$349 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
63 reviews
Castle Poipu

We had one of the most relaxing best vacations we have ever had!!! we usually go on cruises but... See full review

  • Tall Paulie
  • May 27, 2014
One of the most amazing spots in the world

This is a stunning complex not only on the ocean, but all but in it. as it sits on a rocky point... See full review

  • macbyron
  • Feb 28, 2012
Panoramic Pacific views and convenience at Poipu condominium resort
Accommodations at Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort have many amenities, including each one looking out on the ocean along the sunny south shore of Kauai. The spacious units, housed in a four-story building that directly faces the Pacific, have elevator access and upscale amenities. Guests can even have their condominium stocked with food for their arrival. For families, the gentle waters of Poipu Beach Park are only about a quarter mile away, and Poipu Bay Golf Course, former home of the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, is less than two miles away.
Highlights
  • Every condominium is oceanfront
  • A freshwater pool just above the surf and spray
  • Guests can catch sight of a sea turtle from their lanai
  • Barbecue area for al fresco dining and socializing
Location
Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is located within Poipu Beach Resort on the sunny south shore of Kauai. One of the most popular resort areas of the island, and arguably the one with the best weather, Poipu is noted for its upscale lodging and dining options and a number of the best beaches on the island, especially for swimmers and young families.
Rooms
The 26 condominiums in the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort rental pool range from one to three bedrooms, 850 to 1,200 square feet. All units have a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, private lanai and washer/dryer. Each condominium is individually furnished, but most feature wood or rattan and tropical prints that bring Hawaii into your living space.
Features
The best thing about Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is that guests have easy access to all that the Poipu resort area offers, from golf, biking, tennis and water sports to family parks and opulent spas. Yes, there is an oceanfront pool here, so for those who want to put their feet up and lounge in the sun at the edge of the surf, they can do that, too. Come evening, guests have every convenience in their condo, and all the restaurants of Poipu just out the door.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • Taxis, other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (25.6 mi/41 km)
Business
  • Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort guests stay connected via wired high speed Internet access in every condominium
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts provides mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8704 -159.4467
Area served
Poipu, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Kauai-LIH
Area description
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into the coastal cliffs, near Spouting horn.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom/1 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; most have private lanai; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Deluxe Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; deluxe indicates a larger room, an expansive view, or additional windows for end suites; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront Penthouse
Floor to ceiling windows open to a large lanai that offers 270 degree view of the coastline, reputedly the most spectacular ocean and sunset views in Poipu. Completely renovated in 2009, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath Penthouse features new furniture, modern appliances and a flat screen television, with a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom bath. It is equipped with 1 king, 1 queen and a trundle bed that converts into 2 twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 persons.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
michigan
Jul 22, 2010

beautiful

very noisy our neignbors were really drunk and loud the whole trip and the management wouldnt do a thing to help us. it was a very upseting trip because we couldnt sleep at night. the managers wouldnt even answer an eamil about the problems and front desk managers wouldnt do a thing .. if you have problems dont expect help from this property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattlelites to the Sun
Seattle.
Jan 27, 2010

Trip Thoughts to Poipu Shores

Just OK, my wife and I wanted to get away, our 4th trip to Poipu Beach area. Booked a superior deluxe room (extra $$'s) ocean front for a week. Will not stay at this hotel again. Since I travel for work, did not want to stay at a hotel, wanted a more home like feel. What we got at Poipu Shores was dirty rooms, musty smell, noisy rooms from neighbors and a ocean swell lava tube. Now some of you will say, an ocean swell lava tube is noisy??? Yes, and I mean loud, when large swells come through this, about every 30 seconds, the rooms/building shake. As long as I had ear plugs, it's like living next to a freeway, you get used to it. Did have issues with cockroaches, cat fights. Beds were very uncomfortable, oh my back!!!! The stereo, one channel did not work, so since I was here a week, I did simple surgery on some connections, now works great, programmed the thing for my I-Tune player, direct patch. The hotel sits on a bluff/point and it is ocean front. About 500 yards to the southeast of Brenecke's Beach, very nice. The pool was small, used it one afternoon, but the local beaches are so much nicer. We used Condo Ready Guest Services for their pkg of beach chairs/umbrella/mat, and a huge arrangement of flowers, WOW!! - nice job [...], my friends, use this company for all your Poipu Beach condo needs. Their number is 866-977-3239. We also used the book, the "Ultimate Kauai Guidebook, got on Amazon for $11. Paid for itself in one day. Love the restaurant at the "Plantation Garden" at the Kiahuna Plantation resort, wow, the food/service/location was absolutly wonderful. My next visit to Poipu Beach will likely be another rental, likely through Suite Paradise as we did our last visit. NOte the office is only open from 8-5pm, keys can be left. Mahalo, Mark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner at the Kiahuna Plantation Plantation Garden restaurant. My wife had the Coconut Curry Seafood Stew and I had the Pork Tenderloin = WOW!

