$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Jul 27, 2011

Great Location

We had a great time. The view and the crashing waves made it difficult to leave. We had been to other parts of Kauai before so we had seen a lot of the island already. This trip was totally relaxing and wonderful. The condo was great and the owners left many interesting notes for people who rent their place. They seem like nice people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was great to walk in either direction from the condo along the beach and cliffs.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roglaurie
Business
Visalia, ca
Feb 20, 2010

Poipu Shores

The waves crashing so close 24 hours a day was awesome. The best 7 nights of sleep we've had in a long time. Great staff. [...], the manager, was fantastic. Wailua Kayaking was great. The beaches are really good. Golf at Kiahuna was really nice. Dinner at The Beach House was the best dinner we had all week! A must for at least one dinner date. We will be back, for sure. Oh, our unit, #204A is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wailua Kayaking. Ask for [...] as your guide.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

Five Star Location and View

Location, location, location. This is at an excellent one, a two minute walk from Poipu beach and close to all things surrounding. The view is outstanding. While maintenance/upkeep/comfort are around average, the five star location and views make it exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
abialac
Business
gilbert, az
May 24, 2010

What a view

The view was exceptional the hotel was great no complaints at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joes on the green for breakfast

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver, co
Dec 19, 2009

superior, groovy location

We relaxed and did a lot of recreational reading. On the ocean, so no traffic noise. Sound of waves crashing was hypnotic. Great place to observe our wedding anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merrimans (both upstairs and ground level)

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran K.
Business
N/A
Dec 19, 2014

Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean splashing up sometimes higher than our second story deck. It was constant entertainment to see the moods and beauty of the sea. The thunderous explosion of the waves hitting the lava rocks below was music to our ears, as were the bird sounds. We are so glad we decided to stay two weeks - and wished it could have been longer. We saw whales w babies, spinning porpoises, many giant sea turtles. The condo was newly decorated with hardwood floor and island ratan furnishings, ample kitchen equipment that invited us to use. We ate "in" mostly so we could enjoy our beautiful view. Breakfast on the deck (daily) mostly consisted of a ripe papaya with a slice of lime and freshly cup pineapple, topped off with a chobani yogurt - bacon & eggs occasionally. POG is our mix of choice with a splash of grapefruit juice - delicious in the morning too.... There was a BBQ area for our use. The swimming pool area was lovely. There were several sea turtles there in the little cove just below. Clean towels were provided everytwo days, complete maid service every four days. The master bedroom had a king size bed and the guest room had two twin beds - also very nicely decorated. There was a washer and dryer (you need to bring the detergent). Dishwasher detergent, paper towels, foil and saran wrap and a few plastic bags were provided. Bring your own spices: they provide salt and pepper only. We would definitely love to do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fran K.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean splashing up sometimes higher than our second story deck. It was constant entertainment to see the moods and beauty of the sea. The thunderous explosion of the waves hitting the lava rocks below was music to our ears, as were the bird sounds. We are so glad we decided to stay two weeks - and wished it could have been longer. We saw whales w babies, spinning porpoises, many giant sea turtles. The condo was newly decorated with hardwood floor and island ratan furnishings, ample kitchen equipment that invited us to use. We ate "in" mostly so we could enjoy our beautiful view. Breakfast on the deck (daily) mostly consisted of a ripe papaya with a slice of lime and freshly cup pineapple, topped off with a chobani yogurt - bacon & eggs occasionally. POG is our mix of choice with a splash of grapefruit juice - delicious in the morning too.... There was a BBQ area for our use. The swimming pool area was lovely. There were several sea turtles there in the little cove just below. Clean towels were provided everytwo days, complete maid service every four days. The master bedroom had a king size bed and the guest room had two twin beds - also very nicely decorated. There was a washer and dryer (you need to bring the detergent). Dishwasher detergent, paper towels, foil and saran wrap and a few plastic bags were provided. Bring your own spices: they provide salt and pepper only. We would definitely love to do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Truckee, CA
Jun 7, 2009

A Great Place to Stay

Our condo was right on lava cliffs overlooking the ocean. The view was fantastic, ocean spray splashing over the rocks and always 4 to 5 sea turtles swimming around. The condo was nicely furnished and had a well equipped kitchen. It looked like every unit at this location would have just as great a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
denver
Jul 6, 2011

Only for ones with passion for the ocean

Sitting right on the ocean with waves crashing all night. We could turtle watch from our lanai. We saved a fortune on food from previous trips by a quick stop at Costco for the teenagers and the local fish markets and farmers markets for us. We hiked the north coast, snorkeled with sea turtles, and watched the best sunsets from our backyard. If you don't like the sound of the ocean ( a lot) then this is not for you. Our unit was refurbished and was so close to the beach but without that big resort feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

22 North formerly Gaylord's was our only extravagant meal and was worth it. It is located in Kilohana was was itself a pleasant surprise. All the food at the restaurant is farmed on site so it is so fresh. The cocktails are made from those same ingredients so are the prefect place to while away an afternoon before catching the redeye!

Back to menu Return to top