$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

3 stars
1661 Pe'e Road, Kauai, Poipu, HI 96756
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
40 reviews
Castle Makahuena Condominium at Poipu

My husband attended a medical conference for several days and we typically take extra time to enjoy... See full review

  • Dan's girl
  • Apr 17, 2010
Castle Makahuena Condominium at Poipu

My husband attended a medical conference for several days and we typically take extra time to enjoy... See full review

  • Dan's girl
  • Apr 17, 2010
See the sun rise and set over the water from these Poipu condominiums
One- to three-bedroom condominiums are housed in low-rise, walk-up buildings perched above a rocky shoreline. Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu spreads across nearly four acres of lawn and tropical plantings splashed with the vivid hues of bougainvillea and hibiscus. This is the southernmost point of Kauai, and in Makahuena, it is possible to see both sunrise and sunset from your oceanfront vacation home. While there is no beach directly in front of the resort, three of the beaches of Poipu are a 10-minute walk away.
Highlights
  • Located on the southernmost point of Kauai
  • Swimming pool, hot tub and tennis court on-site
  • Ten-minute walk to three beaches: Brennecke's, Poipu and Shipwreck
Location
Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu is located within Poipu Beach Resort along the southern coastline of Kauai. Poipu is upscale with world-class golf and a wide selection of restaurants, from open-air casual eateries at the beach or golf course to private dining rooms. If you long for a day of utter indulgence at a spa, Poipu has what you need.
Rooms
One-, two- and three-bedroom condominiums range from 732 to 1,380 square feet. Regardless of size or location, all rentals at Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu have a full kitchen, wet bar, washer/dryer, private lanai and free high-speed Internet access.
Features
Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu is a resort for those who want the conveniences of home but do not need every amenity and recreation option within yards of the condominium. That does not mean there is nothing to do here. Far from it. The resort has a pool and tennis court, and barbecue areas with grills for cooking under Hawaiian stars with friends and family.
Recreation
Each of the three beaches walking-distance from Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu offers something different. Brennecke's is a favorite of body boarders while advanced surfers like the challenging break at Shipwreck Beach. Award-winning Poipu Beach is a series of crescents where water lovers can swim, snorkel, boogie board and surf, depending on the particular stretch of shoreline.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
  • Taxis and other transportation available
Attractions
  • Poipu Bay Resort Golf Course (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Spouting Horn Beach Park (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (14.9 mi/23.9 km)
  • Waimea Canyon (26.5 mi/42.6 km)
  • Hanalei Beach Park (44.7 mi/72 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access keeps travelers connected to work
Policies and fees
Castle Resorts will provide mid-stay housekeeping service for stays that are seven days or longer, which includes changing of linens and towels, vacuuming, and cleaning of bathrooms as well as kitchens. As a result, these properties will not be offering daily maid service in lieu of this mid-stay clean. Guests who are staying less than seven days can purchase additional housekeeping services at nominal costs. Extra towels and amenities will be provided in each unit prior to check-in. Guests can request for replenishment of the bath amenities (shampoo, soap, toilet tissues) at any time without charge. There will be a small fee for the replacement of towels/linens.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu Rooms

1 Bedroom Garden View Suite
Overlooking tropical gardens or pool; 1 queen; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Garden View Suite
View of tropical flora including Queen Emma Spider Lilies, mondo grass, heliotrope trees, hibiscus, bougainvillea, and ti-leaf plants; 1 king, or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial ocean view from the lanai and view of tropical gardens consisting of hibiscus, bougainvillea, gardenias, Manila palms, and Queen Emma spider lilies; 1 king or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting.Free high-speed Internet access.
2 Bedroom/2 Bath Ocean View Suite
Ocean views overlooking tropical gardens or pool; 1 king or 1 queen, and 2 twins; each suite has been individually furnished and designed to create a unique setting. Free high-speed Internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.8719 -159.4442
Area served
Poipu Kauai, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Lihue Airport-LIH
Area description
Makahuena at Poipu is an oceanfront condominium located on the southernmost point of Kauai.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mcallen, TX
Jul 28, 2008

Tranquility with a capital T

Ocean waves pounding against the cliffs seem to rock you to sleep each night and the sunsets are amazing over the deep blue Pacific ocean. You'll find yourself within walking distance to Poipu & Shipwreck Beach along with fabulous dining and shops nearby. This facility is very centrally located for whatever your adventure of the day may be. Mahalo!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Private lighted pathways take you quickly and safely to nearby surfs, boogie board hot spots and snorkeling.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan's girl
Buffalo, NY
Apr 17, 2010

