$349 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
63 reviews
Castle Poipu

We had one of the most relaxing best vacations we have ever had!!! we usually go on cruises but... See full review

  • Tall Paulie
  • May 27, 2014
One of the most amazing spots in the world

This is a stunning complex not only on the ocean, but all but in it. as it sits on a rocky point... See full review

  • macbyron
  • Feb 28, 2012
Panoramic Pacific views and convenience at Poipu condominium resort
Accommodations at Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort have many amenities, including each one looking out on the ocean along the sunny south shore of Kauai. The spacious units, housed in a four-story building that directly faces the Pacific, have elevator access and upscale amenities. Guests can even have their condominium stocked with food for their arrival. For families, the gentle waters of Poipu Beach Park are only about a quarter mile away, and Poipu Bay Golf Course, former home of the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, is less than two miles away.
Highlights
  • Every condominium is oceanfront
  • A freshwater pool just above the surf and spray
  • Guests can catch sight of a sea turtle from their lanai
  • Barbecue area for al fresco dining and socializing
Location
Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is located within Poipu Beach Resort on the sunny south shore of Kauai. One of the most popular resort areas of the island, and arguably the one with the best weather, Poipu is noted for its upscale lodging and dining options and a number of the best beaches on the island, especially for swimmers and young families.
Rooms
The 26 condominiums in the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort rental pool range from one to three bedrooms, 850 to 1,200 square feet. All units have a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, private lanai and washer/dryer. Each condominium is individually furnished, but most feature wood or rattan and tropical prints that bring Hawaii into your living space.
Features
The best thing about Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is that guests have easy access to all that the Poipu resort area offers, from golf, biking, tennis and water sports to family parks and opulent spas. Yes, there is an oceanfront pool here, so for those who want to put their feet up and lounge in the sun at the edge of the surf, they can do that, too. Come evening, guests have every convenience in their condo, and all the restaurants of Poipu just out the door.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • Taxis, other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (25.6 mi/41 km)
Business
  • Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort guests stay connected via wired high speed Internet access in every condominium
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts provides mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8704 -159.4467
Area served
Poipu, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Kauai-LIH
Area description
Poipu Shores is an oceanfront condominium, nestled into the coastal cliffs, near Spouting horn.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom/1 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; most have private lanai; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Deluxe Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; deluxe indicates a larger room, an expansive view, or additional windows for end suites; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront Penthouse
Floor to ceiling windows open to a large lanai that offers 270 degree view of the coastline, reputedly the most spectacular ocean and sunset views in Poipu. Completely renovated in 2009, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath Penthouse features new furniture, modern appliances and a flat screen television, with a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom bath. It is equipped with 1 king, 1 queen and a trundle bed that converts into 2 twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 persons.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roglaurie
Visalia, ca
Feb 20, 2010

Poipu Shores

The waves crashing so close 24 hours a day was awesome. The best 7 nights of sleep we've had in a long time. Great staff. [...], the manager, was fantastic. Wailua Kayaking was great. The beaches are really good. Golf at Kiahuna was really nice. Dinner at The Beach House was the best dinner we had all week! A must for at least one dinner date. We will be back, for sure. Oh, our unit, #204A is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wailua Kayaking. Ask for [...] as your guide.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roglaurie
Visalia, ca
Feb 20, 2010

Poipu Shores

The waves crashing so close 24 hours a day was awesome. The best 7 nights of sleep we've had in a long time. Great staff. [...], the manager, was fantastic. Wailua Kayaking was great. The beaches are really good. Golf at Kiahuna was really nice. Dinner at The Beach House was the best dinner we had all week! A must for at least one dinner date. We will be back, for sure. Oh, our unit, #204A is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wailua Kayaking. Ask for [...] as your guide.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattlelites to the Sun
Seattle.
Jan 27, 2010

