$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Makena Beach and Golf Resort

4 stars
5400 Makena Alanui, Island Of Maui, Makena, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
220 reviews
Value, location, resort status with local feel!

Quick and efficient service. Location is not so "busy and touristy" as Kaanapali but just as nice... See full review

  • Nugs
  • Sep 16, 2014
Our best trip to Hawaii.

My wife and I loved Makena's proximity to a wonderful beach; great snorkeling (saw turtles and... See full review

  • Science Racquet Man
  • Aug 3, 2014
Hawaiian hospitality and natural beauty combine to make the Makena Beach and Golf Resort a serene setting. A lush atrium with flowing water and greenery brings the outdoors inside, while koi ponds, gardens and a white sand beach beckon visitors to step outside. Set among verdant golf greens, a kiawe forest and the beautiful Pacific Ocean, this Maui resort has been hosting Hawaiian honeymoons, executive travelers, and everyone between, since 1983. The Makena has a complimentary shuttle service to the Wailea Golf Course, and the six-court tennis facility features spectacular ocean views and a pro shop for all the latest gear and accessories. After a hard day on the court or course, pamper yourself at Makena Kai Day Spa with citrus and floral hand masks, or head down for some beachfront yoga and ukulele lessons.
Key facts
  • 290 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 2 restaurants: Molokini Bar & Grille and Cafe Kiowai
  • 2 pools including pool bar and grill
  • Coffee shop: Barista 5400
  • Fitness center
  • 2 gift shops
  • Complimentary Internet 
  • Conference facilities: indoor and outdoor space for meetings, weddings and team building events
Neighborhood
The 1,800-acre Makena Beach and Golf Resort is located in the southwestern end of Maui on Maluaka Beach. The resort's prime spot in Wailea-Makena makes it ideal for cruising for a good meal at area restaurants or flipping through the racks at The Shops at Wailea. For outdoor fans, the Makena State Park is just a quick drive away to the south.
Hints and tips
During the early part of the year, whales can be seen right from the resort, so planning a trip around this unique phenomenon is sure to create memories.

Spend some time snorkeling among colorful fish and sea turtles, which remain constant companions in the Makena Bay area the whole year round.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

20.6462 -156.4412
Area served
Wailea-Makena, Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului International Airport-OGG
Area description
From Kahului Airport to Makena Beach & Golf Resort - 17.05 miles; Driving Time: 40 minutes. Exit airport toward first traffic signal, stay in the straight-away lane onto Dairy Road (Costco will be on your left). You will pass McDonalds, Pier1 Imports, and Maui Harley Davidson. After Maui Harley Davidson merge to the upcoming left turn lanes (there are 2). Turn left onto Pu'unene Avenue (Hwy 311), following the sign to "Kihei, Wailea, & Makena." Hwy 311 converts to Hwy 31, traveling through Kihei town. Hwy ends at the entrance to Wailea. Follow right turn, continue down the hill (in the left lane of traffic) where road ends at a stop light, with the Shops at Wailea in front of you. Turn left onto Wailea Alanui at traffic signal. Continue on Wailea Alanui through Wailea into Makena, approximately 3 miles. Makena Beach & Golf Resort is on the right.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Makena Beach and Golf Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Makena Beach and Golf Resort Rooms

