said that even though it was an 800 toll free call, they considered it a local call. Manager was nice enough to cut parking fee and calls in half - but still a cost I hadnt anticipated. So I sit here and wonder, will I be charged for using the hot-tub and pool as they are listed amenitites as well? Also, they could have used more outdoor grilling areas. Lastly, 3 teaspoons of potatoes was a joke at the Nanea on ground restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Scottys restaurant was delicious. Pizzetta pizza was horrible.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
pasco, wa
Jul 5, 2011

beautiful

Friendly, beautiful, comfortable, but needs more parking! Loved the quiet pools, service was great and loved the green option discounts. Would definately return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Honolulu, HI
Jul 3, 2009

Fancy place

Great place to relax and enjoy peace and quiet. 3 pools to relax at. You could never leave the hotel if you wanted to as there is a restaurant, store/market, and bar on site, but all are expensive. Wish there would have been a beach closer by. The hotel is up on a cliff and the beach is a bit of a hike to get to or a drive, depending where you want to go. Great trip overall. Exactly what we were looking for, quiet, peaceful, and restful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the great hike near Ke'e beach at the end of the road that goes through Hanalei.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles
Jul 2, 2009

Family friendly but still disorganized

Nice hotel with good facilities - especially for families. Lots of gas BBQ's to cook your own meals (if that is what you want to do on vacation). Beautiful setting. Only 1 real place to eat & I would have expected it to have worked out the kinks with restaraunt reservations by now. They couldn't get us out of there fast enough at check out time and were rude about it. At these prices and in this economy I expect better service. Like most of the island, there are wild chickens & roosters everywhere and they crow at all hours of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoreleiO
Couples
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Wonderful Vacation!

We were tremendously pleased with the Westin and thought it had the perfect balance of resort amenities with all the condo convenience. The weather was iffy - not the resort's fault of course, but that's part of the North Shore experience. The staff was very friendly. Our only complaint was the restaurant - priced for a nicer dining experience, but with overall rather mediocre food. Also, items in the market are very pricey - you pay for the convenience of not having to go anywhere. But the poolside bar fare was tasty and priced about the same you'd find anywhere. The grounds are beautifully kept and very comfortable. The room had everything we needed. The resort is clearly family friendly, but we'd left the kids at home and were still completely happy. We would happily, happily stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The nearby village of Hanalei is charmingly kitchy, with some fun shops some good restaurants.

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
houston, tx
Jul 8, 2010

Westin

The hotel does not have a breakfast buffet. They have a convenience store with some breakfast items for sale. Our safe box malfunctioned with all our valuables inside and could not get to them for a while. The staff drilled into it to break it open - took about 2.5 hours. Other than that, our standard room had a small stove, standard fridge, and was plenty big for 2 people. The location in Princeville is good. The town nearby is easily accessible (a few mintues).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnieMae
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Jul 8, 2010

great location, lovely place

Lovely place on the beautiful North Shore. Great snorkeling at different beaches every day. Enjoyed going to the elegant St Regis for a special dinner, and relaxing on the St Regis beach. Studio room was fine. Great to have the kitchen, and enjoyed the large tub and separate shower of the bathroom. Easy to use outdoor grills for grilling fresh fish. Lovely pool. Overall - loved the place, and could come back every year like the timeshare owners do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top