$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

3 stars
1661 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
40 reviews
Castle Makahuena Condominium at Poipu

My husband attended a medical conference for several days and we typically take extra time to enjoy... See full review

  • Dan's girl
  • Apr 17, 2010
Castle Makahuena Condominium at Poipu

My husband attended a medical conference for several days and we typically take extra time to enjoy... See full review

  • Dan's girl
  • Apr 17, 2010
See the sun rise and set over the water from these Poipu condominiums
One- to three-bedroom condominiums are housed in low-rise, walk-up buildings perched above a rocky shoreline. Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu spreads across nearly four acres of lawn and tropical plantings splashed with the vivid hues of bougainvillea and hibiscus. This is the southernmost point of Kauai, and in Makahuena, it is possible to see both sunrise and sunset from your oceanfront vacation home. While there is no beach directly in front of the resort, three of the beaches of Poipu are a 10-minute walk away.
Highlights
  • Located on the southernmost point of Kauai
  • Swimming pool, hot tub and tennis court on-site
  • Ten-minute walk to three beaches: Brennecke's, Poipu and Shipwreck
Location
Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu is located within Poipu Beach Resort along the southern coastline of Kauai. Poipu is upscale with world-class golf and a wide selection of restaurants, from open-air casual eateries at the beach or golf course to private dining rooms. If you long for a day of utter indulgence at a spa, Poipu has what you need.
Rooms
One-, two- and three-bedroom condominiums range from 732 to 1,380 square feet. Regardless of size or location, all rentals at Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu have a full kitchen, wet bar, washer/dryer, private lanai and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu is a resort for those who want the conveniences of home but do not need every amenity and recreation option within yards of the condominium. That does not mean there is nothing to do here. Far from it. The resort has a pool and tennis court, and barbecue areas with grills for cooking under Hawaiian stars with friends and family.
Recreation
Each of the three beaches walking-distance from Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu offers something different. Brennecke's is a favorite of body boarders while advanced surfers like the challenging break at Shipwreck Beach. Award-winning Poipu Beach is a series of crescents where water lovers can swim, snorkel, boogie board and surf, depending on the particular stretch of shoreline.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (14.9 mi/23.9 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (26.5 mi/42.6 km)
  • Hanalei Beach Park (44.7 mi/72 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access keeps travelers connected to work
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.8719 -159.4442
Area served
Poipu Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport-LIH
Area description
Makahuena at Poipu is an oceanfront condominium located on the southernmost point of Kauai.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu Rooms

1 Bedroom Garden View Suite
Overlooking tropical gardens or pool; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Suite
View of tropical flora including Queen Emma Spider Lilies, mondo grass, heliotrope trees, hibiscus, bougainvillea, and ti-leaf plants; 1 king, or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial ocean view from the lanai and view of tropical gardens consisting of hibiscus, bougainvillea, gardenias, Manila palms, and Queen Emma spider lilies; 1 king or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Ocean View Suite
Ocean views overlooking tropical gardens or pool; 1 king or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Oct 8, 2010

Great low-key spot

Didn't look like too much from the outside, but our condo was very nice, clean, and perfect for us on our honeymoon. If we could do it all over again we would have stayed on the North Shore, however if we go back to Poipu again - we'll likely stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk to Shipwreck's Beach is totally worth it!

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJJARDINI
MONTGOMERY, IL
Mar 22, 2010

KAUAI hONEYMOON

THE VIEW WAS AWESOME! PART OF THE CONDO WAS UPGRADED, THIS MAY SOUND PICKEY, BUT THE FEW THINGS I WOULD CHANGE WOULD BE THE COFFEE TABLE WAS TOO HIGH FOR THE COUCH AND IT HAS A RAISED EDGE MAKING IT UNCOMFORTABLE TO PUT YOUR FEET UP AT THE END OF THE DAY. WE WOULD ALSO PROVIDE BEACH CHAIRS RATHER THAN MATS. OTHERWISE IT WAS PERFECT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

READ THE JOURNAL, PEOPLE HAVE LISTED THE GOOD PLACES TO EAT AND VISIT.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, Washington
Apr 18, 2010