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland OR
Jun 16, 2011

June 2011

The location was great as was the view. The condo was very tired. No dishwasher and the hot water was only warm. All the fixtures had rust and corrosion. The DVD player did not work. Parking was limited and very tight. I travel 40 weeks a year so I have much experience. The beds were the hardest and most uncomfortable I have seen in all of my travels. I slept on the couch for the full stay. The outdoor grills would not light. I tried 4 different ones. The Chocolate tour was great. I recommend that trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The floral garden tours are wonderfull.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DaleV
San Jose,CA
Jul 9, 2009

Noisy, Dusty, Outdated furniture

Room 107A: Positives: Nice location, corner lot, decent 2-bedroom, complete cooking utensils, cleaning materials, washer, dryer, and boogie board included :-). Negatives: Dusty, No AC, Outdated and cheap furniture. I don't mind these if only it was not so dusty inside including the curtains and carpet. Cleaning should be done every day NOT every four days!! Lastly, neighbor is doing construction/renovation during our 7-day stay - noisy and loud!!! - almost ruined everything. Management SHOULD have informed us beforehand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Napali Coast Tour

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
michigan
Jul 22, 2010

beautiful

very noisy our neignbors were really drunk and loud the whole trip and the management wouldnt do a thing to help us. it was a very upseting trip because we couldnt sleep at night. the managers wouldnt even answer an eamil about the problems and front desk managers wouldnt do a thing .. if you have problems dont expect help from this property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DaleV
San Jose,CA
Jul 9, 2009

Noisy, Dusty, Outdated furniture

Room 107A: Positives: Nice location, corner lot, decent 2-bedroom, complete cooking utensils, cleaning materials, washer, dryer, and boogie board included :-). Negatives: Dusty, No AC, Outdated and cheap furniture. I don't mind these if only it was not so dusty inside including the curtains and carpet. Cleaning should be done every day NOT every four days!! Lastly, neighbor is doing construction/renovation during our 7-day stay - noisy and loud!!! - almost ruined everything. Management SHOULD have informed us beforehand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Napali Coast Tour

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland OR
Jun 16, 2011

June 2011

The location was great as was the view. The condo was very tired. No dishwasher and the hot water was only warm. All the fixtures had rust and corrosion. The DVD player did not work. Parking was limited and very tight. I travel 40 weeks a year so I have much experience. The beds were the hardest and most uncomfortable I have seen in all of my travels. I slept on the couch for the full stay. The outdoor grills would not light. I tried 4 different ones. The Chocolate tour was great. I recommend that trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The floral garden tours are wonderfull.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattlelites to the Sun
Seattle.
Jan 27, 2010

Trip Thoughts to Poipu Shores

Just OK, my wife and I wanted to get away, our 4th trip to Poipu Beach area. Booked a superior deluxe room (extra $$'s) ocean front for a week. Will not stay at this hotel again. Since I travel for work, did not want to stay at a hotel, wanted a more home like feel. What we got at Poipu Shores was dirty rooms, musty smell, noisy rooms from neighbors and a ocean swell lava tube. Now some of you will say, an ocean swell lava tube is noisy??? Yes, and I mean loud, when large swells come through this, about every 30 seconds, the rooms/building shake. As long as I had ear plugs, it's like living next to a freeway, you get used to it. Did have issues with cockroaches, cat fights. Beds were very uncomfortable, oh my back!!!! The stereo, one channel did not work, so since I was here a week, I did simple surgery on some connections, now works great, programmed the thing for my I-Tune player, direct patch. The hotel sits on a bluff/point and it is ocean front. About 500 yards to the southeast of Brenecke's Beach, very nice. The pool was small, used it one afternoon, but the local beaches are so much nicer. We used Condo Ready Guest Services for their pkg of beach chairs/umbrella/mat, and a huge arrangement of flowers, WOW!! - nice job [...], my friends, use this company for all your Poipu Beach condo needs. Their number is 866-977-3239. We also used the book, the "Ultimate Kauai Guidebook, got on Amazon for $11. Paid for itself in one day. Love the restaurant at the "Plantation Garden" at the Kiahuna Plantation resort, wow, the food/service/location was absolutly wonderful. My next visit to Poipu Beach will likely be another rental, likely through Suite Paradise as we did our last visit. NOte the office is only open from 8-5pm, keys can be left. Mahalo, Mark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner at the Kiahuna Plantation Plantation Garden restaurant. My wife had the Coconut Curry Seafood Stew and I had the Pork Tenderloin = WOW!

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 18, 2010

Fabulous location

First...the location is fabulous...right on the water...on an elevated lava ledge. We were seranaded by the ocean at all times. Loved it. The condos themselves are dated and in need of upgrading. It was satisfactory as it fullfilled our needs for a rendezvous point in between adventures...and of course to sleep. We did much site seeing and dining at some great restaurants. If the facility were more modern it would have rated higher...but for location and launching point for island exlporation...it was quite acceptable. We hit all the hot spots including the Beachouse etc. We thought Roys was the best...and Casablanca...all in Poipu were our favorites. All are costly...but expected since you are far from the mainland and in genuine paradise. Loved Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
usa
Dec 18, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

[...]

Back to menu Return to top