Scenic View
One king or two queen beds. 430 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) of interior space with 100 sq. ft (9 sq. m.) private, furnished lanai. Enjoy tropical resort views from your room and lanai. Premium pillow-top beds with triple sheeting and foam pillows. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in-room, designer toiletries, bathrobes, slippers (upon request). HDTV with premium channels and pay-movies. Individual, in-room controlled air-conditioning and in-room safe. Compact refrigerator and coffeemaker with daily refreshed Starbucks Coffee. Black-out curtains and lanai sliding screen door. Full closet and 2-drawer dresser, desk, chair, telephone with complimentary local calls.
Honeymoon Corner Suite
Private corner, one bedroom king suite. 700 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) of interior space with 100 sq. ft (9 sq. m.) private, furnished lanai. Enjoy tropical resort views from your room and lanai. Honeymoon amenity upon arrival. Nightly, turn-down service. Two bathrooms, wet bar, premium pillow-top beds with triple sheeting and foam pillows. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in-room, designer toiletries, bathrobes, slippers (upon request). HDTV with premium channels and pay-movies. Individual, in-room controlled air-conditioning and in-room safe. Compact refrigerator and coffeemaker with daily refreshed Starbucks Coffee. Black-out curtains and lanai sliding screen door. Parlor has full size pull out sofa. Full closet and 2-drawer dresser, desk, chair, telephone with complimentary local calls.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two queen beds. 430 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) of interior space with 100 sq. ft (9 sq. m.) private, furnished lanai. Enjoy tropical resort views with partial view of the ocean from the lanai. Premium pillow-top beds with triple sheeting and foam pillows. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in-room, designer toiletries, bathrobes, slippers (upon request). HDTV with premium channels and pay-movies. Individual, in-room controlled air-conditioning and in-room safe. Compact refrigerator and coffeemaker with daily refreshed Starbucks Coffee. Black-out curtains and lanai sliding screen door. Full closet and 2-drawer dresser, desk, chair, telephone with complimentary local calls.
Ocean Front
One king or two queen beds. 430 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) of interior space with 100 sq. ft (9 sq. m.) private, furnished lanai. Enjoy clearest ocean view to horizon from the lanai and most interior portions of the room. Whale watching from lanai is possible from January - mid April. Premium pillow-top beds with triple sheeting and foam pillows. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in-room, designer toiletries, bathrobes, slippers (upon request). HDTV with premium channels and pay-movies. Individual, in-room controlled air-conditioning and in-room safe. Compact refrigerator and coffeemaker with daily refreshed Starbucks Coffee. Black-out curtains and lanai sliding screen door. Full closet and 2-drawer dresser, desk, chair, telephone with complimentary local calls.
Ocean View
One king or two queen beds. 430 sq. ft. (40 sq. m.) of interior space with 100 sq. ft (9 sq. m.) private, furnished lanai. Enjoy tropical resort views with ocean views from the lanai and some interior sections of the room. Premium pillow-top beds with triple sheeting and foam pillows. High-speed wired and wireless Internet access is complimentary in-room, designer toiletries, bathrobes, slippers (upon request). HDTV with premium channels and pay-movies. Individual, in-room controlled air-conditioning and in-room safe. Compact refrigerator and coffeemaker with daily refreshed Starbucks Coffee. Black-out curtains and lanai sliding screen door. Full closet and 2-drawer dresser, desk, chair, telephone with complimentary local calls.
Super Saver
Standard hotel room with all standard appointments and amenities. Room is confirmed at booking, view category is established at check in.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking

Dining

Cafe Kiowai
Open-air dining area overlooking the koi fishpond and tropical garden atrium. Serving breakfast daily, buffet (room package available) or a la carte. Breakfast buffet includes custom, made-to-order omelets, array of hot breakfast items, house-made pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, juice, coffee or tea service.
In Room Dining
Enjoy the luxury of breakfast in bed or the privacy of lunch or dinner service on your lanai.
Sunday Brunch
Voted "Best Brunch on Maui," Sunday Brunch at Makena Beach & Golf Resort is a feast fit for royalty. It's the best value for Sunday brunch on the island. Eggs Benedict and buttermilk pancakes, carving station with prime rib and whole roasted Kalua pig, made-to-order omelet station, an assortment of garden salads, poke bar, fresh baked muffins, pastries, and desserts.
Pool Bar & Grill
No shoes, no shirt? No problem! Tropical drinks, ice cold beer, plenty of easy sandwiches and a kid-friendly menu. Grilled favorites, pizzas fresh from the brick oven, salads and tempting finger foods.
Barista 5400
Conveniently located in the main entrance lobby, Barista 5400 proudly brews Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks. Also available are lighter fare breakfast and lunch items. Perfect to grab and go, if heading off on a Maui excursion or just to get a snack throughout the day. Lobby has complimentary wireless internet access.
Molokini Bar and Grille
This Maui landmark is known for serving Western comfort foods with culinary creativity. Paniolo favorites like South Maui barbeque ribs dripping in a homemade sauce, molasses glazed hanging tender, and rack of lamb with poha berry demi glace are served with a gourmet's flare. From the sea, fresh, fresh, fresh opakapaka and mahi mahi are sauted with a mango buerre blanc or perhaps, a lemongrass butter. Lighter fare like artisan pizza, an assortment of small plates, and the famous Molokini Bar & Grille Da Kine burger made with Smokehouse Farm cheddar and applewood bacon will "broke da mouth" (as we say in Hawaii.) Live music makes this a great place for drinks and small plates at the bar, or leisurely family dinners in the dining room. Chef McDowell recommends the ahi carpaccio as a starterserved with chunky ginger avocado, Kaffir lime parfait, and a South Pacific splash! Nice wine menu, too! Bon Appetit!
Private Oceanside Dining
Romantic, catered seven-course gourmet dining experience overlooking the ocean for two. Whether you are celebrating a special occasion, or popping the question, a private Makena ocean side dining experience is an unforgettable way to make a lasting impression on your date. 48-hours advance notice required.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Indoor facilities accommodate up to 500 guests Outdoor locations, with ocean views. Kaeo Ballroom boasts 5,200 sq. ft. overlooking formal gardens and koi ponds Full service Catering & Conventions staff to assist you with all the details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (220)

