$555 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
36 reviews
Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean... See full review

  • Fran K.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Castle Poipu

We had one of the most relaxing best vacations we have ever had!!! we usually go on cruises but... See full review

  • Tall Paulie
  • May 27, 2014
Panoramic Pacific views and convenience at Poipu condominium resort
Accommodations at Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort have many amenities, including each one looking out on the ocean along the sunny south shore of Kauai. The spacious units, housed in a four-story building that directly faces the Pacific, have elevator access and upscale amenities. Guests can even have their condominium stocked with food for their arrival. For families, the gentle waters of Poipu Beach Park are only about a quarter mile away, and Poipu Bay Golf Course, former home of the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, is less than two miles away.
Highlights
  • Every condominium is oceanfront
  • A freshwater pool just above the surf and spray
  • Guests can catch sight of a sea turtle from their lanai
  • Barbecue area for al fresco dining and socializing
Location
Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is located within Poipu Beach Resort on the sunny south shore of Kauai. One of the most popular resort areas of the island, and arguably the one with the best weather, Poipu is noted for its upscale lodging and dining options and a number of the best beaches on the island, especially for swimmers and young families.
Rooms
The 26 condominiums in the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort rental pool range from one to three bedrooms, 850 to 1,200 square feet. All units have a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, private lanai and washer/dryer. Each condominium is individually furnished, but most feature wood or rattan and tropical prints that bring Hawaii into your living space.
Features
The best thing about Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is that guests have easy access to all that the Poipu resort area offers, from golf, biking, tennis and water sports to family parks and opulent spas. Yes, there is an oceanfront pool here, so for those who want to put their feet up and lounge in the sun at the edge of the surf, they can do that, too. Come evening, guests have every convenience in their condo, and all the restaurants of Poipu just out the door.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • Taxis, other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (25.6 mi/41 km)
Business
  • Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort guests stay connected via wired high speed Internet access in every condominium
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts provides mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom/1 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; most have private lanai; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Deluxe Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; deluxe indicates a larger room, an expansive view, or additional windows for end suites; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront Penthouse
Floor to ceiling windows open to a large lanai that offers 270 degree view of the coastline, reputedly the most spectacular ocean and sunset views in Poipu. Completely renovated in 2009, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath Penthouse features new furniture, modern appliances and a flat screen television, with a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom bath. It is equipped with 1 king, 1 queen and a trundle bed that converts into 2 twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 persons.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Sabbatical
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Jul 27, 2009

Poipu - welcome to Kauai

The pool was next to the ocean - spectacular view of the ocean next to the pool with turtles in the water. Not much else between the ocean and complex other than a small lawn and lava rocks. Beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk along the ocean in front of the complex, Poipu Beach is an easy 5 minute walk. Shipwreck Beach is about 20 minutes away eastbound along the cliffs, very safe and easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
May 26, 2010

Wonderful place to stay

We had rooms that overlooked the ocean and we watched sea turtles swim below us. The condo was very clean and furniture in good shape. The balcony was nice to set on with the other couple who was vacationing with us. Parking is a little cramped but we made do. The price was reasonable and we had good service upon check in. We went all over the island hitting all the fun spots that tourists normally do. This condo was affordable, nice view and just a great place to stay at. Judy Russell Tucson, Arizona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 29, 2009

Modest accomodation, specacular view

One can't get a room much closer to the ocean than at the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort... the waves crashed constantly right underneath the balcony, but we didn't mind a bit. Our 2 br 2 bth unit was quiet (excepting the roar of the ocean!), clean and as advertised in every respect. Modestly appointed with rattan furniture, soft but inexpensive beds, it reminded us of a sea cottage circa 1975, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment... perhaps it enhanced our comfort level. Do skip, however, the garish restaurant/deli down the street (Brannekes). The expensive dining options we tried (Hyatt, Sheraton, The Beach House) were just OK or a bit better, so don't expect world-class food on this island. We liked the tour given at National Botanical Gardens (Allerton) and the 4-hr catamaran cruise around the Na Pali coast via Blue Dolphin charters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple from Seattle
Business
Seattle
Jan 5, 2010

fantastic shorefront location

We could watch the whales and turtles right from our balcony, and the sandy (if crowded) beach was only a 5-minute walk. Our condo was recently updated and spotless; however I know that some units vary. We loved staying at the Castle Shores and would definitely choose this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Waimea Canyon is an hour away by car. Try to hit it early for fantastic early morning sun and to avoid the clouds which sometimes blow in in the afternoon. Take shoes that have good soles: the trails can be slippery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Dec 31, 2009

Our fifth trip and perhaps best location

Our top floor two bedroom - two bath condo was very nice. Views of the whales and dolphins from the deck. Poipu Beach is adjacent to the condo and perfect for a variety of water activities...snorkling,surfing, swimming, wave boards and more. The staff at the Poipu Shores were great and helpful. Although we had been to Kauai a number of times, they shared additional information to make our trip even better. Our family has stayed at two of the high end resort hotels. But, we really appreciated what Poipu Shores had to offer. A spacious place to stay...separate baths and bedrooms...A large fully equiped kitchen...guide books and books to read...wave boards and beach mats in the room...DVD movies and games in the room...all at no extra cost...almost forgot the washer and drier in the condo! The views can't be beat...The best on the island. If you are looking for a place with a swim up bar and on site restaurant this isn't for you. But, those are all available just a short walk down the street. The only downside is that the condos are aging a bit...bit still very well maintained. Some units have been refurbished with walk in showers, granite counter, etc...but, most probably not. But, that is not why you come to Kaui. Get out, explore and hike the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane
Sep 11, 2009

A great stay!

