$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

2 stars
2980 S. Kihei Road, Maui, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
105 reviews
Very nice place to relax

Rated two stars but location was great,right on the beach,little small room but comfortable... See full review

  • betomango
  • Jun 7, 2014
Great place to stay

Great check in. Staff let me know when tour vans arrived to pick us up. Steps from the beach. Room... See full review

  • robbbbbert
  • Jun 1, 2014
Boutique-style hotel with a sunny Kihei beachfront location
Straddling the communities of Kihei and Wailea on Maui’s sunny southern coast, the Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Inn sits right on the gorgeous Keawakapu Beach. Guests enjoy the cottage-style intimacy of a boutique-sized hotel and added benefits such as free in-room high-speed Internet and one of Hawaii’s best restaurants, Sarento’s On The Beach, which is on the property. TempurPedic beds in every room at the Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Inn mean a satisfying night’s sleep.
Highlights
  • TempurPedic mattresses and pillows in every room
  • On-site restaurant, 4-star Sarento’s On The Beach
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access
Location
The Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Inn hugs the shoreline of one of Maui’s most romantic beaches, Keawakapu Beach, in sunny Kihei. The community bustles with affordable dining and shopping, and is centrally located for easy access to destinations such as Lahaina Town, Iao Needle and Upcountry Maui.
Rooms
At the Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Inn, guests roll right from their rooms onto one of Hawaii’s most romantic beaches. All rooms offer a cottage-style décor and amenities that include free high-speed Internet access, louvered shutters, ceiling fans, air conditioning, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave and free local calls. Every room at the hotel offers the distinct luxury of a queen TempurPedic bed. Oceanfront suites offer a private balcony, bedroom, separate living room and two bathrooms.
Dining
The Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Inn is home to one of Hawaii’s best restaurants, the 4-star Sarento’s On The Beach, serving classic Northern Italian cuisine. The restaurant has earned Wine Spectator’s Award of Excellence. In addition to exceptional dining, guests enjoy glamorous oceanfront views.
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (15.2 mi/24.5 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (11.8 mi/19.1 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (13.1 mi/21 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (18.4 mi/29.5 km)
  • Lahaina Town (26.6 mi/42.8 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (50.7 mi/81.6 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Maui Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 105
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sunny CA
Business
Long Beach, CA
Apr 8, 2011

Business Trip... diaster...

This hotel was a quite a surprise... in some ways great, but unfortunately it most... bad, very bad. I stayed here for 6 days and 5 nights. I found this hotel online with [...] after having purchased my airline tickets. This hotel was rated 3 stars and boasted having a room with a queen bed and a pull out. This was perfect for me given that I was traveling with a business partner and needed two beds. However, when arriving to the hotel at 9pm I found that the room I had booked was literally the size of a closet. It was shocking how small it was. When reading description of the hotel and its layout there was no indication that this would be what I was going to walk into. And to make things better... there was only one bed. No pull out what-so-ever. I talked with the hotel services desk about my concerns only to get a blank stare back. I was then told that the hotel manager was sick, as if there was nothing else that could be done. I had to force the issue to get some sort of resolution, and being near 10pm and having traveled from the main land just wanted to go to bed. The staff member behind the desk said the "only" thing they could do was bring up a small roll away bed. I agreed to this at first, but when I went back to the room for this small bed to fit the rooms very small table and chairs would have to be removed. Having saw this small roll away bed and the size of the room... the only thing the room would have contained was "bed". There would be literally nothing but bed filling the room. Again, this place was match book small. So I proceeded to go speak with the hotel staff again about this concern and how this was not going to work, nor was this what I paid for. But on my way to to the front desk I found the service desk girl I had spoke with and some other guy wheeling the bed complaining about me in the walk way. When they saw me they were shocked. I did not make a scene, but was well within my right to do so. In any event I told them this was not going to work, and they pressured me as to why I would "not want to sleep with the person I was traveling with". There I got upset. I told them I was not going to sleep in the same bed as the person I was traveling with nor was this what I paid for. I was pressured and badgered all the way to the office to when finally they gave me a room (for free) to stay in till we could discuss in the morning. I thank them for this... but was then asked how long I was staying. I stated the 5 nights to which I was immediately blown up on being told "I will NOT comp you for 5 days" to which I replied "I am not asking you to, I never mentioned that, and for you to assume that I am is insane". There I took my key card and left. By now it was 11pm and I was dead tired. The following day I tried to speak with the hotel manager but was again told she was "sick". I had to fight with the person behind the desk to get a solution. Finally I was told I would get a call back with a solution. And to give you an idea as to how difficult everything was I had to ask 3 times "about what time should I expect to receive a call". Every answer I got was extremely vague with a hint of why should I care attitude. Anyway, before leaving I showed the hotel desk associate my reservation that stated this hotel had 2 beds in it. The response I got was "oh yeah, I don't know why it says that... we have never had two beds". I had the associate pull up the website to validate it was there and well... yes it was. Awesome! So later that day I got a call telling me that the only thing the manager could do was get me another room for the same price-- totaling $166.00 a night. Ha! I paid $128 a night, but this was the same price? Again another frustrating conversation occurred with responses from the hotel associate very heavily toned with "why should I care"... Needless to say I paid for the additional room, but was able to get it at the price I paid for. However, the room that I got I did have a few issues with that ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a great place to eat... well make sure you stop by Sarentos. It is hands down and outstanding place to dine. The main dinner patio is right on the ocean, food is top notch, as well as the service. You will not be disappointed. I will definitely be going back myself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Staff
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Sep 26, 2012

