$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 13, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

3 stars
1661 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
24 reviews
Wonderful and relaxing 14 day family vacation

Staff is wonderful and very accomodating. We did not like the first unit we were placed in. Spoke... See full review

  • Supermom of 2
  • Jul 26, 2014
Castle Makahuena Condominium at Poipu

My husband attended a medical conference for several days and we typically take extra time to enjoy... See full review

  • Dan's girl
  • Apr 17, 2010
See the sun rise and set over the water from these Poipu condominiums
One- to three-bedroom condominiums are housed in low-rise, walk-up buildings perched above a rocky shoreline. Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu spreads across nearly four acres of lawn and tropical plantings splashed with the vivid hues of bougainvillea and hibiscus. This is the southernmost point of Kauai, and in Makahuena, it is possible to see both sunrise and sunset from your oceanfront vacation home. While there is no beach directly in front of the resort, three of the beaches of Poipu are a 10-minute walk away.
Highlights
  • Located on the southernmost point of Kauai
  • Swimming pool, hot tub and tennis court on-site
  • Ten-minute walk to three beaches: Brennecke's, Poipu and Shipwreck
Location
Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu is located within Poipu Beach Resort along the southern coastline of Kauai. Poipu is upscale with world-class golf and a wide selection of restaurants, from open-air casual eateries at the beach or golf course to private dining rooms. If you long for a day of utter indulgence at a spa, Poipu has what you need.
Rooms
One-, two- and three-bedroom condominiums range from 732 to 1,380 square feet. Regardless of size or location, all rentals at Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu have a full kitchen, wet bar, washer/dryer, private lanai and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu is a resort for those who want the conveniences of home but do not need every amenity and recreation option within yards of the condominium. That does not mean there is nothing to do here. Far from it. The resort has a pool and tennis court, and barbecue areas with grills for cooking under Hawaiian stars with friends and family.
Recreation
Each of the three beaches walking-distance from Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu offers something different. Brennecke's is a favorite of body boarders while advanced surfers like the challenging break at Shipwreck Beach. Award-winning Poipu Beach is a series of crescents where water lovers can swim, snorkel, boogie board and surf, depending on the particular stretch of shoreline.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (14.9 mi/23.9 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (26.5 mi/42.6 km)
  • Hanalei Beach Park (44.7 mi/72 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access keeps travelers connected to work
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8719 -159.4442
Area served
Poipu Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport-LIH
Area description
Makahuena at Poipu is an oceanfront condominium located on the southernmost point of Kauai.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu Rooms

1 Bedroom Garden View Suite
Overlooking tropical gardens or pool; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Suite
View of tropical flora including Queen Emma Spider Lilies, mondo grass, heliotrope trees, hibiscus, bougainvillea, and ti-leaf plants; 1 king, or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial ocean view from the lanai and view of tropical gardens consisting of hibiscus, bougainvillea, gardenias, Manila palms, and Queen Emma spider lilies; 1 king or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Ocean View Suite
Ocean views overlooking tropical gardens or pool; 1 king or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Supermom of 2
Business
Poipu
Jul 26, 2014

Wonderful and relaxing 14 day family vacation

Staff is wonderful and very accomodating. We did not like the first unit we were placed in. Spoke with the staff and manager and they placed us in a beautiful unit that fit us to a tee for our 2 week vacation. Pool is refreshing, and beach and hiking are with in walking distance. We sat on the rocks right on the complex and actually saw sea turtles, fish, and rays. So beautiful in Poipu. Sunset from complex is absolutely amazing. You can hear and see the ocean and waves from your unit. Very soothing. Love it here. It was our 5th time staying there and will definetly be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine at Keoki's and Kalapaki Joe's. Wonderful food. Puka Dogs is amazing for a snack or small lunch. Try to avoid Tropical burgers paradise. Breakfast is good there, but dinner and lunch are not. A little pricey for what they offer however their staff are amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach lover Lea
Business
Redlands
May 27, 2012

Excellent location for an affordable price!

We had four adults in a two bedroom two bath condo with partial ocean view (room 1105 - one queen bed and two twin beds) and we had plenty of space. We had service every other day to change out towels, vacuum, and she even ran our dish washer. This is not a luxurious hotel with room service, it is more of a home away from home. We used our equipped kitchen to make meals and BBQ. Poipu beach and Koloa are close- but we did drive everywhere and there was plenty of parking everywhere we went. Loved the washer & dryer-we were able to pack much lighter. Our room was on the bottom floor and close to the pool-they provide beach towels upon request. Loved it and plan to stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kamaaina visiting family
Business
Oahu, Hawaii, USA
Jan 11, 2012

WIndy and noisy

The place was nice and comfortable enough inside, but the location of our unit next to the parking lot and barbeque area made for a very noisy stay - even after 10 pm quiet hours. No one was on staff to complain to, so we had to deal with it ourselves. No view for us either, and the constant wind put a damper on enjoying any winter sun that peeked thru the clouds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fredddie
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 3, 2011

Average Plus

Enjoyed the ocean view and the hot tub, close walk to beach. Property is showing it's age a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snorkle fool
Business
palm desert ca
Jul 6, 2011

very comfortable condo ,great location

the condo was furnished with everything you could imagine, top of the line appliances including washer dryer high speed internet and wi-fi hi def tv with bluray player ect.. even some beach gear chairs mats boogie board and now a beach umbrella we donated.decor was contempearary with a tropical flair.the lani was nice with tables and chairs to enjoy the surprisingly good ocean view ( condo lists as partial view)location was very close to poipu beach and a very nice walking trail toward shipwreck beach. the only negitive ..complex did get noisy, the sound travels and with everyone's windows open for the wonderful evening breeze some of the not so considerent guests were annoying. otherwise great experience...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spencerrob
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Apr 20, 2011

All that you could hope for!

The Makahuena is in a fantastic location at the end of a hotel resort area. It sits on a cliff looking out over the Ocean with 180 deg views. On pulling into the parking lot, we were greeted with a huge whale breaching not 200 yards off shore. Our room (a 3br ocean view)while older is in great shape. comfortable beds and breathtaking views from the balcony. All 6 members of our party were blow away by the value and the setting of this island paradise. Will be coming back here on out next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

While Pricing you have to take the 4 mile drive down to the Beach House for a culinary experience that you will not soon forget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Dec 20, 2010

Oceanfront Property at Poipu

Loved the location, property is oceanfront and the east side has an outrageous sunrise oceanview. Great place to whale watch. We were upgraded to a third floor 2 bed, 2 bath for the price of a one bed garden view. Would not recommend the lower floor units, no view and they look dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to start your morning hikes. You can hike for miles in either direction!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Makahuena in Poipu
Business
Golden, Colorado
Dec 12, 2010

Hawaiin Condo

Beautiful location and grounds - The property is dated however and the furnishings are old and sparse...The maid service was average (they did it on our 3rd day and we had to go the last 4+ days without). As with most condo style vacations, the level of service and ammenities was very low...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Poipo beach was a great spot for families with small children (Lydgate was also very nice, however a 35 minute drive from the property).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Oct 8, 2010

Great low-key spot

Didn't look like too much from the outside, but our condo was very nice, clean, and perfect for us on our honeymoon. If we could do it all over again we would have stayed on the North Shore, however if we go back to Poipu again - we'll likely stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk to Shipwreck's Beach is totally worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 4, 2010

Hawaiian Getaway

The condominium was in a great location right next to the beach. We had a fantastic view of the ocean from the back porch with the waves crashing to the rocks below. Friendly and helpful staff. The unit was clean and nicely furnished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top