Castle Makahuena Condominium at Poipu

My husband attended a medical conference for several days and we typically take extra time to enjoy the area. The condo was better than we expected-beautiful, spacious, clean, and peaceful. Having the washer/dryer available in each condo was a definite plus. It was very relaxing walking the many trails nearby and fascinating to watch whales and sea turtles almost daily. Each of the Hawaiian islands we have vacationed on were wonderful though this turned out to be one of our favorites so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My best advice would be to rent a car for your stay. Many activities, shopping, or dining options are available, but not really within walking distance. The island is very easy to navigate with a map (It takes about a day to figure out). For one of the best seafood dining experiences try the Beach House but be sure to call a few days in advance for reservations.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan's girl
Buffalo, NY
Apr 17, 2010

Castle Makahuena Condominium at Poipu

My husband attended a medical conference for several days and we typically take extra time to enjoy the area. The condo was better than we expected-beautiful, spacious, clean, and peaceful. Having the washer/dryer available in each condo was a definite plus. It was very relaxing walking the many trails nearby and fascinating to watch whales and sea turtles almost daily. Each of the Hawaiian islands we have vacationed on were wonderful though this turned out to be one of our favorites so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

My best advice would be to rent a car for your stay. Many activities, shopping, or dining options are available, but not really within walking distance. The island is very easy to navigate with a map (It takes about a day to figure out). For one of the best seafood dining experiences try the Beach House but be sure to call a few days in advance for reservations.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mcallen, TX
Jul 28, 2008

Tranquility with a capital T

Ocean waves pounding against the cliffs seem to rock you to sleep each night and the sunsets are amazing over the deep blue Pacific ocean. You'll find yourself within walking distance to Poipu & Shipwreck Beach along with fabulous dining and shops nearby. This facility is very centrally located for whatever your adventure of the day may be. Mahalo!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Private lighted pathways take you quickly and safely to nearby surfs, boogie board hot spots and snorkeling.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaiahso
Iowa City, IA
Mar 20, 2010

Very pleasing and great extras

The Makahuena was top notch for the price. Located next to the best beach on Kauai (Shipwreck beach). The facility had tennis courts with racquet rental for $5/day, excellent parking, great pool and hot tub. It is right on the point so you can see both the sun rise and sun set from this location. It is a short walk (about 10 minutes) to Poi'pu beach that has the best snorkeling on the southern side of the island. It is about 5 minutes to Shipwreck beach along the walking trail. Most reasonable eateries are not within walking distance. Brennecke's (beach) and restaurant are close. Our unit had 2 beds and 2 baths, partial ocean view, was very clean and towels were changed out 2X/week. The unit had a full kitchen with the all of the amenities. The unit even had boogie boards, snorkel gear, coolers, movies, and sand mats. The complex also has two Weber gas grills for use by all visitors. This is why we choose to rent at locations that are personally owned. Our unit was wonderful. Staff kept the place very clean. The units were built in the mid 80's and are not the Hyatt experience. If you want that "resort" experience it is just down the beach. This is a great place to stay for the price. Garden views do not see the ocean. There is salt spray that gets on the windows because of the waves, so if you want a perfect view, look out the lanai. Also, we were able to see Spinner dolphins, Humpback whales, and sea turtles right out the window daily! This resort is on the water, but you cannot swim there due to the strong waves, under tow, and rocks. Just remember, within a few minutes walk you are on the beach. We would go back to this place in a heartbeat. Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Walmart to get your basics in Lihue before you come to the units. The prices are very reasonable. Groceries are best from "Big Save" located in Old Koloa about a 5 mintues drive from the unit. If you cook your own food, you can eat for much less. Otherwise budget 75$/day per person for inexpensive meals, $100/day per person for moderate meals.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jun 2, 2009

