$359 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 25, 2015

Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

3 stars
1661 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
24 reviews
Wonderful and relaxing 14 day family vacation

Staff is wonderful and very accomodating. We did not like the first unit we were placed in. Spoke... See full review

  • Supermom of 2
  • Jul 26, 2014
Castle Makahuena Condominium at Poipu

My husband attended a medical conference for several days and we typically take extra time to enjoy... See full review

  • Dan's girl
  • Apr 17, 2010
See the sun rise and set over the water from these Poipu condominiums
One- to three-bedroom condominiums are housed in low-rise, walk-up buildings perched above a rocky shoreline. Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu spreads across nearly four acres of lawn and tropical plantings splashed with the vivid hues of bougainvillea and hibiscus. This is the southernmost point of Kauai, and in Makahuena, it is possible to see both sunrise and sunset from your oceanfront vacation home. While there is no beach directly in front of the resort, three of the beaches of Poipu are a 10-minute walk away.
Highlights
  • Located on the southernmost point of Kauai
  • Swimming pool, hot tub and tennis court on-site
  • Ten-minute walk to three beaches: Brennecke's, Poipu and Shipwreck
Location
Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu is located within Poipu Beach Resort along the southern coastline of Kauai. Poipu is upscale with world-class golf and a wide selection of restaurants, from open-air casual eateries at the beach or golf course to private dining rooms. If you long for a day of utter indulgence at a spa, Poipu has what you need.
Rooms
One-, two- and three-bedroom condominiums range from 732 to 1,380 square feet. Regardless of size or location, all rentals at Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu have a full kitchen, wet bar, washer/dryer, private lanai and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu is a resort for those who want the conveniences of home but do not need every amenity and recreation option within yards of the condominium. That does not mean there is nothing to do here. Far from it. The resort has a pool and tennis court, and barbecue areas with grills for cooking under Hawaiian stars with friends and family.
Recreation
Each of the three beaches walking-distance from Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu offers something different. Brennecke's is a favorite of body boarders while advanced surfers like the challenging break at Shipwreck Beach. Award-winning Poipu Beach is a series of crescents where water lovers can swim, snorkel, boogie board and surf, depending on the particular stretch of shoreline.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (14.9 mi/23.9 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (26.5 mi/42.6 km)
  • Hanalei Beach Park (44.7 mi/72 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access keeps travelers connected to work
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu Rooms

1 Bedroom Garden View Suite
Overlooking tropical gardens or pool; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Suite
View of tropical flora including Queen Emma Spider Lilies, mondo grass, heliotrope trees, hibiscus, bougainvillea, and ti-leaf plants; 1 king, or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial ocean view from the lanai and view of tropical gardens consisting of hibiscus, bougainvillea, gardenias, Manila palms, and Queen Emma spider lilies; 1 king or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Ocean View Suite
Ocean views overlooking tropical gardens or pool; 1 king or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kamaaina visiting family
Business
Oahu, Hawaii, USA
Jan 11, 2012

WIndy and noisy

The place was nice and comfortable enough inside, but the location of our unit next to the parking lot and barbeque area made for a very noisy stay - even after 10 pm quiet hours. No one was on staff to complain to, so we had to deal with it ourselves. No view for us either, and the constant wind put a damper on enjoying any winter sun that peeked thru the clouds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fredddie
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 3, 2011

Average Plus

Enjoyed the ocean view and the hot tub, close walk to beach. Property is showing it's age a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 22, 2009

Great Service, decent condo

Very friendly and accommodating service, relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want a condo with beach access, this is not the one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Makahuena in Poipu
Business
Golden, Colorado
Dec 12, 2010

Hawaiin Condo

Beautiful location and grounds - The property is dated however and the furnishings are old and sparse...The maid service was average (they did it on our 3rd day and we had to go the last 4+ days without). As with most condo style vacations, the level of service and ammenities was very low...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Poipo beach was a great spot for families with small children (Lydgate was also very nice, however a 35 minute drive from the property).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debie
Business
San Francisco
Apr 19, 2010

Had a great time

The location was great and the space was wonderful. We had a lovely garden and were able to sit and listen to the waves pounding the rocks. It was very convenient to have a full kitchen and washer and dryer. We would certainly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Didn't take long to get to a Shopping center north that provided a K Mart to get staples for the kitchen and we took advantage of the Farmer's Market and got incredible produce.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach lover Lea
Business
Redlands
May 27, 2012

Excellent location for an affordable price!

