$401 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Sabbatical
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Jul 27, 2009

Poipu - welcome to Kauai

The pool was next to the ocean - spectacular view of the ocean next to the pool with turtles in the water. Not much else between the ocean and complex other than a small lawn and lava rocks. Beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk along the ocean in front of the complex, Poipu Beach is an easy 5 minute walk. Shipwreck Beach is about 20 minutes away eastbound along the cliffs, very safe and easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demtation
Business
Southern Oregon
Jul 21, 2009

Better than expected

We were thrilled with the accommodations. Staff were friendly, the condo (102a)was very clean with great amenities. The kitchen had some unexpected extras (blender, griddle etc.) The gas grills on the property were clean with better equipment than expected. The pool was well maintained and the view of the ocean was outstanding. Our favorite extra might have been the sea turtles that play in the surf by the hotel around the clock. Beach access was convenient, just a little walk. Shower was the nice walk-in type. High speed internet was handy. The place was very quiet in spite of lots of guests with kids. Know going in there is no A/C, but two large ceiling fans. It never got that hot during our stay, but it's humid! And we loved the sound of the surf on the rocks, but it does get loud. Kept me up one night, but it was a fluke. The only thing we would have preferred would be more private curtains in the bedroom/living room. We were on the ground level that shares a lawn (and pool access) with other guests. The curtains are rather sheer, and while I'm not sure one could easily see in, you can certainly see out! Kids running back and forth from the pool might discourage the honeymooners, if you know what I mean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We intended to do a lot of cooking on site but was discouraged by expensive groceries - until we discovered a *gulp* Walmart just past Lehue. Seriously, if you intend to cook, get what you can there, it's nearly half the price of the local stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DaleV
Business
San Jose,CA
Jul 9, 2009

Noisy, Dusty, Outdated furniture

Room 107A: Positives: Nice location, corner lot, decent 2-bedroom, complete cooking utensils, cleaning materials, washer, dryer, and boogie board included :-). Negatives: Dusty, No AC, Outdated and cheap furniture. I don't mind these if only it was not so dusty inside including the curtains and carpet. Cleaning should be done every day NOT every four days!! Lastly, neighbor is doing construction/renovation during our 7-day stay - noisy and loud!!! - almost ruined everything. Management SHOULD have informed us beforehand!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Napali Coast Tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hayward, CA
Jun 10, 2009

Great Poipu Vacation!!

A great place to stay...sea turtles at your back door...super location right on the shore...Condo was clean and well maintained...only negative was the noise from the pounding waves but we expected that....we would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must check out the Beach House restaurant as it has the best views in Poipu...also, a very romantic setting and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Truckee, CA
Jun 7, 2009

A Great Place to Stay

Our condo was right on lava cliffs overlooking the ocean. The view was fantastic, ocean spray splashing over the rocks and always 4 to 5 sea turtles swimming around. The condo was nicely furnished and had a well equipped kitchen. It looked like every unit at this location would have just as great a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 22, 2009

Wonderful, beautiful and relaxing!

We were awestruck by the view of the ocean. We saw whales playing and sea turtles from our patio. On the beach we had the opportunity to be up close to monk seals (a mother and pup). We enjoyed the drive to the mountains to see the "Pacific Grand Crayon." We loved Kaui, it was what Hawaii is suppose to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

Five Star Location and View

Location, location, location. This is at an excellent one, a two minute walk from Poipu beach and close to all things surrounding. The view is outstanding. While maintenance/upkeep/comfort are around average, the five star location and views make it exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top