$359 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

3 stars
1775 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
35 reviews
Castle Poipu

We had one of the most relaxing best vacations we have ever had!!! we usually go on cruises but... See full review

  • Tall Paulie
  • May 27, 2014
One of the most amazing spots in the world

This is a stunning complex not only on the ocean, but all but in it. as it sits on a rocky point... See full review

  • macbyron
  • Feb 28, 2012
Panoramic Pacific views and convenience at Poipu condominium resort
Accommodations at Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort have many amenities, including each one looking out on the ocean along the sunny south shore of Kauai. The spacious units, housed in a four-story building that directly faces the Pacific, have elevator access and upscale amenities. Guests can even have their condominium stocked with food for their arrival. For families, the gentle waters of Poipu Beach Park are only about a quarter mile away, and Poipu Bay Golf Course, former home of the PGA Grand Slam of Golf, is less than two miles away.
Highlights
  • Every condominium is oceanfront
  • A freshwater pool just above the surf and spray
  • Guests can catch sight of a sea turtle from their lanai
  • Barbecue area for al fresco dining and socializing
Location
Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is located within Poipu Beach Resort on the sunny south shore of Kauai. One of the most popular resort areas of the island, and arguably the one with the best weather, Poipu is noted for its upscale lodging and dining options and a number of the best beaches on the island, especially for swimmers and young families.
Rooms
The 26 condominiums in the Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort rental pool range from one to three bedrooms, 850 to 1,200 square feet. All units have a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, private lanai and washer/dryer. Each condominium is individually furnished, but most feature wood or rattan and tropical prints that bring Hawaii into your living space.
Features
The best thing about Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort is that guests have easy access to all that the Poipu resort area offers, from golf, biking, tennis and water sports to family parks and opulent spas. Yes, there is an oceanfront pool here, so for those who want to put their feet up and lounge in the sun at the edge of the surf, they can do that, too. Come evening, guests have every convenience in their condo, and all the restaurants of Poipu just out the door.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • Taxis, other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Beach Park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kipu Ranch Adventures (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (25.6 mi/41 km)
Business
  • Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort guests stay connected via wired high speed Internet access in every condominium
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts provides mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort Rooms

1 Bedroom/1 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; most have private lanai; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Oceanfront Suite
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Deluxe Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; deluxe indicates a larger room, an expansive view, or additional windows for end suites; 1 queen or 1 king, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront Penthouse
Floor to ceiling windows open to a large lanai that offers 270 degree view of the coastline, reputedly the most spectacular ocean and sunset views in Poipu. Completely renovated in 2009, this 3-bedroom, 3-bath Penthouse features new furniture, modern appliances and a flat screen television, with a Jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom bath. It is equipped with 1 king, 1 queen and a trundle bed that converts into 2 twin beds. Sleeps up to 6 persons.
3 Bedroom/3 Bath Oceanfront
Completely unobstructed ocean view; private lanai; 1 king, 1 queen, 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
usa
Dec 18, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
Aug 7, 2010

Unbelievable location!

Amazing unit for location. Waves breaking directly below us 24/7. We kept taking pictures to document the views. Really enjoyed having a townhouse with views from both floors. They gave us a free upgrade for seemingly the best view. The unit was suitable for us but could maybe be updated, older carpet, etc. Enjoyed the "glass-louvered" windows to hear the waves and for the ocean breeze. Pleasant, helpful Staff. Automatic lighting at the back of the unit every night for security. We did need to keep our sliding glass doors closed and locked every night, even on the second floor. Could maybe use added security as there were reported break-ins on the Island and the location is somewhat remote being right over the ocean. The pool was clean and nice with waves sometimes breaking to "spray" into the pool area (I told you it was just above the ocean.) Parking completely adequate for us. Close enough to walk to area beaches (Poipu) and to a Restaurant and snack bar at "Brennecke's." The snack bar has breakfast items, laundry soap. Well-stocked kitchen in the townhouse for meals or grilling at home. They also provided paper towels, dish soap, etc. Nice washer and dryer upstairs. Safe provided in the unit. We snorkeled at Lydgate Park, swam in front of the Sheraton, took an ocean raft trip (pretty rough) to see turtles, took a canoe trip to a swimming hole, saw waterfalls, Sheraton Luau, and snorkeled at Anini on the North Shore. Recommend "Pink's" ice cream in Hanalei. This was the best location we have had in Kauai (third trip here) and we enjoyed the quiet, "homey" feel to the property. Our guidebook suggested that people ask for an "upgraded" unit when reserving. We had a "deluxe" two bedroom. All units are ocean-front. Maybe ask for additional security if possible. Don't expect a fancy hotel but more of a traditional, homestyle property. Memorable ocean-front stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Keoki's Paradise has good "happy hour" prices on some food and drinks from 3-5 pm when we were there. Nice location and ambiance. Most places are expensive for dinner. "Brennecke's" also has "happy hour" at the same time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Jul 22, 2010

beautiful

very noisy our neignbors were really drunk and loud the whole trip and the management wouldnt do a thing to help us. it was a very upseting trip because we couldnt sleep at night. the managers wouldnt even answer an eamil about the problems and front desk managers wouldnt do a thing .. if you have problems dont expect help from this property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
May 26, 2010

