$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Makena Beach and Golf Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Makena Alanui, Island Of Maui, Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
232 reviews
Daughters wedding

Everything was wonderful. Staff was very friendly. Hotel was relaxing. See full review

  • Kim K.
  • Mar 1, 2015
Great Family Vacation

Great location, great service. Hotel location is the best I've seen so far on Maui. Very clean... See full review

  • alenat
  • Jan 15, 2015
Hawaiian hospitality and natural beauty combine to make the Makena Beach and Golf Resort a serene setting. A lush atrium with flowing water and greenery brings the outdoors inside, while koi ponds, gardens and a white sand beach beckon visitors to step outside. Set among verdant golf greens, a kiawe forest and the beautiful Pacific Ocean, this Maui resort has been hosting Hawaiian honeymoons, executive travelers, and everyone between, since 1983. The Makena has a complimentary shuttle service to the Wailea Golf Course, and the six-court tennis facility features spectacular ocean views and a pro shop for all the latest gear and accessories. After a hard day on the court or course, pamper yourself at Makena Kai Day Spa with citrus and floral hand masks, or head down for some beachfront yoga and ukulele lessons.
Key facts
  • 290 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 2 restaurants: Molokini Bar & Grille and Cafe Kiowai
  • 2 pools including pool bar and grill
  • Coffee shop: Barista 5400
  • Fitness center
  • 2 gift shops
  • Complimentary Internet 
  • Conference facilities: indoor and outdoor space for meetings, weddings and team building events
Neighborhood
The 1,800-acre Makena Beach and Golf Resort is located in the southwestern end of Maui on Maluaka Beach. The resort's prime spot in Wailea-Makena makes it ideal for cruising for a good meal at area restaurants or flipping through the racks at The Shops at Wailea. For outdoor fans, the Makena State Park is just a quick drive away to the south.
Hints and tips
During the early part of the year, whales can be seen right from the resort, so planning a trip around this unique phenomenon is sure to create memories.

Spend some time snorkeling among colorful fish and sea turtles, which remain constant companions in the Makena Bay area the whole year round.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Makena Beach and Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Makena Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Scenic View
One king or two queen beds. 430 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) of interior space with 100 sq. ft (9 sq. m.) private, furnished lanai. Enjoy tropical resort views from your room and lanai. Premium pillow-top beds with triple sheeting and foam pillows. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in-room, designer toiletries, bathrobes, slippers (upon request). HDTV with premium channels and pay-movies. Individual, in-room controlled air-conditioning and in-room safe. Compact refrigerator and coffeemaker with daily refreshed Starbucks Coffee. Black-out curtains and lanai sliding screen door. Full closet and 2-drawer dresser, desk, chair, telephone with complimentary local calls.
Honeymoon Corner Suite
Private corner, one bedroom king suite. 700 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) of interior space with 100 sq. ft (9 sq. m.) private, furnished lanai. Enjoy tropical resort views from your room and lanai. Honeymoon amenity upon arrival. Nightly, turn-down service. Two bathrooms, wet bar, premium pillow-top beds with triple sheeting and foam pillows. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in-room, designer toiletries, bathrobes, slippers (upon request). HDTV with premium channels and pay-movies. Individual, in-room controlled air-conditioning and in-room safe. Compact refrigerator and coffeemaker with daily refreshed Starbucks Coffee. Black-out curtains and lanai sliding screen door. Parlor has full size pull out sofa. Full closet and 2-drawer dresser, desk, chair, telephone with complimentary local calls.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two queen beds. 430 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) of interior space with 100 sq. ft (9 sq. m.) private, furnished lanai. Enjoy tropical resort views with partial view of the ocean from the lanai. Premium pillow-top beds with triple sheeting and foam pillows. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in-room, designer toiletries, bathrobes, slippers (upon request). HDTV with premium channels and pay-movies. Individual, in-room controlled air-conditioning and in-room safe. Compact refrigerator and coffeemaker with daily refreshed Starbucks Coffee. Black-out curtains and lanai sliding screen door. Full closet and 2-drawer dresser, desk, chair, telephone with complimentary local calls.
Ocean Front
One king or two queen beds. 430 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) of interior space with 100 sq. ft (9 sq. m.) private, furnished lanai. Enjoy clearest ocean view to horizon from the lanai and most interior portions of the room. Whale watching from lanai is possible from January - mid April. Premium pillow-top beds with triple sheeting and foam pillows. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in-room, designer toiletries, bathrobes, slippers (upon request). HDTV with premium channels and pay-movies. Individual, in-room controlled air-conditioning and in-room safe. Compact refrigerator and coffeemaker with daily refreshed Starbucks Coffee. Black-out curtains and lanai sliding screen door. Full closet and 2-drawer dresser, desk, chair, telephone with complimentary local calls.
Ocean View
One king or two queen beds. 430 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) of interior space with 100 sq. ft (9 sq. m.) private, furnished lanai. Enjoy tropical resort views with ocean views from the lanai and some interior sections of the room. Premium pillow-top beds with triple sheeting and foam pillows. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in-room, designer toiletries, bathrobes, slippers (upon request). HDTV with premium channels and pay-movies. Individual, in-room controlled air-conditioning and in-room safe. Compact refrigerator and coffeemaker with daily refreshed Starbucks Coffee. Black-out curtains and lanai sliding screen door. Full closet and 2-drawer dresser, desk, chair, telephone with complimentary local calls.
Super Saver
Standard hotel room with all standard appointments and amenities. Room is confirmed at booking, view category is established at check in.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking

