$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

2 stars
View map of 2980 S. Kihei Road, Maui, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Virginia Island Hopper
Business
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Maui 8 to 13 March 2012

Great location. The night I arrived the first room I got had a inoperable air conditioner. The only other room available had a broken tv. I took the room with the broken tv but the ac in this second room was barely cooling even when on full cold and max fan. The air conditioners in both these rooms were obviously worn out. There were two days when house cleaning did not do anything to the room. On two other days I had to go to the front desk to get towels. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. The staff taking care of the room either did a great job or a terrible job or no job. A mixed bag of service. Fortunately the location on the Maui beach made up for the lack of service provided by Days Inn Oceanfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fast food options north of the Days Inn really save on the costs for a Maui trip.

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tnpr
Business
WA
Mar 11, 2012

Maui vacation

The hotel was adequate for our needs during our stay in Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

OK value for small room, and nice beach

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelly W
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Nothing Fancy but had what we needed

This place is a great value. Room was a little small but we weren't in it much so it didn't matter. No pool but the beach is right there and the hotel lends out beach towels. It would have been nice if they had beach chairs too. The beach was small, not too crowded. I think most people go to the beaches further up on the strip. I loved this small beach to swim, snorkel and just relax. It isn't right in the busy area of the strip so you need to drive if you want to shop or hit restaurants (maybe a mile or two). Parking lot was probably the worst part since it is shared with a restaurant. Parking spaces are small and sometimes there are only one or two spots open. The safe in our room was broken and never got fixed. First we left our computer at the desk when we left but eventually we just left it in a drawer in the room and we had no problems. Room had refrigerator and microwave. Outside were picnic tables and grills. Internet was available only in lobby however we were able to access it in our room which was in the same building as the lobby. As I said, nothing fancy but it served our needs well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missing Maui
Business
Alberta, Canada
Mar 5, 2012

Basic Comforts

The room is small with the basics, bed, shower stall, toilet, sink, TV and mini fridge. The rooms are old but kept clean. It's on one of the best beaches in Maui with two restaurants and a grocery store steps away. If you are living at the beach and just need a room to stay then this is perfect for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Happy hour at Five Palms is the best, great Mai Tai's and pu pu's. Try the calamari and/or ribs. They are the best.

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
timmy23
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

I was not impressed

There is only one thing I was happy about this hotel is location. Very close to the beach. And the beach was perfect !!! We paid $169 per night and it doesn't worth it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christmas Diving
Business
Anchorage, AK, USA
Jan 4, 2012

You get what you pay for!

If you are trying to get the luxury Maui experience, this is not your place. This place is convenient on the beach, inexpensive for the area, and should only be considered as a bed and a shower. I was lucky in that I had other family staying down the road at a luxury condo so that I would get to the room mid to late evening to get to bed, wake up early and be gone all day. There really isn't a convenient place to eat either. There is a vast polarization between how economical this hotel is and the quality of the restaurant on the property: it is one of the nicer dining experiences I've read up on for Kihei and the price follows suit (reference $13 Mai Tai's). I definately don't want to say anything bad about the restaurant (I didn't eat there, reference family down the street), I did want to try out the breakfast but I was always gone prior to it opening. I don't want to say I had a bad experience, I went in expecting exactly what I got so I was not dissappointed. I also want to emphasize this wasn't the WORST hotel I've ever stayed at, but it is VERY far from the best. The room and property were relatively clean. It was also the first time I have ever slept on a Temper Pedic style bed: a so-so experience. If I was going in any other situation than having family down the street, I would not stay here. For a few more dollars there are plenty of condos available down the street with full kitchens that you can eat 1 or 2 meals at per day that would soak up the cost of yourself and 1 other person eating out 2-3 times per day. Enjoy Maui! It was my first time on the island and had a great time! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Josh74315793gjoas
Business
California
Dec 5, 2011

Great location, average hotel

The location was perfect right on the beach next to a very nice restraunt. Hotel room was small and cheap, fitting the price. Overall it was an amazing stay, miss you Maui!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bearsinhawaii
Business
chattanooga, tennessee
Nov 17, 2011

would stay there again

Room was very clean. Computer was furnished in the lobby for internet (important to me since I did not bring a computer) Staff let us check in early and were very friendly. Location is good. We paid $110 (including taxes) to stay an extra night. I paid $131.85 booking ahead. No refund for difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TheJack
Business
Fargo, ND
Nov 1, 2011

Don't bother!

Although the location is good, the hotel, grounds, rooms and decor are awful! I thought the price would compensate for it all, but I was horribly wrong. We moved out with 4 nights remaining in our stay and went to the awesome Maui Coast up the road. Bottom line: the low rates aren't low enough to justify the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathy from Key West
Business
Key West, FL, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Perfect for what we were looking for!!!

We have previously stayed at the Days Inn, Kihei. We knew that the rooms would be small. The beds are comfortable and the location is fantastic. Right on the bus line if not driving. Walking distance to beach,shops, restaurants. The front desk staff was especially nice and the housekeeping helpful. The sidewalks were always stained and dirty though being my only complaint. Mahalo,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five Palms Restaurant next door for Happy Hour.

Back to menu Return to top