$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 7, 2010

Poipu Shores (March 2010)

Fantastic oceanfront location, a short walk to the beach. Condo in excellent condition. Friendly office/management staff. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roglaurie
Business
Visalia, ca
Feb 20, 2010

Poipu Shores

The waves crashing so close 24 hours a day was awesome. The best 7 nights of sleep we've had in a long time. Great staff. [...], the manager, was fantastic. Wailua Kayaking was great. The beaches are really good. Golf at Kiahuna was really nice. Dinner at The Beach House was the best dinner we had all week! A must for at least one dinner date. We will be back, for sure. Oh, our unit, #204A is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wailua Kayaking. Ask for [...] as your guide.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattlelites to the Sun
Business
Seattle.
Jan 27, 2010

Trip Thoughts to Poipu Shores

Just OK, my wife and I wanted to get away, our 4th trip to Poipu Beach area. Booked a superior deluxe room (extra $$'s) ocean front for a week. Will not stay at this hotel again. Since I travel for work, did not want to stay at a hotel, wanted a more home like feel. What we got at Poipu Shores was dirty rooms, musty smell, noisy rooms from neighbors and a ocean swell lava tube. Now some of you will say, an ocean swell lava tube is noisy??? Yes, and I mean loud, when large swells come through this, about every 30 seconds, the rooms/building shake. As long as I had ear plugs, it's like living next to a freeway, you get used to it. Did have issues with cockroaches, cat fights. Beds were very uncomfortable, oh my back!!!! The stereo, one channel did not work, so since I was here a week, I did simple surgery on some connections, now works great, programmed the thing for my I-Tune player, direct patch. The hotel sits on a bluff/point and it is ocean front. About 500 yards to the southeast of Brenecke's Beach, very nice. The pool was small, used it one afternoon, but the local beaches are so much nicer. We used Condo Ready Guest Services for their pkg of beach chairs/umbrella/mat, and a huge arrangement of flowers, WOW!! - nice job [...], my friends, use this company for all your Poipu Beach condo needs. Their number is 866-977-3239. We also used the book, the "Ultimate Kauai Guidebook, got on Amazon for $11. Paid for itself in one day. Love the restaurant at the "Plantation Garden" at the Kiahuna Plantation resort, wow, the food/service/location was absolutly wonderful. My next visit to Poipu Beach will likely be another rental, likely through Suite Paradise as we did our last visit. NOte the office is only open from 8-5pm, keys can be left. Mahalo, Mark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner at the Kiahuna Plantation Plantation Garden restaurant. My wife had the Coconut Curry Seafood Stew and I had the Pork Tenderloin = WOW!

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
couple from Seattle
Business
Seattle
Jan 5, 2010

fantastic shorefront location

We could watch the whales and turtles right from our balcony, and the sandy (if crowded) beach was only a 5-minute walk. Our condo was recently updated and spotless; however I know that some units vary. We loved staying at the Castle Shores and would definitely choose this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Waimea Canyon is an hour away by car. Try to hit it early for fantastic early morning sun and to avoid the clouds which sometimes blow in in the afternoon. Take shoes that have good soles: the trails can be slippery.

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Dec 31, 2009

Our fifth trip and perhaps best location

Our top floor two bedroom - two bath condo was very nice. Views of the whales and dolphins from the deck. Poipu Beach is adjacent to the condo and perfect for a variety of water activities...snorkling,surfing, swimming, wave boards and more. The staff at the Poipu Shores were great and helpful. Although we had been to Kauai a number of times, they shared additional information to make our trip even better. Our family has stayed at two of the high end resort hotels. But, we really appreciated what Poipu Shores had to offer. A spacious place to stay...separate baths and bedrooms...A large fully equiped kitchen...guide books and books to read...wave boards and beach mats in the room...DVD movies and games in the room...all at no extra cost...almost forgot the washer and drier in the condo! The views can't be beat...The best on the island. If you are looking for a place with a swim up bar and on site restaurant this isn't for you. But, those are all available just a short walk down the street. The only downside is that the condos are aging a bit...bit still very well maintained. Some units have been refurbished with walk in showers, granite counter, etc...but, most probably not. But, that is not why you come to Kaui. Get out, explore and hike the island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbeezer
Business
Nipomo
Dec 24, 2009

Kauai

Premium location, smaller complex right on the lava at Poipu. Two bedroom/bath units means four people will be easy. No waiting for the bath and no left over bedding in the living area for breakfast. Private seaside walking path with gate directly to the beach. Stay on top floor for best view, lowest level for grassy lawn access. Full view of the western sky for sunsets. Turtles, dolphins, manta rays and whales directly in front of you in the water. Walk out on the lava pillows to fish, but don't turn your back on the ocean! Staff is friendly and very helpful... if you have questions about the Island these folks are glad to share some info. Maholo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver, co
Dec 19, 2009

superior, groovy location

We relaxed and did a lot of recreational reading. On the ocean, so no traffic noise. Sound of waves crashing was hypnotic. Great place to observe our wedding anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Merrimans (both upstairs and ground level)

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 29, 2009

Modest accomodation, specacular view

One can't get a room much closer to the ocean than at the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort... the waves crashed constantly right underneath the balcony, but we didn't mind a bit. Our 2 br 2 bth unit was quiet (excepting the roar of the ocean!), clean and as advertised in every respect. Modestly appointed with rattan furniture, soft but inexpensive beds, it reminded us of a sea cottage circa 1975, but this didn't detract from our enjoyment... perhaps it enhanced our comfort level. Do skip, however, the garish restaurant/deli down the street (Brannekes). The expensive dining options we tried (Hyatt, Sheraton, The Beach House) were just OK or a bit better, so don't expect world-class food on this island. We liked the tour given at National Botanical Gardens (Allerton) and the 4-hr catamaran cruise around the Na Pali coast via Blue Dolphin charters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane
Sep 11, 2009

A great stay!

Late check-in was extremely easy. Our room was open and clean, with comfortable furniture and a fully furnished lanai. The staff are fantastic, and the resort is much more welcoming and home-like than the more tourist-like locations back down the road. It is one of the last resorts on Pe'e road so keep driving; however, it is one of the closest to Poipu beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Monico's in Kapa'a, and The Shrimp Station near Waimea! Great food, good prices

Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ca.
Sep 9, 2009

Beautiful location

If you enjoy the pounding surf (it's very loud at night, but we loved it!)right below you, Poipu Shores is your place to stay. I'd say it's probably closer to water and has some of the best views of any place on Kauai. We were upgraded to a 3 bdrm. on 3rd floor with huge balcony that overlooked pool and turtles in the surf. Absolutely incredible views. We ate almost every meal on balcony, because you would never find a view like that at a restaurant. There were little things about unit I could nitpick about (very small kitchen, no light above master shower etc.) but who cares---we were there for the location, otherwise we would have stayed in a giant hotel with a billion kids and snobby people! Overall it was a very nice unit. The ladies who worked in office were both incredibly helpful and nice. Pool was beautiful, grounds very clean and nice, nice bbq areas. We loved Castle Poipu Shores and can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top