Trip Thoughts to Poipu Shores

Just OK, my wife and I wanted to get away, our 4th trip to Poipu Beach area. Booked a superior deluxe room (extra $$'s) ocean front for a week. Will not stay at this hotel again. Since I travel for work, did not want to stay at a hotel, wanted a more home like feel. What we got at Poipu Shores was dirty rooms, musty smell, noisy rooms from neighbors and a ocean swell lava tube. Now some of you will say, an ocean swell lava tube is noisy??? Yes, and I mean loud, when large swells come through this, about every 30 seconds, the rooms/building shake. As long as I had ear plugs, it's like living next to a freeway, you get used to it. Did have issues with cockroaches, cat fights. Beds were very uncomfortable, oh my back!!!! The stereo, one channel did not work, so since I was here a week, I did simple surgery on some connections, now works great, programmed the thing for my I-Tune player, direct patch. The hotel sits on a bluff/point and it is ocean front. About 500 yards to the southeast of Brenecke's Beach, very nice. The pool was small, used it one afternoon, but the local beaches are so much nicer. We used Condo Ready Guest Services for their pkg of beach chairs/umbrella/mat, and a huge arrangement of flowers, WOW!! - nice job [...], my friends, use this company for all your Poipu Beach condo needs. Their number is 866-977-3239. We also used the book, the "Ultimate Kauai Guidebook, got on Amazon for $11. Paid for itself in one day. Love the restaurant at the "Plantation Garden" at the Kiahuna Plantation resort, wow, the food/service/location was absolutly wonderful. My next visit to Poipu Beach will likely be another rental, likely through Suite Paradise as we did our last visit. NOte the office is only open from 8-5pm, keys can be left. Mahalo, Mark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner at the Kiahuna Plantation Plantation Garden restaurant. My wife had the Coconut Curry Seafood Stew and I had the Pork Tenderloin = WOW!

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattlelites to the Sun
Seattle.
Jan 27, 2010

Trip Thoughts to Poipu Shores

Just OK, my wife and I wanted to get away, our 4th trip to Poipu Beach area. Booked a superior deluxe room (extra $$'s) ocean front for a week. Will not stay at this hotel again. Since I travel for work, did not want to stay at a hotel, wanted a more home like feel. What we got at Poipu Shores was dirty rooms, musty smell, noisy rooms from neighbors and a ocean swell lava tube. Now some of you will say, an ocean swell lava tube is noisy??? Yes, and I mean loud, when large swells come through this, about every 30 seconds, the rooms/building shake. As long as I had ear plugs, it's like living next to a freeway, you get used to it. Did have issues with cockroaches, cat fights. Beds were very uncomfortable, oh my back!!!! The stereo, one channel did not work, so since I was here a week, I did simple surgery on some connections, now works great, programmed the thing for my I-Tune player, direct patch. The hotel sits on a bluff/point and it is ocean front. About 500 yards to the southeast of Brenecke's Beach, very nice. The pool was small, used it one afternoon, but the local beaches are so much nicer. We used Condo Ready Guest Services for their pkg of beach chairs/umbrella/mat, and a huge arrangement of flowers, WOW!! - nice job [...], my friends, use this company for all your Poipu Beach condo needs. Their number is 866-977-3239. We also used the book, the "Ultimate Kauai Guidebook, got on Amazon for $11. Paid for itself in one day. Love the restaurant at the "Plantation Garden" at the Kiahuna Plantation resort, wow, the food/service/location was absolutly wonderful. My next visit to Poipu Beach will likely be another rental, likely through Suite Paradise as we did our last visit. NOte the office is only open from 8-5pm, keys can be left. Mahalo, Mark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner at the Kiahuna Plantation Plantation Garden restaurant. My wife had the Coconut Curry Seafood Stew and I had the Pork Tenderloin = WOW!

