$340 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
35 reviews
Castle Poipu

We had one of the most relaxing best vacations we have ever had!!! we usually go on cruises but... See full review

  • Tall Paulie
  • May 27, 2014
One of the most amazing spots in the world

This is a stunning complex not only on the ocean, but all but in it. as it sits on a rocky point... See full review

  • macbyron
  • Feb 28, 2012
Panoramic Pacific views and convenience at Poipu condominium resort
Accommodations at Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort have many amenities, including each one looking out on the ocean along the sunny south shore of Kauai. The spacious units, housed in a four-story building that directly faces the Pacific, have elevator access and upscale amenities. Guests can even have their condominium stocked with food for their arrival. For families, the gentle waters of Poipu Beach Park are only about a quarter mile away, and Poipu Bay Golf Course, former home of the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, is less than two miles away.
Highlights
  • Every condominium is oceanfront
  • A freshwater pool just above the surf and spray
  • Guests can catch sight of a sea turtle from their lanai
  • Barbecue area for al fresco dining and socializing
Location
Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is located within Poipu Beach Resort on the sunny south shore of Kauai. One of the most popular resort areas of the island, and arguably the one with the best weather, Poipu is noted for its upscale lodging and dining options and a number of the best beaches on the island, especially for swimmers and young families.
Rooms
The 26 condominiums in the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort rental pool range from one to three bedrooms, 850 to 1,200 square feet. All units have a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, private lanai and washer/dryer. Each condominium is individually furnished, but most feature wood or rattan and tropical prints that bring Hawaii into your living space.
Features
The best thing about Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is that guests have easy access to all that the Poipu resort area offers, from golf, biking, tennis and water sports to family parks and opulent spas. Yes, there is an oceanfront pool here, so for those who want to put their feet up and lounge in the sun at the edge of the surf, they can do that, too. Come evening, guests have every convenience in their condo, and all the restaurants of Poipu just out the door.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • Taxis, other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (25.6 mi/41 km)
Business
  • Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort guests stay connected via wired high speed Internet access in every condominium
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts provides mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom/1 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; most have private lanai; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Deluxe Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; deluxe indicates a larger room, an expansive view, or additional windows for end suites; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront Penthouse
Floor to ceiling windows open to a large lanai that offers 270 degree view of the coastline, reputedly the most spectacular ocean and sunset views in Poipu. Completely renovated in 2009, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath Penthouse features new furniture, modern appliances and a flat screen television, with a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom bath. It is equipped with 1 king, 1 queen and a trundle bed that converts into 2 twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 persons.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulHB
Wilmington, North Carolina
Dec 5, 2012

Great Place to Relax and Enjoy

Fantastic location, 30 feet from the ocean waves hitting the lava shore. You can see the large sea turtles swimming and enjoy the pool hanging out into the ocean. Just a 10 minute stroll to Poipu beach where you can swim and snorkel and play in the sand. Good restaurants and shopping in the area. If you visit Kauai in the winter - Poipu is much dryer than the north shore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to eat at Red Salt - on the pricey side but the food and service is worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattlelites to the Sun
Business
Seattle.
Jan 27, 2010

Trip Thoughts to Poipu Shores

Just OK, my wife and I wanted to get away, our 4th trip to Poipu Beach area. Booked a superior deluxe room (extra $$'s) ocean front for a week. Will not stay at this hotel again. Since I travel for work, did not want to stay at a hotel, wanted a more home like feel. What we got at Poipu Shores was dirty rooms, musty smell, noisy rooms from neighbors and a ocean swell lava tube. Now some of you will say, an ocean swell lava tube is noisy??? Yes, and I mean loud, when large swells come through this, about every 30 seconds, the rooms/building shake. As long as I had ear plugs, it's like living next to a freeway, you get used to it. Did have issues with cockroaches, cat fights. Beds were very uncomfortable, oh my back!!!! The stereo, one channel did not work, so since I was here a week, I did simple surgery on some connections, now works great, programmed the thing for my I-Tune player, direct patch. The hotel sits on a bluff/point and it is ocean front. About 500 yards to the southeast of Brenecke's Beach, very nice. The pool was small, used it one afternoon, but the local beaches are so much nicer. We used Condo Ready Guest Services for their pkg of beach chairs/umbrella/mat, and a huge arrangement of flowers, WOW!! - nice job [...], my friends, use this company for all your Poipu Beach condo needs. Their number is 866-977-3239. We also used the book, the "Ultimate Kauai Guidebook, got on Amazon for $11. Paid for itself in one day. Love the restaurant at the "Plantation Garden" at the Kiahuna Plantation resort, wow, the food/service/location was absolutly wonderful. My next visit to Poipu Beach will likely be another rental, likely through Suite Paradise as we did our last visit. NOte the office is only open from 8-5pm, keys can be left. Mahalo, Mark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner at the Kiahuna Plantation Plantation Garden restaurant. My wife had the Coconut Curry Seafood Stew and I had the Pork Tenderloin = WOW!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Jul 22, 2010

