The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

4 stars
3838 Wyllie Road, Princeville, HI 96722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
207 reviews
Love the Westin!

I've stayed at the Westin in Princeville twice now. For a long stay in Hawaii, having the kitchen... See full review

  • Anne Zzz
  • Jun 9, 2014
Can't imagine a more satisfying experience

Stayed here on our honeymoon - it was everything you could dream of for a honeymoon getaway and... See full review

  • Honeymoonersss
  • Mar 27, 2014
North-shore villa resort offers room to move and sweeping vistas
Perched on a cliff, the 346-room Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas lies between the verdant green of the north shore's natural landscape and startling blue of the Pacific. The look and feel is upscale and modern with a nod to island style. Outside, neat lawns and expansive pool areas give way to vast, panoramic vistas of the pleated cliffs and mountains of Kauai. Spacious villas offer luxury, and nice touches include private lanais and Westin's notable Heavenly Bed. An on-site restaurant, markets and a casual poolside bar add convenience.
Highlights
  • Four pools, including one for children
  • Year-round Westin Kids Club for ages 5-12
  • Complimentary shuttle to Makai/Prince golf courses
  • Dine at Sheraton Kauai Resort in Poipu, charge back to your Westin Princeville villa
Location
Princeville is a 500-acre planned development on Kauai's north shore, between the towns of Hanalei and Kilauea, with resorts, vacation homes, dramatic cliffs, and several protected beaches. Once a coffee plantation, it's now one of Hawaii's top golf destinations, as Golf Digest named Prince Golf Course Hawaii's No. 1 course and Golf Week put it among America's Top 100 Modern Courses.
Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas range from 512-square-foot studios to 1,311-square-foot two-bedroom units. Interior decor includes Hawaiian artwork on the walls and an appealing mix of rich woods and a sunny palette. Each two-bedroom lock-off villa not only has two bedrooms but two kitchens and two living and dining areas as well.
Features
Four heated pools are at the heart of on-site activities at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. One pool is for children, complete with child-size slide. While many guests come for the north shore's superb golf, the resort also has a relationship with Princeville Tennis Club a mile away. Fitness buffs can work out 24/7 at the compact gym. Parking is available for an additional cost. Westin guests receive discounted fees at Prince and Makai courses.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (26 mi/41.8 km)
Attractions
  • Hanalei Valley Lookout (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Princeville Ranch Adventures (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Historic Hanalei Pier (4.1 mi/7.8 km)
  • Kilauea Lighthouse and National Wildlife Refuge (7.2 mi/11.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wired and wireless Internet
  • 24/7 business center with complimentary boarding-pass printout
  • Outdoor function space
Policies and fees
Valet or self-parking is $13 USD/night (taxes not inclusive).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Rooms

1 Bedroom Villa
The spacious one-bedroom premium villa is the perfect place to nourish your spirit as you bask in the rejuvenating essence of the resort. An array of unique amenities and customized services will further enhance your experience in this relaxing Hawaiian retreat, which comfortably sleeps up to four adults. Every villa has a king-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed, Westin Heavenly Bath, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, a queen-size sofa bed, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.
Studio Villa
Rest your body and renew your spirit amid Hawaiian-style decor and fine furnishings inspired by the stunning natural beauty of Kaua'i. Each studio premium villa comfortably accommodates up to four guests and offers a refreshing respite after an invigorating day of island activity. Every villa has our queen-size signature Westin Heavenly Bed and Westin Heavenly Bath, a full-size sofa bed, a fully-equipped kitchenette, washer/dryer, LCD Flat Panel televisions, and its own furnished lanai.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

22.2216 -159.4686
Area served
Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport (LIH)
Area description
The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas rests on a cliff on Kauai's breathtakingly beautiful North Shore. Suspended high above the crystal clear waters of the Pacific, the resort is set against the majestic mountains of Namolokama and Makana, and is just a few miles from Hanalei Bay and the world-famous Napali Coast. Escape to this tranquil Hawaiian hideaway to renew your mind, body and spirit amid the stunning natural beauty of Kauai.

