$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
37 reviews
Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean... See full review

  • Fran K.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean... See full review

  • Fran K.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Panoramic Pacific views and convenience at Poipu condominium resort
Accommodations at Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort have many amenities, including each one looking out on the ocean along the sunny south shore of Kauai. The spacious units, housed in a four-story building that directly faces the Pacific, have elevator access and upscale amenities. Guests can even have their condominium stocked with food for their arrival. For families, the gentle waters of Poipu Beach Park are only about a quarter mile away, and Poipu Bay Golf Course, former home of the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, is less than two miles away.
Highlights
  • Every condominium is oceanfront
  • A freshwater pool just above the surf and spray
  • Guests can catch sight of a sea turtle from their lanai
  • Barbecue area for al fresco dining and socializing
Location
Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is located within Poipu Beach Resort on the sunny south shore of Kauai. One of the most popular resort areas of the island, and arguably the one with the best weather, Poipu is noted for its upscale lodging and dining options and a number of the best beaches on the island, especially for swimmers and young families.
Rooms
The 26 condominiums in the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort rental pool range from one to three bedrooms, 850 to 1,200 square feet. All units have a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, private lanai and washer/dryer. Each condominium is individually furnished, but most feature wood or rattan and tropical prints that bring Hawaii into your living space.
Features
The best thing about Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is that guests have easy access to all that the Poipu resort area offers, from golf, biking, tennis and water sports to family parks and opulent spas. Yes, there is an oceanfront pool here, so for those who want to put their feet up and lounge in the sun at the edge of the surf, they can do that, too. Come evening, guests have every convenience in their condo, and all the restaurants of Poipu just out the door.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • Taxis, other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (25.6 mi/41 km)
Business
  • Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort guests stay connected via wired high speed Internet access in every condominium
Policies and fees
  • Castle Resorts provides mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.
  • Castle Poipu Shores will undergo spalling repairs from 4 to 29 May 2015. Works will be done from Monday to Monday from 9 AM to 4:30 PM. During this time, there will be noise including intermittent jackhammering.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom/1 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; most have private lanai; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Deluxe Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; deluxe indicates a larger room, an expansive view, or additional windows for end suites; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront Penthouse
Floor to ceiling windows open to a large lanai that offers 270 degree view of the coastline, reputedly the most spectacular ocean and sunset views in Poipu. Completely renovated in 2009, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath Penthouse features new furniture, modern appliances and a flat screen television, with a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom bath. It is equipped with 1 king, 1 queen and a trundle bed that converts into 2 twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 persons.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 37
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland OR
Jun 16, 2011

June 2011

The location was great as was the view. The condo was very tired. No dishwasher and the hot water was only warm. All the fixtures had rust and corrosion. The DVD player did not work. Parking was limited and very tight. I travel 40 weeks a year so I have much experience. The beds were the hardest and most uncomfortable I have seen in all of my travels. I slept on the couch for the full stay. The outdoor grills would not light. I tried 4 different ones. The Chocolate tour was great. I recommend that trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The floral garden tours are wonderfull.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Dec 18, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Kim and Matt
Business
Maricopa, AZ, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Kauai Honeymoon

Fantastic - got in late and the staff left detailed instructions on how to get the room key. While the condo is definetly in need of some updates, the location could not be better. It's right on the ocean and you can fall asleep each night to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below. Poipu Beach is a 2 minute walk away and there are restaurants and bars within walking distance as well. The appliances all worked well and there were pots and pans and all that so you can save a coiple of bucks by eating meals in (the grocery store is about 5 minutes away by car). We did not deal with the staff much but when we did they were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again , no question. For what the place lacks in amenities it more than makes up with location and ambiance provided by the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Andy's sunset dinner off the Na Pali Coast - AWESOME! But not the romantic thing they make it out to be on their website. We had way more fun than we thought but it was not a pleasure cruise for sure....we were soaking wet by the time we got back. Wear a bathing suit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulHB
Business
Wilmington, North Carolina
Dec 5, 2012