Unforgetable paradise

We loved sitting on the rocks located infront of the hotel and looking at the sunset and watching turtles. This was the best condo we have ever stayed in. It's beautiful and very big. I would recomment staying on the bottom floor; the pool and water is right out your back door. Location is great, there are two great beaches within a 5 minute walk. I highly recomment this condo, it makes your experience in hawaii that much better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Beaches: Popui Beach and others located right next to it (Walking distance)

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Laguna Beach, CA
Dec 20, 2010

Oceanfront Property at Poipu

Loved the location, property is oceanfront and the east side has an outrageous sunrise oceanview. Great place to whale watch. We were upgraded to a third floor 2 bed, 2 bath for the price of a one bed garden view. Would not recommend the lower floor units, no view and they look dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to start your morning hikes. You can hike for miles in either direction!

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJJARDINI
MONTGOMERY, IL
Mar 22, 2010

KAUAI hONEYMOON

THE VIEW WAS AWESOME! PART OF THE CONDO WAS UPGRADED, THIS MAY SOUND PICKEY, BUT THE FEW THINGS I WOULD CHANGE WOULD BE THE COFFEE TABLE WAS TOO HIGH FOR THE COUCH AND IT HAS A RAISED EDGE MAKING IT UNCOMFORTABLE TO PUT YOUR FEET UP AT THE END OF THE DAY. WE WOULD ALSO PROVIDE BEACH CHAIRS RATHER THAN MATS. OTHERWISE IT WAS PERFECT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

READ THE JOURNAL, PEOPLE HAVE LISTED THE GOOD PLACES TO EAT AND VISIT.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snorkle fool
palm desert ca
Jul 6, 2011

very comfortable condo ,great location

the condo was furnished with everything you could imagine, top of the line appliances including washer dryer high speed internet and wi-fi hi def tv with bluray player ect.. even some beach gear chairs mats boogie board and now a beach umbrella we donated.decor was contempearary with a tropical flair.the lani was nice with tables and chairs to enjoy the surprisingly good ocean view ( condo lists as partial view)location was very close to poipu beach and a very nice walking trail toward shipwreck beach. the only negitive ..complex did get noisy, the sound travels and with everyone's windows open for the wonderful evening breeze some of the not so considerent guests were annoying. otherwise great experience...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Oct 4, 2010

Hawaiian Getaway

The condominium was in a great location right next to the beach. We had a fantastic view of the ocean from the back porch with the waves crashing to the rocks below. Friendly and helpful staff. The unit was clean and nicely furnished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spencerrob
Walnut Creek, CA
Apr 20, 2011

All that you could hope for!

The Makahuena is in a fantastic location at the end of a hotel resort area. It sits on a cliff looking out over the Ocean with 180 deg views. On pulling into the parking lot, we were greeted with a huge whale breaching not 200 yards off shore. Our room (a 3br ocean view)while older is in great shape. comfortable beds and breathtaking views from the balcony. All 6 members of our party were blow away by the value and the setting of this island paradise. Will be coming back here on out next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

While Pricing you have to take the 4 mile drive down to the Beach House for a culinary experience that you will not soon forget.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Oct 8, 2010

Great low-key spot

Didn't look like too much from the outside, but our condo was very nice, clean, and perfect for us on our honeymoon. If we could do it all over again we would have stayed on the North Shore, however if we go back to Poipu again - we'll likely stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk to Shipwreck's Beach is totally worth it!

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 28, 2007

Awesome views and sunsets

The Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu, is a great value for the location. The beach wasn't as close as I expected, but a short car ride did the trick. The resort's pool and spa were down for maintanence the majority of time we wre there, which was only 3 days, so it put a bit of a damper on our poolside relaxation, but we found plenty of other things to do. We were in a 2 bedroom ocean front condo which was very spacious and was right on the cliff so you not only got an ocean view with beautiful sunsets but also a magnificent display of waves crashing on the rocks sending sprays of water into the air. BREATHTAKING! Overall our stay was very nice, the price was great, views incredible, bed a bit saggy but clean and well kept. It does show signs of aging but I think they are in the process of taking care of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Roy's restaurant in the Poipu shopping center which is maybe 5 min away and also equally close in the opposite direction is the Grand Hyatt with their Tidepools restaurant, VERY ROMANTIC!

Back to menu Return to top