Dining

Princeville Market
Visit the Princeville Market to find an impressive array of grocery items as well as baked goods, deli sandwiches, salads and side dishes. In addition to groceries, the Princeville Market features a selection of fresh island fish and marinated meats so you can cook in the comfort of your villa or enjoy a relaxing evening at one of the 20 complimentary poolside grills. Specialty items like homemade pizzas and paninis are also available and can be carried out or delivered to your villa. Cuisine : American Atmosphere : Market/Delicatessen Setting : Quick Meals & Groceries Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 6AM - 8PM
Wailele Bar
Located adjacent to the main swimming pool, the Wailele Bar (or Waterfall Bar) features an array of refreshing beverages and delectable poolside dining. As you savor a delightful meal or snack, fruit smoothie or sip on a tropical drink, you will be able to enjoy the spectacular waterfalls that are often seen cascading down the majestic mountain peaks of Namolokama, Hihimanu and Mamalahoa. Cuisine : Cocktails & Snacks Atmosphere : Outdoor Setting : Poolside Dress Code : Casual Smoking Permitted : No Hours : 11AM - 6PM (Please note: Hours of operation are subject to change based on season.)
Nanea Restaurant & Bar
Located on the first floor of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas Clubhouse, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers an array of casual dining options for lunch and dinner, as well as a delectable Sunday Brunch. Whether you wish to enhance your dining experience with intimate indoor seating or enjoy your meal outdoors as you gaze upon distant views of the sparkling Pacific Ocean, Nanea Restaurant & Bar offers menu items that are sure to please everyone's palate. A la carte options inspired by the island's fresh ingredients are available for lunch and dinner, and Sunday Brunch highlights the bounty of the islands. Tropical cocktails and an array of delectable pupus, or appetizers, are also available. Cuisine: Island Inspired Cuisine Atmosphere: Casual Indoor/Outdoor Smoking Permitted: No Hours: Lunch: 11AM - 2:30PM Dinner: 5:30PM - 9:30PM Sunday Brunch: 8:30AM - 12:30PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dakkon77
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 6, 2011

Princeville Westin Shines

Our Westin hotel experience was wonderful. The rooms were clean and nicely laid out. Most/all rooms have decks to sit out on. We didn't have an ocean view, but it was still enjoyable sitting out. The Westin has access to a nearby public beach, but it requires a walk down the cliff. Instead, you can take a 5 minute shuttle to the beach at the St. Regis, which is spectacular. Many other families had small children, and the hotel appeared to be very kid friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Westin has many grills and picnic areas that guests can use to cook dinners. The Hanalei Fish Market (about 10 minutes away) has excellent local fish for grilling. Our room had a fridge, stove, dishes, silverware, etc., so it was easy to have meals at the hotel without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scottie & Mai
Business
Bay area CA
Mar 30, 2011

honey moon trip

This is a beautiful hotel, the room we stayed in had a full kitchen and a washer and dryer which made us feel like we were at home. They had a gorgeous pool and a super friendly staff that were very helpful. The sunday brunch at the hotel restaurant was awesome too. Only draw back is that it's a little far away from everything on the island, you can't drive completely around the island, the northwest side is blocked by high cliffs and mountains so to get to the west side of kauai you have to drive clockwise all the way around instead of just going counter clockwise. The closest town we went to was kapaa which is still a 45min drive and to get to the southside where poipu was takes about an hr and a half since you simply cant drive faster than 40mph because of the speed limit. Oh and bring a rain jacket it pours rain daily out of nowhere there!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring a rain jacket everywhere you go it rains daily there on kauai and it comes out of nowhere, in fact the wettest spot in the world is on kauai. If you plan on hiking bring shoes you don't care about all the trails we went on were very very muddy, and read the hiking trail map!!!! the hiking trails are not big on signs so it's easy to get lost since some trails lead into other ones!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holly, new mom
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 30, 2011

Family friendly

This was our first vacation with our new baby and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Access to both the adult and kids pools was great and it never felt like the place was over run with kids. We walked down the hill to the beach one day and was pretty easy with all our stuff. The hotel was extremely accommodating with baby things like a crib and bottle warmer. We also took full advantage of the kitchen and the grills. Even though the hotel was at 95% capacity, it never felt over crowded (unlike another hotel we stayed at in Maui).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great grocery store nearby and the on premise market is great too - they don't gauge you and have a great selection of foods, spices, libations, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 27, 2011

Superb facility

Attended wedding. Great location. Outstanding service. A lot of care is expended keeping the facility in tip top shape. Great restaraunt. Room was spectacular. Internet fees in business center are too high for the short time alloted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining choices are many in the Princeville and Hanalei Bay areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockwall, Tx
Mar 26, 2011

Princeville - Paradise!