Dining

Cafe Kiowai
Open-air dining area overlooking the koi fishpond and tropical garden atrium. Serving breakfast daily, buffet (room package available) or a la carte. Breakfast buffet includes custom, made-to-order omelets, array of hot breakfast items, house-made pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, juice, coffee or tea service.
In Room Dining
Enjoy the luxury of breakfast in bed or the privacy of lunch or dinner service on your lanai.
Sunday Brunch
Voted "Best Brunch on Maui," Sunday Brunch at Makena Beach & Golf Resort is a feast fit for royalty. It's the best value for Sunday brunch on the island. Eggs Benedict and buttermilk pancakes, carving station with prime rib and whole roasted Kalua pig, made-to-order omelet station, an assortment of garden salads, poke bar, fresh baked muffins, pastries, and desserts.
Pool Bar & Grill
No shoes, no shirt? No problem! Tropical drinks, ice cold beer, plenty of easy sandwiches and a kid-friendly menu. Grilled favorites, pizzas fresh from the brick oven, salads and tempting finger foods.
Barista 5400
Conveniently located in the main entrance lobby, Barista 5400 proudly brews Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks. Also available are lighter fare breakfast and lunch items. Perfect to grab and go, if heading off on a Maui excursion or just to get a snack throughout the day. Lobby has complimentary wireless internet access.
Molokini Bar and Grille
This Maui landmark is known for serving Western comfort foods with culinary creativity. Paniolo favorites like South Maui barbeque ribs dripping in a homemade sauce, molasses glazed hanging tender, and rack of lamb with poha berry demi glace are served with a gourmet's flare. From the sea, fresh, fresh, fresh opakapaka and mahi mahi are sauted with a mango buerre blanc or perhaps, a lemongrass butter. Lighter fare like artisan pizza, an assortment of small plates, and the famous Molokini Bar & Grille Da Kine burger made with Smokehouse Farm cheddar and applewood bacon will "broke da mouth" (as we say in Hawaii.) Live music makes this a great place for drinks and small plates at the bar, or leisurely family dinners in the dining room. Chef McDowell recommends the ahi carpaccio as a starterserved with chunky ginger avocado, Kaffir lime parfait, and a South Pacific splash! Nice wine menu, too! Bon Appetit!
Private Oceanside Dining
Romantic, catered seven-course gourmet dining experience overlooking the ocean for two. Whether you are celebrating a special occasion, or popping the question, a private Makena ocean side dining experience is an unforgettable way to make a lasting impression on your date. 48-hours advance notice required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities accommodate up to 500 guests Outdoor locations, with ocean views. Kaeo Ballroom boasts 5,200 sq. ft. overlooking formal gardens and koi ponds Full service Catering & Conventions staff to assist you with all the details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Corona Ca.
Jul 24, 2011

"The good, the bad, and the ugly"

THE GOOD - it's a beautiful hotel, very clean and friendly service THE BAD - the pool was not in service and there was a noisy, painting crew working at night while we were trying to sleep. THE REALLY UGLY - when we checked out we were billed over $200 for 2 bottles of water and 2 cups of coffee daily. even though we didn't consumed them. we were told that it was in the contract and we had to pay it.......... i will NEVER GO BACK just for that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DonAmanda
Business
Las Vegas
Oct 19, 2013

Not the place

We researched hotels for a couple of weeks before finally choosing what appeared to be a fabulous hotel for our weeklong+ honeymoon. No problem at all with the location, but the hotel is not a luxury hotel by any means. It is VERY dated. There were A LOT of bugs in the hotel and in the room. The room itself looked like you were paying for a $59 a night Travelodge. The "ocean view" room was silly. Every restaurant closed at 10:00 PM. No room service. After ONE night we were able to call the service that we booked through and they refunded our money and we booked into the Marriott Beach Club & Spa! The Marriott was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

