$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

2 stars
View map of 2980 S. Kihei Road, Maui, HI 96753

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDM THE DIVER
Business
Overland Park, KS
May 29, 2012

Our stay at the Maui Oceanfront Inn (Days Inn)

The hotel is good and the staff is friendly, it's nothing fancy, but it's adequate. The beach is great. My only complaint is that for some unknown reason our room wasn't cleaned 3 days during our 7 night stay. We got fresh towels and toiletries when needed, but the situation was annoying; we were with 2 other couples and had 3 rooms in total, this only happened in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

I didn't know there was a dive operator right outside my room, it was very convenient, we did 2 phenomenal dives just off the beach...saw many turtles...

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bay area yuppie
Business
San Francisco
May 29, 2012

Great value

I went to Maui to see the island, not to lounge around in a resort, so the barebones experience offered by this hotel was perfect for me. It's just a few feet away from the beach and has its own outdoor freshwater shower to wash the sand off. It's just a few minutes away from a marina from which several leading snorkel charters depart. It's just a few minutes away from a couple of strip malls including dining ranging from $ to $$$ and several dive shops. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
willbback
Business
state of jefferson
May 24, 2012

great beach

loved it here, room was a little small and only three rooms have ocean view, but the beach and sunsets more than made up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

can walk the beach to kihei cafe, great for breakfast and lunch......DA KITCHEN is the best dinner on the island if you ask me

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moofus
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Great price on a budget

Good location, right next to the beach, rooms are small and old but good enough for sleeping for a few nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hwyn808
Business
oahu
Mar 19, 2012

nice little nook

The hotel room is small and comfortable if you plan on staying only a few days. The one thing that I did like is that it is really close to the beach. The beach has alot of tourist but if walk down, you can find a spot that isnt near anyone. I liked that it did have a restaurant walking distance from the hotel room, even though the price was kind of expensive for our dinner meal. The hotel staff was courteous, even though it took them 30 min to get extra towels and do not disturb sign. The biggest plus for me was the walking distance to the sand beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Virginia Island Hopper
Business
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Maui 8 to 13 March 2012

Great location. The night I arrived the first room I got had a inoperable air conditioner. The only other room available had a broken tv. I took the room with the broken tv but the ac in this second room was barely cooling even when on full cold and max fan. The air conditioners in both these rooms were obviously worn out. There were two days when house cleaning did not do anything to the room. On two other days I had to go to the front desk to get towels. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. The staff taking care of the room either did a great job or a terrible job or no job. A mixed bag of service. Fortunately the location on the Maui beach made up for the lack of service provided by Days Inn Oceanfront.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fast food options north of the Days Inn really save on the costs for a Maui trip.

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelly W
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Nothing Fancy but had what we needed

This place is a great value. Room was a little small but we weren't in it much so it didn't matter. No pool but the beach is right there and the hotel lends out beach towels. It would have been nice if they had beach chairs too. The beach was small, not too crowded. I think most people go to the beaches further up on the strip. I loved this small beach to swim, snorkel and just relax. It isn't right in the busy area of the strip so you need to drive if you want to shop or hit restaurants (maybe a mile or two). Parking lot was probably the worst part since it is shared with a restaurant. Parking spaces are small and sometimes there are only one or two spots open. The safe in our room was broken and never got fixed. First we left our computer at the desk when we left but eventually we just left it in a drawer in the room and we had no problems. Room had refrigerator and microwave. Outside were picnic tables and grills. Internet was available only in lobby however we were able to access it in our room which was in the same building as the lobby. As I said, nothing fancy but it served our needs well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missing Maui
Business
Alberta, Canada
Mar 5, 2012

Basic Comforts

The room is small with the basics, bed, shower stall, toilet, sink, TV and mini fridge. The rooms are old but kept clean. It's on one of the best beaches in Maui with two restaurants and a grocery store steps away. If you are living at the beach and just need a room to stay then this is perfect for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Happy hour at Five Palms is the best, great Mai Tai's and pu pu's. Try the calamari and/or ribs. They are the best.

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
timmy23
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

I was not impressed

There is only one thing I was happy about this hotel is location. Very close to the beach. And the beach was perfect !!! We paid $169 per night and it doesn't worth it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Christmas Diving
Business
Anchorage, AK, USA
Jan 4, 2012

You get what you pay for!

If you are trying to get the luxury Maui experience, this is not your place. This place is convenient on the beach, inexpensive for the area, and should only be considered as a bed and a shower. I was lucky in that I had other family staying down the road at a luxury condo so that I would get to the room mid to late evening to get to bed, wake up early and be gone all day. There really isn't a convenient place to eat either. There is a vast polarization between how economical this hotel is and the quality of the restaurant on the property: it is one of the nicer dining experiences I've read up on for Kihei and the price follows suit (reference $13 Mai Tai's). I definately don't want to say anything bad about the restaurant (I didn't eat there, reference family down the street), I did want to try out the breakfast but I was always gone prior to it opening. I don't want to say I had a bad experience, I went in expecting exactly what I got so I was not dissappointed. I also want to emphasize this wasn't the WORST hotel I've ever stayed at, but it is VERY far from the best. The room and property were relatively clean. It was also the first time I have ever slept on a Temper Pedic style bed: a so-so experience. If I was going in any other situation than having family down the street, I would not stay here. For a few more dollars there are plenty of condos available down the street with full kitchens that you can eat 1 or 2 meals at per day that would soak up the cost of yourself and 1 other person eating out 2-3 times per day. Enjoy Maui! It was my first time on the island and had a great time! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top