beautiful

very noisy our neignbors were really drunk and loud the whole trip and the management wouldnt do a thing to help us. it was a very upseting trip because we couldnt sleep at night. the managers wouldnt even answer an eamil about the problems and front desk managers wouldnt do a thing .. if you have problems dont expect help from this property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DaleV
Business
San Jose,CA
Jul 9, 2009

Noisy, Dusty, Outdated furniture

Room 107A: Positives: Nice location, corner lot, decent 2-bedroom, complete cooking utensils, cleaning materials, washer, dryer, and boogie board included :-). Negatives: Dusty, No AC, Outdated and cheap furniture. I don't mind these if only it was not so dusty inside including the curtains and carpet. Cleaning should be done every day NOT every four days!! Lastly, neighbor is doing construction/renovation during our 7-day stay - noisy and loud!!! - almost ruined everything. Management SHOULD have informed us beforehand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Napali Coast Tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland OR
Jun 16, 2011

June 2011

The location was great as was the view. The condo was very tired. No dishwasher and the hot water was only warm. All the fixtures had rust and corrosion. The DVD player did not work. Parking was limited and very tight. I travel 40 weeks a year so I have much experience. The beds were the hardest and most uncomfortable I have seen in all of my travels. I slept on the couch for the full stay. The outdoor grills would not light. I tried 4 different ones. The Chocolate tour was great. I recommend that trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The floral garden tours are wonderfull.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 18, 2010

Fabulous location

First...the location is fabulous...right on the water...on an elevated lava ledge. We were seranaded by the ocean at all times. Loved it. The condos themselves are dated and in need of upgrading. It was satisfactory as it fullfilled our needs for a rendezvous point in between adventures...and of course to sleep. We did much site seeing and dining at some great restaurants. If the facility were more modern it would have rated higher...but for location and launching point for island exlporation...it was quite acceptable. We hit all the hot spots including the Beachouse etc. We thought Roys was the best...and Casablanca...all in Poipu were our favorites. All are costly...but expected since you are far from the mainland and in genuine paradise. Loved Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Dec 18, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey Kim and Matt
Business
Maricopa, AZ, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Kauai Honeymoon

Fantastic - got in late and the staff left detailed instructions on how to get the room key. While the condo is definetly in need of some updates, the location could not be better. It's right on the ocean and you can fall asleep each night to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below. Poipu Beach is a 2 minute walk away and there are restaurants and bars within walking distance as well. The appliances all worked well and there were pots and pans and all that so you can save a coiple of bucks by eating meals in (the grocery store is about 5 minutes away by car). We did not deal with the staff much but when we did they were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again , no question. For what the place lacks in amenities it more than makes up with location and ambiance provided by the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Andy's sunset dinner off the Na Pali Coast - AWESOME! But not the romantic thing they make it out to be on their website. We had way more fun than we thought but it was not a pleasure cruise for sure....we were soaking wet by the time we got back. Wear a bathing suit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrducks
Business
Broken Arrow, OK, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Great views

We had beautiful sunset views. The only downer is that the pool was not heated and there was no hot tub. We were within walking distance of two beautiful, calm beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulHB
Business
Wilmington, North Carolina
Dec 5, 2012

Great Place to Relax and Enjoy

Fantastic location, 30 feet from the ocean waves hitting the lava shore. You can see the large sea turtles swimming and enjoy the pool hanging out into the ocean. Just a 10 minute stroll to Poipu beach where you can swim and snorkel and play in the sand. Good restaurants and shopping in the area. If you visit Kauai in the winter - Poipu is much dryer than the north shore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to eat at Red Salt - on the pricey side but the food and service is worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbeezer
Business
Nipomo
Dec 24, 2009

Kauai

Premium location, smaller complex right on the lava at Poipu. Two bedroom/bath units means four people will be easy. No waiting for the bath and no left over bedding in the living area for breakfast. Private seaside walking path with gate directly to the beach. Stay on top floor for best view, lowest level for grassy lawn access. Full view of the western sky for sunsets. Turtles, dolphins, manta rays and whales directly in front of you in the water. Walk out on the lava pillows to fish, but don't turn your back on the ocean! Staff is friendly and very helpful... if you have questions about the Island these folks are glad to share some info. Maholo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top