$339 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Makena Beach and Golf Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Makena Alanui, Island Of Maui, Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QuasiExperiment
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 27, 2012

Hotel has much to improve

This is a hotel with quite a laid-back atmosphere. It is situated in a less populated area and quite unassuming compared to the other hotels nearby. The downside is the lack of amenities. The in-room internet--operated by a third party--is not cheap (~$60), but is the slowest/most sporadic I have ever experienced. I was able to get my money back though, after complaining to the internet provider. The main restaurant in the hotel really leaves a lot to be desired. The pizza we had the first night tasted worse than one from Domino's, and the pasta that bad could only be prepared by some one who hadn't cooked at all. We took another draw by eating at the Asian buffet, and the main courses were again disappointing. In addition, the dishes also carry a pretty hefty tag. In comparison, the breakfast buffet is nice as it offers a nice variety that involves minimum cooking. It's a good way to start the day. There is no life guard on duty at the beach outside, and there is little information on the best spots to snorkel. Watch out for the sharp reefs!! Staffs at the hotel are generally very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many good restaurants in Kihei. Eskimo Candy is the best of them all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Heart Vacation
Business
Kalama, Washington
Jun 11, 2012

Relaxing Getaway and a Great Value!

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Makena Beach and Golf Resort. When we first arrived we were met at the door and offered free valet parking! The staff was very friendly and after a day or two most of them remembered our names. They have a private stretch of beach so it was never over-crowded, the pool was small but again was not too crowded. They have a seperate pool for children so we found it very relaxing and enjoyable. The breakfast buffet was amazing with an omlet station, fresh fruit, bagles, muffins, breads, potatoes, quiche, cereal, yogurt with fruit and granola, bacon, sausage, ham, an assortment of juices and more! It was included in the price...even the gratuity, which was a great value. We enjoyed that it wasn't right in a city. It is very near Wailea where there is shopping and restaurants and they offered a free shuttle. The rooms have been remodeled and were very nice and clean. The property is very well maintained with a beautiful garden and golf course. There are walking/jogging trails around the property as well. They have rentals on the beach for snorkling gear, boogie boards etc, and the prices were very reasonable. They offered a free snorkling lesson which was very helpful to us, and we put it to good use and booked a snorkling trip on a boat that picked us up right on the beach behind the hotel. They also offered a sunset sail on that boat that included appetizers and an open bar. They also had Monday night star gazing with a local astronomer that was entertaining and educational. Overall we had a great time and would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Kona Weddings
Business
Kona, Hawaii
Jun 4, 2012

Excellent

The hotel was outstanding and the golf course was exceptional. Outstanding ocean views. Free shuttle from hotel to golf course on demand. It could not have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nebraska Traveling Couple
Business
Omaha NE
May 31, 2012

We miss it already!

What a wonderful experience! The hotel is lovely and is a beautiful retreat from the typical tourist spots. Located 3 miles south of Wailea, it is the last hotel prior to reaching Makena State Park. The grounds, beach and golf course are beautiful and any other activities are easily accessible. The concierge was very helpful in arranging different activities and we enjoyed all of our scheduled outings. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning, sitting on the patio overlooking the gardens and ponds. The staff was delightful and caring, in addition to always being ready to assist us. We are planning on staying here again the next time we go to Maui!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chikki
Business
Sunnyvale
May 29, 2012

Perfect honeymoon!

Excellent hotel,beaches and staff! Got an awesome package with free breakfast and was upgraded to ocean view room :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kailua Kona, Hawaii
May 18, 2012

very courteous staff in a beautiful location.

We were treated very cordially by the entire staff. Throughout the day the staff provided little extras for us to enjoy. The grounds and garden were immaculate and expertly manicured. The continental breakfast was exquisite and all of the foods were prepared wonderfully. The setting in an open courtyard between the pool and the gardens was delightful. We would definite consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach in front of the hotel was wonderful. There was plenty of sandy beach and enjoyable snorkeling with the resident turtle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wanting peace and quiet
Business
Las Vegas
May 17, 2012

Relaxing, quiet getaway

Our stay at Makena was so peaceful. We practically had the place and the beach to ourselves. The breakfast buffet, itself, added extreme value to our vacation package. I would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beachcomber and partner
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 18, 2012

great combo vacation

Staff were excellent, location on the beach was great, food excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stringray
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Best of Maui

We started coming here in the winter of 2001 when it was part of Prince. Tried a number of other Maui hotels over the years, but this is the best if you want to experience the real Maui. The atmosphere is serene and understated. Staff are helping and friendly. Beach is the best - and the boats for Molikini pull up right there. Make sure you get the breakfast package - and sit by the amazing koi ponds. The new owners have spruced things up, and added a 9 hole mini golf. Win.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mulligans on The Blue - amazing irish pub in Maui - the hotel shuttle will take you and pick you up for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SJCA
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Excellent family getaway

Great beach, nice rooms, great staff, great breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great dining nearby in Kihei

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top