Great Place to Relax and Enjoy

Fantastic location, 30 feet from the ocean waves hitting the lava shore. You can see the large sea turtles swimming and enjoy the pool hanging out into the ocean. Just a 10 minute stroll to Poipu beach where you can swim and snorkel and play in the sand. Good restaurants and shopping in the area. If you visit Kauai in the winter - Poipu is much dryer than the north shore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to eat at Red Salt - on the pricey side but the food and service is worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward, CA
Jun 10, 2009

Great Poipu Vacation!!

A great place to stay...sea turtles at your back door...super location right on the shore...Condo was clean and well maintained...only negative was the noise from the pounding waves but we expected that....we would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must check out the Beach House restaurant as it has the best views in Poipu...also, a very romantic setting and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 29, 2009

Modest accomodation, specacular view

One can't get a room much closer to the ocean than at the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort... the waves crashed constantly right underneath the balcony, but we didn't mind a bit. Our 2 br 2 bth unit was quiet (excepting the roar of the ocean!), clean and as advertised in every respect. Modestly appointed with rattan furniture, soft but inexpensive beds, it reminded us of a sea cottage circa 1975, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment... perhaps it enhanced our comfort level. Do skip, however, the garish restaurant/deli down the street (Brannekes). The expensive dining options we tried (Hyatt, Sheraton, The Beach House) were just OK or a bit better, so don't expect world-class food on this island. We liked the tour given at National Botanical Gardens (Allerton) and the 4-hr catamaran cruise around the Na Pali coast via Blue Dolphin charters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple from Seattle
Business
Seattle
Jan 5, 2010

fantastic shorefront location

We could watch the whales and turtles right from our balcony, and the sandy (if crowded) beach was only a 5-minute walk. Our condo was recently updated and spotless; however I know that some units vary. We loved staying at the Castle Shores and would definitely choose this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Waimea Canyon is an hour away by car. Try to hit it early for fantastic early morning sun and to avoid the clouds which sometimes blow in in the afternoon. Take shoes that have good soles: the trails can be slippery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane
Sep 11, 2009

A great stay!

Late check-in was extremely easy. Our room was open and clean, with comfortable furniture and a fully furnished lanai. The staff are fantastic, and the resort is much more welcoming and home-like than the more tourist-like locations back down the road. It is one of the last resorts on Pe'e road so keep driving; however, it is one of the closest to Poipu beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Monico's in Kapa'a, and The Shrimp Station near Waimea! Great food, good prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madera CA
Aug 9, 2009

Spectacular location

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demtation
Business
Southern Oregon
Jul 21, 2009

Better than expected

We were thrilled with the accommodations. Staff were friendly, the condo (102a)was very clean with great amenities. The kitchen had some unexpected extras (blender, griddle etc.) The gas grills on the property were clean with better equipment than expected. The pool was well maintained and the view of the ocean was outstanding. Our favorite extra might have been the sea turtles that play in the surf by the hotel around the clock. Beach access was convenient, just a little walk. Shower was the nice walk-in type. High speed internet was handy. The place was very quiet in spite of lots of guests with kids. Know going in there is no A/C, but two large ceiling fans. It never got that hot during our stay, but it's humid! And we loved the sound of the surf on the rocks, but it does get loud. Kept me up one night, but it was a fluke. The only thing we would have preferred would be more private curtains in the bedroom/living room. We were on the ground level that shares a lawn (and pool access) with other guests. The curtains are rather sheer, and while I'm not sure one could easily see in, you can certainly see out! Kids running back and forth from the pool might discourage the honeymooners, if you know what I mean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We intended to do a lot of cooking on site but was discouraged by expensive groceries - until we discovered a *gulp* Walmart just past Lehue. Seriously, if you intend to cook, get what you can there, it's nearly half the price of the local stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top