$370 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Makena Beach and Golf Resort

4 stars
View map of 5400 Makena Alanui, Island Of Maui, Makena, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McMonty
Business
Modesto, CA
Dec 15, 2013

Love it!

I would stay there again. I was with my wife and one year old boy. Staff and location were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
truschli
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Nov 29, 2013

perfect for golf and relaxation

we always stay here because it's so quiet, the location is beautiful, the staff is extremely friendly and well trained, and of course because all the golf courses. Very disappointing was, that now both courses at Makena are closed and it seems that the North course, after reopening, will be a private golf course. However, we will go to Makena Beach resort again next November

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Mama in Maui
Business
LB, California
Nov 25, 2013

Too soon to leave

Where in Maui offer FREE valet parking (but please TIP the attendants)? The hotel offered free bottled drinking water & starbucks in-room coffee to brew!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samsh
Business
folsom california
Nov 17, 2013

Excellent!!

We stayed in this resort just for one night and we regret not to stay longer. We stayed at another resort on Kaanapali beach but we so badly missed Makena. First of all in the land where everything is overpriced this is very good value for the money. We payed more for the other resort on Kaanapali and it was not even nearly as good. They offer so many freebies. There is free parking and no resort fee. The staff is very polite and kind which makes your stay pleasant. The property is beautiful and peaceful. I would prefer to stay here than the over crowded Kaanapali area without even second thought. These are the positives about this resort Excellent property No resort fee, free parking (yes you read it right) Very helpful and polite staff Awesome beach Peaceful and very nice location Many free activities including free snorkel and scuba lessons, complementary photoshoot Onsite starbucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We dined at Pita paradise which is about 15 mins drive from this resort and it was the best mediterranean food we ever had in our life.

Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Craig and Kathi
Business
Grand Rapids, Mich
Nov 11, 2013

Warm and welcoming.

I have never had better service anywhere. The staff was very friendly and they seemed genuine in their eagerness to accommodate us. Only complaint is no outdoor happy hour. We would highly recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DonAmanda
Business
Las Vegas
Oct 19, 2013

Not the place

We researched hotels for a couple of weeks before finally choosing what appeared to be a fabulous hotel for our weeklong+ honeymoon. No problem at all with the location, but the hotel is not a luxury hotel by any means. It is VERY dated. There were A LOT of bugs in the hotel and in the room. The room itself looked like you were paying for a $59 a night Travelodge. The "ocean view" room was silly. Every restaurant closed at 10:00 PM. No room service. After ONE night we were able to call the service that we booked through and they refunded our money and we booked into the Marriott Beach Club & Spa! The Marriott was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

A place nicknamed the "Triangle" was on of the most fun places to go at night. Lots of locals. The Tiki Lounge was fun daytime and night. Highly recommend!

Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zanja
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 7, 2013

Beautiful Resort

I loved that the resort was always hospitable getting cold water as you waited for your car or the free shuttle to take you to the local Wailea Shops. All you had to do was call for pick-up. You could even ride the bikes that were provided from the resort free. There's a shaved ice Shack onsite to pick up gear for the beach area. So many free perks just by booking here photos,luggage tag gift. Greeted at the check reception with a cool towel. Ah refreshing. Thanks totally enjoyed staying here. Plus the added bonus of $20 to spend in the restaurant or Cafe came right in hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grandma Lynnda
Business
Sparks, NV
Sep 29, 2013

Six days of Paradise

We checked in a bit early but still got a great room. I don't think there are any 'bad' rooms there. It was very comfortable and roomy. This was my husbands and my first trip to Maui and we were flying blind when it came to choosing a place to stay. I'm so glad we picked the Makena Beach and Golf Resort! Although the golf course was under construction and when done will be a members only, there are several other local courses to play. We picked the Blue course at Wialea because it was the cheapest of their 3 and it was great! All of the rooms at Makena face the ocean. Some more than others. We had one that overlooked the lawn and partial view of the ocean and were very happy with it. There was a white dove that spent the night on our balcony railing and the flora and fauna is gorgeous. If you like looking at Koi, this is the place to be. They follow you around the large pond waiting for a bite of food which you get from the Buffet restaurant right next to it. There are also several cats on the property that all have names but the favorite I think is Boots at the pool. He/She is very friendly and never leaves the pool area. We spent a lot of time sightseeing but also a lot of time just roaming around the hotel and their FABULOUS beach! The snorkeling is fantastic there and people come from other hotels to snorkel in that spot but I never saw it get crowded. I would give this hotel straight A's with the exception of it's location at the end of the road. I guess there is something to be said for seclusion tho'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Walmart and Kmart are a short 20min drive if you need sundries. Much cheaper than hotel or 'locals' prices.

Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pudding's Mom
Business
San Diego
Aug 26, 2013

Understated luxury, the perfect getaway

We could not have asked for a better vacation. Of our dozen stays at resorts at multiple Hawaiian islands, the Makena had the friendliest staff, hands down. Spectacular beach side location away from crowds, the beach is uncrowned with great snorkeling and swimming. A resident turtle makes appearances multiple times a day. This is the only resort on the islands with no resort, parking or valet fees. Not only that, but they give kids Keiki dollars, resort dollars they can use for treats and toys. Buy the buffet breakfast package when you make your reservations for a big savings. The daily buffet breakfast was tasty, with a large selection, and the pizzas at the pool side bar and grill were surprisingly good. If a relaxing vacation is what you desire, save your money, skip all the excursions, save your money and splurge on an oceanfront room on a higher floor and treat yourself to a beachfront cabana lounger. Can't wait for our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a short drive or take the hotel shuttle to the nearby Wailea mall. Head to the Whaler's Village General Store, and pick up lunch at their take out counter. Good food, great prices and lots to choose from.

Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John.Smith
Business
Phoenix, az
Aug 24, 2013

Great beach getaway

Beautiful beach with a great resort. Fantastic beach getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top