Staying in Princeville at the Westin Resort was a great experience. We enjoyed the beautiful beaches with the great snorkeling that was close by. Hanalei, which is also near by is a good place to shop and enjoy shaved ice and Lappert's ice cream. Ziplining with Kauai Outfitters, kayaking with Wailua Kayaking and hiking in Waimea Canyon were a few of the highlights of our trip. The Westin is a beautiful resort with an exceptionally friendly staff. Our only complaint is that they did not offer complimentary coffee to drink out by the pool every morning. Seems like such a cheap thing for them to offer that would have been very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grzeswosik
Business
Bellevue, WA
Mar 25, 2011

winter relax

Very quiet and luxury resort. All facilities new and in excellent condition and quality. Placed beautifully at the shore line. Room was better than we needed. Excellent place to spend time and feel like in paradise. I look forward to be there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Comby
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 24, 2011

30 Wedding Anniversary

WE spent a glorious four days celebrating our 30th Anniversary amidst the most beautiful scenery imaginable. Had a friend who lives on the island take us around and show us the private beaches and special restaurants for locals and we felt like we belonged. The amenities at the Westin were superb and immaculate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a walk along the beach starting at Hanalei and go up through Lumihai and continue up toward the Napali Coast. Just breathtakingly beautiful. Lots of gorgeous sea shells to collect along the way too. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Mar 15, 2011

Scenic, friendly and comfortable.

We arrived at mid-day during the week and were immediately able to get into our room. The decor in the deluxe double was stylish, contemporary, and the view of the golf course, mountains and the ocean was relaxing. The unit was not large compared to other resorts but was nevertheless comfortable with a huge master bath. The grounds complement the beauty of the natural setting with wide lawns, tropical plants and nightime torches. At the restaurant we did experience an excessively long wait and a soggy pizza. The waitress ought to have suggested we change the order when it was apparent that the oven was not ready to serve the pizza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 12, 2011

Aloha

The resort was amazing. The room was comfortable and large. We made use of the breakfast credit everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hooked on North Shore
Business
Rexburg, ID
Mar 11, 2011

Outstanding vacation!

This was a very nice property and truly exceeded our expectations. The suite was very nice and included a kitchen, full-size refrigerator and dishwasher as well as a washer/dryer (which was very well used washing wet swimwear and muddy clothes from hiking the Kalalu trail), we had an ocean view and golf course fairway just outside our door. The room was very private and quiet, had a flat screen t.v., dvd player and Bose radio. The only downside to the room is that it had a queen sized bed instead of a king - but I'm not complaining - and enough down comforters to keep an eskimo warm! The resort property was beautiful and very well maintained. We didn't spend much time at the resort until after dark, but the pool/hot tub areas were outstanding. The area was lighted with tiki torches and filled with "palm covered" cabana huts, waterfalls, manicured lawns and tropical plants with many professional quality outdoor grills for the guests to use (they are steam-cleaned daily, do not require reservations, and did a great job cooking - but it could use a small sink somewhwere just to keep from having cross-contamination issues, like being able to wash your hands after you put raw meat on the grill), but the ambiance was fantastic. This is a time-share type facility, but we didn't come with that purpose in mind. The concierge politely invited us to meet with him via a phone message, but we didn't respond and had no other invitations. We didn't come to Kauai for anything other than a vacation, but others we met were very happy to sit through the resort's presentation and were very happy the "deals" they were able to get. Although this is a good sized complex and is a sister to the larger St. Regis (you have access to the St. Regis resort and beach, which is also very nice), we were there for the magic, beaches, water, mountains, snorkeling, kayaking and surfing of the north shore. This place is heaven! We probably could have taken more advantage of all the resort has to offer, but we prefer beaches and mountains to golf courses and waiters. The Westin gives you the options for both. Great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We were told to stock up with food at Safeway (near the airport)before driving to the resort (25 miles away), but there is a great market in Princeville just outside the resort that had everything we could want and prices were nearly the same as Safeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top