Ratings and reviews for Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pd1234
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2014

Perfect

Just terrific. The staff was unfailingly pleasant. The beach is amazing--good for swimming or snorkeling. The hotel offers a number of activities: SUP lessons, kayaking snorkeling tours, lei making, story time, you name it. The best part is, it's all included; no extra resort fee, valet fee, internet fee, etc. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nugs
Oahu
Sep 16, 2014

Value, location, resort status with local feel!

Quick and efficient service. Location is not so "busy and touristy" as Kaanapali but just as nice and right next to Makena beach. Staff was friendly and courteous. Hotel had more than enough amenities and was comfortably clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Go hiking, get some guri guri or shave ice, then go to the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BennyHaru
fairfield, ca
Sep 10, 2014

great guest service

It is located in the south side of Maui. Those who want to have exceptional snorkeling experience this hotel is the place to be!! The lobby was really clean and the receptionist at the desk was amazing! I highly recomment this place and if I have a chance to come back, I will choose this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gogoconferencer
Columbus, OH
Sep 9, 2014

Work Conference

Great location and friendly staff. They have free valet and the hotel is right by beautiful big beach and little beach. Definitely work the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ColoradoSonja
Fort Collins, CO
Aug 12, 2014

Excellent value

We choose Makena Beach and Golf Resort for our five day wedding/honeymoon in Maui after deciding to elope with only a few day's notice! Overall, this was an excellent value, and the property has many unique and pleasing features. One's perception of the property is likely guided by one's general travel "identity." If used to a 5-star resort like the Ritz, this will seem basic and average. If used to a budget motel like Days Inn, this will feel incredible. With that said, a reasonably seasoned traveler should be quite pleased with his/her experience at Makena! Location: We traveled the island extensively and whole-heartedly feel the location is excellent. A quick 30-minute drive from the airport, it is easy to reach and situated on the side of the island with the best beaches, hands down. Within minutes of Wailea and the more upscale resort area, a Makena guest has access to gorgeous beaches, shopping, nightlife, and restaurants. However, as it is set at the end of the road, a guest will also feel the benefit of sensing that s/he is alone on a deserted island. Rooms: Spacious, well-appointed, and clean! We appreciated the beautiful balcony and didn't see one room with a "bad" view on the property. Ample storage and a spacious bathroom make it easy to unpack and unwind. An in-room safe is terrific, and a wet bar with refrigerator make it possible to stock up on food/drink items to ease the cost burden of meals/drinks. Property: Though slightly older, it honors the open-air design of an island property and is clean and bright. The center atrium is gorgeous with flowing waterfalls and a huge koi fish pond. It felt breezy and open and was large enough to feel luxurious, yet small enough to feel intimate and quickly manuverable. The workout facility was very basic, but gets the job done for a short trip. The pool was aesthetically disappointing, but we appreciated that it was refilled daily for cleaner water and was very mild in temperature. The hot tub was an eye sore -- get rid of it! The beach is definitely the highlight of this resort. Private, expansive, and gorgeous! Watersports are available at reasonable prices, and the snorkeling off the beach is some of the best we've seen on any island! The location of the beach provides warm and calm waters. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Safeway grocery store in Kihei! Stock up on breakfast and lunch items to save $$ from expensive dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Science Racquet Man
Port Ludlow, Wasington
Aug 3, 2014

Our best trip to Hawaii.