A place nicknamed the "Triangle" was on of the most fun places to go at night. Lots of locals. The Tiki Lounge was fun daytime and night. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado Kat
Business
Colorado
Apr 23, 2014

Avoid this hotel

During my 4 day stay at the Makena Beach & Golf resort, I experienced daily issues from valet not being on duty to waking up to a jack hammer being used in the room next door. The noise was deafening. Maui has better choices for a pleasant stay at a resort or hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Andas Hotel's restaurants are the best on Maui!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Matt and Nat
Business
Newport Beach
Apr 2, 2013

No Hot Tub

This hotel would be great if it had a hot tub. The location felt remote, which was what we wanted, but it was close enough to town that we could easily avoid hotel food! The "Ocean View" rooms are a bit of a joke, we could not really see the ocean unless we were on our balcony, but the view from there was great. There is great snorkeling within easy driving distance. The beach is great for swimming, except that there is no hot tub to soak in after swimming. We will not stay here again until we ding out the place has a hot tub. If it gets one, we will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sharkmom
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 2, 2011

Ghost Town

This hotel is old and empty. It was beautiful at one time. We hope the new owners will bring this place up to date. It has all the potential to be a great place to stay, however we found it, at this time, to be short on just about everything. The air conditioner would not go below 70 degrees. We were told by housekeeping that if they were unable to make up our room when it was convenient for them, they would not be able to clean our room until the next day. The hot tub was a "back yard" model that was worn and stuck in a corner away from the pool. The staff was very friendly, however I felt like I was at a roadside "mom and pop" place from the 70's. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Just empty! We went to other nearby hotels for shopping and dining and this place was far short on everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl
Feb 16, 2011

Needs to be more family friendly!

Celebrated our 60th Wedding Anniversary. We felt that the prices charged at this facility was not for eldery residents. It was a shock to find a breakfast buffet that charged over $25.00 per person exorbitant!!! Also seeing insects in the bathroom each morning was not pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Jun 9, 2011

subpar

Subpar. The hotel seems old and although it is currently being renovated, that is no excuse for an ancient jacuzzi that is full of bugs and looks like it has not been cleaned in ages. Prices for breakfast and any other meal at this resort for that matter are ridiculous! I recommend you eat out....a lot! Its pretty bad that the televisions in the rooms still haven't been upgraded to flat screens and the cable connection skps a beat about every 20 to 30 seconds. Etc.........the staff was friendly though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Threes bar and grill. Great food at great price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tonyk
Business
Long Beach, CA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Good value for area , needs updating in common area and new Resturant manager

Good value for the area! The main entrance needs a wow factor, its old and boring but clean. The Resturante service by the koi pond is horrible . 4 days and each day the Resturante staff was disorganized, tables not cleaned off, and people had to wait long periods before staff noticed you wanted to eat! Room was updated, clean and good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would stay here again but would go to other fine dining resturantes where service and support was recognized !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Not quite ready

The makena beach hotel changed owners in the recent past. The rooms were updated and some needed touches added. The ownership struggled to bring the hotel back on line quickly. Unfortunately this left some things undone. The food venues are too few and staffing is tight. This means the only on site lunch most days was poolside with 3 waiters to cover the crowds. Since this site is farthest away from the commercial centers in wailea and kihei. There isn't good walking distance venues. The staff that is there is gracious and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach at the hotel is pristine and uncrowded. Take time to just sit and splash, watch the whales pass by. And DON'T miss sunset. It is perfect

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
greenham
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Quiet Out of the Way ZHotel

This hotel has decent infrastructure but lacks the warmth to make full use of the facilities. The staff, with few exceptions, while generally competent, just doesn't rise to the level of treating customers as guests, much less "friends". That takes much from a resort. The pool is very small, but the sea is nearby, and relatively calmer then elsewhere. I had tiny ants running all over my work table, which was strange. AC didnt work because the balcony door wasnt set right, and nobody thought to let the guests know how to critically locate one side of the door (had to have it close over a sensor). Location of hotel is out of the way, which makes it exclusive, but adds 15 mins to the travel time to civilization. Not a terrible hotel, but not one I wld go back to when I return to Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kihei has some decent small restaurants (but not cheap). Search the web for recommendations (the usual site for restaurants) - decent recommendations, some of the better food even compared to Bay Area. Places like Cuatro, Izakaya Matsu comes to mind that I would like to return to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top