$349 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
35 reviews
Castle Poipu

We had one of the most relaxing best vacations we have ever had!!! we usually go on cruises but... See full review

  • Tall Paulie
  • May 27, 2014
One of the most amazing spots in the world

This is a stunning complex not only on the ocean, but all but in it. as it sits on a rocky point... See full review

  • macbyron
  • Feb 28, 2012
Panoramic Pacific views and convenience at Poipu condominium resort
Accommodations at Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort have many amenities, including each one looking out on the ocean along the sunny south shore of Kauai. The spacious units, housed in a four-story building that directly faces the Pacific, have elevator access and upscale amenities. Guests can even have their condominium stocked with food for their arrival. For families, the gentle waters of Poipu Beach Park are only about a quarter mile away, and Poipu Bay Golf Course, former home of the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, is less than two miles away.
Highlights
  • Every condominium is oceanfront
  • A freshwater pool just above the surf and spray
  • Guests can catch sight of a sea turtle from their lanai
  • Barbecue area for al fresco dining and socializing
Location
Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is located within Poipu Beach Resort on the sunny south shore of Kauai. One of the most popular resort areas of the island, and arguably the one with the best weather, Poipu is noted for its upscale lodging and dining options and a number of the best beaches on the island, especially for swimmers and young families.
Rooms
The 26 condominiums in the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort rental pool range from one to three bedrooms, 850 to 1,200 square feet. All units have a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, private lanai and washer/dryer. Each condominium is individually furnished, but most feature wood or rattan and tropical prints that bring Hawaii into your living space.
Features
The best thing about Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is that guests have easy access to all that the Poipu resort area offers, from golf, biking, tennis and water sports to family parks and opulent spas. Yes, there is an oceanfront pool here, so for those who want to put their feet up and lounge in the sun at the edge of the surf, they can do that, too. Come evening, guests have every convenience in their condo, and all the restaurants of Poipu just out the door.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • Taxis, other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (25.6 mi/41 km)
Business
  • Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort guests stay connected via wired high speed Internet access in every condominium
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts provides mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8704 -159.4467
Area served
Poipu, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Kauai-LIH
Area description
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into the coastal cliffs, near Spouting horn.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom/1 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; most have private lanai; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Deluxe Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; deluxe indicates a larger room, an expansive view, or additional windows for end suites; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront Penthouse
Floor to ceiling windows open to a large lanai that offers 270 degree view of the coastline, reputedly the most spectacular ocean and sunset views in Poipu. Completely renovated in 2009, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath Penthouse features new furniture, modern appliances and a flat screen television, with a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom bath. It is equipped with 1 king, 1 queen and a trundle bed that converts into 2 twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 persons.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Truckee, CA
Jun 7, 2009

A Great Place to Stay

Our condo was right on lava cliffs overlooking the ocean. The view was fantastic, ocean spray splashing over the rocks and always 4 to 5 sea turtles swimming around. The condo was nicely furnished and had a well equipped kitchen. It looked like every unit at this location would have just as great a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
denver
Jul 6, 2011

Only for ones with passion for the ocean

Sitting right on the ocean with waves crashing all night. We could turtle watch from our lanai. We saved a fortune on food from previous trips by a quick stop at Costco for the teenagers and the local fish markets and farmers markets for us. We hiked the north coast, snorkeled with sea turtles, and watched the best sunsets from our backyard. If you don't like the sound of the ocean ( a lot) then this is not for you. Our unit was refurbished and was so close to the beach but without that big resort feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

22 North formerly Gaylord's was our only extravagant meal and was worth it. It is located in Kilohana was was itself a pleasant surprise. All the food at the restaurant is farmed on site so it is so fresh. The cocktails are made from those same ingredients so are the prefect place to while away an afternoon before catching the redeye!

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
macbyron
San Pedro, CA
Feb 28, 2012

One of the most amazing spots in the world

This is a stunning complex not only on the ocean, but all but in it. as it sits on a rocky point into the water. Waves crash in spouts of water that are thrilling all the time. The condo itself is excellent. Simple design, yet of great quality throughout. The staff was excellent. I couldn't have been more impressed with my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tall Paulie
South Bay California
May 27, 2014

Castle Poipu

We had one of the most relaxing best vacations we have ever had!!! we usually go on cruises but this time we wanted more time on shore and a bigger room and we had it all !!!! The room 203A is the one we want again when we come back it was not as bag as out home nut it was a delight to stay their and had everything we needed for a delightful stay !!! I have already recommended it already to man friends...We hope to be coming back again soon !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

definitely rent a car so you can see the whole island so much to see !!!!

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ROXANN933
NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
Jun 15, 2011

OUTSTANDING RELAXING GETAWAY

CONDO WAS PERFECT. EVERYTHING AVAILABLE FOR THE STAY. LOCATION ABOVE CRASHING WAVES LULLED US TO SLEEP EACH NIGHT. COOL BREEZE MADE AIR CONDITIONING NOT NEEDED. BEACHES WELL WITHIN WALKING AND OVERALL SUPPORT BY STAFF EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

GROCERY STORES IN KOLOA JUST AS CHEAP AS LIHUE. SAVE THE DRIVE.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 7, 2010

Poipu Shores (March 2010)

Fantastic oceanfront location, a short walk to the beach. Condo in excellent condition. Friendly office/management staff. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Duluth, Minnesota
Feb 1, 2011

Beautiful, exceeded our expectations.

Awesome accomodations, beautiful oceanfront view. I highly recommend Poipu Shores to anyone visiting Kauai. The housekeeping was excellent and the people were very friendly. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Smith Family Luau was very entertaining, informative and the food was outstanding.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buckinghamshire, UK
May 3, 2010

Perfect location and facilities

We wanted a restful holiday in a great location. Having visited Kaua'i on a few previous occasions, we know what it has to offer by way of ocean views, sunsets and awesome sea life such as turtles and whales. We were not disappointed in anyway with our stay at Poipu Shores. The condo was perfect for us. We did even less than we had planned as we really didn't need to go far from it to enjoy relaxing in great weather, with great sea views whilst being as close as you can get to the beautiful turtles and watching whales from the lanai. We didn't miss out on the sunsets from the lanai either! We didn't eat out much as we were so happy and comfortable at the condo but there is plenty of choice within walking distance or a very short car ride. We consider ourselves quite fussy and know what we like - we loved Poipu Shores and plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We were recommended by the hotel reception to make dinner reservations for wherever we wanted to go - this was a good recommendation that we would pass on to others.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco Bay Area
Jul 27, 2011

Great Location

We had a great time. The view and the crashing waves made it difficult to leave. We had been to other parts of Kauai before so we had seen a lot of the island already. This trip was totally relaxing and wonderful. The condo was great and the owners left many interesting notes for people who rent their place. They seem like nice people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was great to walk in either direction from the condo along the beach and cliffs.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roglaurie
Visalia, ca
Feb 20, 2010

Poipu Shores

The waves crashing so close 24 hours a day was awesome. The best 7 nights of sleep we've had in a long time. Great staff. [...], the manager, was fantastic. Wailua Kayaking was great. The beaches are really good. Golf at Kiahuna was really nice. Dinner at The Beach House was the best dinner we had all week! A must for at least one dinner date. We will be back, for sure. Oh, our unit, #204A is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wailua Kayaking. Ask for [...] as your guide.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search