$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Perfect Anniversary Trip

My wife and I stayed in room 1214 in Tower 1 and enjoyed it very much. The room had an upgraded... See full review

  • Mack Attack
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great location and accommodations

Great location on the beach between the Whaler Village and Black Rock. Garden view worked well for... See full review

  • Young and married
  • Jun 17, 2014
Rising high over the mellow shores of Kaanapali Beach, Aston at the Whaler is a condominium with scenic views of hot pink flora and vibrant greenery, or the dazzling Pacific Ocean just outside its balconies. Enjoy the complimentary fresh pineapple that comes with each room, sip a cup of locally-grown coffee in the studio kitchens, or take a quick trip down the street to sample Maui-style barefoot dining at the Hula Grill. Surfing, snorkeling, or playing tennis are all available on the hotel grounds, but with a blissful jet spa and outdoor grilling area downstairs, guests may feel perfectly fine doing very little at all.
Key facts
  • 360 guestrooms
  • Studios with fully-equipped kitchens
  • Outdoor barbecue area
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Tennis court
  • Jet Spa
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Day spa
  • Grocery delivery service
  • Business/conference facilities
Neighborhood
From the Aston at The Whaler, take a stroll around Kaanapali; you're not only within easy walking distance of great restaurants, but the mall and whaling museum at Whalers Village are also nearby. Kaanapali Beach is known for whale-watching and calm, paddling waters, while the historic former capital Lahaina is a short drive down the coast. Lahaina is locally famous for its Friday 'Art Nights', when galleries keep their doors open late, and visitors can talk with local artists while live musicians play. Local surfer hotspots Kapalua and Honolua to the north of Kaanapali beckon those fond of diving or exploring underwater worlds by scuba or snorkel.
Hints and tips
Choose condos away from the Whalers Village side of the resort to enjoy a quieter stay, and if you'd like a more expansive view, opt for one that includes a full wrap-around balcony.

Dining out in Lahaina? Try Fleetwood's on Front Street and you might find you're sipping pre-dinner cocktails in good company, since Mick Fleetwood of Fleetwood Mac fame owns the restaurant.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach Rooms

Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View
Spacious One Bedroom Suites are situated in two 12-story buildings. Large private lanais, central air-conditioning and fully-equipped kitchens. Dining area with table for 4, 1 full bath, iron-ironing board. Approx 1118 sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 97
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allochka Borisovna
Business
Woburn, MA
Jul 7, 2014

Best beach on the whole Hawaii

There are places to riding boards with very nice waves, there are places of still water to swim, and really great snorkeling near the Black Rock

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bn04
Business
California
Mar 1, 2014

Good place to stay

Very good location. Right on great beach. Lot of options to walk around specially during evening. We liked the kitchen. Rooms were clean. We got our room at 4.15. Check-in time is 4PM. We reached there before 3 and finally got our room at 4.15 only. The view is amazing from some rooms, but was just ok from our 6th floor studio. It really depends on floor and the side you are staying. Also, it would be great to have a sofa bed in studio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JS122013
Business
Northern California
Dec 31, 2013

Great Property On Ka'anapali Beach

Our experience at The Aston At The Whaler On Ka'anapali Beach was excellent. Our family group booked 4 units at 3 different times. 2 - 1 bedroom 2 bath ocean view units and 2 - Studio garden view units. All were as advertised and well appointed and equipped. Each with full kitchens and lots of room to move around. The full kitchens allowed our group to cook our own breakfast, prepare our lunches for our outings, and dinners on the nights we were not dining out. This saved many $s. The Aston At The Whaler On Ka'anapali Beach also has several BBQs that were in great working order. On 3 of the nights our group of 9 BBQed steak and enjoyed the sunset at Ka'anapali Beach while we ate. Spectacular! The location of The Aston At The Whaler On Ka'anapali Beach is simply wonderful. World class beach, beautiful walkway along the beach, and walking access to excellent shopping and dining nearby. Also, just a short walk to Black Rock where we enjoyed the sunset torch lighting, great snorkeling, and jumping off into the ocean. We saw many, many fish and swam with turtles on several days! We requested that our 4 units be in the same building and on the same floor. A significant request considering we booked at three different times and our stay was over Christmas. The Staff made sure we were all in the same building and on the same floor. This enhanced our stay greatly. The Staff was extremely courteous, knowledgeable, and helpful every time we had contact. We will stay at The Aston At The Whaler On Ka'anapali Beach on future trips to Maui and would reccomend The Aston At The Whaler On Ka'anapali Beach to all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaylo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 1, 2013

Fabulous beach experience.

Despite a rocky start (room not ready), it was quite comfortable & location was great. Staff seemed helpful. Would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RachelNa
Business
seattle, wa
May 6, 2013

family girls' trip

We had 4 female family members staying in an ocean view one bedroom suite. The size was very spacious and the balcony was perfect. We did go grocery shopping at the nearby safeway, but you do need a car or use the public transportation to get around - it's a couple of miles away. I was disappointed that there werent any eating or drinking establishments onsite, and had to seek out a bar at the next resort over. Each staff member I interacted with was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you will be there for several days, stop at a grocery store to stock up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LB Wahine
Business
Long Beach, CA
Sep 20, 2012

Maui Half Marathon Adventure

Our room was so close to the race that we got to sleep in and still had plenty of time to start. Our room was nicer than expected with a partial ocean view from our lanai. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was next door to Whalers Village which allowed us to go shopping or dining in a spontaneous fashion. Didn't even need to use our car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paddlewahine
Business
Costa Mesa, California
Sep 3, 2012

Perfect location!

Perfect location. 2b/2b units have the best view and location. Upper floors have great views. 1b/1b units are very roomy and worked out great for 4 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill was wonderful and short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zipline Grandma
Business
Colfax, California
May 19, 2012

Great graduation celebration

I took my 18 year old granddaughter for her high school graduation, accompanied by her parents. We each had an ocean view studio that worked out perfectly. We got in really late the first night and ended up with the 7th floor and a murphy bed with no sofabed. The next morning I requested a regular bed and sofa bed room, and was moved to room 1113 on the 11th floor - this was a renovated room, absolutely beautiful, fantastic view over the courtyard and ocean. We could not have been happier! The hotel location was fantastic, next to Whalers Village, short drive to Lahaina, wonderful beach and pool. Our stay was everything I had hoped it would be, my granddaughter did not want to leave!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Three hints - SanSei restaurant in Kapalua, Kobe in Lahaina and Hula Grill in Kaanapali - all fantastic restaurants and reasonable. Also go to Lahaina Fudge Co. on Front Street, best fudge we've have in a long time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Feynman
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Father and son

Very convenient location. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The kitchen was equipped well enough for us to eat breakfast and heat up some leftovers. We didn't need to cook a full meal, but doing so would be challenging. Nice simple pool and a hot-tub. Great beach right out front. Most, if not all rooms have an ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Early bird specials at some restaurants next-door at Whaler's Village.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hsbold
Business
Park City, UT
Mar 25, 2012

Escape to Paradise

we had a wonderful time, the staffs were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and we had a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Variety choices of dining available in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top