$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 19, 2015 Check-out: Mar 22, 2015

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
37 reviews
Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean... See full review

  • Fran K.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Oceanfront Dream Vacation

We were mesmerized from the moment we opened the door to our condo and could see the ocean... See full review

  • Fran K.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Panoramic Pacific views and convenience at Poipu condominium resort
Accommodations at Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort have many amenities, including each one looking out on the ocean along the sunny south shore of Kauai. The spacious units, housed in a four-story building that directly faces the Pacific, have elevator access and upscale amenities. Guests can even have their condominium stocked with food for their arrival. For families, the gentle waters of Poipu Beach Park are only about a quarter mile away, and Poipu Bay Golf Course, former home of the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, is less than two miles away.
Highlights
  • Every condominium is oceanfront
  • A freshwater pool just above the surf and spray
  • Guests can catch sight of a sea turtle from their lanai
  • Barbecue area for al fresco dining and socializing
Location
Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is located within Poipu Beach Resort on the sunny south shore of Kauai. One of the most popular resort areas of the island, and arguably the one with the best weather, Poipu is noted for its upscale lodging and dining options and a number of the best beaches on the island, especially for swimmers and young families.
Rooms
The 26 condominiums in the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort rental pool range from one to three bedrooms, 850 to 1,200 square feet. All units have a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, private lanai and washer/dryer. Each condominium is individually furnished, but most feature wood or rattan and tropical prints that bring Hawaii into your living space.
Features
The best thing about Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is that guests have easy access to all that the Poipu resort area offers, from golf, biking, tennis and water sports to family parks and opulent spas. Yes, there is an oceanfront pool here, so for those who want to put their feet up and lounge in the sun at the edge of the surf, they can do that, too. Come evening, guests have every convenience in their condo, and all the restaurants of Poipu just out the door.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • Taxis, other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (25.6 mi/41 km)
Business
  • Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort guests stay connected via wired high speed Internet access in every condominium
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts provides mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom/1 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; most have private lanai; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Deluxe Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; deluxe indicates a larger room, an expansive view, or additional windows for end suites; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront Penthouse
Floor to ceiling windows open to a large lanai that offers 270 degree view of the coastline, reputedly the most spectacular ocean and sunset views in Poipu. Completely renovated in 2009, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath Penthouse features new furniture, modern appliances and a flat screen television, with a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom bath. It is equipped with 1 king, 1 queen and a trundle bed that converts into 2 twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 persons.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Sabbatical
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Jul 27, 2009

Poipu - welcome to Kauai

The pool was next to the ocean - spectacular view of the ocean next to the pool with turtles in the water. Not much else between the ocean and complex other than a small lawn and lava rocks. Beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk along the ocean in front of the complex, Poipu Beach is an easy 5 minute walk. Shipwreck Beach is about 20 minutes away eastbound along the cliffs, very safe and easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demtation
Business
Southern Oregon
Jul 21, 2009

Better than expected

We were thrilled with the accommodations. Staff were friendly, the condo (102a)was very clean with great amenities. The kitchen had some unexpected extras (blender, griddle etc.) The gas grills on the property were clean with better equipment than expected. The pool was well maintained and the view of the ocean was outstanding. Our favorite extra might have been the sea turtles that play in the surf by the hotel around the clock. Beach access was convenient, just a little walk. Shower was the nice walk-in type. High speed internet was handy. The place was very quiet in spite of lots of guests with kids. Know going in there is no A/C, but two large ceiling fans. It never got that hot during our stay, but it's humid! And we loved the sound of the surf on the rocks, but it does get loud. Kept me up one night, but it was a fluke. The only thing we would have preferred would be more private curtains in the bedroom/living room. We were on the ground level that shares a lawn (and pool access) with other guests. The curtains are rather sheer, and while I'm not sure one could easily see in, you can certainly see out! Kids running back and forth from the pool might discourage the honeymooners, if you know what I mean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We intended to do a lot of cooking on site but was discouraged by expensive groceries - until we discovered a *gulp* Walmart just past Lehue. Seriously, if you intend to cook, get what you can there, it's nearly half the price of the local stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DaleV
Business
San Jose,CA
Jul 9, 2009

Noisy, Dusty, Outdated furniture

Room 107A: Positives: Nice location, corner lot, decent 2-bedroom, complete cooking utensils, cleaning materials, washer, dryer, and boogie board included :-). Negatives: Dusty, No AC, Outdated and cheap furniture. I don't mind these if only it was not so dusty inside including the curtains and carpet. Cleaning should be done every day NOT every four days!! Lastly, neighbor is doing construction/renovation during our 7-day stay - noisy and loud!!! - almost ruined everything. Management SHOULD have informed us beforehand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Napali Coast Tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward, CA
Jun 10, 2009

Great Poipu Vacation!!

A great place to stay...sea turtles at your back door...super location right on the shore...Condo was clean and well maintained...only negative was the noise from the pounding waves but we expected that....we would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must check out the Beach House restaurant as it has the best views in Poipu...also, a very romantic setting and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Truckee, CA
Jun 7, 2009

A Great Place to Stay

Our condo was right on lava cliffs overlooking the ocean. The view was fantastic, ocean spray splashing over the rocks and always 4 to 5 sea turtles swimming around. The condo was nicely furnished and had a well equipped kitchen. It looked like every unit at this location would have just as great a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 22, 2009

Wonderful, beautiful and relaxing!

We were awestruck by the view of the ocean. We saw whales playing and sea turtles from our patio. On the beach we had the opportunity to be up close to monk seals (a mother and pup). We enjoyed the drive to the mountains to see the "Pacific Grand Crayon." We loved Kaui, it was what Hawaii is suppose to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

Five Star Location and View

Location, location, location. This is at an excellent one, a two minute walk from Poipu beach and close to all things surrounding. The view is outstanding. While maintenance/upkeep/comfort are around average, the five star location and views make it exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top