We had four adults in a two bedroom two bath condo with partial ocean view (room 1105 - one queen bed and two twin beds) and we had plenty of space. We had service every other day to change out towels, vacuum, and she even ran our dish washer. This is not a luxurious hotel with room service, it is more of a home away from home. We used our equipped kitchen to make meals and BBQ. Poipu beach and Koloa are close- but we did drive everywhere and there was plenty of parking everywhere we went. Loved the washer & dryer-we were able to pack much lighter. Our room was on the bottom floor and close to the pool-they provide beach towels upon request. Loved it and plan to stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 28, 2007

Awesome views and sunsets

The Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu, is a great value for the location. The beach wasn't as close as I expected, but a short car ride did the trick. The resort's pool and spa were down for maintanence the majority of time we wre there, which was only 3 days, so it put a bit of a damper on our poolside relaxation, but we found plenty of other things to do. We were in a 2 bedroom ocean front condo which was very spacious and was right on the cliff so you not only got an ocean view with beautiful sunsets but also a magnificent display of waves crashing on the rocks sending sprays of water into the air. BREATHTAKING! Overall our stay was very nice, the price was great, views incredible, bed a bit saggy but clean and well kept. It does show signs of aging but I think they are in the process of taking care of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Roy's restaurant in the Poipu shopping center which is maybe 5 min away and also equally close in the opposite direction is the Grand Hyatt with their Tidepools restaurant, VERY ROMANTIC!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired Ama
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Aug 2, 2010

A great time was had by all

The staff were very helpful. They did forget to do the maid service on day 4 of 7 but were very apologetic, brought new towels etc. and scheduled it for the next day--which was no big deal for us. We were able to keep the room until 6 PM on the day of departure because we had a late flight out for a nominal fee and this gave us a whole day to play and then shower and get ready for the flight home. It was a wonderful bonus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within 0.5 miles is "Baby Beach" which has great waves for those kids capable in the water and who love boogie boarding--just down from there is Brennecke's--best shave ice on the island, a great deli and great dining upstairs. They are part of a family operation and if you book activities with them you can get discounts at their other enterprises--all worthwhile

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJJARDINI
Business
MONTGOMERY, IL
Mar 22, 2010

KAUAI hONEYMOON

THE VIEW WAS AWESOME! PART OF THE CONDO WAS UPGRADED, THIS MAY SOUND PICKEY, BUT THE FEW THINGS I WOULD CHANGE WOULD BE THE COFFEE TABLE WAS TOO HIGH FOR THE COUCH AND IT HAS A RAISED EDGE MAKING IT UNCOMFORTABLE TO PUT YOUR FEET UP AT THE END OF THE DAY. WE WOULD ALSO PROVIDE BEACH CHAIRS RATHER THAN MATS. OTHERWISE IT WAS PERFECT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

READ THE JOURNAL, PEOPLE HAVE LISTED THE GOOD PLACES TO EAT AND VISIT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Washington
Apr 18, 2010

Unforgetable paradise

We loved sitting on the rocks located infront of the hotel and looking at the sunset and watching turtles. This was the best condo we have ever stayed in. It's beautiful and very big. I would recomment staying on the bottom floor; the pool and water is right out your back door. Location is great, there are two great beaches within a 5 minute walk. I highly recomment this condo, it makes your experience in hawaii that much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beaches: Popui Beach and others located right next to it (Walking distance)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top