$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
39 reviews
Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean... See full review

  • Fran K.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean... See full review

  • Fran K.
  • Dec 19, 2014

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom/1 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; most have private lanai; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Deluxe Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; deluxe indicates a larger room, an expansive view, or additional windows for end suites; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront Penthouse
Floor to ceiling windows open to a large lanai that offers 270 degree view of the coastline, reputedly the most spectacular ocean and sunset views in Poipu. Completely renovated in 2009, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath Penthouse features new furniture, modern appliances and a flat screen television, with a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom bath. It is equipped with 1 king, 1 queen and a trundle bed that converts into 2 twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 persons.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran K.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean splashing up sometimes higher than our second story deck. It was constant entertainment to see the moods and beauty of the sea. The thunderous explosion of the waves hitting the lava rocks below was music to our ears, as were the bird sounds. We are so glad we decided to stay two weeks - and wished it could have been longer. We saw whales w babies, spinning porpoises, many giant sea turtles. The condo was newly decorated with hardwood floor and island ratan furnishings, ample kitchen equipment that invited us to use. We ate "in" mostly so we could enjoy our beautiful view. Breakfast on the deck (daily) mostly consisted of a ripe papaya with a slice of lime and freshly cup pineapple, topped off with a chobani yogurt - bacon & eggs occasionally. POG is our mix of choice with a splash of grapefruit juice - delicious in the morning too.... There was a BBQ area for our use. The swimming pool area was lovely. There were several sea turtles there in the little cove just below. Clean towels were provided everytwo days, complete maid service every four days. The master bedroom had a king size bed and the guest room had two twin beds - also very nicely decorated. There was a washer and dryer (you need to bring the detergent). Dishwasher detergent, paper towels, foil and saran wrap and a few plastic bags were provided. Bring your own spices: they provide salt and pepper only. We would definitely love to do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran K.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean splashing up sometimes higher than our second story deck. It was constant entertainment to see the moods and beauty of the sea. The thunderous explosion of the waves hitting the lava rocks below was music to our ears, as were the bird sounds. We are so glad we decided to stay two weeks - and wished it could have been longer. We saw whales w babies, spinning porpoises, many giant sea turtles. The condo was newly decorated with hardwood floor and island ratan furnishings, ample kitchen equipment that invited us to use. We ate "in" mostly so we could enjoy our beautiful view. Breakfast on the deck (daily) mostly consisted of a ripe papaya with a slice of lime and freshly cup pineapple, topped off with a chobani yogurt - bacon & eggs occasionally. POG is our mix of choice with a splash of grapefruit juice - delicious in the morning too.... There was a BBQ area for our use. The swimming pool area was lovely. There were several sea turtles there in the little cove just below. Clean towels were provided everytwo days, complete maid service every four days. The master bedroom had a king size bed and the guest room had two twin beds - also very nicely decorated. There was a washer and dryer (you need to bring the detergent). Dishwasher detergent, paper towels, foil and saran wrap and a few plastic bags were provided. Bring your own spices: they provide salt and pepper only. We would definitely love to do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulHB
Business
Wilmington, North Carolina
Dec 5, 2012

Great Place to Relax and Enjoy

Fantastic location, 30 feet from the ocean waves hitting the lava shore. You can see the large sea turtles swimming and enjoy the pool hanging out into the ocean. Just a 10 minute stroll to Poipu beach where you can swim and snorkel and play in the sand. Good restaurants and shopping in the area. If you visit Kauai in the winter - Poipu is much dryer than the north shore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to eat at Red Salt - on the pricey side but the food and service is worth it

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
macbyron
Business
San Pedro, CA
Feb 28, 2012

One of the most amazing spots in the world

This is a stunning complex not only on the ocean, but all but in it. as it sits on a rocky point into the water. Waves crash in spouts of water that are thrilling all the time. The condo itself is excellent. Simple design, yet of great quality throughout. The staff was excellent. I couldn't have been more impressed with my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Kim and Matt
Business
Maricopa, AZ, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Kauai Honeymoon

Fantastic - got in late and the staff left detailed instructions on how to get the room key. While the condo is definetly in need of some updates, the location could not be better. It's right on the ocean and you can fall asleep each night to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below. Poipu Beach is a 2 minute walk away and there are restaurants and bars within walking distance as well. The appliances all worked well and there were pots and pans and all that so you can save a coiple of bucks by eating meals in (the grocery store is about 5 minutes away by car). We did not deal with the staff much but when we did they were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again , no question. For what the place lacks in amenities it more than makes up with location and ambiance provided by the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Andy's sunset dinner off the Na Pali Coast - AWESOME! But not the romantic thing they make it out to be on their website. We had way more fun than we thought but it was not a pleasure cruise for sure....we were soaking wet by the time we got back. Wear a bathing suit!

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Jul 27, 2011

Great Location

We had a great time. The view and the crashing waves made it difficult to leave. We had been to other parts of Kauai before so we had seen a lot of the island already. This trip was totally relaxing and wonderful. The condo was great and the owners left many interesting notes for people who rent their place. They seem like nice people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was great to walk in either direction from the condo along the beach and cliffs.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland OR
Jun 16, 2011

June 2011

The location was great as was the view. The condo was very tired. No dishwasher and the hot water was only warm. All the fixtures had rust and corrosion. The DVD player did not work. Parking was limited and very tight. I travel 40 weeks a year so I have much experience. The beds were the hardest and most uncomfortable I have seen in all of my travels. I slept on the couch for the full stay. The outdoor grills would not light. I tried 4 different ones. The Chocolate tour was great. I recommend that trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The floral garden tours are wonderfull.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ROXANN933
Business
NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
Jun 15, 2011

OUTSTANDING RELAXING GETAWAY

CONDO WAS PERFECT. EVERYTHING AVAILABLE FOR THE STAY. LOCATION ABOVE CRASHING WAVES LULLED US TO SLEEP EACH NIGHT. COOL BREEZE MADE AIR CONDITIONING NOT NEEDED. BEACHES WELL WITHIN WALKING AND OVERALL SUPPORT BY STAFF EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

GROCERY STORES IN KOLOA JUST AS CHEAP AS LIHUE. SAVE THE DRIVE.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duluth, Minnesota
Feb 1, 2011

Beautiful, exceeded our expectations.

Awesome accomodations, beautiful oceanfront view. I highly recommend Poipu Shores to anyone visiting Kauai. The housekeeping was excellent and the people were very friendly. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Smith Family Luau was very entertaining, informative and the food was outstanding.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Dec 18, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

[...]

Back to menu Return to top