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple from Seattle
Seattle
Jan 5, 2010

fantastic shorefront location

We could watch the whales and turtles right from our balcony, and the sandy (if crowded) beach was only a 5-minute walk. Our condo was recently updated and spotless; however I know that some units vary. We loved staying at the Castle Shores and would definitely choose this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Waimea Canyon is an hour away by car. Try to hit it early for fantastic early morning sun and to avoid the clouds which sometimes blow in in the afternoon. Take shoes that have good soles: the trails can be slippery.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple from Seattle
Seattle
Jan 5, 2010

fantastic shorefront location

We could watch the whales and turtles right from our balcony, and the sandy (if crowded) beach was only a 5-minute walk. Our condo was recently updated and spotless; however I know that some units vary. We loved staying at the Castle Shores and would definitely choose this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Waimea Canyon is an hour away by car. Try to hit it early for fantastic early morning sun and to avoid the clouds which sometimes blow in in the afternoon. Take shoes that have good soles: the trails can be slippery.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Dec 31, 2009

Our fifth trip and perhaps best location

Our top floor two bedroom - two bath condo was very nice. Views of the whales and dolphins from the deck. Poipu Beach is adjacent to the condo and perfect for a variety of water activities...snorkling,surfing, swimming, wave boards and more. The staff at the Poipu Shores were great and helpful. Although we had been to Kauai a number of times, they shared additional information to make our trip even better. Our family has stayed at two of the high end resort hotels. But, we really appreciated what Poipu Shores had to offer. A spacious place to stay...separate baths and bedrooms...A large fully equiped kitchen...guide books and books to read...wave boards and beach mats in the room...DVD movies and games in the room...all at no extra cost...almost forgot the washer and drier in the condo! The views can't be beat...The best on the island. If you are looking for a place with a swim up bar and on site restaurant this isn't for you. But, those are all available just a short walk down the street. The only downside is that the condos are aging a bit...bit still very well maintained. Some units have been refurbished with walk in showers, granite counter, etc...but, most probably not. But, that is not why you come to Kaui. Get out, explore and hike the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Dec 31, 2009

Our fifth trip and perhaps best location

Our top floor two bedroom - two bath condo was very nice. Views of the whales and dolphins from the deck. Poipu Beach is adjacent to the condo and perfect for a variety of water activities...snorkling,surfing, swimming, wave boards and more. The staff at the Poipu Shores were great and helpful. Although we had been to Kauai a number of times, they shared additional information to make our trip even better. Our family has stayed at two of the high end resort hotels. But, we really appreciated what Poipu Shores had to offer. A spacious place to stay...separate baths and bedrooms...A large fully equiped kitchen...guide books and books to read...wave boards and beach mats in the room...DVD movies and games in the room...all at no extra cost...almost forgot the washer and drier in the condo! The views can't be beat...The best on the island. If you are looking for a place with a swim up bar and on site restaurant this isn't for you. But, those are all available just a short walk down the street. The only downside is that the condos are aging a bit...bit still very well maintained. Some units have been refurbished with walk in showers, granite counter, etc...but, most probably not. But, that is not why you come to Kaui. Get out, explore and hike the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbeezer
Nipomo
Dec 24, 2009

Kauai

Premium location, smaller complex right on the lava at Poipu. Two bedroom/bath units means four people will be easy. No waiting for the bath and no left over bedding in the living area for breakfast. Private seaside walking path with gate directly to the beach. Stay on top floor for best view, lowest level for grassy lawn access. Full view of the western sky for sunsets. Turtles, dolphins, manta rays and whales directly in front of you in the water. Walk out on the lava pillows to fish, but don't turn your back on the ocean! Staff is friendly and very helpful... if you have questions about the Island these folks are glad to share some info. Maholo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbeezer
Nipomo
Dec 24, 2009

Kauai

Premium location, smaller complex right on the lava at Poipu. Two bedroom/bath units means four people will be easy. No waiting for the bath and no left over bedding in the living area for breakfast. Private seaside walking path with gate directly to the beach. Stay on top floor for best view, lowest level for grassy lawn access. Full view of the western sky for sunsets. Turtles, dolphins, manta rays and whales directly in front of you in the water. Walk out on the lava pillows to fish, but don't turn your back on the ocean! Staff is friendly and very helpful... if you have questions about the Island these folks are glad to share some info. Maholo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top