$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
37 reviews
Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean... See full review

  • Fran K.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean... See full review

  • Fran K.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Panoramic Pacific views and convenience at Poipu condominium resort
Accommodations at Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort have many amenities, including each one looking out on the ocean along the sunny south shore of Kauai. The spacious units, housed in a four-story building that directly faces the Pacific, have elevator access and upscale amenities. Guests can even have their condominium stocked with food for their arrival. For families, the gentle waters of Poipu Beach Park are only about a quarter mile away, and Poipu Bay Golf Course, former home of the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, is less than two miles away.
Highlights
  • Every condominium is oceanfront
  • A freshwater pool just above the surf and spray
  • Guests can catch sight of a sea turtle from their lanai
  • Barbecue area for al fresco dining and socializing
Location
Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is located within Poipu Beach Resort on the sunny south shore of Kauai. One of the most popular resort areas of the island, and arguably the one with the best weather, Poipu is noted for its upscale lodging and dining options and a number of the best beaches on the island, especially for swimmers and young families.
Rooms
The 26 condominiums in the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort rental pool range from one to three bedrooms, 850 to 1,200 square feet. All units have a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, private lanai and washer/dryer. Each condominium is individually furnished, but most feature wood or rattan and tropical prints that bring Hawaii into your living space.
Features
The best thing about Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is that guests have easy access to all that the Poipu resort area offers, from golf, biking, tennis and water sports to family parks and opulent spas. Yes, there is an oceanfront pool here, so for those who want to put their feet up and lounge in the sun at the edge of the surf, they can do that, too. Come evening, guests have every convenience in their condo, and all the restaurants of Poipu just out the door.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • Taxis, other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (25.6 mi/41 km)
Business
  • Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort guests stay connected via wired high speed Internet access in every condominium
Policies and fees
  • Castle Resorts provides mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.
  • Castle Poipu Shores will undergo spalling repairs from 4 to 29 May 2015. Works will be done from Monday to Monday from 9 AM to 4:30 PM. During this time, there will be noise including intermittent jackhammering.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom/1 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; most have private lanai; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Deluxe Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; deluxe indicates a larger room, an expansive view, or additional windows for end suites; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront Penthouse
Floor to ceiling windows open to a large lanai that offers 270 degree view of the coastline, reputedly the most spectacular ocean and sunset views in Poipu. Completely renovated in 2009, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath Penthouse features new furniture, modern appliances and a flat screen television, with a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom bath. It is equipped with 1 king, 1 queen and a trundle bed that converts into 2 twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 persons.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran K.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean splashing up sometimes higher than our second story deck. It was constant entertainment to see the moods and beauty of the sea. The thunderous explosion of the waves hitting the lava rocks below was music to our ears, as were the bird sounds. We are so glad we decided to stay two weeks - and wished it could have been longer. We saw whales w babies, spinning porpoises, many giant sea turtles. The condo was newly decorated with hardwood floor and island ratan furnishings, ample kitchen equipment that invited us to use. We ate "in" mostly so we could enjoy our beautiful view. Breakfast on the deck (daily) mostly consisted of a ripe papaya with a slice of lime and freshly cup pineapple, topped off with a chobani yogurt - bacon & eggs occasionally. POG is our mix of choice with a splash of grapefruit juice - delicious in the morning too.... There was a BBQ area for our use. The swimming pool area was lovely. There were several sea turtles there in the little cove just below. Clean towels were provided everytwo days, complete maid service every four days. The master bedroom had a king size bed and the guest room had two twin beds - also very nicely decorated. There was a washer and dryer (you need to bring the detergent). Dishwasher detergent, paper towels, foil and saran wrap and a few plastic bags were provided. Bring your own spices: they provide salt and pepper only. We would definitely love to do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran K.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean splashing up sometimes higher than our second story deck. It was constant entertainment to see the moods and beauty of the sea. The thunderous explosion of the waves hitting the lava rocks below was music to our ears, as were the bird sounds. We are so glad we decided to stay two weeks - and wished it could have been longer. We saw whales w babies, spinning porpoises, many giant sea turtles. The condo was newly decorated with hardwood floor and island ratan furnishings, ample kitchen equipment that invited us to use. We ate "in" mostly so we could enjoy our beautiful view. Breakfast on the deck (daily) mostly consisted of a ripe papaya with a slice of lime and freshly cup pineapple, topped off with a chobani yogurt - bacon & eggs occasionally. POG is our mix of choice with a splash of grapefruit juice - delicious in the morning too.... There was a BBQ area for our use. The swimming pool area was lovely. There were several sea turtles there in the little cove just below. Clean towels were provided everytwo days, complete maid service every four days. The master bedroom had a king size bed and the guest room had two twin beds - also very nicely decorated. There was a washer and dryer (you need to bring the detergent). Dishwasher detergent, paper towels, foil and saran wrap and a few plastic bags were provided. Bring your own spices: they provide salt and pepper only. We would definitely love to do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tall Paulie
Business
South Bay California
May 27, 2014