Comfortable Condo - Walking to Beach

We really liked the Makahuena Condos. Our unit, 1403, had a partial view of the ocean from the deck and master bedroom. It was an easy 5 minute walk to the beach. Everything we needed for a day in the sun was available (extra towels, cooler, mats, boogie board, etc). There was a full entertainment center in the living room and a plasma TV in the master bedroom. Free cable and internet were available. The kitchen was well equipped with dishes, small electronics, and nice appliances. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We didn't find any great breakfast options in Poipu. I'd recommend eating in for breakfast, stopping by Puka Dogs for lunch, and going to Keoki's Paradise or Roy's for dinner. All 3 are located in the Poipu Shopping Center. Keoki's and Roy's have 3-course dinner menus for those who arrive before 5:30/5:45 PM. I highly recommend them for quality and cost effectiveness. If you're in Poipu for a few days, I'd recommend getting lunch at Mark's Place or Hamura Saimin Stand in Lihue. They're great local favorites.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaiahso
Iowa City, IA
Mar 20, 2010

Very pleasing and great extras

The Makahuena was top notch for the price. Located next to the best beach on Kauai (Shipwreck beach). The facility had tennis courts with racquet rental for $5/day, excellent parking, great pool and hot tub. It is right on the point so you can see both the sun rise and sun set from this location. It is a short walk (about 10 minutes) to Poi'pu beach that has the best snorkeling on the southern side of the island. It is about 5 minutes to Shipwreck beach along the walking trail. Most reasonable eateries are not within walking distance. Brennecke's (beach) and restaurant are close. Our unit had 2 beds and 2 baths, partial ocean view, was very clean and towels were changed out 2X/week. The unit had a full kitchen with the all of the amenities. The unit even had boogie boards, snorkel gear, coolers, movies, and sand mats. The complex also has two Weber gas grills for use by all visitors. This is why we choose to rent at locations that are personally owned. Our unit was wonderful. Staff kept the place very clean. The units were built in the mid 80's and are not the Hyatt experience. If you want that "resort" experience it is just down the beach. This is a great place to stay for the price. Garden views do not see the ocean. There is salt spray that gets on the windows because of the waves, so if you want a perfect view, look out the lanai. Also, we were able to see Spinner dolphins, Humpback whales, and sea turtles right out the window daily! This resort is on the water, but you cannot swim there due to the strong waves, under tow, and rocks. Just remember, within a few minutes walk you are on the beach. We would go back to this place in a heartbeat. Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Walmart to get your basics in Lihue before you come to the units. The prices are very reasonable. Groceries are best from "Big Save" located in Old Koloa about a 5 mintues drive from the unit. If you cook your own food, you can eat for much less. Otherwise budget 75$/day per person for inexpensive meals, $100/day per person for moderate meals.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jun 2, 2009

Comfortable Condo - Walking to Beach

We really liked the Makahuena Condos. Our unit, 1403, had a partial view of the ocean from the deck and master bedroom. It was an easy 5 minute walk to the beach. Everything we needed for a day in the sun was available (extra towels, cooler, mats, boogie board, etc). There was a full entertainment center in the living room and a plasma TV in the master bedroom. Free cable and internet were available. The kitchen was well equipped with dishes, small electronics, and nice appliances. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We didn't find any great breakfast options in Poipu. I'd recommend eating in for breakfast, stopping by Puka Dogs for lunch, and going to Keoki's Paradise or Roy's for dinner. All 3 are located in the Poipu Shopping Center. Keoki's and Roy's have 3-course dinner menus for those who arrive before 5:30/5:45 PM. I highly recommend them for quality and cost effectiveness. If you're in Poipu for a few days, I'd recommend getting lunch at Mark's Place or Hamura Saimin Stand in Lihue. They're great local favorites.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James G
Gilbert, AZ
Jul 28, 2009

Will stay there again

Late check in was super easy. The condo was much larger than we expected, with great amenities and clean throughout. The breeze kept us cool - the temperature was always perfect despite no AC. The beach is not really convenient walking distance (we did walk to it though) - probably a 15 minute walk. But still convenient and a quick easy drive to the beach when we took our cooler and snorkeling gear. We used the gas BBQ for a cookout one night. My wife and I both loved it and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Kimo's beach rentals is a very short drive and extremely convenient for pick up and drop off of our snorkeling gear. They rent lots of other stuff too.

Review of Castle Makahuena Condominium Resort at Poipu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lordan
WI
Jan 2, 2010

VERY nice!!

Nice restful setting. Staff courteous and avaialable. My son loved the photo ops with both sunrise and sunset right on site. Would definetly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Try to buy food and make meals in your room. Food is expensive if you try to eat out. Staff here is helpful with finding grocery stores close by. Not alot of restaurants close by either.

Back to menu Return to top