My wife and I loved Makena's proximity to a wonderful beach; great snorkeling (saw turtles and manta rays), great swimming, water activities, and a lovely sandy beach. After enjoying the beach we'd take the few steps to Makena's poolside amenities: cabanas, food, drinks, and a delightful swimming pool. The staff was incredibly friendly and made every day a very relaxing one. We could spend hours outside in the Maui air because we were so well taken care of. There was no need to return to our room until we wanted to and we did not risk over exposure to the sun. This was by far our most enjoyable visit in Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A gem in Kihei for tasty meals in a nice outdoor setting: 3 Bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pd1234
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2014

Perfect

Just terrific. The staff was unfailingly pleasant. The beach is amazing--good for swimming or snorkeling. The hotel offers a number of activities: SUP lessons, kayaking snorkeling tours, lei making, story time, you name it. The best part is, it's all included; no extra resort fee, valet fee, internet fee, etc. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wanna move to Maui
LA, California
Jun 7, 2014

Perfect first time Maui experience

It was our first time in Maui. The location couldn't be any better; away from the crowd. It required a short 5-10 minute drive to Kihei which has plenty of excellent places to eat and rent snorkel stuff. The beach was never crowded and there were plenty of nice snorkel spots. We drove all over the Maui during our stay and decided that we will stay here during our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole001
new york
May 25, 2014

Great spot that requires no thinking

I had family with me for my wedding and this was a great place for us to gather while giving us plenty of space to wander on our own. The hotel had activities, good food, great beach, great front desk, concierge, bell desk. The only con's I have about Makena: 1. the free activities I signed up for (the talk story smores night and star gazing night with astronomer which I was very excited and looking forward to) cancelled on me twice (without contacting me). That was very disappointing because I had planned my activities around them. I didn't even bother attempting to plan my day around another hotel activity I was looking forward to. 2. photographer: they offer a great freebie photo for guests. I booked 3 hotel rooms and photographer told me we couldn't have 3 photos. She basically told us we were wrong and we walked away upset. The level of service here just was not comparable to what I saw everywhere else at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OregonJim
Southern Oregon
May 4, 2014

Just about perfect!

Though we're not really golfers, my wife and I always stay at the Makena Beach and Golf Resort when visiting Maui. The location and amenites are unmatched by any other hotel. First off, it's right on the beach - and not just any beach, a pristine sandy shore which opens directly into a reef containing a huge variety of fish and turtles for the avid snorkler or scuba diver. No need to deal with wet, sandy car seats to enjoy the sea life - you can literally walk from your room to the reef in your bare feet. There are also beautifully-maintained freshwater pools and a Jacuzzi for warming up after a dive. Unlike most hotels, parking and Wi-Fi are free. There are several restaurants on the property. Our favorite is the poolside cafe, with its brick-oven-baked pizza. There are a wide variety of activities offered, such as snorkling and scuba lessons, outrigger expeditions, stand-up paddleboards, tennis, and of course golf. Free activities include table tennis, shuffleboard, croquet, and (our favorite) a 9-hole putting course. We also always opt for the free Continental breakfast deal at the on-site Starbucks. You get $20 per couple per day to spend on anything you choose at the Bistro in the lobby. We've been more than satisfied with the amount of granola, pastires, oatmeal, bagels, fruit and coffee which that $20 provides. Add in the beautiful ambience of the grand courtyard gardens, waterfalls and koi ponds, thick concrete walls between the rooms, and you have the perfect vacation resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manoli's Italian Restaurant is only about a mile from the hotel, and has great pasta at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HKJK
Santa Maria, California
Apr 25, 2014

Beach Lovers Dream

Resort is on a sandy beach. Lounge chairs brought to you with ice water, frozen grapes, and cool scented towels. Swam with the fish and turtles daily. Room and bed very comfortable. Will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search