$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demtation
Business
Southern Oregon
Jul 21, 2009

Better than expected

We were thrilled with the accommodations. Staff were friendly, the condo (102a)was very clean with great amenities. The kitchen had some unexpected extras (blender, griddle etc.) The gas grills on the property were clean with better equipment than expected. The pool was well maintained and the view of the ocean was outstanding. Our favorite extra might have been the sea turtles that play in the surf by the hotel around the clock. Beach access was convenient, just a little walk. Shower was the nice walk-in type. High speed internet was handy. The place was very quiet in spite of lots of guests with kids. Know going in there is no A/C, but two large ceiling fans. It never got that hot during our stay, but it's humid! And we loved the sound of the surf on the rocks, but it does get loud. Kept me up one night, but it was a fluke. The only thing we would have preferred would be more private curtains in the bedroom/living room. We were on the ground level that shares a lawn (and pool access) with other guests. The curtains are rather sheer, and while I'm not sure one could easily see in, you can certainly see out! Kids running back and forth from the pool might discourage the honeymooners, if you know what I mean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We intended to do a lot of cooking on site but was discouraged by expensive groceries - until we discovered a *gulp* Walmart just past Lehue. Seriously, if you intend to cook, get what you can there, it's nearly half the price of the local stores.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
Aug 7, 2010

Unbelievable location!

Amazing unit for location. Waves breaking directly below us 24/7. We kept taking pictures to document the views. Really enjoyed having a townhouse with views from both floors. They gave us a free upgrade for seemingly the best view. The unit was suitable for us but could maybe be updated, older carpet, etc. Enjoyed the "glass-louvered" windows to hear the waves and for the ocean breeze. Pleasant, helpful Staff. Automatic lighting at the back of the unit every night for security. We did need to keep our sliding glass doors closed and locked every night, even on the second floor. Could maybe use added security as there were reported break-ins on the Island and the location is somewhat remote being right over the ocean. The pool was clean and nice with waves sometimes breaking to "spray" into the pool area (I told you it was just above the ocean.) Parking completely adequate for us. Close enough to walk to area beaches (Poipu) and to a Restaurant and snack bar at "Brennecke's." The snack bar has breakfast items, laundry soap. Well-stocked kitchen in the townhouse for meals or grilling at home. They also provided paper towels, dish soap, etc. Nice washer and dryer upstairs. Safe provided in the unit. We snorkeled at Lydgate Park, swam in front of the Sheraton, took an ocean raft trip (pretty rough) to see turtles, took a canoe trip to a swimming hole, saw waterfalls, Sheraton Luau, and snorkeled at Anini on the North Shore. Recommend "Pink's" ice cream in Hanalei. This was the best location we have had in Kauai (third trip here) and we enjoyed the quiet, "homey" feel to the property. Our guidebook suggested that people ask for an "upgraded" unit when reserving. We had a "deluxe" two bedroom. All units are ocean-front. Maybe ask for additional security if possible. Don't expect a fancy hotel but more of a traditional, homestyle property. Memorable ocean-front stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Keoki's Paradise has good "happy hour" prices on some food and drinks from 3-5 pm when we were there. Nice location and ambiance. Most places are expensive for dinner. "Brennecke's" also has "happy hour" at the same time.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Truckee, CA
Jun 7, 2009

A Great Place to Stay

Our condo was right on lava cliffs overlooking the ocean. The view was fantastic, ocean spray splashing over the rocks and always 4 to 5 sea turtles swimming around. The condo was nicely furnished and had a well equipped kitchen. It looked like every unit at this location would have just as great a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
denver
Jul 6, 2011

Only for ones with passion for the ocean

Sitting right on the ocean with waves crashing all night. We could turtle watch from our lanai. We saved a fortune on food from previous trips by a quick stop at Costco for the teenagers and the local fish markets and farmers markets for us. We hiked the north coast, snorkeled with sea turtles, and watched the best sunsets from our backyard. If you don't like the sound of the ocean ( a lot) then this is not for you. Our unit was refurbished and was so close to the beach but without that big resort feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

22 North formerly Gaylord's was our only extravagant meal and was worth it. It is located in Kilohana was was itself a pleasant surprise. All the food at the restaurant is farmed on site so it is so fresh. The cocktails are made from those same ingredients so are the prefect place to while away an afternoon before catching the redeye!

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
macbyron
Business
San Pedro, CA
Feb 28, 2012

One of the most amazing spots in the world

This is a stunning complex not only on the ocean, but all but in it. as it sits on a rocky point into the water. Waves crash in spouts of water that are thrilling all the time. The condo itself is excellent. Simple design, yet of great quality throughout. The staff was excellent. I couldn't have been more impressed with my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tall Paulie
Business
South Bay California
May 27, 2014

Castle Poipu

We had one of the most relaxing best vacations we have ever had!!! we usually go on cruises but this time we wanted more time on shore and a bigger room and we had it all !!!! The room 203A is the one we want again when we come back it was not as bag as out home nut it was a delight to stay their and had everything we needed for a delightful stay !!! I have already recommended it already to man friends...We hope to be coming back again soon !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

definitely rent a car so you can see the whole island so much to see !!!!

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ROXANN933
Business
NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
Jun 15, 2011

OUTSTANDING RELAXING GETAWAY

CONDO WAS PERFECT. EVERYTHING AVAILABLE FOR THE STAY. LOCATION ABOVE CRASHING WAVES LULLED US TO SLEEP EACH NIGHT. COOL BREEZE MADE AIR CONDITIONING NOT NEEDED. BEACHES WELL WITHIN WALKING AND OVERALL SUPPORT BY STAFF EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

GROCERY STORES IN KOLOA JUST AS CHEAP AS LIHUE. SAVE THE DRIVE.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 7, 2010

Poipu Shores (March 2010)

Fantastic oceanfront location, a short walk to the beach. Condo in excellent condition. Friendly office/management staff. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duluth, Minnesota
Feb 1, 2011

Beautiful, exceeded our expectations.

Awesome accomodations, beautiful oceanfront view. I highly recommend Poipu Shores to anyone visiting Kauai. The housekeeping was excellent and the people were very friendly. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Smith Family Luau was very entertaining, informative and the food was outstanding.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buckinghamshire, UK
May 3, 2010

Perfect location and facilities

We wanted a restful holiday in a great location. Having visited Kaua'i on a few previous occasions, we know what it has to offer by way of ocean views, sunsets and awesome sea life such as turtles and whales. We were not disappointed in anyway with our stay at Poipu Shores. The condo was perfect for us. We did even less than we had planned as we really didn't need to go far from it to enjoy relaxing in great weather, with great sea views whilst being as close as you can get to the beautiful turtles and watching whales from the lanai. We didn't miss out on the sunsets from the lanai either! We didn't eat out much as we were so happy and comfortable at the condo but there is plenty of choice within walking distance or a very short car ride. We consider ourselves quite fussy and know what we like - we loved Poipu Shores and plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We were recommended by the hotel reception to make dinner reservations for wherever we wanted to go - this was a good recommendation that we would pass on to others.

Back to menu Return to top