Late check-in was extremely easy. Our room was open and clean, with comfortable furniture and a fully furnished lanai. The staff are fantastic, and the resort is much more welcoming and home-like than the more tourist-like locations back down the road. It is one of the last resorts on Pe'e road so keep driving; however, it is one of the closest to Poipu beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Monico's in Kapa'a, and The Shrimp Station near Waimea! Great food, good prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madera CA
Aug 9, 2009

Spectacular location

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demtation
Business
Southern Oregon
Jul 21, 2009

Better than expected

We were thrilled with the accommodations. Staff were friendly, the condo (102a)was very clean with great amenities. The kitchen had some unexpected extras (blender, griddle etc.) The gas grills on the property were clean with better equipment than expected. The pool was well maintained and the view of the ocean was outstanding. Our favorite extra might have been the sea turtles that play in the surf by the hotel around the clock. Beach access was convenient, just a little walk. Shower was the nice walk-in type. High speed internet was handy. The place was very quiet in spite of lots of guests with kids. Know going in there is no A/C, but two large ceiling fans. It never got that hot during our stay, but it's humid! And we loved the sound of the surf on the rocks, but it does get loud. Kept me up one night, but it was a fluke. The only thing we would have preferred would be more private curtains in the bedroom/living room. We were on the ground level that shares a lawn (and pool access) with other guests. The curtains are rather sheer, and while I'm not sure one could easily see in, you can certainly see out! Kids running back and forth from the pool might discourage the honeymooners, if you know what I mean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We intended to do a lot of cooking on site but was discouraged by expensive groceries - until we discovered a *gulp* Walmart just past Lehue. Seriously, if you intend to cook, get what you can there, it's nearly half the price of the local stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
Aug 7, 2010

Unbelievable location!

Amazing unit for location. Waves breaking directly below us 24/7. We kept taking pictures to document the views. Really enjoyed having a townhouse with views from both floors. They gave us a free upgrade for seemingly the best view. The unit was suitable for us but could maybe be updated, older carpet, etc. Enjoyed the "glass-louvered" windows to hear the waves and for the ocean breeze. Pleasant, helpful Staff. Automatic lighting at the back of the unit every night for security. We did need to keep our sliding glass doors closed and locked every night, even on the second floor. Could maybe use added security as there were reported break-ins on the Island and the location is somewhat remote being right over the ocean. The pool was clean and nice with waves sometimes breaking to "spray" into the pool area (I told you it was just above the ocean.) Parking completely adequate for us. Close enough to walk to area beaches (Poipu) and to a Restaurant and snack bar at "Brennecke's." The snack bar has breakfast items, laundry soap. Well-stocked kitchen in the townhouse for meals or grilling at home. They also provided paper towels, dish soap, etc. Nice washer and dryer upstairs. Safe provided in the unit. We snorkeled at Lydgate Park, swam in front of the Sheraton, took an ocean raft trip (pretty rough) to see turtles, took a canoe trip to a swimming hole, saw waterfalls, Sheraton Luau, and snorkeled at Anini on the North Shore. Recommend "Pink's" ice cream in Hanalei. This was the best location we have had in Kauai (third trip here) and we enjoyed the quiet, "homey" feel to the property. Our guidebook suggested that people ask for an "upgraded" unit when reserving. We had a "deluxe" two bedroom. All units are ocean-front. Maybe ask for additional security if possible. Don't expect a fancy hotel but more of a traditional, homestyle property. Memorable ocean-front stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Keoki's Paradise has good "happy hour" prices on some food and drinks from 3-5 pm when we were there. Nice location and ambiance. Most places are expensive for dinner. "Brennecke's" also has "happy hour" at the same time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ca.
Sep 9, 2009

Beautiful location

If you enjoy the pounding surf (it's very loud at night, but we loved it!)right below you, Poipu Shores is your place to stay. I'd say it's probably closer to water and has some of the best views of any place on Kauai. We were upgraded to a 3 bdrm. on 3rd floor with huge balcony that overlooked pool and turtles in the surf. Absolutely incredible views. We ate almost every meal on balcony, because you would never find a view like that at a restaurant. There were little things about unit I could nitpick about (very small kitchen, no light above master shower etc.) but who cares---we were there for the location, otherwise we would have stayed in a giant hotel with a billion kids and snobby people! Overall it was a very nice unit. The ladies who worked in office were both incredibly helpful and nice. Pool was beautiful, grounds very clean and nice, nice bbq areas. We loved Castle Poipu Shores and can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top