One night stay

I was told there was a 3 pm check in and when I came back at 2:45 people had already ck in. So when I went to my room and wanted to take a shower before going out for dinner the shower head was leaking all over. I went to the front desk and they sent someone down to look at it. I had put a shower mat down and they walked all over it with there dirty feet, after repairing it they left. Not pleased with the overall way things are taken care of by the family that runs this operation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sorentos a great dining experiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
crowleytj
Business
Atlanta
Jan 20, 2013

Business trip

The hotel, is in need of updating, the shower sides were delaminating with a very slick floor, room was very small, no room to open the suite case with the exception of using the bed. Will not be staying there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loyd T
Business
St. Paul, mn
Nov 17, 2012

Days Inn Maui

Overall, you get what you pay for. It wasnt anything special but it was far cheaper than any other hotel close by. The beach that is located by the hotel is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 19, 2010

About right for the price.

Room accouterments seem outdated & could use a refresh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tutu the Moon
Business
Marin County, California
May 25, 2014

On the beach and affordable!

Days Inn is an expensive way to be on the beautiful Wailea beaches in Maui. We love staying there, and will go back over and over. Staff is young and inexperienced but nice enough. Its the location that is fabulous! Hotels on same beach range in price between $450-800 a night, so if you are on a basic budget but want the same spectacular beach experience as the more expensive places..this is your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kihei, HI
Aug 7, 2010

Small but nice

I'm in the process of moving, with my family to Maui (from Oahu), so I wasn't too picky about where I was staying, as long as it was cheap. I was staying here by myself, as I just needed somewhere to sleep while I was working and finding a permanent residence for the whole family. I did stay at other hotels in the area and this one had the nicest room by far, but it was TINY! And the parking situation was horrible. I wouldn't recommend it for any more than 2 guests, but for a couple looking for an affordable room while doing all the tourist-y stuff during the days it would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 11, 2010

Great central location for price

Since I had meetings all over Maui and was on a budget, I needed a central location that was affordable and this fit the bill! PROS: Excellent central location: about 20 min from the airport, 15-20min from upcountry (Makawao) adjacent to Wailea, and 45 min to the west side (Lahaina/Ka'anapali). Affordable Amenities included: microwave, small fridge, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, free coffee with coffeemaker, cable TV Comfortable bed Free WiFi Free parking... But see below Access to beach from back of hotel CONS: Checkin time not until afternoon... But front desk nice enough to offer bag storage and use of their bathroom in the meanwhile Noisy - could hear neighbor's TV Parking - free but very tight if you want to park in the lighted area. Very narrow spaces (even with an economy car) and limited, esp since it shares parking with the adjacent restaurant. Could park on the other side of the hotel (different entrance) if you don't mind no lights and a gravel lot. No on-site activities (but if you'll be spending time off site, then it really doesn't matter) Overall, everything you could ask for if you are on a budget and looking to stay in Central Maui!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Since ther's a fridge and microwave in the room, and if you're on a budget, can easily go to Nearby supermarkets to get food/drinks. If you have a Tom Thumb card, they will take it at Safeway to apply discounts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tito m
Business
charlotte,nc
Oct 6, 2014

Great value

Can not ask for better sunset view and beach access

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top