Castle Poipu

We had one of the most relaxing best vacations we have ever had!!! we usually go on cruises but this time we wanted more time on shore and a bigger room and we had it all !!!! The room 203A is the one we want again when we come back it was not as bag as out home nut it was a delight to stay their and had everything we needed for a delightful stay !!! I have already recommended it already to man friends...We hope to be coming back again soon !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

definitely rent a car so you can see the whole island so much to see !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulHB
Business
Wilmington, North Carolina
Dec 5, 2012

Great Place to Relax and Enjoy

Fantastic location, 30 feet from the ocean waves hitting the lava shore. You can see the large sea turtles swimming and enjoy the pool hanging out into the ocean. Just a 10 minute stroll to Poipu beach where you can swim and snorkel and play in the sand. Good restaurants and shopping in the area. If you visit Kauai in the winter - Poipu is much dryer than the north shore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to eat at Red Salt - on the pricey side but the food and service is worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrducks
Business
Broken Arrow, OK, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Great views

We had beautiful sunset views. The only downer is that the pool was not heated and there was no hot tub. We were within walking distance of two beautiful, calm beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
macbyron
Business
San Pedro, CA
Feb 28, 2012

One of the most amazing spots in the world

This is a stunning complex not only on the ocean, but all but in it. as it sits on a rocky point into the water. Waves crash in spouts of water that are thrilling all the time. The condo itself is excellent. Simple design, yet of great quality throughout. The staff was excellent. I couldn't have been more impressed with my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Kim and Matt
Business
Maricopa, AZ, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Kauai Honeymoon

Fantastic - got in late and the staff left detailed instructions on how to get the room key. While the condo is definetly in need of some updates, the location could not be better. It's right on the ocean and you can fall asleep each night to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below. Poipu Beach is a 2 minute walk away and there are restaurants and bars within walking distance as well. The appliances all worked well and there were pots and pans and all that so you can save a coiple of bucks by eating meals in (the grocery store is about 5 minutes away by car). We did not deal with the staff much but when we did they were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again , no question. For what the place lacks in amenities it more than makes up with location and ambiance provided by the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Andy's sunset dinner off the Na Pali Coast - AWESOME! But not the romantic thing they make it out to be on their website. We had way more fun than we thought but it was not a pleasure cruise for sure....we were soaking wet by the time we got back. Wear a bathing suit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Jul 27, 2011

Great Location

We had a great time. The view and the crashing waves made it difficult to leave. We had been to other parts of Kauai before so we had seen a lot of the island already. This trip was totally relaxing and wonderful. The condo was great and the owners left many interesting notes for people who rent their place. They seem like nice people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was great to walk in either direction from the condo along the beach and cliffs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
denver
Jul 6, 2011

Only for ones with passion for the ocean

Sitting right on the ocean with waves crashing all night. We could turtle watch from our lanai. We saved a fortune on food from previous trips by a quick stop at Costco for the teenagers and the local fish markets and farmers markets for us. We hiked the north coast, snorkeled with sea turtles, and watched the best sunsets from our backyard. If you don't like the sound of the ocean ( a lot) then this is not for you. Our unit was refurbished and was so close to the beach but without that big resort feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

22 North formerly Gaylord's was our only extravagant meal and was worth it. It is located in Kilohana was was itself a pleasant surprise. All the food at the restaurant is farmed on site so it is so fresh. The cocktails are made from those same ingredients so are the prefect place to while away an afternoon before catching the redeye!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland OR
Jun 16, 2011

June 2011

The location was great as was the view. The condo was very tired. No dishwasher and the hot water was only warm. All the fixtures had rust and corrosion. The DVD player did not work. Parking was limited and very tight. I travel 40 weeks a year so I have much experience. The beds were the hardest and most uncomfortable I have seen in all of my travels. I slept on the couch for the full stay. The outdoor grills would not light. I tried 4 different ones. The Chocolate tour was great. I recommend that trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The floral garden tours are wonderfull.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top