$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

3 stars
2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina (Maui), HI 96761
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
97 reviews
Perfect Anniversary Trip

My wife and I stayed in room 1214 in Tower 1 and enjoyed it very much. The room had an upgraded... See full review

  • Mack Attack
  • Oct 13, 2014
Great location and accommodations

Great location on the beach between the Whaler Village and Black Rock. Garden view worked well for... See full review

  • Young and married
  • Jun 17, 2014
Rising high over the mellow shores of Kaanapali Beach, Aston at the Whaler is a condominium with scenic views of hot pink flora and vibrant greenery, or the dazzling Pacific Ocean just outside its balconies. Enjoy the complimentary fresh pineapple that comes with each room, sip a cup of locally-grown coffee in the studio kitchens, or take a quick trip down the street to sample Maui-style barefoot dining at the Hula Grill. Surfing, snorkeling, or playing tennis are all available on the hotel grounds, but with a blissful jet spa and outdoor grilling area downstairs, guests may feel perfectly fine doing very little at all.
Key facts
  • 360 guestrooms
  • Studios with fully-equipped kitchens
  • Outdoor barbecue area
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Tennis court
  • Jet Spa
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Day spa
  • Grocery delivery service
  • Business/conference facilities
Neighborhood
From the Aston at The Whaler, take a stroll around Kaanapali; you're not only within easy walking distance of great restaurants, but the mall and whaling museum at Whalers Village are also nearby. Kaanapali Beach is known for whale-watching and calm, paddling waters, while the historic former capital Lahaina is a short drive down the coast. Lahaina is locally famous for its Friday 'Art Nights', when galleries keep their doors open late, and visitors can talk with local artists while live musicians play. Local surfer hotspots Kapalua and Honolua to the north of Kaanapali beckon those fond of diving or exploring underwater worlds by scuba or snorkel.
Hints and tips
Choose condos away from the Whalers Village side of the resort to enjoy a quieter stay, and if you'd like a more expansive view, opt for one that includes a full wrap-around balcony.

Dining out in Lahaina? Try Fleetwood's on Front Street and you might find you're sipping pre-dinner cocktails in good company, since Mick Fleetwood of Fleetwood Mac fame owns the restaurant.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach Rooms

Studio Suite Ocean View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean View Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
One bedroom suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes separate living area, two full bathrooms, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
Studio Suite Garden View
Studio suite with either a king, a queen or Murphy bed. Includes full bathroom, full kitchen, private lanai, iron/board, hair dryer, cable TV and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Garden View
Spacious One Bedroom Suites are situated in two 12-story buildings. Large private lanais, central air-conditioning and fully-equipped kitchens. Dining area with table for 4, 1 full bath, iron-ironing board. Approx 1118 sf.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 97
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mack Attack
Business
Clifton Park, New York
Oct 13, 2014

Perfect Anniversary Trip

My wife and I stayed in room 1214 in Tower 1 and enjoyed it very much. The room had an upgraded kitchen and the view from the Lanai was perfect. We could see Black Rock and several golf courses. The view of Molaki was awesome. The room was furnished very well with a sleeper sofa, a swivel rocker, a very nice dining area and a nice little desk. The king bed was comfortable. The maid servise was great. Room was always cleaned when we returned from our daily trips around Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk up the beach and you have numerous open air restaurants, all of which are very fine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DR JR
Business
Santa Barbara, California
Jun 19, 2014

Great Beach Getaway

The Aston at the Whaler is an excellent hotel with condos that have fully equipped kitchens. Restaurants are nearby and Kaanapali beach is the place to visit in Maui. Black Rock is only a five minute walk down the beach and you can easily find turtles, rays, and a variety of reef fish when scuba diving. We've stayed at a larger and nicer resort on Kaanapali before and the The Whaler is an excellent value for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young and married
Business
Florence, KY
Jun 17, 2014

Great location and accommodations

Great location on the beach between the Whaler Village and Black Rock. Garden view worked well for as we could see the ocean easily. Loved the beach towel cards - never had to worry about drying our towels or lugging them around. You don't have to bring your own towels unless you need extras. Prompt service received from front desk. Internet worked well the majority of the time. Loved having a kitchen. They even granted access to the facilities for the remainder of the day following checkout since we had a really late flight and even stored our bags for us after checkout. Overall great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the fish tacos at Leilani's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Morales
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 17, 2014

Great Stay

This was me and my husband's third time staying at The Whaler and we had another great experience. The Studio Garden View room we stayed in was more elegant than last year's with pleasant decor and a large, flat screen TV. We had difficultly getting into our room as we were given keys and told it was ready to find that they were conducting maintenance on the room. After a 45 minute initial wait, we informed the front desk to hold our bags while we went grocery shopping. The front desk brought our bags up when the room was ready, were apologetic, and offered snacks for the inconvenience. The Whaler is steps away from beautiful Kaanapali Beach and we had an amazing time at a luau and snorkeling in Honolua Bay on a catamaran that picked us up beachside in front of the building. We love The Whaler for its great location and in-room kitchen accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
always looking for value
Business
West Richland, WA
May 9, 2014

The best of Kaanapali

The area on Kaanapali Beach the Whaler is located is the perfect spot for the beach. We have stayed at the Westin and the Sharaton in the same area, and by far prefer the Whaler due to having a condo, with a full kitchen, and gas grills for preparing food. This is the only way to go, for the Kaanapali Beach experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The public transit runs from Whalers Village to Lahaina till 9:00 P.M. The cost is $2.00 one way. Gives you more accessibility to activates, restaurants, shopping, and night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keith Wilford
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 31, 2013

Not getting better

We've been staying at the Whaler on a regular basis for 30 years. That history hasn't provided any benefits. We ask for certain considerations relative to our room. Those requests are never granted. The location of the hotel is near perfect. But the quality of the rooms varies. This year, the overall room was dated and state of repair was marginal. In short, they don't appear to be able to enforce any standard with the individual owners. Front desk staff was not particularly friendly. Not sure if I'll return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whaler is Wonderful
Business
Oak Park, California
Aug 24, 2013

Great stay at The Whaler!

This was our third stay at The Whaler and it gets better and better! Beautiful room, beautiful view! Would rather stay here than any other hotel. Love Kaanapali Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Morales
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 10, 2013

Wonderful Location on Popular Beach

Overall, our stay at The Whaler was wonderful. We have stayed here before and again we appreciated its central location and quiet rooms. we stayed in a Studio Garden View room and, to our surprise, we still had a great view of the ocean. My only complaints about the room were that the bed was extremely hard and bouncey, the DVD player did not work properly with the television, and the hair dryer was burned out. Besides these minor glitches, we had a very pleasant stay. Checking in and out was a breeze, parking is convenient, and our room was cleaned daily which was a nice plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fleetwood's on Front Street in Lahaina, Mani, HI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneA
Business
Encinitas, CA
May 15, 2013

Great vacation!

They upgraded our room on arrival since they were out of studios. Room was huge with 2 full baths. The deck and ocean view was perfect...great location...would love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveller4637
Business
scottsdale, az
May 7, 2013

great location, nice place

location is one of best on island. just next to whaler village. condos are very nice and clean. paid an upgrade for an ocean view but got stock on 6 floor with view of big trees (blocking ocean view) and whaler village air conditioning system. it was loud and disappointing. after complaining for 3 days they finally moved us to a great room and the rest of the trip was a dream! i would come back again but i would be care to ensure i have a room with a nice view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

sansei in kapalua was amazing japanese and sushi restaurant but make reservations. they are always booked out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top