Wonderful place to stay

We had rooms that overlooked the ocean and we watched sea turtles swim below us. The condo was very clean and furniture in good shape. The balcony was nice to set on with the other couple who was vacationing with us. Parking is a little cramped but we made do. The price was reasonable and we had good service upon check in. We went all over the island hitting all the fun spots that tourists normally do. This condo was affordable, nice view and just a great place to stay at. Judy Russell Tucson, Arizona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
abialac
Business
gilbert, az
May 24, 2010

What a view

The view was exceptional the hotel was great no complaints at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joes on the green for breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buckinghamshire, UK
May 3, 2010

Perfect location and facilities

We wanted a restful holiday in a great location. Having visited Kaua'i on a few previous occasions, we know what it has to offer by way of ocean views, sunsets and awesome sea life such as turtles and whales. We were not disappointed in anyway with our stay at Poipu Shores. The condo was perfect for us. We did even less than we had planned as we really didn't need to go far from it to enjoy relaxing in great weather, with great sea views whilst being as close as you can get to the beautiful turtles and watching whales from the lanai. We didn't miss out on the sunsets from the lanai either! We didn't eat out much as we were so happy and comfortable at the condo but there is plenty of choice within walking distance or a very short car ride. We consider ourselves quite fussy and know what we like - we loved Poipu Shores and plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We were recommended by the hotel reception to make dinner reservations for wherever we wanted to go - this was a good recommendation that we would pass on to others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Apr 18, 2010

Fabulous location

First...the location is fabulous...right on the water...on an elevated lava ledge. We were seranaded by the ocean at all times. Loved it. The condos themselves are dated and in need of upgrading. It was satisfactory as it fullfilled our needs for a rendezvous point in between adventures...and of course to sleep. We did much site seeing and dining at some great restaurants. If the facility were more modern it would have rated higher...but for location and launching point for island exlporation...it was quite acceptable. We hit all the hot spots including the Beachouse etc. We thought Roys was the best...and Casablanca...all in Poipu were our favorites. All are costly...but expected since you are far from the mainland and in genuine paradise. Loved Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 7, 2010

Poipu Shores (March 2010)

Fantastic oceanfront location, a short walk to the beach. Condo in excellent condition. Friendly office/management staff. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roglaurie
Business
Visalia, ca
Feb 20, 2010

Poipu Shores

The waves crashing so close 24 hours a day was awesome. The best 7 nights of sleep we've had in a long time. Great staff. [...], the manager, was fantastic. Wailua Kayaking was great. The beaches are really good. Golf at Kiahuna was really nice. Dinner at The Beach House was the best dinner we had all week! A must for at least one dinner date. We will be back, for sure. Oh, our unit, #204A is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wailua Kayaking. Ask for [...] as your guide.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Poipu Shores Condominium Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seattlelites to the Sun
Business
Seattle.
Jan 27, 2010

Trip Thoughts to Poipu Shores

Just OK, my wife and I wanted to get away, our 4th trip to Poipu Beach area. Booked a superior deluxe room (extra $$'s) ocean front for a week. Will not stay at this hotel again. Since I travel for work, did not want to stay at a hotel, wanted a more home like feel. What we got at Poipu Shores was dirty rooms, musty smell, noisy rooms from neighbors and a ocean swell lava tube. Now some of you will say, an ocean swell lava tube is noisy??? Yes, and I mean loud, when large swells come through this, about every 30 seconds, the rooms/building shake. As long as I had ear plugs, it's like living next to a freeway, you get used to it. Did have issues with cockroaches, cat fights. Beds were very uncomfortable, oh my back!!!! The stereo, one channel did not work, so since I was here a week, I did simple surgery on some connections, now works great, programmed the thing for my I-Tune player, direct patch. The hotel sits on a bluff/point and it is ocean front. About 500 yards to the southeast of Brenecke's Beach, very nice. The pool was small, used it one afternoon, but the local beaches are so much nicer. We used Condo Ready Guest Services for their pkg of beach chairs/umbrella/mat, and a huge arrangement of flowers, WOW!! - nice job [...], my friends, use this company for all your Poipu Beach condo needs. Their number is 866-977-3239. We also used the book, the "Ultimate Kauai Guidebook, got on Amazon for $11. Paid for itself in one day. Love the restaurant at the "Plantation Garden" at the Kiahuna Plantation resort, wow, the food/service/location was absolutly wonderful. My next visit to Poipu Beach will likely be another rental, likely through Suite Paradise as we did our last visit. NOte the office is only open from 8-5pm, keys can be left. Mahalo, Mark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner at the Kiahuna Plantation Plantation Garden restaurant. My wife had the Coconut Curry Seafood Stew and I had the Pork Tenderloin = WOW!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top