$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
View map of 1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco Bay Area
Jul 27, 2011

Great Location

We had a great time. The view and the crashing waves made it difficult to leave. We had been to other parts of Kauai before so we had seen a lot of the island already. This trip was totally relaxing and wonderful. The condo was great and the owners left many interesting notes for people who rent their place. They seem like nice people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was great to walk in either direction from the condo along the beach and cliffs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ROXANN933
Business
NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
Jun 15, 2011

OUTSTANDING RELAXING GETAWAY

CONDO WAS PERFECT. EVERYTHING AVAILABLE FOR THE STAY. LOCATION ABOVE CRASHING WAVES LULLED US TO SLEEP EACH NIGHT. COOL BREEZE MADE AIR CONDITIONING NOT NEEDED. BEACHES WELL WITHIN WALKING AND OVERALL SUPPORT BY STAFF EXCELLENT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

GROCERY STORES IN KOLOA JUST AS CHEAP AS LIHUE. SAVE THE DRIVE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duluth, Minnesota
Feb 1, 2011

Beautiful, exceeded our expectations.

Awesome accomodations, beautiful oceanfront view. I highly recommend Poipu Shores to anyone visiting Kauai. The housekeeping was excellent and the people were very friendly. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Smith Family Luau was very entertaining, informative and the food was outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Dec 18, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
Aug 7, 2010

Unbelievable location!

Amazing unit for location. Waves breaking directly below us 24/7. We kept taking pictures to document the views. Really enjoyed having a townhouse with views from both floors. They gave us a free upgrade for seemingly the best view. The unit was suitable for us but could maybe be updated, older carpet, etc. Enjoyed the "glass-louvered" windows to hear the waves and for the ocean breeze. Pleasant, helpful Staff. Automatic lighting at the back of the unit every night for security. We did need to keep our sliding glass doors closed and locked every night, even on the second floor. Could maybe use added security as there were reported break-ins on the Island and the location is somewhat remote being right over the ocean. The pool was clean and nice with waves sometimes breaking to "spray" into the pool area (I told you it was just above the ocean.) Parking completely adequate for us. Close enough to walk to area beaches (Poipu) and to a Restaurant and snack bar at "Brennecke's." The snack bar has breakfast items, laundry soap. Well-stocked kitchen in the townhouse for meals or grilling at home. They also provided paper towels, dish soap, etc. Nice washer and dryer upstairs. Safe provided in the unit. We snorkeled at Lydgate Park, swam in front of the Sheraton, took an ocean raft trip (pretty rough) to see turtles, took a canoe trip to a swimming hole, saw waterfalls, Sheraton Luau, and snorkeled at Anini on the North Shore. Recommend "Pink's" ice cream in Hanalei. This was the best location we have had in Kauai (third trip here) and we enjoyed the quiet, "homey" feel to the property. Our guidebook suggested that people ask for an "upgraded" unit when reserving. We had a "deluxe" two bedroom. All units are ocean-front. Maybe ask for additional security if possible. Don't expect a fancy hotel but more of a traditional, homestyle property. Memorable ocean-front stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Keoki's Paradise has good "happy hour" prices on some food and drinks from 3-5 pm when we were there. Nice location and ambiance. Most places are expensive for dinner. "Brennecke's" also has "happy hour" at the same time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Jul 22, 2010

beautiful

very noisy our neignbors were really drunk and loud the whole trip and the management wouldnt do a thing to help us. it was a very upseting trip because we couldnt sleep at night. the managers wouldnt even answer an eamil about the problems and front desk managers wouldnt do a thing .. if you have problems dont expect help from this property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
May 26, 2010

Wonderful place to stay

We had rooms that overlooked the ocean and we watched sea turtles swim below us. The condo was very clean and furniture in good shape. The balcony was nice to set on with the other couple who was vacationing with us. Parking is a little cramped but we made do. The price was reasonable and we had good service upon check in. We went all over the island hitting all the fun spots that tourists normally do. This condo was affordable, nice view and just a great place to stay at. Judy Russell Tucson, Arizona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
abialac
Business
gilbert, az
May 24, 2010

What a view

The view was exceptional the hotel was great no complaints at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joes on the green for breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buckinghamshire, UK
May 3, 2010

Perfect location and facilities

We wanted a restful holiday in a great location. Having visited Kaua'i on a few previous occasions, we know what it has to offer by way of ocean views, sunsets and awesome sea life such as turtles and whales. We were not disappointed in anyway with our stay at Poipu Shores. The condo was perfect for us. We did even less than we had planned as we really didn't need to go far from it to enjoy relaxing in great weather, with great sea views whilst being as close as you can get to the beautiful turtles and watching whales from the lanai. We didn't miss out on the sunsets from the lanai either! We didn't eat out much as we were so happy and comfortable at the condo but there is plenty of choice within walking distance or a very short car ride. We consider ourselves quite fussy and know what we like - we loved Poipu Shores and plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We were recommended by the hotel reception to make dinner reservations for wherever we wanted to go - this was a good recommendation that we would pass on to others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 18, 2010

Fabulous location

First...the location is fabulous...right on the water...on an elevated lava ledge. We were seranaded by the ocean at all times. Loved it. The condos themselves are dated and in need of upgrading. It was satisfactory as it fullfilled our needs for a rendezvous point in between adventures...and of course to sleep. We did much site seeing and dining at some great restaurants. If the facility were more modern it would have rated higher...but for location and launching point for island exlporation...it was quite acceptable. We hit all the hot spots including the Beachouse etc. We thought Roys was the best...and Casablanca...all in Poipu were our favorites. All are costly...but expected since you are far from the mainland and in genuine paradise. Loved Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 7, 2010

Poipu Shores (March 2010)

Fantastic oceanfront location, a short walk to the beach. Condo in excellent condition. Friendly office/management staff. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top